$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

La Concha Renaissance Resort

4 stars
1077 Ashford Avenue, PO Box 6545, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
871 reviews
Amazing time

Staff was pleasant and extremely helpful when we needed a car rental and all the nearby places were... See full review

  • latindancer
  • Jul 7, 2014
Great Location, All You Need Right There

I broke my leg in a recent accident so my mobility was severely compromised. In spite of it all, my... See full review

  • Viajero Bill
  • Jun 15, 2014
An awe-inspiring architectural achievement in Puerto Rico's Tropical Modernism movement, the La Concha Renaissance Resort Hotel offers an incredible place to stay in San Juan.  With instant access to the Condado beach, this is the perfect place to put your feet up and enjoy spectacular ocean views. Kids are entertained with the spacious game room, and guests can take a dip in one of the three outdoor pools, including the Sereno Infinity Pool. Eat fresh in reflective pool surroundings at the luxurious Perla seafood restaurant, where you'll find a pretty extensive wine list. Work it off with one of the complimentary fitness classes, and then get ready to try your luck at the casino. Those on business can stay chilled on the Solera Upper & Pool Deck meeting space.
Key facts
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • On-site casino
  • Fitness center with complimentary fitness classes
  • 3 outdoor pools
  • Whirlpool available in certain suites
  • 30,000-square-feet of meeting space and 19 meeting rooms
  • Smoke-free resort
  • LCD televisions in rooms
  • Lobby Lounge
  • Concierge desk
  • Limousine service
  • Evening turndown service
  • Exclusive Ocean Lounge for Gold and Platinum Rewards members
  • 5 restaurants: Perla, Voga Italian Grill, Solera, Aroma and Komakai Sushi Bar
Neighborhood
Golden, sandy beaches are just steps away from the hotel, and its location plays host to many dining and shopping spots. Visit historic Old San Juan l district to soak up the culture, marvel at the Las Croabas Lagoon with its bioluminescence bay, take a trip out to the Bacardi Rum Distillery, or unwind at the Zen Spa.
Hints and tips
Both couples and those without children will appreciate the designated adults-only pool for some comfort and quiet.
Keep your walking and dancing shoes handy whenever you leave the room, since it's easy to get carried away by the extensive San Juan nightlife.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

La Concha Renaissance Resort Rooms

Oceanfront Room
Queen OR king, ocean or pool view 37' flat screen TV, Internet, Ipod/MP3 player connection, CD player, color TV, mini-bar, air conditioning, alarm clock, bottled water, coffee maker, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, luxurious bedding, safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

18.4548 -66.0658
Area served
San Juan, Hato Rey Business District, Carolina, Bayamon, Caguas, Guaynabo Metro Office Park, Buchanan Office Park.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU)- Take 26 w to SJ, take exit 27 (De Diego Ave.), heading north until Ashford Ave. Make a left (w) on Ashford Ave, drive estimate .8 miles. Property will be on your right-hand side.
Area description
In 1958, La Concha Resort opened to rave reviews in the local social and business scene, a shining moment in Tropical Modernism movement's heyday... in the Puerto Rico pushiest district, the Condado.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.5 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.5 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.5 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.7 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.7 mi

Dining

Aroma
Serving Deli food, also open for breakfast.
Perla
Is a luxury seafood restaurant serving refined contemporary American cuisine with gracious professional hospitality. The wine cellar contains more than 4,000 bottles with over 1,000 labels. We have an extensive wines-by-the- glass program with 30 wines offered, all climate controlled in enigmatic wine preservation displays.
Komakai Sushi Bar
Komakai, translating to "small and detailed", is our newest dining selection, featuring a 13 seat sushi bar located right on our lobby. Open nightly, it features sushi, sashimi, several signature and traditional rolls, and a few hot items as well. No waiting for a seat required.
Voga Italian Grill
Voga, Italian Grill offers comfort Italian-American dishes made with homemade ingredients in a modern ambience. All our dishes represent recipes that have spanned many family generations. Savor a sumptuous array of fresh pastas confectioned every day by Chef Luis Castillo while you celebrate life overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open seven days a week from 6:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. - Reservations needed.
Solera
Solera has restaurant-style seating and also more casual lounge areas for drinks and mingling in a tropical setting.
Lobby Lounge
Serving sandwiches

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (871)

Ratings and reviews for La Concha Renaissance Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
871 out of 871
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mleo183
New Jersey
Mar 15, 2011

FANTASTIC!!!!!

