$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

La Concha Renaissance Resort

4 stars
1077 Ashford Avenue, PO Box 6545, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
595 reviews
Excellent Hotel

The hotel was great and the people working there were even better! See full review

  • Kelly14348
  • Sep 8, 2014
Loved it!

Loved everything about it. Very clean, nice staff. See full review

  • Soisis09
  • Sep 5, 2014
An awe-inspiring architectural achievement in Puerto Rico's Tropical Modernism movement, the La Concha Renaissance Resort Hotel offers an incredible place to stay in San Juan.  With instant access to the Condado beach, this is the perfect place to put your feet up and enjoy spectacular ocean views. Kids are entertained with the spacious game room, and guests can take a dip in one of the three outdoor pools, including the Sereno Infinity Pool. Eat fresh in reflective pool surroundings at the luxurious Perla seafood restaurant, where you'll find a pretty extensive wine list. Work it off with one of the complimentary fitness classes, and then get ready to try your luck at the casino. Those on business can stay chilled on the Solera Upper & Pool Deck meeting space.
Key facts
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • On-site casino
  • Fitness center with complimentary fitness classes
  • 3 outdoor pools
  • Whirlpool available in certain suites
  • 30,000-square-feet of meeting space and 19 meeting rooms
  • Smoke-free resort
  • LCD televisions in rooms
  • Lobby Lounge
  • Concierge desk
  • Limousine service
  • Evening turndown service
  • Exclusive Ocean Lounge for Gold and Platinum Rewards members
  • 5 restaurants: Perla, Voga Italian Grill, Solera, Aroma and Komakai Sushi Bar
Neighborhood
Golden, sandy beaches are just steps away from the hotel, and its location plays host to many dining and shopping spots. Visit historic Old San Juan l district to soak up the culture, marvel at the Las Croabas Lagoon with its bioluminescence bay, take a trip out to the Bacardi Rum Distillery, or unwind at the Zen Spa.
Hints and tips
Both couples and those without children will appreciate the designated adults-only pool for some comfort and quiet.
Keep your walking and dancing shoes handy whenever you leave the room, since it's easy to get carried away by the extensive San Juan nightlife.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4548 -66.0658
Area served
San Juan, Hato Rey Business District, Carolina, Bayamon, Caguas, Guaynabo Metro Office Park, Buchanan Office Park.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU)- Take 26 w to SJ, take exit 27 (De Diego Ave.), heading north until Ashford Ave. Make a left (w) on Ashford Ave, drive estimate .8 miles. Property will be on your right-hand side.
Area description
In 1958, La Concha Resort opened to rave reviews in the local social and business scene, a shining moment in Tropical Modernism movement's heyday... in the Puerto Rico pushiest district, the Condado.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Concha Renaissance Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

La Concha Renaissance Resort Rooms

Oceanfront Room
Queen OR king, ocean or pool view 37' flat screen TV, Internet, Ipod/MP3 player connection, CD player, color TV, mini-bar, air conditioning, alarm clock, bottled water, coffee maker, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, luxurious bedding, safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.5 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.5 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.5 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.7 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.7 mi

Dining

Aroma
Serving Deli food, also open for breakfast.
Perla
Is a luxury seafood restaurant serving refined contemporary American cuisine with gracious professional hospitality. The wine cellar contains more than 4,000 bottles with over 1,000 labels. We have an extensive wines-by-the- glass program with 30 wines offered, all climate controlled in enigmatic wine preservation displays.
Komakai Sushi Bar
Komakai, translating to "small and detailed", is our newest dining selection, featuring a 13 seat sushi bar located right on our lobby. Open nightly, it features sushi, sashimi, several signature and traditional rolls, and a few hot items as well. No waiting for a seat required.
Voga Italian Grill
Voga, Italian Grill offers comfort Italian-American dishes made with homemade ingredients in a modern ambience. All our dishes represent recipes that have spanned many family generations. Savor a sumptuous array of fresh pastas confectioned every day by Chef Luis Castillo while you celebrate life overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open seven days a week from 6:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. - Reservations needed.
Solera
Solera has restaurant-style seating and also more casual lounge areas for drinks and mingling in a tropical setting.
Lobby Lounge
Serving sandwiches

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (595)

