$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

La Concha Renaissance Resort

4 stars
1077 Ashford Avenue, PO Box 6545, San Juan, 00907
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
615 reviews
Amazing Service

It was my birthday weekend and I enjoyed the whole trip from beginning to end. They were so... See full review

  • Adventerous Traveler
  • Dec 2, 2014
Girls getaway

Had a great time on a girls getaway. If you want to do the touristy things or go out to a... See full review

  • Cmtina88
  • Dec 2, 2014
An awe-inspiring architectural achievement in Puerto Rico's Tropical Modernism movement, the La Concha Renaissance Resort Hotel offers an incredible place to stay in San Juan.  With instant access to the Condado beach, this is the perfect place to put your feet up and enjoy spectacular ocean views. Kids are entertained with the spacious game room, and guests can take a dip in one of the three outdoor pools, including the Sereno Infinity Pool. Eat fresh in reflective pool surroundings at the luxurious Perla seafood restaurant, where you'll find a pretty extensive wine list. Work it off with one of the complimentary fitness classes, and then get ready to try your luck at the casino. Those on business can stay chilled on the Solera Upper & Pool Deck meeting space.
Key facts
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • On-site casino
  • Fitness center with complimentary fitness classes
  • 3 outdoor pools
  • Whirlpool available in certain suites
  • 30,000-square-feet of meeting space and 19 meeting rooms
  • Smoke-free resort
  • LCD televisions in rooms
  • Lobby Lounge
  • Concierge desk
  • Limousine service
  • Evening turndown service
  • Exclusive Ocean Lounge for Gold and Platinum Rewards members
  • 5 restaurants: Perla, Voga Italian Grill, Solera, Aroma and Komakai Sushi Bar
Neighborhood
Golden, sandy beaches are just steps away from the hotel, and its location plays host to many dining and shopping spots. Visit historic Old San Juan l district to soak up the culture, marvel at the Las Croabas Lagoon with its bioluminescence bay, take a trip out to the Bacardi Rum Distillery, or unwind at the Zen Spa.
Hints and tips
Both couples and those without children will appreciate the designated adults-only pool for some comfort and quiet.
Keep your walking and dancing shoes handy whenever you leave the room, since it's easy to get carried away by the extensive San Juan nightlife.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Concha Renaissance Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

La Concha Renaissance Resort Rooms

Oceanfront Room
Queen OR king, ocean or pool view 37' flat screen TV, Internet, Ipod/MP3 player connection, CD player, color TV, mini-bar, air conditioning, alarm clock, bottled water, coffee maker, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, luxurious bedding, safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.5 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.5 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.5 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.7 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.7 mi

Dining

Aroma
Serving Deli food, also open for breakfast.
Perla
Is a luxury seafood restaurant serving refined contemporary American cuisine with gracious professional hospitality. The wine cellar contains more than 4,000 bottles with over 1,000 labels. We have an extensive wines-by-the- glass program with 30 wines offered, all climate controlled in enigmatic wine preservation displays.
Komakai Sushi Bar
Komakai, translating to "small and detailed", is our newest dining selection, featuring a 13 seat sushi bar located right on our lobby. Open nightly, it features sushi, sashimi, several signature and traditional rolls, and a few hot items as well. No waiting for a seat required.
Voga Italian Grill
Voga, Italian Grill offers comfort Italian-American dishes made with homemade ingredients in a modern ambience. All our dishes represent recipes that have spanned many family generations. Savor a sumptuous array of fresh pastas confectioned every day by Chef Luis Castillo while you celebrate life overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open seven days a week from 6:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. - Reservations needed.
Solera
Solera has restaurant-style seating and also more casual lounge areas for drinks and mingling in a tropical setting.
Lobby Lounge
Serving sandwiches

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (615)

Ratings and reviews for La Concha Renaissance Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
615 out of 615
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First Time Vacationer
Business
New York
Jan 5, 2011

Clean, Simple and Cool

We actually booked a resort view room. We asked for a water view. Lo and behold, we got to our 11th floor room and it was one of most spectacular views I've seen from a hotel room. Everything was great. If I have to complain, the pools were unheated. Cool, even for a northerner. The concierges were great but remember that everyone takes things a little relaxed here. We booked a couple of adventures to do and the rental car service arrived really late. I was always worried we were going to get some unexpected fee charged to our room. Using concierges, towel service, even getting our room safe broken. Repairman came and fixed it without accepting a tip. Only ate there once. It was pretty good food, but expensive. Beware of insane room service fees. Any sort of room service takes a long time as well..Thanks for the great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redondo Beach, CA
Jan 3, 2011

Would definitely return!

