$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

La Concha Renaissance Resort

4 stars
View map of 1077 Ashford Avenue, PO Box 6545, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Concha Renaissance Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
679 out of 679
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ngggg
dc
Feb 4, 2013

always good

a little crowded but always great place to stay and great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Global Club Hopper
Business
Washington DC
Jan 12, 2011

Poppin' bottles on ice, San Juan style

Excellent experience- the beach was great, the pool was awesome, excellent hotel, great restaurants, and the best bar in town is practically in the lobby. The hotel is always alive and happening, especially on weekend nights (great drinks at the bar, even better women)...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask the hotel concierge to arrange a trip to Luquillo beach. It was rated in the top 15 beaches in the world at one point, and its a 30 min ride from San Juan. Its absolutely incredible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, MO
Jan 10, 2011

We'll be back!!

Got an upgrade to ocean view. The view was just amazing. The restaurants were more than our expections with the food. Last but not least, the service was top of the line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We tried other restaurants near by, but we liked the restaurants located right in the hotel the most. If you like something a little different. There is Great Taste restaurant, just a block away. It has great dim sum.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
None-ya
Business
NJ
Jan 8, 2011

Going back asap!

I went in July 2010 with my hubby and a bunch of friends to celebrate my 30th b-day! This hotel was awesome! The location was okay. Yes, it's close to the airport, but not too much to do in the vicinity. There are high end shops located across the street, but besides the Wendy's, Subway, and Dunkin Donuts, there weren't any fast food/cheaper options around. There is a liquor store in walking distance, so that was a plus. Check in was slow but worth it, as they greeted us with champagne and upgraded our rooms for free; staff was ultra-friendly! My room was a king overlooking the ocean...gorgeous! The room was very clean and the temp was perfect. I'm a germaphobe, but was comfortable in this hotel room. The private balcony was also exactly what we were looking for! The fridge is small and a microwave would have been really nice! Bring your shower shoes and don't hang any clothes near the shower. The shower gets backed up, so the "tub" gets flooded quickly. We didn't complain about it...we just dealt with it. Also, since there is no curtain or door to the shower, it splashes onto the floor. You must put a towel down first and expect it to get wet. The front desk was slow to pick up phone calls, so we didn't rely on them too much for info. Walking down in person with a question wasn't any faster...always a long wait. The pools were decent. The water was on the warm side...wish it was a tad bit cooler. The adults only pool was my first choice and pretty much where I went everytime. The staff was quick to ask any minors to leave. The family pools were always crowded, and since I'm claustrophobic, I didn't bother hanging out there. The beach was rocky and it was difficult to get a chair. I didn't get in the water, so I can't report on that. Cabs get costly, but I was traveling with a group, so we split it. I would have been more than happy to take a bus, but didn't really see any. My friend took one at some point and said it was packed, but fine. Only one or two souvenir stores in the area with limited selection. Downtown San Juan was kind of dead on a Friday night. Not sure if we were in the wrong area or what, but definitely not much action. We went to a good club (Bravo) on Sat at El San Juan hotel (cab ride away), but they were VERY strict about the dress code for men...no sneakers or collarless shirts/polo's! They close at 6am and the music played was pop/hip-hop. We saw a lot of young locals going there, so it must be the spot. The lobby of La Concha was also popular for the older (40+), wealthy Puerto Rican's. Let's see...what else??? We were so busy partying/relaxing that we actually didn't get to do the Rainforest, or Bacardi tour, or anything else for that matter! Puerto Rico was a GREAT time, but you must be organzied and stick to the plan in order to gain the most from the trip! I know it's sound like I had a lot of complaints, but we are going back to La Concha in July 2011 for another awesome get-away!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Ropa Vieja is a must! The restaurant is about a 1/2 mile or so walk from the hotel. The place is small, but nice and cozy. It's a little pricey (about $15.+ per entree), but it's delicious and authentic Puerto Rican food! I highly recommend ordering the ropa vieja quesadilla as an app! Yummy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas
Jan 8, 2011

It could be better!

For the price we paid it should be better:* Having a Spa* Housekeeping should come after 4pmAnd we were very unlucky as well: * wearher was bad (Dec. 28- Jan. 03): strong winds, rain & clouds for 5 days * got poisoned in the restaurant "Green House" (2 blocks from the hotel)* false fire alarm at/around 8:am on January 3rd got every body out of the rooms for nothing, was very rainy by then too.* couldn't get anybody to clean our room on Dec.31 after 5pm. - Yes, La Concha stuff was getting ready for the big New-Year Pool party, who would care about guests on the 4th floor by 5pm ... :-) But, knowing our bad experience, the Hotel Guest-Service Manager [...] gave us a refund of $ 375. (maybe he could give us even more, if we didn't book through Orbitz for ~2500$/5 nights, I don't know ...)Over all I'd say the hotel is somewhat between 3,5 to 4 Star. Btw, it's considered the one of the best in Condado area, San Juan.We're spoiled: coming/leaving on the Strip in Las Vegas ... , you can get MUCH MORE for your money in Vegas real 5-STAR hotels!:-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mama Nellie
Business
Westerville, OH
Jan 8, 2011

Great location and gorgeous lobby!

