La Concha Renaissance Resort

4 stars
View map of 1077 Ashford Avenue, PO Box 6545, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

4.3 /5
Overall score
93%
Would recommend
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

La Concha Renaissance Resort in San Juan offers a sophisticated, chic atmosphere as well as luxurious guest rooms with state-of-the-art amenities and furnishings. In addition, the resort features a casino, an on-site fitness center, and relaxing spa treatment options. The hotel's accommodations consistently rank highly on TripAdvisor. The Suite Tower is also a popular option for extended-stay travelers and families, boasting suite-only lodging, European-style kitchens, comfortably chic furnishings, and spacious balconies and bathrooms. A whirlpool, game room and infinity pool can also be found on-site.

Location
Golden, sandy beaches are just steps away from the hotel, and its location plays host to many dining and shopping spots. Visit historic Old San Juan l district to soak up the culture, marvel at the Las Croabas Lagoon with its bioluminescence bay, take a trip out to the Bacardi Rum Distillery, or unwind at the Zen Spa.
Highlights

The resort's on-site dining options feature a variety of cuisines, ranging from the renowned seafood restaurant Perla, to poolside tapas, as well as Voga, an American restaurant. At Komakai, diners can partake in the area's only sushi bar, as well as unique Asian-inspired cuisine. Visitors of La Concha Renaissance Resort can take advantage of quick, convenient access to some of the best attractions, shopping and dining in the city.

Guests may also have the opportunity to enjoy the natural wonder that is Las Croabas Lagoon, and nearby Old San Juan is ideal for patrons wishing to explore El Yunque Rainforest. Other nearby attractions include the Bacardi Rum Factory, Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico, and the Old San Juan Historical District. Condado Beach is located just steps away from the hotel.

Policies
Both couples and those without children will appreciate the designated adults-only pool for some comfort and quiet.
Keep your walking and dancing shoes handy whenever you leave the room, since it's easy to get carried away by the extensive San Juan nightlife.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

<

La Concha Renaissance Resort Rooms

Oceanfront Room
Queen OR king, ocean or pool view 37' flat screen TV, Internet, Ipod/MP3 player connection, CD player, color TV, mini-bar, air conditioning, alarm clock, bottled water, coffee maker, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, luxurious bedding, safe.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking

Hotel Map

18.4548 -66.0658
Area served
San Juan, Hato Rey Business District, Carolina, Bayamon, Caguas, Guaynabo Metro Office Park, Buchanan Office Park.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU)- Take 26 w to SJ, take exit 27 (De Diego Ave.), heading north until Ashford Ave. Make a left (w) on Ashford Ave, drive estimate .8 miles. Property will be on your right-hand side.
Area description
In 1958, La Concha Resort opened to rave reviews in the local social and business scene, a shining moment in Tropical Modernism movement's heyday... in the Puerto Rico pushiest district, the Condado.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.5 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.5 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.5 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.7 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.7 mi

Dining

Aroma
Serving Deli food, also open for breakfast.
Perla
Is a luxury seafood restaurant serving refined contemporary American cuisine with gracious professional hospitality. The wine cellar contains more than 4,000 bottles with over 1,000 labels. We have an extensive wines-by-the- glass program with 30 wines offered, all climate controlled in enigmatic wine preservation displays.
Komakai Sushi Bar
Komakai, translating to "small and detailed", is our newest dining selection, featuring a 13 seat sushi bar located right on our lobby. Open nightly, it features sushi, sashimi, several signature and traditional rolls, and a few hot items as well. No waiting for a seat required.
Delicias
Enjoy your new flavorful Puerto Rican cuisine menu prepared by our Chef Ericka. Unique ingredients transform into mouthwatering, tasty meals. Our entrees are the islands most distinctive and representative to our local cuisine, well attest to that. Open Daily for Breakfast from 6:30 a.m. to 11:30a.m. For dinner Tuesday thru Saturday from 6:00 p.m to 11:00 p.m.
Solera
Solera has restaurant-style seating and also more casual lounge areas for drinks and mingling in a tropical setting.
Lobby Lounge
Enjoy the evening while having dinner in a trendy environment.
Sereno Bar & Grill
Theres no need to leave the resort for an oceanfront dinning experience. La Concha Sereno Bar & Grill is located in the Ocean Tower, next to our infinity pool. With an array of delicious entrees and signature dinks, theres something tasty for everyone. It is the perfect place to relax, with a cocktail in hand, while enjoying the ocean breeze! Open daily from 11:00am to 6:00pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
25,000 square feet of meeting space, perfect for Incentive and Corporate Groups.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (683)