We had a few problems actually getting to the room type that we had paid for. The check-in staff were youthful and energetic but tried to "low-ball" us. Thankfully[...] the supervisor, [...], who made everything perfect...and then some. She was wonderful and extremely helpful throughout our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The best dining that we experienced in San Juan was at DiZucchero, a recently opened and very authentic Italian restaurant just down the street from La Concha. In Old San Juan, I would strongly recommend Tantra, an Indian - Puerto Rican fusion restaurant with a terrific menu and wonderful cocktails.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Jan 3, 2011

Horrible Experience

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MomDC
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 3, 2011

Mixed feeling

We are a family of four and we just returned from staying 4 nights at La Concha. My kids are both under 10 and we booked a suite with partial ocean view. I realize we did not book a 5-star hotel but La Concha appeared to have issues with keeping up with certain basic services which is a pity considering the many pluses it has. The location is excellent. We walked about 3 blocks from the hotel, both up and down the street, and there were at least 10 places to eat including Subway directly across from the hotel and Dunkin Donuts visible from the hotel. Walgreens is a block away. Orozco's (sp?) is half a block to the hotel (before reaching Walgreens) serving hearty local food. It also serves reasonably priced "regular" breakfast such as pancakes, omelete, etc. until 3 pm. Pure and Natural which is only a few steps away offers healthy and vegetarian options including sandwiches, salads and a variety of juice drinks. La Concha is well-maintained and modern looking. The beach area is rocky and relatively small. It was quite wavy during our stay but the kids had a blast being knocked over by the waves. Several restaurants available on-site but we only ate at Solera which is by the pool area. On the pricey side but good portion. Both kids spent a short time at the kids club and were happy with the activities. All of the hotel staff we met were very friendly and courteous. They weren't kidding about the "partial ocean view" for our room! We were first given a room on the lower level and it had about 10% view of the ocean with the rest taken by random buildings - some under construction, and some are simply eyesores. We called the front desk asking for a room on a higher floor and it was quickly granted. Since it was still on the same side of the building, the building view remained but we were at least able to see more ocean. The air conditioner was extremely loud and it took a while to get used to. Both beds (the king-size one in the bedroom and the full-size sofa bed in the living room) were uncomfortable, although I know not to expect much for sofa beds. The kitchenette was well equipped with a microwave, stove, refrigerator, utensils, cookware, coffee maker, etc. Hotel service is the area that could really use some improvement. Starting with housekeeping. We had to call twice for sheets, covers, and pillows for the sofa bed the first night. I wonder why they don't just stock an extra set in the room to save everyone the trouble. One day we left in the early morning for a tour. When we returned to the room at 5 pm, the room was not cleaned and we called Housekeeping. A maid came two hours later. We went out for dinner after her arrival, and when we came back, we realized all of our bath towels were taken away. It took another 2 phone calls to Housekeeping. The next issue is with the Concierge. I first spoke to someone about the tours we are interested in and she told me she would gather the info and call a few places for me. She told me to come back later and if she was not around, she would leave the info with the next person. When I did exactly that, no one could find the info so I had to start over. Then, I found out they booked one of our tours with two different companies after both companies called me directly to re-confirm. It would probably be easier to just call the tour companies ourselves. I selected that I would recommend the hotel to a friend based on the pros but please think twice if the issues I described bother you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The trip to the bioluminescent bay at Fajardo was the best part of our vacation. Consider booking early during peak seasons. I heard about the tour that would let people swim in the bay, but the concierge said there's only one company running that tour and they were booked up during our entire stay. We booked the kayaking tour instead. Each fits two so my husband was going to take our younger one and I was going to take the older one. I was a bit concerned with my "team" but was assured by one of the guides working at the bay that there wouldn't be any issues. A few minutes later, he came back (without being asked) with a solution - that my husband would take our older one while our younger one and I would go separately and each with a guide! Needless to say we were very pleased with that arrangement. We went with 20+ other people with a wide range of ages and most appeared to have little to no kayaking experience, but all completed the trip and made it back safely with the help of the wonderful guides. Do bring towels and change of clothing as you will be wet from the waist down.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
proud graduate mom
Business
indiana
Dec 27, 2010

