La Concha Renaissance Resort

4 stars
1077 Ashford Avenue, PO Box 6545, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
614 reviews
Amazing Service

It was my birthday weekend and I enjoyed the whole trip from beginning to end. They were so... See full review

  • Adventerous Traveler
  • Dec 2, 2014
Girls getaway

Had a great time on a girls getaway. If you want to do the touristy things or go out to a... See full review

  • Cmtina88
  • Dec 2, 2014
An awe-inspiring architectural achievement in Puerto Rico's Tropical Modernism movement, the La Concha Renaissance Resort Hotel offers an incredible place to stay in San Juan.  With instant access to the Condado beach, this is the perfect place to put your feet up and enjoy spectacular ocean views. Kids are entertained with the spacious game room, and guests can take a dip in one of the three outdoor pools, including the Sereno Infinity Pool. Eat fresh in reflective pool surroundings at the luxurious Perla seafood restaurant, where you'll find a pretty extensive wine list. Work it off with one of the complimentary fitness classes, and then get ready to try your luck at the casino. Those on business can stay chilled on the Solera Upper & Pool Deck meeting space.
Key facts
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • On-site casino
  • Fitness center with complimentary fitness classes
  • 3 outdoor pools
  • Whirlpool available in certain suites
  • 30,000-square-feet of meeting space and 19 meeting rooms
  • Smoke-free resort
  • LCD televisions in rooms
  • Lobby Lounge
  • Concierge desk
  • Limousine service
  • Evening turndown service
  • Exclusive Ocean Lounge for Gold and Platinum Rewards members
  • 5 restaurants: Perla, Voga Italian Grill, Solera, Aroma and Komakai Sushi Bar
Neighborhood
Golden, sandy beaches are just steps away from the hotel, and its location plays host to many dining and shopping spots. Visit historic Old San Juan l district to soak up the culture, marvel at the Las Croabas Lagoon with its bioluminescence bay, take a trip out to the Bacardi Rum Distillery, or unwind at the Zen Spa.
Hints and tips
Both couples and those without children will appreciate the designated adults-only pool for some comfort and quiet.
Keep your walking and dancing shoes handy whenever you leave the room, since it's easy to get carried away by the extensive San Juan nightlife.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

La Concha Renaissance Resort Rooms

Oceanfront Room
Queen OR king, ocean or pool view 37' flat screen TV, Internet, Ipod/MP3 player connection, CD player, color TV, mini-bar, air conditioning, alarm clock, bottled water, coffee maker, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, luxurious bedding, safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

18.4548 -66.0658
Area served
San Juan, Hato Rey Business District, Carolina, Bayamon, Caguas, Guaynabo Metro Office Park, Buchanan Office Park.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU)- Take 26 w to SJ, take exit 27 (De Diego Ave.), heading north until Ashford Ave. Make a left (w) on Ashford Ave, drive estimate .8 miles. Property will be on your right-hand side.
Area description
In 1958, La Concha Resort opened to rave reviews in the local social and business scene, a shining moment in Tropical Modernism movement's heyday... in the Puerto Rico pushiest district, the Condado.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.5 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.5 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.5 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.7 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.7 mi

Dining

Aroma
Serving Deli food, also open for breakfast.
Perla
Is a luxury seafood restaurant serving refined contemporary American cuisine with gracious professional hospitality. The wine cellar contains more than 4,000 bottles with over 1,000 labels. We have an extensive wines-by-the- glass program with 30 wines offered, all climate controlled in enigmatic wine preservation displays.
Komakai Sushi Bar
Komakai, translating to "small and detailed", is our newest dining selection, featuring a 13 seat sushi bar located right on our lobby. Open nightly, it features sushi, sashimi, several signature and traditional rolls, and a few hot items as well. No waiting for a seat required.
Voga Italian Grill
Voga, Italian Grill offers comfort Italian-American dishes made with homemade ingredients in a modern ambience. All our dishes represent recipes that have spanned many family generations. Savor a sumptuous array of fresh pastas confectioned every day by Chef Luis Castillo while you celebrate life overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open seven days a week from 6:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. - Reservations needed.
Solera
Solera has restaurant-style seating and also more casual lounge areas for drinks and mingling in a tropical setting.
Lobby Lounge
Serving sandwiches

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (614)

Ratings and reviews for La Concha Renaissance Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
614 out of 614
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
emsejs
Business
Chantilly, VA
Nov 25, 2010

Nice Place

Nice Place. No Issues. Would return again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rain Forest

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cold weather escaper
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 22, 2010

Nice hotel good location

The hotel is in a great location! If you want to go explorer Old Town San Juan that is about a $10-$14 cab ride away. Lots of other restaurants and shops just out the hotel door as well. You can also walk to Walgreens for any forgotten items. Don't forget a book as there was very limited places to purchase a book (hotel gift shop or Walgreens) Had fried Rice at buddha thai which was very good and the food in the Pearl (hotel restaurant) was very good as well. Service was slow everywhere we went. Great place to escape if your not looking for more than wanting to relax at the hotel and the beach for a 4 day weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Liquor/ small grocery store is just a short walk from the hotel (not cheap but cheaper than the hotel).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cape May, NJ
Nov 16, 2010