Ratings and reviews for La Concha Renaissance Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
595 out of 595
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hanc
Fairfax, Virginia
Apr 25, 2013

Great location and value

Enjoyed the beautiful view of the beach and ocean from our hotel room, and had a fantastic dinner at the hotel restaurant. Room rate was very reasonable. Convenient to airport and historic San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
hartford, ct
Feb 4, 2011

beautiful location

this was our second stay at this resort. while the facilities are 4 star, the staff is not yet. they were certainly better this visit than our first, but there is still room for improvement. the pools and rooms are beautful. access to the city is great, beach area wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great local restaurants in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FAAR
Alexandria Va
Feb 3, 2011

Superb

Second time was even better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbus, Ohio
Feb 2, 2011

Elegant, modern and stunning lobby

We have traveled the world and this is one of our favorite vacations because we loved the hotel! It represents an oasis in modern style with incredible food and ambiance. We will most definitely return within the year. We have already recommended the hotel to several friends who plan to visit in the next few months.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant at La Concha named Perla is top notch. Food, surroundings, service and view are among the best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Global Club Hopper
Washington DC
Jan 12, 2011

Poppin' bottles on ice, San Juan style

Excellent experience- the beach was great, the pool was awesome, excellent hotel, great restaurants, and the best bar in town is practically in the lobby. The hotel is always alive and happening, especially on weekend nights (great drinks at the bar, even better women)...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask the hotel concierge to arrange a trip to Luquillo beach. It was rated in the top 15 beaches in the world at one point, and its a 30 min ride from San Juan. Its absolutely incredible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Springfield, MO
Jan 10, 2011

We'll be back!!

Got an upgrade to ocean view. The view was just amazing. The restaurants were more than our expections with the food. Last but not least, the service was top of the line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

We tried other restaurants near by, but we liked the restaurants located right in the hotel the most. If you like something a little different. There is Great Taste restaurant, just a block away. It has great dim sum.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mama Nellie
Westerville, OH
Jan 8, 2011

Great location and gorgeous lobby!

Just returned from a fabulous 5-night stay at La Concha, our first trip to PR. We were very impressed with the hotel - comfortable room (upgraded to a suite in order to have more space and be able to check-in at our early arrival time), awesome lobby and pool areas, helpful staff and convenient location. The package price was a great value, even with the upgrade. The only negative was the extremely high drink and breakfast prices - $25 for 2 regular cocktails! (we bought our own rum at the corner store after that!) Poolside food was excellent - try the grilled tuna salad and plantain chips with guacamole - although service was sometimes quite slow. It was nice to be able to walk up the street to convenience stores, car rental, and restaurants. The bus stop to head into Old San Juan is right in front of the hotel. We did hear some occasional street noise from our partial ocean-view suite room, including brief fireworks one night. The concierge, valet and bell staff were all friendly and accomodating. [...] from valet parking is a real gem!As has been mentioned in other reviews, there is significant beach erosion immediately behind the hotel, so you cannot walk up the beach directly from the hotel property. There is a small, well-maintained beach area adjacent to the main pool, which is nicely protected by a breaker wall. Even if the surf is rough, this beach area is sheltered and relatively calm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Rent a car only for the day(s) you need to go outside of Condado / Old San Juan. Avis is less than a block from the hotel - if you return by 4:30, you won't have to keep the car overnight and pay $15 per night for hotel parking. Don't be afraid to drive to El Yunque and some of the northeastern beaches, just be prepared for some traffic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
None-ya
NJ
Jan 8, 2011

Going back asap!