Great location for your family

Nice beach and pool areas. Very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Campo Rico Adventures was a great time with kayaking and zip lining and a meal afterwards.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
enjoytravelin'
Business
NY, NY
Dec 26, 2010

great place, but slow service

The hotel was very nice and he restaurants were pretty good. I did find that the service was slow and our roomed was not cleaned 1 day until 8pm, after I called them twice. Overall we had a great time and would definitely go back again despite the one issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Perla is the phenomenal. Also, the Solera Flip drink, poolside, is awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Catina
Business
Milwaukee , WI
Dec 26, 2010

Chiq Hotel

The only complaint was that the room doors do not shut all the way. There was security walking around to check on them though. The concierge was very helpful. Lobby wasn't "slamming" as we were told during the night hours but was entertaining. Will definitely be back!!! Police are always patrolling the area. Gucci, Louis vuitton, ad Mont Blac are within walking distance. Very clean and nice hotel. Bring a bottle of alcohol though because you won't get a drink under 10.00

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The food and drinks served at the hotel were very pricey but there are many restaurants across the street and down the block. Starbucks, Subway, Wendys, Dunkin donuts.....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW JERSEY
Dec 25, 2010

very friendly staff, good location

went there with my wife and a 3 yr old daughter. the hotel is very family friendly. They did provide us a microwave on request (needed it for our daughter and I did need to make 3-4 requests before they sent it). but VERY friendly staff right from the minute you get off the cab. The rooms were very neat and the room service people came every day to ask if we needed anything. Their poolside area is very good- relaxing music all day plus some good cocktails. It is centrally located. Wide variety of dining options - hotel has a good ones. Several local joints right across the hotel and a wendy's, subway, dunkindonuts within a 2 minute walk (literally a 2 min. walk). The bus stop for San Juan is right in front of the hotel (although cabs take only $12 to get there). the entire facility was neat. they provide towels for the pool and the beach, and of course the beach chairs. only two things which made it miss the perfect 10 - their beachside showers were not working one day and it did take us 3-4 requests before they brought the microwave. The showers were not an issue as they have a pool right next to the beach where we could get rid of the sand...overall I would go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

take a cab to the fort del morro and then use the local trolley (or walk) from there to the city. If you take a bus going to the fort, you might lose close to 1.5 hours (waiting for the bus and then the trolley)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dillinger
Business
Boston MA
Dec 23, 2010

Excellent

Met almost all my expectations. Comfortable rooms with Aveda toiletries (wife loved), beach was gorgeous with big waves, pools were beautiful but couldve been bigger, good restaurants right at the hotel from pricey to quick and cheap, close in vicinity to shopping, activities, old San Juan, and airport. Very nice and helpful hotel staff. 24 hour gym that actually has new and useful equipment, Minuses: no free breakfast unless it's part of your package. We took several day trips to old San Juan which was absolutely gorgeous and a 5 minute drive away. Also took a kayaking trip which was breathtaking. Will defintitely visit again and will book with la concha. Great for couples, families with kids, young singles, all comers. Excellent hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Btween4ever
Business
NY, New york
Dec 21, 2010

Beautiful, Gracious, Relaxing Resort

My best friend was married at La Concha and many of us stayed in the hotel for several days. The central bar was fabulous and the bartenders graciously went past closing time knowing we were celebrating.... the property is very beautiful, several pool areas (infinity pools) great seating, including oceanside canopied "beds" for lounging...beatifully lit at night as well... and the rooms are super-modern/lots of luxury, flatscreen tv's, marble tiled bathrooms with whirlpools, great ocean & city views and hotel is conveniently located. Totally relaxing and active at the same time! Great spa & workout area. Nice casino (where I didn't spend any time). Food was outstanding! Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The big central bar has live music and a lively, beautifully dressed crowd. Ask for a list of clubs if you want to go dancing. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top