$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2015 Check-out: Jul 14, 2015

La Concha Renaissance Resort

4 stars
View map of 1077 Ashford Avenue, PO Box 6545, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Concha Renaissance Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
683 out of 683
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 18, 2011

LaConcha rocks

Had lunch in feb visit and knew then I wanted to stay next time. We stayed for the weekend last and loved it. Cabana, pools, drinks, servers Amenities, everything was just the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Saturday night the entire lobby was a dance floor with great music, people, and ambiance .

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bowie, MD
Jun 16, 2011

Great Hotel

The staff at La Concha were friendly and very helpful. I had a great beach view from my window and just outside the front door was the view of the pool area. Be advised that there they require a security deposit upon arrival, which I was not aware of, for each night. The deposit is $100 per night but you get your money back upon check out, excluding the resort fee. I was a little upset that this wasn't disclosed at booking but all worked out. I would recommend this hotel and I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buford, GA
Jun 16, 2011

San Juan, PR

The hotel was beautiful. Even though it rained everyday during our stay it didn't matter because it was still plenty to do and see. I wouldn't stay at any other hotel there but the La Concha!!! I traveled the entire resort area and they were the BEST in my opinion. Everything was either in walking distance. The buses are cheap and can get you just about anywhere. They do run on a strange schedule but well worth it. Old San Juan was very nice. We toured the entire city in one day, but you have to start early. The local trolly was free in Old San Juan. Make sure you wear a good pair of comfort shoes. We caught the ferry to visit the Bacardi distillery. Love it. And the Don Q visitors center is located in the visited center in Old San Juan when you get back from the ferry. The best way to see the rain forest is to rent a car and drive there on your own if there are more than two people. It's only about $15 - 30 for the car and you can site see on the hour drive, be on your own schedule, see the best beaches there, and save about $60 per person. I went with my two daughters age 17 and 20. Oh the food is not that expensive as some reviews stated. Normal city prices but if you get a suite, the come with a kitchen with all the utensil so you can shop at the walgreen grocey store a block away and cook your own meals or quick foods. We saved by cooking breakfast and eating out for lunch (lite) and dinner. I could tell you so much but you have to see it for yourself. The people are wonderful all over San Juan, they make you feel so great for coming to PR. I was thanked so many times for visiting PR and helping them keep PR beautiful. They make you feel like your the most important person there every time you pass them. The hotel lost power at one point due to something on the island but they gave us breakfast that morning since we couldn't cook in our room and special gift box in our room that evening thanking us for our patience. Lovely!!! The sushi bar was the best and all the restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The only thing I was unhappy about was at restaurants they don't tell you that you are not getting free refills on your drinks ( tea ) when they ask you if you want more to drink while you wait for your food and it takes them a long time to bring your food out at all the restaurants.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
avid yearly vacationer
Business
winston salem, NC
Jun 16, 2011

great getaway

the out door areas were great, my duaghter loves the pool there was the added benefit of the pools and hot tubs being open all night. the beach was great. the room was a little musty initially but very modern. I think it was because the air conditioning was off but resolved after turning on the air.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny
Jun 16, 2011

amazing resort

the experience was great, the number of pools meant that there were ample opportunities to swim in some degree of privacy and the staff were very helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The resort had some great food and within a five minute walk chef trevino has a few restaurants with sensational food

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sissydyer
Business
philly
Jun 14, 2011

Awesome Hotel & Staff

Staff was always very polite and helpful to any and every request we had. Hotel grounds, pools, restaurants all amazing. Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dynamite!
Business
Maryland
Jun 14, 2011

Beautiful Place minor updates needed

We went for the location and for the beach. It was a exactly what we needed. The hotel was within walking distance of over 25 restaurants of variety. It's not within walking distance of Old San Juan, but it's only 75 cents to take the bus or 13/14 bucks to take a taxi. Thus we took the bus to do our shopping. During our stay Denise, the front desk manager took care of all our concerns and was very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again and recommend it to others as well. You wont go wrong staying at La Concha. One tip: try to get a room in the new part of the building. It's possibly already booked because of weddings and ceremony's that they have. They had about 4 in the week that we were there. Two things I wish they had were a fan in the elevator and ceramic floors in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Puerto Rican food place right across the street was good and further down Ashford, Pinky's had really good breakfast. Pelayo not too far away also had a decent breakfast. But Pinky's took the cake!

