$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

La Concha Renaissance Resort

4 stars
1077 Ashford Avenue, PO Box 6545, San Juan, 00907
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
615 reviews
Amazing Service

It was my birthday weekend and I enjoyed the whole trip from beginning to end. They were so... See full review

  • Adventerous Traveler
  • Dec 2, 2014
Girls getaway

Had a great time on a girls getaway. If you want to do the touristy things or go out to a... See full review

  • Cmtina88
  • Dec 2, 2014
An awe-inspiring architectural achievement in Puerto Rico's Tropical Modernism movement, the La Concha Renaissance Resort Hotel offers an incredible place to stay in San Juan.  With instant access to the Condado beach, this is the perfect place to put your feet up and enjoy spectacular ocean views. Kids are entertained with the spacious game room, and guests can take a dip in one of the three outdoor pools, including the Sereno Infinity Pool. Eat fresh in reflective pool surroundings at the luxurious Perla seafood restaurant, where you'll find a pretty extensive wine list. Work it off with one of the complimentary fitness classes, and then get ready to try your luck at the casino. Those on business can stay chilled on the Solera Upper & Pool Deck meeting space.
Key facts
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • On-site casino
  • Fitness center with complimentary fitness classes
  • 3 outdoor pools
  • Whirlpool available in certain suites
  • 30,000-square-feet of meeting space and 19 meeting rooms
  • Smoke-free resort
  • LCD televisions in rooms
  • Lobby Lounge
  • Concierge desk
  • Limousine service
  • Evening turndown service
  • Exclusive Ocean Lounge for Gold and Platinum Rewards members
  • 5 restaurants: Perla, Voga Italian Grill, Solera, Aroma and Komakai Sushi Bar
Neighborhood
Golden, sandy beaches are just steps away from the hotel, and its location plays host to many dining and shopping spots. Visit historic Old San Juan l district to soak up the culture, marvel at the Las Croabas Lagoon with its bioluminescence bay, take a trip out to the Bacardi Rum Distillery, or unwind at the Zen Spa.
Hints and tips
Both couples and those without children will appreciate the designated adults-only pool for some comfort and quiet.
Keep your walking and dancing shoes handy whenever you leave the room, since it's easy to get carried away by the extensive San Juan nightlife.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Concha Renaissance Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

La Concha Renaissance Resort Rooms

Oceanfront Room
Queen OR king, ocean or pool view 37' flat screen TV, Internet, Ipod/MP3 player connection, CD player, color TV, mini-bar, air conditioning, alarm clock, bottled water, coffee maker, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, luxurious bedding, safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.5 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.5 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.5 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.7 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.7 mi

Dining

Aroma
Serving Deli food, also open for breakfast.
Perla
Is a luxury seafood restaurant serving refined contemporary American cuisine with gracious professional hospitality. The wine cellar contains more than 4,000 bottles with over 1,000 labels. We have an extensive wines-by-the- glass program with 30 wines offered, all climate controlled in enigmatic wine preservation displays.
Komakai Sushi Bar
Komakai, translating to "small and detailed", is our newest dining selection, featuring a 13 seat sushi bar located right on our lobby. Open nightly, it features sushi, sashimi, several signature and traditional rolls, and a few hot items as well. No waiting for a seat required.
Voga Italian Grill
Voga, Italian Grill offers comfort Italian-American dishes made with homemade ingredients in a modern ambience. All our dishes represent recipes that have spanned many family generations. Savor a sumptuous array of fresh pastas confectioned every day by Chef Luis Castillo while you celebrate life overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open seven days a week from 6:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. - Reservations needed.
Solera
Solera has restaurant-style seating and also more casual lounge areas for drinks and mingling in a tropical setting.
Lobby Lounge
Serving sandwiches

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (615)

Ratings and reviews for La Concha Renaissance Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
615 out of 615
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Beach, NY
Dec 21, 2010

Trendy Feel Good Hotel

Very conveniently located on Condado strip; hotel had trendy lobby and pool area. Breakfast, lunch and dinner could be had around pool or lobby. Food and beverages were excellent and supervised by a very friendly and capable [...], F&B Assistant Manager. His staff and the entire staff of the hotel made you feel welcome and took the time to satisfy your every concern. It made for a great stay. Hotel very convenientto other restaurants and Old San Juan. Looking forward to returning. Checking in was a snap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando Fl.
Dec 21, 2010

I will give you the good, bad and ugly.