The staff was extremely friendly and the hotel was in close vicinity to everything. Condado Beach is ok which is where the hotel is. I suggest going to Isla Verde by cab. The beach in Isla Verde is beautiful. Condado Beach is known to have rip currents but still very beautiful. I was able to go into the water in Condado Beach and had no problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Mar 6, 2011

LaConcha 2011

Room was modern and clean. All workers with which we came into contact were friendly, pleasant and very accommadating. We used interior and seaside pool, health club and casino. It was the nicest casino in teh area. Took a shopping gtrip to Old San Juan. Restaurants, Voga and Perla, were excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Old San Juan was 15 minutss by taxi and contained historic sites, excellent restaurants and various grades of shops. For dining, only 2 but both restaurants in the hotel were suberb.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
south brunswick, nj
Mar 6, 2011

beautiful views

from the minute we stepped out of the cab the gentlemen at the front of lobby were so friendly and helpful. On to the front desk, the bartenders, concierge, wait staff and so on. The best ever. Most of our time was swimming in the ocean, any of the 5 pools, napping on the outdoor beds and couches. tropical drinks were perfect. nearby eateries had all the local flair we wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
south brunswick, nj
Mar 6, 2011

beautiful views

from the minute we stepped out of the cab the gentlemen at the front of lobby were so friendly and helpful. On to the front desk, the bartenders, concierge, wait staff and so on. The best ever. Most of our time was swimming in the ocean, any of the 5 pools, napping on the outdoor beds and couches. tropical drinks were perfect. nearby eateries had all the local flair we wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Mar 6, 2011

LaConcha 2011

Room was modern and clean. All workers with which we came into contact were friendly, pleasant and very accommadating. We used interior and seaside pool, health club and casino. It was the nicest casino in teh area. Took a shopping gtrip to Old San Juan. Restaurants, Voga and Perla, were excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Old San Juan was 15 minutss by taxi and contained historic sites, excellent restaurants and various grades of shops. For dining, only 2 but both restaurants in the hotel were suberb.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York City
Feb 22, 2011

Good times

We recently had a great overall stay at La Concha. The room was ready upon arrival in the late afternoon. Given the price we paid for the hotel and flight it was certainly worth it. We had a gorgeous suite in the newer tower with a view of the ocean on the 10th floor. Everything was in good condition for the most part. The only thing is that for no apparent reason the carpet next to the bed was wet and when we ran the bath later that afternoon there was a yellow foam that built up which made it seem a little strange. During our stay we made use of every one of the pools and enjoyed the beach every day. Our first day we shared the 'duck quesadillas' from Solera which were delicious. We ordered them thanks to reading a previous review from a past guest. The pina coladas were also tasty though they barely poured more than a splash of rum into the mix. The resort is lovely, it is well kept and the staff is so friendly, warm and courteous. The ocean was the perfect temperature and though rough at times it was still fun to play in the waves and watch the surfers and boogie boarders. Natalia at the Concierge was very patient and recommended a fantastic restaurant in Old San Juan called Latin Roots where they played live salsa music, gave free salsa lessons, and served incredible cuisine, the 'Lechon' was amazing! We did have a couple of incidents that kept it from being flawless. One night after coming back from dinner we found the door open, anyone could have gone into our room. We called Security immediately to check the suite before going in as someone could have been in there. David Flores was nice enough to check out the situation for us and replied that sometimes when the rooms are serviced Housekeeping forgets to close the door. He said he would have someone follow up with us the next day. We were a bit shaken up by this incident as it was quite scary not knowing how long that door had remained open but luckily all of our things were intact and nothing was missing. Nevertheless the next day no one followed up with us regarding this incident. On the following day after a day in the sun we decided to head back to the room and were unable to get in. After trying several times with no luck we asked one of the housekeepers to please have someone come and assist us. After about a 30 minute delay which set us back a bit with our evening plans, a couple of friendly engineers ended up replacing the battery on our door and provided us with two new keys. At this point the housekeepers were asking what time they could service the room and we said in about an hour. We got ready and went out for dinner, unfortunately when we came back the room had not been serviced. Being a Concierge in New York City I realize that things can always go wrong but it still made me somewhat disappointed. Aside from this we really enjoyed our stay and delighted in La Concha, especially visiting la Perla on our last night for our Anniversary dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Orale Guey across the street has excellent tacos and $2 beers. Also check out Il Postino for a nice Italian meal about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Bistro de Paris in Santurce is also another great find, the Camembert appetizer is amazing.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York City
Feb 22, 2011