Ratings and reviews for La Concha Renaissance Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
683 out of 683
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 10, 2011

Great Stay

The hotel was modern, had great service and had a great beach. I enjoyed my stay here and will definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ro And Doug
Business
Chicago,IL.
Jul 10, 2011

Summer at San Juan La Concha

La Concha was great. Keep in mind it is has a modern environment, very young and hip be ready to listen to house and dance music all night long on the weekends. The drinks are very pricey in the hotel lobby which turns into a night club on the weekends. There are tons of restaurants to eat around there so you will always find something to eat. There is a walgreens down the street for any needs you may have. .99 bottled water fyi!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The pools get super packed on the weekends and so does the beach. We suggest getting to the pool early on the weekends. On the weekdays, they're all yours.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Car12
Business
Texas
Jul 9, 2011

Just okay

My husband and I expected way more from this hotel. To begin with, the shower did not fully have a door (as per design) therefore, water would spill out onto the floor..Everyday we had to place a towel so we wouldn't slip etc. Another thing that upset us was the sheets were never changed once throughout our stay.. Some towels looked as if they hadn't been washed either. When we would request additional towels or cups or just anything, it took them forever to bring it...several calls had to be made to remind them. Don't get me wrong it is a nice hotel as far as the exterior goes but interior needs a lot of maintenance..I don't recommend anyone staying here..had a friend that stayed at the ritz carlton and loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Bio bay tour was pretty cool and my husband did Toro Verde zip lining which was also pretty fun...Recommend doing both.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 7, 2011

La Concha "A Retro Urban Resort"

Upon our arrival my boyfriend and I were both caught off guard when our cab pulled up to the entrance of the resort. Once I walked in I immediately felt better. My boyfriend on the other hand, felt the resort should have been secluded as if it was in its own private paradise. The rain also played a major part in the appearance as well. The second day there the weather was beautiful and we were able to walk around. I appreciated being in the city next to the boutiques to my left and the high-end retail shops to our right. (Gucci, Cartier, LV, etc.) My boyfriend was still upset the casino did not have Poker and it wasn't very busy also it did not provide you with free drinks while gambling like most casinos. I was upset there wasn't a spa on sight. There was one 2 min. away that the resort advertises but it wasn't very impressive. We made an appointment for a "couples" pedicure and they tried to put us in 2 different rooms. What is the fun in that? So we left! On the brighter side of things, literally the brighter side if things once the rain stopped and the clouds cleared the paradise shined. The beach was a beautiful, relaxing, and great for those who love the water. The ocean view from our room was gorgeous. The pool area was very beautiful especially at night. The waiters/waitresses were very friendly and the bar/restaurant offered great drinks and a menu that changed throughout the day. The only other negative is that I wished the bar stayed open passed midnight. Overall we loved our experience here and hear this resort was much better than the others in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

If you plan to taxi to any clubs, bars, etc. be sure to make arrangements with your cab driver for a return pick up. Some of the locals pose as cab drivers and when you get in their cab they drop you off in a location you are unfamiliar with , robbing you of your belongings and leaving you stranded. Be sure to get your cab drivers cell!!

