$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

La Concha Renaissance Resort

4 stars
1077 Ashford Avenue, PO Box 6545, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
873 reviews
Perfect for girls trip

We had 6 girls in 2 suites. The suites were perfect - roomy with kitchenettes and balconies. Get... See full review

  • River North Explorer Sue
  • Jul 22, 2014
Take me back!

My boyfriend and I spent last week at La Concha resort and we LOVED it. Before our trip, I emailed... See full review

  • Lady Lil
  • Jul 13, 2014
An awe-inspiring architectural achievement in Puerto Rico's Tropical Modernism movement, the La Concha Renaissance Resort Hotel offers an incredible place to stay in San Juan.  With instant access to the Condado beach, this is the perfect place to put your feet up and enjoy spectacular ocean views. Kids are entertained with the spacious game room, and guests can take a dip in one of the three outdoor pools, including the Sereno Infinity Pool. Eat fresh in reflective pool surroundings at the luxurious Perla seafood restaurant, where you'll find a pretty extensive wine list. Work it off with one of the complimentary fitness classes, and then get ready to try your luck at the casino. Those on business can stay chilled on the Solera Upper & Pool Deck meeting space.
Key facts
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • On-site casino
  • Fitness center with complimentary fitness classes
  • 3 outdoor pools
  • Whirlpool available in certain suites
  • 30,000-square-feet of meeting space and 19 meeting rooms
  • Smoke-free resort
  • LCD televisions in rooms
  • Lobby Lounge
  • Concierge desk
  • Limousine service
  • Evening turndown service
  • Exclusive Ocean Lounge for Gold and Platinum Rewards members
  • 5 restaurants: Perla, Voga Italian Grill, Solera, Aroma and Komakai Sushi Bar
Neighborhood
Golden, sandy beaches are just steps away from the hotel, and its location plays host to many dining and shopping spots. Visit historic Old San Juan l district to soak up the culture, marvel at the Las Croabas Lagoon with its bioluminescence bay, take a trip out to the Bacardi Rum Distillery, or unwind at the Zen Spa.
Hints and tips
Both couples and those without children will appreciate the designated adults-only pool for some comfort and quiet.
Keep your walking and dancing shoes handy whenever you leave the room, since it's easy to get carried away by the extensive San Juan nightlife.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4548 -66.0658
Area served
San Juan, Hato Rey Business District, Carolina, Bayamon, Caguas, Guaynabo Metro Office Park, Buchanan Office Park.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU)- Take 26 w to SJ, take exit 27 (De Diego Ave.), heading north until Ashford Ave. Make a left (w) on Ashford Ave, drive estimate .8 miles. Property will be on your right-hand side.
Area description
In 1958, La Concha Resort opened to rave reviews in the local social and business scene, a shining moment in Tropical Modernism movement's heyday... in the Puerto Rico pushiest district, the Condado.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Concha Renaissance Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

La Concha Renaissance Resort Rooms

Oceanfront Room
Queen OR king, ocean or pool view 37' flat screen TV, Internet, Ipod/MP3 player connection, CD player, color TV, mini-bar, air conditioning, alarm clock, bottled water, coffee maker, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, luxurious bedding, safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.5 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.5 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.5 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.7 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.7 mi

Dining

Aroma
Serving Deli food, also open for breakfast.
Perla
Is a luxury seafood restaurant serving refined contemporary American cuisine with gracious professional hospitality. The wine cellar contains more than 4,000 bottles with over 1,000 labels. We have an extensive wines-by-the- glass program with 30 wines offered, all climate controlled in enigmatic wine preservation displays.
Komakai Sushi Bar
Komakai, translating to "small and detailed", is our newest dining selection, featuring a 13 seat sushi bar located right on our lobby. Open nightly, it features sushi, sashimi, several signature and traditional rolls, and a few hot items as well. No waiting for a seat required.
Voga Italian Grill
Voga, Italian Grill offers comfort Italian-American dishes made with homemade ingredients in a modern ambience. All our dishes represent recipes that have spanned many family generations. Savor a sumptuous array of fresh pastas confectioned every day by Chef Luis Castillo while you celebrate life overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open seven days a week from 6:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. - Reservations needed.
Solera
Solera has restaurant-style seating and also more casual lounge areas for drinks and mingling in a tropical setting.
Lobby Lounge
Serving sandwiches

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (873)

Ratings and reviews for La Concha Renaissance Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
873 out of 873
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ngggg
dc
Feb 4, 2013

always good

a little crowded but always great place to stay and great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Westchester, NY
Apr 15, 2011

Wonderful Place

We really enjoyed our stay here. The room was perfectly clean and comfortable and the staff was freindly. The location is great- just a short cab ride to Old San Juan. It is a wonderful hotel and we will definirtly return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Apr 13, 2011

Great place to stay!

La Concha was beautiful! My friend and I came for a getaway and had the best time! It is in a great location and right on the beach. There are three pools and several restaurants to choose from. We spent the majority of our time at the hotel because there is so much to do and has a great bar and is a fun place to stay at night for drinks/socializing if you do not want to spend money on cabs to get somewhere else. The staff was very attentive and super friendly. Overall, we were both very satisfied and relaxed after our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dragonfly restaurant in old san juan was delicious! I recommend you check it out for dinner one night!