I went in July 2010 with my hubby and a bunch of friends to celebrate my 30th b-day! This hotel was awesome! The location was okay. Yes, it's close to the airport, but not too much to do in the vicinity. There are high end shops located across the street, but besides the Wendy's, Subway, and Dunkin Donuts, there weren't any fast food/cheaper options around. There is a liquor store in walking distance, so that was a plus. Check in was slow but worth it, as they greeted us with champagne and upgraded our rooms for free; staff was ultra-friendly! My room was a king overlooking the ocean...gorgeous! The room was very clean and the temp was perfect. I'm a germaphobe, but was comfortable in this hotel room. The private balcony was also exactly what we were looking for! The fridge is small and a microwave would have been really nice! Bring your shower shoes and don't hang any clothes near the shower. The shower gets backed up, so the "tub" gets flooded quickly. We didn't complain about it...we just dealt with it. Also, since there is no curtain or door to the shower, it splashes onto the floor. You must put a towel down first and expect it to get wet. The front desk was slow to pick up phone calls, so we didn't rely on them too much for info. Walking down in person with a question wasn't any faster...always a long wait. The pools were decent. The water was on the warm side...wish it was a tad bit cooler. The adults only pool was my first choice and pretty much where I went everytime. The staff was quick to ask any minors to leave. The family pools were always crowded, and since I'm claustrophobic, I didn't bother hanging out there. The beach was rocky and it was difficult to get a chair. I didn't get in the water, so I can't report on that. Cabs get costly, but I was traveling with a group, so we split it. I would have been more than happy to take a bus, but didn't really see any. My friend took one at some point and said it was packed, but fine. Only one or two souvenir stores in the area with limited selection. Downtown San Juan was kind of dead on a Friday night. Not sure if we were in the wrong area or what, but definitely not much action. We went to a good club (Bravo) on Sat at El San Juan hotel (cab ride away), but they were VERY strict about the dress code for men...no sneakers or collarless shirts/polo's! They close at 6am and the music played was pop/hip-hop. We saw a lot of young locals going there, so it must be the spot. The lobby of La Concha was also popular for the older (40+), wealthy Puerto Rican's. Let's see...what else??? We were so busy partying/relaxing that we actually didn't get to do the Rainforest, or Bacardi tour, or anything else for that matter! Puerto Rico was a GREAT time, but you must be organzied and stick to the plan in order to gain the most from the trip! I know it's sound like I had a lot of complaints, but we are going back to La Concha in July 2011 for another awesome get-away!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Ropa Vieja is a must! The restaurant is about a 1/2 mile or so walk from the hotel. The place is small, but nice and cozy. It's a little pricey (about $15.+ per entree), but it's delicious and authentic Puerto Rican food! I highly recommend ordering the ropa vieja quesadilla as an app! Yummy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas
Jan 8, 2011

It could be better!

For the price we paid it should be better:* Having a Spa* Housekeeping should come after 4pmAnd we were very unlucky as well: * wearher was bad (Dec. 28- Jan. 03): strong winds, rain & clouds for 5 days * got poisoned in the restaurant "Green House" (2 blocks from the hotel)* false fire alarm at/around 8:am on January 3rd got every body out of the rooms for nothing, was very rainy by then too.* couldn't get anybody to clean our room on Dec.31 after 5pm. - Yes, La Concha stuff was getting ready for the big New-Year Pool party, who would care about guests on the 4th floor by 5pm ... :-) But, knowing our bad experience, the Hotel Guest-Service Manager [...] gave us a refund of $ 375. (maybe he could give us even more, if we didn't book through Orbitz for ~2500$/5 nights, I don't know ...)Over all I'd say the hotel is somewhat between 3,5 to 4 Star. Btw, it's considered the one of the best in Condado area, San Juan.We're spoiled: coming/leaving on the Strip in Las Vegas ... , you can get MUCH MORE for your money in Vegas real 5-STAR hotels!:-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Audrey :)
Boston, MA
Jan 7, 2011

Amazing place--never wanted to leave!

This hotel was incredible. It was so beautiful--the lobby, the pools, bars, the rooms, the beach in the back. Had a blast! Pool side service, bars open all night, amazing food in the hotel and down the strip its located on. Make sure to get a room that faces the beach in the back. The beach in the back has rough waves, but it is fun for playing in and wave riding. We went to another beach while we were here called "el condado", a short taxi ride away and very beautiful water, nice and warm and less waves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Liquor store is across the street. The price for drinks can get a little crazy. Buy your own. The strip has great authentic Puerto Rican food, go to these places for cheap eats and amazingly strong drinks very cheap!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jan 6, 2011

Good hotel, reasonably priced

We came to Puerto Rico for a short family vacation. We found the Hotel to be conveniently located. The room was more than adequate. Service was pleasant. The weather could have been more cooperative, so we could not take as much advantage of the pool/beach as we would have liked, but the layout of the hotel had plenty of places for us to get whatever sun we could manage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It was very easy to just rent a car for a day to go to the rain forest. Roads were easy to navigate and it was only about 45 minutes from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search