La Concha Renaissance Resort

4 stars
1077 Ashford Avenue, PO Box 6545, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview

4.3/5

Overall score

93%

Would recommend

Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1
An awe-inspiring architectural achievement in Puerto Rico's Tropical Modernism movement, the La Concha Renaissance Resort Hotel offers an incredible place to stay in San Juan.  With instant access to the Condado beach, this is the perfect place to put your feet up and enjoy spectacular ocean views. Kids are entertained with the spacious game room, and guests can take a dip in one of the three outdoor pools, including the Sereno Infinity Pool. Eat fresh in reflective pool surroundings at the luxurious Perla seafood restaurant, where you'll find a pretty extensive wine list. Work it off with one of the complimentary fitness classes, and then get ready to try your luck at the casino. Those on business can stay chilled on the Solera Upper & Pool Deck meeting space.
Key facts
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • On-site casino
  • Fitness center with complimentary fitness classes
  • 3 outdoor pools
  • Whirlpool available in certain suites
  • 30,000-square-feet of meeting space and 19 meeting rooms
  • Smoke-free resort
  • LCD televisions in rooms
  • Lobby Lounge
  • Concierge desk
  • Limousine service
  • Evening turndown service
  • Exclusive Ocean Lounge for Gold and Platinum Rewards members
  • 5 restaurants: Perla, Voga Italian Grill, Solera, Aroma and Komakai Sushi Bar
Neighborhood
Golden, sandy beaches are just steps away from the hotel, and its location plays host to many dining and shopping spots. Visit historic Old San Juan l district to soak up the culture, marvel at the Las Croabas Lagoon with its bioluminescence bay, take a trip out to the Bacardi Rum Distillery, or unwind at the Zen Spa.
Hints and tips
Both couples and those without children will appreciate the designated adults-only pool for some comfort and quiet.
Keep your walking and dancing shoes handy whenever you leave the room, since it's easy to get carried away by the extensive San Juan nightlife.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

La Concha Renaissance Resort Rooms

Oceanfront Room
Queen OR king, ocean or pool view 37' flat screen TV, Internet, Ipod/MP3 player connection, CD player, color TV, mini-bar, air conditioning, alarm clock, bottled water, coffee maker, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, luxurious bedding, safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

18.4548 -66.0658
Area served
San Juan, Hato Rey Business District, Carolina, Bayamon, Caguas, Guaynabo Metro Office Park, Buchanan Office Park.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU)- Take 26 w to SJ, take exit 27 (De Diego Ave.), heading north until Ashford Ave. Make a left (w) on Ashford Ave, drive estimate .8 miles. Property will be on your right-hand side.
Area description
In 1958, La Concha Resort opened to rave reviews in the local social and business scene, a shining moment in Tropical Modernism movement's heyday... in the Puerto Rico pushiest district, the Condado.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.5 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.5 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.5 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.7 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.7 mi

Dining

Aroma
Serving Deli food, also open for breakfast.
Perla
Is a luxury seafood restaurant serving refined contemporary American cuisine with gracious professional hospitality. The wine cellar contains more than 4,000 bottles with over 1,000 labels. We have an extensive wines-by-the- glass program with 30 wines offered, all climate controlled in enigmatic wine preservation displays.
Komakai Sushi Bar
Komakai, translating to "small and detailed", is our newest dining selection, featuring a 13 seat sushi bar located right on our lobby. Open nightly, it features sushi, sashimi, several signature and traditional rolls, and a few hot items as well. No waiting for a seat required.
Voga Italian Grill
Voga, Italian Grill offers comfort Italian-American dishes made with homemade ingredients in a modern ambience. All our dishes represent recipes that have spanned many family generations. Savor a sumptuous array of fresh pastas confectioned every day by Chef Luis Castillo while you celebrate life overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open seven days a week from 6:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. - Reservations needed.
Solera
Solera has restaurant-style seating and also more casual lounge areas for drinks and mingling in a tropical setting.
Lobby Lounge
Serving sandwiches

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (626)

Ratings and reviews for La Concha Renaissance Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
626 out of 626
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
N & B
Business
Jackson, NJ
Jun 9, 2011