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Apr 13, 2011

Great place to stay!

La Concha was beautiful! My friend and I came for a getaway and had the best time! It is in a great location and right on the beach. There are three pools and several restaurants to choose from. We spent the majority of our time at the hotel because there is so much to do and has a great bar and is a fun place to stay at night for drinks/socializing if you do not want to spend money on cabs to get somewhere else. The staff was very attentive and super friendly. Overall, we were both very satisfied and relaxed after our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dragonfly restaurant in old san juan was delicious! I recommend you check it out for dinner one night!

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
chicago il
Apr 4, 2011

Nice Hotel

Frindly staff. No hot tub. Expensive food. $80 breakfast for 3 people. Not a lot of night club action during the week anywhere around town. Most tours do not include pick up/drop off. Doesn't compare to Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
chicago il
Apr 4, 2011

Nice Hotel

Frindly staff. No hot tub. Expensive food. $80 breakfast for 3 people. Not a lot of night club action during the week anywhere around town. Most tours do not include pick up/drop off. Doesn't compare to Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami
Mar 27, 2011

looks good poor on details

Room is on the whole very good, hotel looks great, clean and new. Just lacks the finish that a $300 a night room should deliver. The rooms are all suites, king bed, nice, go for pool side quieter. Last visit was on street side and awake by noise until 4am then slept until the cleaners started at 4.30. This time waited for a room until 7pm unless I wanted a low floor, experience says this is a noisy option. The bed in the other half of the suite is a pull out, thin mattress, no sheets in room, maid does not answer phone, unhelpful when you do find one, in the end after an hour of waiting a tired looking nasty (clean) blanket was brought to the room, no duvet. This took me back to my days at the Motel 6's in the 70's. Then when you turn the light out the light from the attrium shines around the blind that you amy as well have the lights on. Awful. Overall not a bad place for a party weekend but for business and with kids go somewhere else with your money. Hilton is just down the road 5 mins walk, Hyatt is not far or just do south beach in Miami.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami
Mar 27, 2011

looks good poor on details

Room is on the whole very good, hotel looks great, clean and new. Just lacks the finish that a $300 a night room should deliver. The rooms are all suites, king bed, nice, go for pool side quieter. Last visit was on street side and awake by noise until 4am then slept until the cleaners started at 4.30. This time waited for a room until 7pm unless I wanted a low floor, experience says this is a noisy option. The bed in the other half of the suite is a pull out, thin mattress, no sheets in room, maid does not answer phone, unhelpful when you do find one, in the end after an hour of waiting a tired looking nasty (clean) blanket was brought to the room, no duvet. This took me back to my days at the Motel 6's in the 70's. Then when you turn the light out the light from the attrium shines around the blind that you amy as well have the lights on. Awful. Overall not a bad place for a party weekend but for business and with kids go somewhere else with your money. Hilton is just down the road 5 mins walk, Hyatt is not far or just do south beach in Miami.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buffalo, New York
Mar 22, 2011

Amazing resort!

The resort was great. My wife and I stayed in an ocean view suite in the suite tower. The view was absolutely incredible. The suite was very clean and looked great. The grounds were well kept and the beach was very nice. The water was a bit choppy, so not the greatest for swimming, but the big waves were a lot of fun. The on-site restaurants and bar are pricey, but very good. The neighborhood is excellent and has lots of things to do and places to eat with authentic puerto rican food at reasonable prices. Definitely check out Old San Juan and do a Biobay while you are in Puerto Rico. The concierge is VERY helpful and will set up whatever tours you are interested. It was a great trip. Can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The nearby restaurants serve great food at a reasonable price. Also, if you in a suite, save yourself some money and buy some cereal and other breakfast items at the nearby grocery stores rather than eat out in the morning.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buffalo, New York
Mar 22, 2011

Amazing resort!

The resort was great. My wife and I stayed in an ocean view suite in the suite tower. The view was absolutely incredible. The suite was very clean and looked great. The grounds were well kept and the beach was very nice. The water was a bit choppy, so not the greatest for swimming, but the big waves were a lot of fun. The on-site restaurants and bar are pricey, but very good. The neighborhood is excellent and has lots of things to do and places to eat with authentic puerto rican food at reasonable prices. Definitely check out Old San Juan and do a Biobay while you are in Puerto Rico. The concierge is VERY helpful and will set up whatever tours you are interested. It was a great trip. Can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The nearby restaurants serve great food at a reasonable price. Also, if you in a suite, save yourself some money and buy some cereal and other breakfast items at the nearby grocery stores rather than eat out in the morning.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stayed before cruise
Charlotte, NC
Mar 20, 2011

Enjoyed La Concha

Stayed one night before a cruise. Great location - plenty of nightlife and dining options. Hotel was very nice and in great condition. Easy to enjoy the beach before heading to cruise ship. Would stay again next time. One drawback is noise from the streets throughout the night despite being on the 10th floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top