Good times

We recently had a great overall stay at La Concha. The room was ready upon arrival in the late afternoon. Given the price we paid for the hotel and flight it was certainly worth it. We had a gorgeous suite in the newer tower with a view of the ocean on the 10th floor. Everything was in good condition for the most part. The only thing is that for no apparent reason the carpet next to the bed was wet and when we ran the bath later that afternoon there was a yellow foam that built up which made it seem a little strange. During our stay we made use of every one of the pools and enjoyed the beach every day. Our first day we shared the 'duck quesadillas' from Solera which were delicious. We ordered them thanks to reading a previous review from a past guest. The pina coladas were also tasty though they barely poured more than a splash of rum into the mix. The resort is lovely, it is well kept and the staff is so friendly, warm and courteous. The ocean was the perfect temperature and though rough at times it was still fun to play in the waves and watch the surfers and boogie boarders. Natalia at the Concierge was very patient and recommended a fantastic restaurant in Old San Juan called Latin Roots where they played live salsa music, gave free salsa lessons, and served incredible cuisine, the 'Lechon' was amazing! We did have a couple of incidents that kept it from being flawless. One night after coming back from dinner we found the door open, anyone could have gone into our room. We called Security immediately to check the suite before going in as someone could have been in there. David Flores was nice enough to check out the situation for us and replied that sometimes when the rooms are serviced Housekeeping forgets to close the door. He said he would have someone follow up with us the next day. We were a bit shaken up by this incident as it was quite scary not knowing how long that door had remained open but luckily all of our things were intact and nothing was missing. Nevertheless the next day no one followed up with us regarding this incident. On the following day after a day in the sun we decided to head back to the room and were unable to get in. After trying several times with no luck we asked one of the housekeepers to please have someone come and assist us. After about a 30 minute delay which set us back a bit with our evening plans, a couple of friendly engineers ended up replacing the battery on our door and provided us with two new keys. At this point the housekeepers were asking what time they could service the room and we said in about an hour. We got ready and went out for dinner, unfortunately when we came back the room had not been serviced. Being a Concierge in New York City I realize that things can always go wrong but it still made me somewhat disappointed. Aside from this we really enjoyed our stay and delighted in La Concha, especially visiting la Perla on our last night for our Anniversary dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Orale Guey across the street has excellent tacos and $2 beers. Also check out Il Postino for a nice Italian meal about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Bistro de Paris in Santurce is also another great find, the Camembert appetizer is amazing.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
great
Feb 19, 2011

great time

Very trendy...but very fun. Cute staff and very friendly. Good beach and location...would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
great
Feb 19, 2011

great time

Very trendy...but very fun. Cute staff and very friendly. Good beach and location...would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Victor the Romantic
Connecticut
Feb 15, 2011

awsome experience

the hotel is centered on a busy strip that makes it easy to site see and eat. minutes away from old San Juan and tour accomidations. the staff was very helpful and good spirited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

the Perla resturant was the best resturant, with the best view I've ever experienced.

Back to menu Return to top