$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2015 Check-out: Sep 24, 2015

La Concha Renaissance Resort

4 stars
View map of 1077 Ashford Avenue, PO Box 6545, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Concha Renaissance Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
603 out of 603
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Boston, MA
Apr 13, 2011

Great place to stay!

La Concha was beautiful! My friend and I came for a getaway and had the best time! It is in a great location and right on the beach. There are three pools and several restaurants to choose from. We spent the majority of our time at the hotel because there is so much to do and has a great bar and is a fun place to stay at night for drinks/socializing if you do not want to spend money on cabs to get somewhere else. The staff was very attentive and super friendly. Overall, we were both very satisfied and relaxed after our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dragonfly restaurant in old san juan was delicious! I recommend you check it out for dinner one night!

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
chicago il
Apr 4, 2011

Nice Hotel

Frindly staff. No hot tub. Expensive food. $80 breakfast for 3 people. Not a lot of night club action during the week anywhere around town. Most tours do not include pick up/drop off. Doesn't compare to Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami
Mar 27, 2011

looks good poor on details

Room is on the whole very good, hotel looks great, clean and new. Just lacks the finish that a $300 a night room should deliver. The rooms are all suites, king bed, nice, go for pool side quieter. Last visit was on street side and awake by noise until 4am then slept until the cleaners started at 4.30. This time waited for a room until 7pm unless I wanted a low floor, experience says this is a noisy option. The bed in the other half of the suite is a pull out, thin mattress, no sheets in room, maid does not answer phone, unhelpful when you do find one, in the end after an hour of waiting a tired looking nasty (clean) blanket was brought to the room, no duvet. This took me back to my days at the Motel 6's in the 70's. Then when you turn the light out the light from the attrium shines around the blind that you amy as well have the lights on. Awful. Overall not a bad place for a party weekend but for business and with kids go somewhere else with your money. Hilton is just down the road 5 mins walk, Hyatt is not far or just do south beach in Miami.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Buffalo, New York
Mar 22, 2011

Amazing resort!

The resort was great. My wife and I stayed in an ocean view suite in the suite tower. The view was absolutely incredible. The suite was very clean and looked great. The grounds were well kept and the beach was very nice. The water was a bit choppy, so not the greatest for swimming, but the big waves were a lot of fun. The on-site restaurants and bar are pricey, but very good. The neighborhood is excellent and has lots of things to do and places to eat with authentic puerto rican food at reasonable prices. Definitely check out Old San Juan and do a Biobay while you are in Puerto Rico. The concierge is VERY helpful and will set up whatever tours you are interested. It was a great trip. Can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The nearby restaurants serve great food at a reasonable price. Also, if you in a suite, save yourself some money and buy some cereal and other breakfast items at the nearby grocery stores rather than eat out in the morning.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stayed before cruise
Couples
Charlotte, NC
Mar 20, 2011

Enjoyed La Concha

Stayed one night before a cruise. Great location - plenty of nightlife and dining options. Hotel was very nice and in great condition. Easy to enjoy the beach before heading to cruise ship. Would stay again next time. One drawback is noise from the streets throughout the night despite being on the 10th floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mleo183
Single
New Jersey
Mar 15, 2011

FANTASTIC!!!!!

The staff was extremely friendly and the hotel was in close vicinity to everything. Condado Beach is ok which is where the hotel is. I suggest going to Isla Verde by cab. The beach in Isla Verde is beautiful. Condado Beach is known to have rip currents but still very beautiful. I was able to go into the water in Condado Beach and had no problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
south brunswick, nj
Mar 6, 2011

beautiful views

from the minute we stepped out of the cab the gentlemen at the front of lobby were so friendly and helpful. On to the front desk, the bartenders, concierge, wait staff and so on. The best ever. Most of our time was swimming in the ocean, any of the 5 pools, napping on the outdoor beds and couches. tropical drinks were perfect. nearby eateries had all the local flair we wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
NYC
Mar 6, 2011

LaConcha 2011

Room was modern and clean. All workers with which we came into contact were friendly, pleasant and very accommadating. We used interior and seaside pool, health club and casino. It was the nicest casino in teh area. Took a shopping gtrip to Old San Juan. Restaurants, Voga and Perla, were excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Old San Juan was 15 minutss by taxi and contained historic sites, excellent restaurants and various grades of shops. For dining, only 2 but both restaurants in the hotel were suberb.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York City
Feb 22, 2011

Good times

We recently had a great overall stay at La Concha. The room was ready upon arrival in the late afternoon. Given the price we paid for the hotel and flight it was certainly worth it. We had a gorgeous suite in the newer tower with a view of the ocean on the 10th floor. Everything was in good condition for the most part. The only thing is that for no apparent reason the carpet next to the bed was wet and when we ran the bath later that afternoon there was a yellow foam that built up which made it seem a little strange. During our stay we made use of every one of the pools and enjoyed the beach every day. Our first day we shared the 'duck quesadillas' from Solera which were delicious. We ordered them thanks to reading a previous review from a past guest. The pina coladas were also tasty though they barely poured more than a splash of rum into the mix. The resort is lovely, it is well kept and the staff is so friendly, warm and courteous. The ocean was the perfect temperature and though rough at times it was still fun to play in the waves and watch the surfers and boogie boarders. Natalia at the Concierge was very patient and recommended a fantastic restaurant in Old San Juan called Latin Roots where they played live salsa music, gave free salsa lessons, and served incredible cuisine, the 'Lechon' was amazing! We did have a couple of incidents that kept it from being flawless. One night after coming back from dinner we found the door open, anyone could have gone into our room. We called Security immediately to check the suite before going in as someone could have been in there. David Flores was nice enough to check out the situation for us and replied that sometimes when the rooms are serviced Housekeeping forgets to close the door. He said he would have someone follow up with us the next day. We were a bit shaken up by this incident as it was quite scary not knowing how long that door had remained open but luckily all of our things were intact and nothing was missing. Nevertheless the next day no one followed up with us regarding this incident. On the following day after a day in the sun we decided to head back to the room and were unable to get in. After trying several times with no luck we asked one of the housekeepers to please have someone come and assist us. After about a 30 minute delay which set us back a bit with our evening plans, a couple of friendly engineers ended up replacing the battery on our door and provided us with two new keys. At this point the housekeepers were asking what time they could service the room and we said in about an hour. We got ready and went out for dinner, unfortunately when we came back the room had not been serviced. Being a Concierge in New York City I realize that things can always go wrong but it still made me somewhat disappointed. Aside from this we really enjoyed our stay and delighted in La Concha, especially visiting la Perla on our last night for our Anniversary dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Orale Guey across the street has excellent tacos and $2 beers. Also check out Il Postino for a nice Italian meal about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Bistro de Paris in Santurce is also another great find, the Camembert appetizer is amazing.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
great
Feb 19, 2011

great time

Very trendy...but very fun. Cute staff and very friendly. Good beach and location...would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top