$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 29, 2015

La Concha Renaissance Resort

4 stars
View map of 1077 Ashford Avenue, PO Box 6545, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Concha Renaissance Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
596 out of 596
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Dec 2, 2010

Gorgeous oceanfront view!

This was such a wonderful trip! The hotel is awesome! It's right in the middle of Condado. We like to gamble so we were centrally located between the Conrad and Stellaris, which have the best casinos around the area. The LaConcha was gorgeous. Our oceanview room was so romantic! We could hear the ocean every night. We thought their restaurant, Perla, had a nice view, but the main courses are like appetizers...NOT worth the $157 bill. The ice cream that came with the creme brulee was literally the size of a melon scoop. The pools are very nice and the beach was great! The rooms are so nice! You will NOT be disappointed staying here. We plan to go back very soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two restaurants we really liked....Cafe Del Angel, which is right across the street. Also across the street is Il Postino's. OMG....unbelievable Italian food. The tasty lasagna is the size of a brick. You can order 1/2 portions on most dishes. The bolognese sauce is VERY good.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alihendro
Business
Columbus, OH
Nov 30, 2010

Diamond in the Rough

Our stay at La Concha was amazing! I was surprised when we rolled up to the entrance and entered the beautifully designed resort. Honestly, I was expecting a lot less. The staff was very friendly and helpful, (like they valued our buisness greatly). For the price we paid, I was amazed at the whole trip. It was more like a Vegas resort, tons of staff and security around to assist with anything you needed. It was very clean, never over crowded, and very laid back. The Casino inside is a plus too :) Definitely going back there.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Talk to [...] at the pool side bar...

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent visitor to San Juan
Business
St. Croix
Nov 29, 2010

beautiful, but need to work out kinks

The hotel is beautiful, but the service was inconsistent. The suite is well-designed for two couples, but hotel staff did not provide sufficient amenities. We had to continually remind room service to provide enough towels, glasses, etc. Some room service staff were rude and wanted us to leave our room at 10:00 am so they could clean...when I asked her to return at 2:00, she said it wasn't possible; yet, when I called the front desk they apologized for her behavior. Also, after a long day exploring old san Juan, we returned at 5:00 pm find our room had not been serviced at all. We had no towels, beds were not made, etc. For this caliber of hotel, the service was more in line with a motel rather than a high class hotel (which la concha claims to be). I frequently visit San Juan and when I return I will stay at El Convento or The Gallery Inn until La Concha can provide more consistent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TN
Nov 27, 2010

Good stay

Good hotel. Close to the ocean with some nice views. Customer service was good. Our room was ok - it was missing a few things - a cupboard door and the ironing board cover - but these weren't major issues and we didn't bring it up with the front desk (I am assuming they would have changed our room if we had asked them since we had already changed our room once to get a better view!) One of the only complaints was the bad parking system - the exit gate didnt work a few times and we had to go in the hotel and get someone to open it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
emsejs
Business
Chantilly, VA
Nov 25, 2010

Nice Place

Nice Place. No Issues. Would return again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rain Forest

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cold weather escaper
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 22, 2010

Nice hotel good location

The hotel is in a great location! If you want to go explorer Old Town San Juan that is about a $10-$14 cab ride away. Lots of other restaurants and shops just out the hotel door as well. You can also walk to Walgreens for any forgotten items. Don't forget a book as there was very limited places to purchase a book (hotel gift shop or Walgreens) Had fried Rice at buddha thai which was very good and the food in the Pearl (hotel restaurant) was very good as well. Service was slow everywhere we went. Great place to escape if your not looking for more than wanting to relax at the hotel and the beach for a 4 day weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Liquor/ small grocery store is just a short walk from the hotel (not cheap but cheaper than the hotel).

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cape May, NJ
Nov 16, 2010

What a Wonderful Place

Ours was a short stay (long weekend) and was meant to be a relaxing, do nothing kind of vacation. Let me tell you, La Concha is just the place to relax and do nothing in style! The only decision to be made was do we lay by one of the several wonderful pools or on the beach and enjoy a drink and read a book. That was pretty much the whole stay; lay by the pool or on the beach for a few hours, eat lunch at the outdoor restaurant, lay by whichever we didn't in the morning then off to dinner. We ate one night in old San Juan and one night at a restaurant just down the street. Both very enjoyable. I live in a shore town on the southern coast of NJ and yet the calming roar of the ocean out the sliding door of our hotel room is nothing like I've ever heard. The whole trip was near perfect and La Concha was the centerpiece! The hotel is beautiful to look at and walk around and the employees are very friendly and helpful. When I tell you the only bad thing we could find from our whole trip was the elevators were a little slow, that should give you an idea how perfect our experience was. We are doing everything in our power to make it back to Puerto Rico and back to La Concha as soon as possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Although La Concha has wonderful food and a great drink selection, the price of small food items can get a little out of hand. Just across the street is a 24 hour mini mart. It looks a little sketchy but it's always full of people and they have a vast selection of drinks (both alcoholic and non), hot and cold food, packaged food and pastries. A 2L of diet Coke cost $2 there vs a glass of fountain soda at the bar for $3 for example.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
unsound1
Business
new york ny
Nov 15, 2010

great hotel

the hotel was great , very nice , clean and very friendly staff. the bar in the lobby is expensive as well as the restaurants . But location is great on the ocean in a nice area with many off site restaurants to choose from. I would highly recommend this this hotel for couples , business travelers and families with older children. Young kids are welcome and would love the hotel. I have 3 young children ( 2 ,7 ,10 ) they all would have loved this place , but the overall atmosphere is upscale and quite. My [...] reservation worked with out a hitch , and the room was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
grsing
Business
Mystic, CT
Nov 14, 2010

Wonderful resort

Beautiful hotel with extremely friendly and helpful staff. Restaurants are good, if a touch pricey (but it's a beach resort, so whatever). Very nice beach, pretty spacious rooms with great views. Location is good, as far as getting around Condado, though its a bit of a hike to downtown (about an hour walk, a quick cab ride that can add up quickly, or a cheap bus ride that runs about every 20 minutes). I'd absolutely stay there again, with no reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The rainforest tour, booked through the hotel concierge, was the highlight of my trip.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shoey & MK
Business
Newington, CT
Nov 14, 2010

Beautiful, modern resort on the water...

We came from a beautiful Old San Juan hotel "El Convento" so it was a very different transition. This hotel was great. Nice rooms, right on the water. Very friendly staff & beautiful lobby. The room service was excellent. Bar drinks, a little pricey. Pool and beach were very nice. Nicest beach area of all hotels in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ropa Vieja Grill on Ashford. A MUST when dining in the area. 10 min walk down the street, right on the water. Authentic Puerto Rican food, A+!

Back to menu Return to top