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Esmeralda A
Business
Mexicali, Mexico
Jul 6, 2011

Experience...

hotel has a great location... rooms are really nice,new and good space. at night during the weekends the bar is really nice... and a lot of people come to hang out... the only thing that im complain is the service.. i had a night that housekeeping didnt make my room until 10 PM...!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

all is really closed to the hotel... attractions, nightlife, etc.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
New York, NY
Jun 29, 2011

Great place to stay!

Me and my girlfriend stay at the hotel was amazing. The events they have at night by the pool, the casino, the friendly and courtesy staff members, the room service and the room "ocean view" was absolutely astounding. I would say the only down side to this was the parking guest fee....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The catameran which is a boat that takes you out to the islands off the east coast of the island was the best. They take you sailing snorkeling and kayaking all in one day. The also serve drinks and plenty of food!

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vac
Business
Chicago
Jun 29, 2011

A lovely stay!

Pros: --Great, safe location with many stores and restaurants in walking distance. A short bus ride to Old San Juan and not far from airport.--Fab decor all around, from room to lobby to pool areas. Really nice vibe.--Comfy rooms with expansive ocean views.--Very good on-site restaurant (Solera). Prices are comparable to any quality, big-city restaurant (e.g., Chicago, New York). --Good gym.--Nice urban beach at end of hotel strip near another park (water a little rough for swimming but fun waves for kids).Cons:--Loud party in pool area could be heard thumping in our 10th-story room. --Tried to make us pay an unadvertised "resort fee" despite the fact that our [...]receipt said "includes all taxes and fees." Luckily we had printed out the receipt and brought it with us; they waived the fee but only after we showed them the receipt.Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and felt like we were on vacation. Would definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Loving the Conch
Business
Dallas
Jun 29, 2011

Paradise in San Juan

We had a suite in the new portion of the hotel. I have never had a room that had a full refrig like this one! The room was ready when we got there at 3pm. It was cleaned everyday early. The staff was wonderful! They are friendly and knowledgeable about where to go and eat. Ask [...]--one of the doormen. He gives legendary service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Rupa Viejo. It's fabulous!

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
2ndAnniversary
Business
Philadelphia
Jun 29, 2011

Amazing and fantastic

We couldn't believe how great this hotel was! We stayed for 6 nights. We booked our trip on [...]back in December, and I was expecting an average-but-nice hotel room when we arrived. We got a suite with a kitchenette, jacuzzi tub, and balcony overlooking the city. It was very nicely furnished, the cleaning staff (we tipped well, but they earned it) kept the place sparkling and the pillows fluffed. There are three pools, none of which were crowded much. The beach is gorgeous and well-maintained. I was glad we stayed here rather than Isla Verde or Old San Juan. I wanted to move in, honestly. La Concha is a happening place. Friday and Saturday night there were loud parties that went on pretty late. However, we were invited to join them and I went to sleep just fine even though I'm a light sleeper and our wall was right next to the pool area where the music was. There were many people coming in who weren't guests, however, security was good and no visitors were ever in the hotel area with rooms. If you are looking for serenity this might not be the best spot on the weekend, however, my husband and I LOVED it. I read some reviews about prices being very high-- we ordered a few drinks pool-side and found them delicious and reasonably priced. We never went to the lobby bar or La Perla, but compared to quality and prices in the surrounding area I thought La Concha's prices reasonable. We also went on a concierge-arranged trip to the rainforest. Our guide was fantastic, the hotel gave us very good advice about clothing and provided warm towels to take with us, and we enjoyed our day trip very much.Staff was welcoming every time they saw us, and it didn't seem like they were just looking for tips they way some people at hotels can. Locals would ask us where we were staying and when we mentioned La Concha, they always reinforced our experience with their reaction. It must have a good reputation. Only negative: The hot tubs were NEVER hot. They were barely warmer than the pool. But the pools were a fabulous temperature, so I really didn't care.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Have plenty of cash. Many places give discounts for cash rather than credit.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
gainesville, ga
Jun 29, 2011

Fantastic!!!!

Wonderful location...the best resort in the area by far!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top