$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2015 Check-out: Sep 24, 2015

La Concha Renaissance Resort

4 stars
View map of 1077 Ashford Avenue, PO Box 6545, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Concha Renaissance Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
603 out of 603
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mama Nellie
Couples
Westerville, OH
Jan 8, 2011

Great location and gorgeous lobby!

Just returned from a fabulous 5-night stay at La Concha, our first trip to PR. We were very impressed with the hotel - comfortable room (upgraded to a suite in order to have more space and be able to check-in at our early arrival time), awesome lobby and pool areas, helpful staff and convenient location. The package price was a great value, even with the upgrade. The only negative was the extremely high drink and breakfast prices - $25 for 2 regular cocktails! (we bought our own rum at the corner store after that!) Poolside food was excellent - try the grilled tuna salad and plantain chips with guacamole - although service was sometimes quite slow. It was nice to be able to walk up the street to convenience stores, car rental, and restaurants. The bus stop to head into Old San Juan is right in front of the hotel. We did hear some occasional street noise from our partial ocean-view suite room, including brief fireworks one night. The concierge, valet and bell staff were all friendly and accomodating. [...] from valet parking is a real gem!As has been mentioned in other reviews, there is significant beach erosion immediately behind the hotel, so you cannot walk up the beach directly from the hotel property. There is a small, well-maintained beach area adjacent to the main pool, which is nicely protected by a breaker wall. Even if the surf is rough, this beach area is sheltered and relatively calm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Rent a car only for the day(s) you need to go outside of Condado / Old San Juan. Avis is less than a block from the hotel - if you return by 4:30, you won't have to keep the car overnight and pay $15 per night for hotel parking. Don't be afraid to drive to El Yunque and some of the northeastern beaches, just be prepared for some traffic.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Audrey :)
Family
Boston, MA
Jan 7, 2011

Amazing place--never wanted to leave!

This hotel was incredible. It was so beautiful--the lobby, the pools, bars, the rooms, the beach in the back. Had a blast! Pool side service, bars open all night, amazing food in the hotel and down the strip its located on. Make sure to get a room that faces the beach in the back. The beach in the back has rough waves, but it is fun for playing in and wave riding. We went to another beach while we were here called "el condado", a short taxi ride away and very beautiful water, nice and warm and less waves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Liquor store is across the street. The price for drinks can get a little crazy. Buy your own. The strip has great authentic Puerto Rican food, go to these places for cheap eats and amazingly strong drinks very cheap!

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Denver Colorado
Jan 6, 2011

Fantastico

The hotel is a 1950's gem! From the service to the facility everything was wonderful. We will stay at this place again and again. Le Perla, the shell shaped restaurant, is an exciting building and the food was exquisite. Try to get an ocean view room with a balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Le Perla also try Cafe Puerto Rico in Old Town. Oh and the Casita Blanca is fantastic. The outside looks scary but it is great.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
New York
Jan 6, 2011

Good hotel, reasonably priced

We came to Puerto Rico for a short family vacation. We found the Hotel to be conveniently located. The room was more than adequate. Service was pleasant. The weather could have been more cooperative, so we could not take as much advantage of the pool/beach as we would have liked, but the layout of the hotel had plenty of places for us to get whatever sun we could manage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It was very easy to just rent a car for a day to go to the rain forest. Roads were easy to navigate and it was only about 45 minutes from the hotel.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First Time Vacationer
Couples
New York
Jan 5, 2011

Clean, Simple and Cool

We actually booked a resort view room. We asked for a water view. Lo and behold, we got to our 11th floor room and it was one of most spectacular views I've seen from a hotel room. Everything was great. If I have to complain, the pools were unheated. Cool, even for a northerner. The concierges were great but remember that everyone takes things a little relaxed here. We booked a couple of adventures to do and the rental car service arrived really late. I was always worried we were going to get some unexpected fee charged to our room. Using concierges, towel service, even getting our room safe broken. Repairman came and fixed it without accepting a tip. Only ate there once. It was pretty good food, but expensive. Beware of insane room service fees. Any sort of room service takes a long time as well..Thanks for the great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Redondo Beach, CA
Jan 3, 2011

Would definitely return!