What a Wonderful Place

Ours was a short stay (long weekend) and was meant to be a relaxing, do nothing kind of vacation. Let me tell you, La Concha is just the place to relax and do nothing in style! The only decision to be made was do we lay by one of the several wonderful pools or on the beach and enjoy a drink and read a book. That was pretty much the whole stay; lay by the pool or on the beach for a few hours, eat lunch at the outdoor restaurant, lay by whichever we didn't in the morning then off to dinner. We ate one night in old San Juan and one night at a restaurant just down the street. Both very enjoyable. I live in a shore town on the southern coast of NJ and yet the calming roar of the ocean out the sliding door of our hotel room is nothing like I've ever heard. The whole trip was near perfect and La Concha was the centerpiece! The hotel is beautiful to look at and walk around and the employees are very friendly and helpful. When I tell you the only bad thing we could find from our whole trip was the elevators were a little slow, that should give you an idea how perfect our experience was. We are doing everything in our power to make it back to Puerto Rico and back to La Concha as soon as possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Although La Concha has wonderful food and a great drink selection, the price of small food items can get a little out of hand. Just across the street is a 24 hour mini mart. It looks a little sketchy but it's always full of people and they have a vast selection of drinks (both alcoholic and non), hot and cold food, packaged food and pastries. A 2L of diet Coke cost $2 there vs a glass of fountain soda at the bar for $3 for example.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
unsound1
Business
new york ny
Nov 15, 2010

great hotel

the hotel was great , very nice , clean and very friendly staff. the bar in the lobby is expensive as well as the restaurants . But location is great on the ocean in a nice area with many off site restaurants to choose from. I would highly recommend this this hotel for couples , business travelers and families with older children. Young kids are welcome and would love the hotel. I have 3 young children ( 2 ,7 ,10 ) they all would have loved this place , but the overall atmosphere is upscale and quite. My [...] reservation worked with out a hitch , and the room was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
grsing
Business
Mystic, CT
Nov 14, 2010

Wonderful resort

Beautiful hotel with extremely friendly and helpful staff. Restaurants are good, if a touch pricey (but it's a beach resort, so whatever). Very nice beach, pretty spacious rooms with great views. Location is good, as far as getting around Condado, though its a bit of a hike to downtown (about an hour walk, a quick cab ride that can add up quickly, or a cheap bus ride that runs about every 20 minutes). I'd absolutely stay there again, with no reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The rainforest tour, booked through the hotel concierge, was the highlight of my trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shoey & MK
Business
Newington, CT
Nov 14, 2010

Beautiful, modern resort on the water...

We came from a beautiful Old San Juan hotel "El Convento" so it was a very different transition. This hotel was great. Nice rooms, right on the water. Very friendly staff & beautiful lobby. The room service was excellent. Bar drinks, a little pricey. Pool and beach were very nice. Nicest beach area of all hotels in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ropa Vieja Grill on Ashford. A MUST when dining in the area. 10 min walk down the street, right on the water. Authentic Puerto Rican food, A+!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, ma
Nov 12, 2010

La Concha was very good.

There were some great things about the hotel. The beach, the grounds and location were fantastic. The check in process could have gone smoother (room not ready and our luggage was lost for a bit), but the service was generally very good overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The tappas offerings at Solero were great....a must try.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Florida
Nov 9, 2010

Great hotel; great atmosphere!

This is a farely new hotel to the area, but the staff is amazing. Everyone we met in the hotel and surrounding area was very pleasant. The oceanfront rooms have an amazing view; we slept with the doors open every night just to listen to the sound of the ocean. We arrived late (midnight) and check in was not a problem; our room was ready and available.If you're looking for nightlife, the hotel has a great lobby bar where plenty of locals visit as well...plus the casino and Old San Juan is a quick taxi ride away. There are plenty of local area restaurants to choose from and within walking distance, including across the street with amazing local food. There is also a bar across the streetthat has a great rumpunch (go see [...]). I can't say enough about the staff at La Concha; they really go above to help and serve the guests of the hotel. I have no complaints except for one which I had read when making my reservation...the elevators are slow. But other than that, I was very pleased and will definitely return to La Concha. I even took names of all those that served, helped, etc to make sure I sent a thank you note because I wanted to send a positive note to management.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street, has indoor and outdoor dining. Also for Ceviche, go to the Surf Shack...YUM!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Colin and Ray
Business
St. Louis, MO
Nov 9, 2010

What a beautiful city and hotel

The hotel was gorgeous. The extensive remodel they have done was beautiful. The hotel retained the charm of a 1950's resort, but had all the amenities needed and desired for today's vacationer. The hotel proved to be the trendy spot in San Juan. Like a hot club out of Miami. Great mix of clientele, and very gay friendly. The staff was very friendly and courteous! Highly reccomend if going to San Juan!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food and drink at La Concha was quite pricey. However, because of the location, there were many bars and restaurants within walking distance, starting directly across the street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tired parents who needed a vaca !
Business
Hollywood, Fl
Nov 9, 2010

Amazing Hotel!

From the moment we pulled up to the hotel in a taxi to the moment we left, the service was wonderful. Every single person we came in contact with were friendly and helpful. The hotel was beautiful, very modern, reminded me of a south beach hotel. We stayed in an ocean front suite in the newest tower and it was great. Bed was comfortable, bathroom was really nice,(all glass) and very quiet. Food and drinks at the hotel were the best we had during our 4 day stay. Sushi was great especially the one with a little latin flare with the sweet plaintains on top. Highly recommend it! A bit on the pricey side but worth it. Our overall experience of hotel was that is was a wonderfully managed hotel because everything seemed to worked perfectly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

On Fridays and Saturdays the main bar and casino in the hotel are full of locals and hotel guests. There is music, sometimes live, which makes it very enjoyable and no need to go elsewhere for entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top