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wattans
Business
Houston
Jun 12, 2011

Great Hotel

Its a beautiful hotel right in front of the Condado beach.You need not go to any other beach, because this beach was beautiful but can get crowded though. The pools at the facility were awesome and the staff were super friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

One hint to give is that people shouldn't take taxis to go to Old San Juan. They have a bus stop in front of La Concha, which cost us 75 cents each to get to the city. On the other hand, if you were to go in a taxi it would cost 16$ each back and fro. That helped us save a lot of money.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kas Soccermad dad
Business
Indialantic, Fl
Jun 11, 2011

Fantastic family getaway

Nice restaurants on property, a little expensive, Great open atmosphere, 4 pools, 2 jacuzzi's, step onto beach, shopping and restaurants close by, old san juan 7 minutes away, FRIENDLY HELPFUL STAFF. Only negative was cost of alcohol on property $11 for spirits, $7 for beer. But really a great hotel. Will stay here in future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

rent car to get to attractions if with family. Rainforest, biobay, zipline is 45 minutes and cheaper to drive yourself and not difficult to get to. Park in old san juan and take ferry to baccardi factory, cheers!!Try Tantra restaurant in old san juan...

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DRaff1130
Business
New City, NY
Jun 11, 2011

Relaxing!!! Great Food and Great Staff

My husband and I went for 7 days, 6 nights and overall, had a great time. There were some hiccups but the hotel did a great job to rectify the situation. ExcursionsFirst the Good Stuff, We did the Biolumenesent River, Rainforest Tour and Horseback Riding along the beach. My husband also golfed at Trump and Bahia Beach and I went to the spa. Surprisingly, horseback riding was the BEST excursion. We had a great time as my husband loves to do any and every excursion. Bahia Beach was the nicest golf course he has ever been on and we have been to almost every island in the Carribbean, so that says a lot. It's expensive but well worth it. I had a facial at the Ritz and a massage and wrap at the Spa across from the hotel (in between Louis Vuitton and Cartier). The facial was nice, not the best I've ever had but nice. The massage was THE BEST I've ever had!!! Restaurants/FoodHands down, the best restaurant for me was La Perla...GORGEOUS room, excellent service and the food was to of the line. My husbands favorite was JAM (5 blocks from the hotel)---get the Veal if you go there- it was out of this world. The other restaurants we went to were Pamela's on the beach, Peruvian 2 blocks down and some other local joints...nothing to rave about. Also, if you are from the New York/New Jersey area, I would not recommend Velo. It is hard to find great Italian Food if you are from this area. The sushi was fantastic and the pool side food, quesadilla's and the steak wrap were some of the best!!! RoomWe upgraded to a partial balcony with an oceanview- worth EVERY penny. The amenities were great and I loved the Ipod Dock, Comfy King bed, etc...CasinoNice tables, not very crowded but clean as well.I would like to say thank you to the concierge, Frankie as they call him. He made our stay a pleasure. Also, all the guys at the valet were outstanding, kind, courteous and prompt always willing to help you with ANYTHING! Thank you to them. The things that did go wrong was the first night, from 3-5 AM, prom kids woke us up all night- We finally called and they sent Hotel Security up. They lost power TWICE!!! Tuesday and Thursday morning...I can't believe they do not have back up generators for the entire hotel. They blamed it on outside work but not one other building was our of power. My hubby said it was prob due to poor infrastructure but waking up SO HOT for 2x mornings is not fun on vacation. Also, they did not book 2 of our excursions; even though we received a conformation letter, both times they were not booked. This overall was the biggest disappointment because we tried to plan our week and both our activities were bumped. Also, when the woman booked my facial, she did not relay the message to bring my bathing suit for their hot tub first. She was there on Sunday and unfortunately did not book 2 of our activities or relay info. Also, the taxis were a RIP OFF!!! Be careful...Since it was my vacation, I was not looking for any complaints...I was there to enjoy myself and made the most of every situation but by Friday when my husband and I woke up and got ready for a 9:30 horseback riding excursion and wait for half hour for them to tell us it was never booked was so annoying. By this point, it was the 2nd time of poor planning on their behalf and I was just annoyed. Overall, the hotel gave us a $100 credit for all the inconveniences. I made the most out of the kids screaming, the first excursion moved and waking up to no power for 2 mornings and made the best of each situation. I would not let anything ruin our vacation, we were SO looking forward to this. Also, bring cash for all excursions- Since the concierge booked them, we thought it was charged through the hotel and it's not. They just set it up for you with an independent company and they only take cash. They NEVER told us this and we did not carry cash on us like that. Luckily, we had great people who lent us money- thank you for the couple from ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

La Perla- Get the Tuna Trio for app...Delicious!

Back to menu Return to top