Just returned from a fabulous 5-night stay at La Concha, our first trip to PR. We were very impressed with the hotel - comfortable room (upgraded to a suite in order to have more space and be able to check-in at our early arrival time), awesome lobby and pool areas, helpful staff and convenient location. The package price was a great value, even with the upgrade. The only negative was the extremely high drink and breakfast prices - $25 for 2 regular cocktails! (we bought our own rum at the corner store after that!) Poolside food was excellent - try the grilled tuna salad and plantain chips with guacamole - although service was sometimes quite slow. It was nice to be able to walk up the street to convenience stores, car rental, and restaurants. The bus stop to head into Old San Juan is right in front of the hotel. We did hear some occasional street noise from our partial ocean-view suite room, including brief fireworks one night. The concierge, valet and bell staff were all friendly and accomodating. [...] from valet parking is a real gem!As has been mentioned in other reviews, there is significant beach erosion immediately behind the hotel, so you cannot walk up the beach directly from the hotel property. There is a small, well-maintained beach area adjacent to the main pool, which is nicely protected by a breaker wall. Even if the surf is rough, this beach area is sheltered and relatively calm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Rent a car only for the day(s) you need to go outside of Condado / Old San Juan. Avis is less than a block from the hotel - if you return by 4:30, you won't have to keep the car overnight and pay $15 per night for hotel parking. Don't be afraid to drive to El Yunque and some of the northeastern beaches, just be prepared for some traffic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Audrey :)
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 7, 2011

Amazing place--never wanted to leave!

This hotel was incredible. It was so beautiful--the lobby, the pools, bars, the rooms, the beach in the back. Had a blast! Pool side service, bars open all night, amazing food in the hotel and down the strip its located on. Make sure to get a room that faces the beach in the back. The beach in the back has rough waves, but it is fun for playing in and wave riding. We went to another beach while we were here called "el condado", a short taxi ride away and very beautiful water, nice and warm and less waves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Liquor store is across the street. The price for drinks can get a little crazy. Buy your own. The strip has great authentic Puerto Rican food, go to these places for cheap eats and amazingly strong drinks very cheap!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver Colorado
Jan 6, 2011

Fantastico

The hotel is a 1950's gem! From the service to the facility everything was wonderful. We will stay at this place again and again. Le Perla, the shell shaped restaurant, is an exciting building and the food was exquisite. Try to get an ocean view room with a balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Le Perla also try Cafe Puerto Rico in Old Town. Oh and the Casita Blanca is fantastic. The outside looks scary but it is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jan 6, 2011

Good hotel, reasonably priced

We came to Puerto Rico for a short family vacation. We found the Hotel to be conveniently located. The room was more than adequate. Service was pleasant. The weather could have been more cooperative, so we could not take as much advantage of the pool/beach as we would have liked, but the layout of the hotel had plenty of places for us to get whatever sun we could manage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It was very easy to just rent a car for a day to go to the rain forest. Roads were easy to navigate and it was only about 45 minutes from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First Time Vacationer
Business
New York
Jan 5, 2011

Clean, Simple and Cool

We actually booked a resort view room. We asked for a water view. Lo and behold, we got to our 11th floor room and it was one of most spectacular views I've seen from a hotel room. Everything was great. If I have to complain, the pools were unheated. Cool, even for a northerner. The concierges were great but remember that everyone takes things a little relaxed here. We booked a couple of adventures to do and the rental car service arrived really late. I was always worried we were going to get some unexpected fee charged to our room. Using concierges, towel service, even getting our room safe broken. Repairman came and fixed it without accepting a tip. Only ate there once. It was pretty good food, but expensive. Beware of insane room service fees. Any sort of room service takes a long time as well..Thanks for the great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redondo Beach, CA
Jan 3, 2011

Would definitely return!

We had a few problems actually getting to the room type that we had paid for. The check-in staff were youthful and energetic but tried to "low-ball" us. Thankfully[...] the supervisor, [...], who made everything perfect...and then some. She was wonderful and extremely helpful throughout our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The best dining that we experienced in San Juan was at DiZucchero, a recently opened and very authentic Italian restaurant just down the street from La Concha. In Old San Juan, I would strongly recommend Tantra, an Indian - Puerto Rican fusion restaurant with a terrific menu and wonderful cocktails.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top