I will give you the good, bad and ugly. The hotel is beautiful, room services was good. The service at the bar was bad, my son and I were at a table waiting to be serviced it was around 10:15pm Tuesday when we got in hungry and hoping to eat. The girls serving just looked at us and did not come over to assist us for over 5 10 minutes. They would look over to us and keep on going. We were dressed like everyone else, but we looked as if we were from Puerto Rico. We were given only one set of silverware and not asked if we wanted more water, napkins or anything else. Had to get up for more water, She never came back to see if we needed anything. We even had to get up to pay the check since she never came back. My son is a real good tipper but not this time. The Ugly My son was stopped about 15 times asking him why he was at the hotel, I did not find this out until we were on our way back or I would have said something. This was discrimination. So to tell you we will not stay at the La Concha San Juan again. We can never assume by looks, and there are ways to say and ask things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

great valet service

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ruthie
Business
Melrose Park, IL
Dec 13, 2010

It had ups and downs

I've stayed at hotels in Cancun, Cozumel, and the US that has never charged $500 ahead for (just in case expenses) I know of charges that go in the bill on daily bases but this was ridiculous! [...] Then after taking out the charges and giving us complimentary drink credits, they surprised us with another charge for hotel maintanance, wow! Why don't they just include that in their total price? Oh, I know, cause then the price is too high! They also charge a daily parking fee that also was a surprise to us. I love surprises, but not bad ones! :0(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants at walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Dec 13, 2010

Good, but not exactly what I expected

The hotel was very nice and the staff was very friendly. The rooms were not as nice as I would have expected, but the staff surely made up for this. The one major compliant I had was that our room was never swept while we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Bioluminescient Bay...!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Guest
Business
Oceanside, CA
Dec 13, 2010

Very enjoyable hotel with some flaws

I have stayed at La Concha two times in the last few months. This is one of my favorite hotels in San Juan. The best features of the hotel are its location in Condado, the pool area, the gym, the business lounge, excellent restaurants and the staff who are always friendly and helpful. However, I did run into a few issues on my most recent trip which were not so pleasant. First my room had a very distinct raw sewage odor. I reported it to the front desk and they said they would install an ozone generator. If they did, it made no difference, and they did not check with me to see if the problem had been resolved or offer me a room change. Second, the room looked it was undergoing repairs as there were no frosted glass doors, like there normally is, on the closets. My room was also missing a folding stand for my suitcase. Lastly, check out is 12:00 PM. I asked for a late check out (2:00 PM) as I had a meeting in the morning followed by lunch with a client and wanted to change before catching my flight. They said they could not accommodate me unless I payed $50. Their reasoning was that they needed to clean the room. This was despite the fact that they never cleaned my room before 2:00 any day that I was there. I was also annoyed because I stay 30+ nights a year in Marriott properties and expect a little more flexibility. I shared my frustration with the person I spoke with but she said there was nothing she could do as she had checked with management. So I packed up my bags and proceeded to the front desk to check out. I reiterated my frustration with the late checkout issue and was told they could arrange it. Needless to say it was too late. Overall, I would still recommend this hotel. In the future however, I will be more vocal sooner regarding the issues I encounter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

excellent restaurants within short walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lanesville guy
Business
Ft Lauderdale,FL
Dec 11, 2010

Great resort for couples

The resort was very well kept and the room was better than expected. Everyone there was very pleasant and helpful. this resort was in the top ten!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Perla restaurant was fabulous! A really special place to dine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hisjoye
Business
LouisianA
Dec 11, 2010

Loved LaConcha

La Concha exceeded our expectations! We stayed here for 5 nights in December and loved it! The decor, the water features in the resort and the atmosphere was very reminiscent of South Beach in Miami. At night the lobby becomes a hot lounge for singles and couples alike. The music was great and the drinks were awesome. The party goes on until 3 or 4 am. Our roomwas on the 10th floor so we had no problem with the music. Felix at the valet was a good resource and we checked with him daily for suggestions on where to go and what to do. We read alot about how dangerous San Juan was and we were nervous about being out after dark but we did not have any issues. There is also a heavy police presence

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk or Taxi into Old San Juan for much better food prices. There is a Chinese restaurant about two blocks fro La Concha with great food and very reasonable lunch prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
State College, PA
Dec 11, 2010

Good

The hotel is good, but the check-in is slow!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lynnwood, WA
Dec 11, 2010

Tropical Oasis

The hotel location is excellent - near old San Juan and isla verde beach (even though the condado beach is nice, isla verde beach is much nicer). There are a couple of very nice pools within the hotel although people seemed to enjoy taking in the sun around the pool and the beach. There are many lounging chairs and sofas to relax in throughout the outdoor area and near the pool/restaurant. The bar lounge is the place to be each and every night particularly on the weekends - it seems to attract a well dressed crowd. Traffic seems to be getting worse around the island so if you rent a vehicle plan on long delays during rush hour. If you are up to a night of adventure ask to be taken to "La plazita" which is a 3 to 4 block local hangout spot on Thursdays & Fridays where you can find some great food and bar hop while listening to live music and best of all you pay no cover (the cab ride is ~5-7 minutes and only $8USD). The bio bay kayaking tour is also a very nice way to cap off a sunny day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a few restaurants options not only in the hotel but nearby on ashcroft avenue - there's a very nice outdoor italian restaurant around the corner from the hotel as well as a thai restaurant overlooking the water.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Dec 10, 2010

My Hotel for a Great Vacation

The staff was very friendly and attentive. The infinity edge pools and jaquzzis surrounded by palm trees created the perfect environment. Hotels is within walking distance of many reasonably priced local restaurants. Beachfront property, so you can also jump into the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at local restaurants to save money, and get the local flair and cooking. Many resaurants will sit you a the water's edge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top