We had a few problems actually getting to the room type that we had paid for. The check-in staff were youthful and energetic but tried to "low-ball" us. Thankfully[...] the supervisor, [...], who made everything perfect...and then some. She was wonderful and extremely helpful throughout our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The best dining that we experienced in San Juan was at DiZucchero, a recently opened and very authentic Italian restaurant just down the street from La Concha. In Old San Juan, I would strongly recommend Tantra, an Indian - Puerto Rican fusion restaurant with a terrific menu and wonderful cocktails.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Washington DC
Jan 3, 2011

Horrible Experience

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MomDC
Family
Washington, DC
Jan 3, 2011

Mixed feeling

We are a family of four and we just returned from staying 4 nights at La Concha. My kids are both under 10 and we booked a suite with partial ocean view. I realize we did not book a 5-star hotel but La Concha appeared to have issues with keeping up with certain basic services which is a pity considering the many pluses it has. The location is excellent. We walked about 3 blocks from the hotel, both up and down the street, and there were at least 10 places to eat including Subway directly across from the hotel and Dunkin Donuts visible from the hotel. Walgreens is a block away. Orozco's (sp?) is half a block to the hotel (before reaching Walgreens) serving hearty local food. It also serves reasonably priced "regular" breakfast such as pancakes, omelete, etc. until 3 pm. Pure and Natural which is only a few steps away offers healthy and vegetarian options including sandwiches, salads and a variety of juice drinks. La Concha is well-maintained and modern looking. The beach area is rocky and relatively small. It was quite wavy during our stay but the kids had a blast being knocked over by the waves. Several restaurants available on-site but we only ate at Solera which is by the pool area. On the pricey side but good portion. Both kids spent a short time at the kids club and were happy with the activities. All of the hotel staff we met were very friendly and courteous. They weren't kidding about the "partial ocean view" for our room! We were first given a room on the lower level and it had about 10% view of the ocean with the rest taken by random buildings - some under construction, and some are simply eyesores. We called the front desk asking for a room on a higher floor and it was quickly granted. Since it was still on the same side of the building, the building view remained but we were at least able to see more ocean. The air conditioner was extremely loud and it took a while to get used to. Both beds (the king-size one in the bedroom and the full-size sofa bed in the living room) were uncomfortable, although I know not to expect much for sofa beds. The kitchenette was well equipped with a microwave, stove, refrigerator, utensils, cookware, coffee maker, etc. Hotel service is the area that could really use some improvement. Starting with housekeeping. We had to call twice for sheets, covers, and pillows for the sofa bed the first night. I wonder why they don't just stock an extra set in the room to save everyone the trouble. One day we left in the early morning for a tour. When we returned to the room at 5 pm, the room was not cleaned and we called Housekeeping. A maid came two hours later. We went out for dinner after her arrival, and when we came back, we realized all of our bath towels were taken away. It took another 2 phone calls to Housekeeping. The next issue is with the Concierge. I first spoke to someone about the tours we are interested in and she told me she would gather the info and call a few places for me. She told me to come back later and if she was not around, she would leave the info with the next person. When I did exactly that, no one could find the info so I had to start over. Then, I found out they booked one of our tours with two different companies after both companies called me directly to re-confirm. It would probably be easier to just call the tour companies ourselves. I selected that I would recommend the hotel to a friend based on the pros but please think twice if the issues I described bother you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The trip to the bioluminescent bay at Fajardo was the best part of our vacation. Consider booking early during peak seasons. I heard about the tour that would let people swim in the bay, but the concierge said there's only one company running that tour and they were booked up during our entire stay. We booked the kayaking tour instead. Each fits two so my husband was going to take our younger one and I was going to take the older one. I was a bit concerned with my "team" but was assured by one of the guides working at the bay that there wouldn't be any issues. A few minutes later, he came back (without being asked) with a solution - that my husband would take our older one while our younger one and I would go separately and each with a guide! Needless to say we were very pleased with that arrangement. We went with 20+ other people with a wide range of ages and most appeared to have little to no kayaking experience, but all completed the trip and made it back safely with the help of the wonderful guides. Do bring towels and change of clothing as you will be wet from the waist down.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
proud graduate mom
Family
indiana
Dec 27, 2010

Great location for your family

Nice beach and pool areas. Very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Campo Rico Adventures was a great time with kayaking and zip lining and a meal afterwards.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
enjoytravelin'
Couples
NY, NY
Dec 26, 2010

great place, but slow service

The hotel was very nice and he restaurants were pretty good. I did find that the service was slow and our roomed was not cleaned 1 day until 8pm, after I called them twice. Overall we had a great time and would definitely go back again despite the one issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Perla is the phenomenal. Also, the Solera Flip drink, poolside, is awesome!

Back to menu Return to top