An amazing vacation

The staff were extremely helpful in giving directions and suggestions. Although we came prepared by doing our research. If you like adventure, you should hike the rainforest, but do it on your own and save the money. Check into some of the adventure trips while you're there. Walk around Old San Juan - 10 minute drive from hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Enjoy authentic Puerto Rican food at La Casita Blanca on Tapia Street - 10 minute drive from hotel. The food was amazing and so enjoyable. Also if you like sushi - Dragonfly in Old San Juan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY. NY.
Jun 7, 2011

Wonderful Hotel

Ive been here before and it still holds its decadence. Lunch at the pool was great and the service is always helpful with anything you may need. Only draw back was the over crowded pool on a Sunday afternoon of non hotel guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are amazing restaurants within a few short blocks from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jupiter, Fl
May 26, 2011

Hotel la Concha, San Juan. Puerto Rico

Very nice hotel almost like Miami style. Smiling faces and always eager to help. My room was fantastic and service was impeccable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely try the bio Luminisent canoe tours and the waterfall in yunkie. Wow!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JayLlo
Business
New York, Ny
May 24, 2011

Fun at la Concha, but don't gamble!

La Concha was a very nice hotel- the room Layout was comfortable with great views, and everything was clean. Food and drinks were affordable and the staff wad friendly and accommodating. Everyone spoke English. The pools and beach were gorgeous- much better than the other hotels on the strip that we walked to. Do NoT gamble in the casino though/ it seemed very shady with the casino manager hovering over the table on his cell phone the whole time and they would call "no more bets" as you were in the middle of placing your chips at the roulette wheel. An employee said the highest a person has ever won there was $1000, so not even really much to look forward to if you're a big gambler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pure and Natural- a quick two block walk from La Concha. The food is healthy and delicious

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
May 24, 2011

Amazing!

We arrived at the hotel after a long flight. The room was clean and new, and we found the staff friendly. The view from our room was amazing. Room service was okay, but we ended up eating at a lot of the neighboring restaurants instead. Would come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant is great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norwood, MA
May 21, 2011

Great place

We had an ocean view, which was great at night. We left the balcony open (5th floor) and had a great ocean sound all night. The room itself was slightly above average, but not spectacular. Stand up shower was nice but water went everywhere! Had to plan for it with properly placed towels. Great location for dining, casinos (one in the lobby) and easy access to downtown Old San Juan. Quick taxi ride, but I would recommend the bus for .75 cents each way. Great Beach too!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

tons of dining locations all around the Condado area. Many options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Getianshi
Business
Boston, MA
May 15, 2011

Week-long getaway

We checked in very late due to our flight but they were able to get us into a nice room without difficulty (though with 2 queens when we had requested 1 king). The room itself was nice with a fantastic view but the mini-fridge let off a rather awful odor. We only spent 1 day on the beach as the surf was quite choppy the rest of the time but the staff was very helpful with all of our other needs. Overall a very relaxing vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Granite Bay California
May 13, 2011

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly

This hotel is not worth the stay for the money they charge. The Bar tender's especially the woman is rude, I felt like we were ghost and did not exist.We asked for a mango mojito and we got them 10 min later and there was only two other people there.After we received are drinks she made sure she let us know it was her quiting time and if we could cash out our tab though we only had one drink. So i left my card 15 minutes later she returned with three more mango mojitos and placed them in front of us, I told her we did not order those, and she got angry and started to tell us that she just spent the last 5 min mashing mango's for our drinks. Well that was a lie as they have mango preserves already made for the mojitos.But ok we take them anyway. finally a half hour later she closes are tab out and was in a rush to go hang out and swap spit with her boy friend in the lounge.She may want to go look for a new profession as she clearly has no business working with the public.There Drink prices are out ragious and i understand its on the main drag tourist attraction . But 10 dollars for a short glass of rum? That's hi way robbery. especially when you can go right over to the Marriott and have a tall for 7 dollars and the staff is much friendlier. our room had two queen beds a broken chair that i called the front desk about when we arrived and never herd from them till the day we left. The bath room had mold around the sink and shower, and the noise from them cleaning the pool's at night and deliveries equaled not much sleep.All three restaurants were way over priced especially when you can walk down the street and buy authentic Puerto Rican food for half the cost.The most disappointment was from the staff there were allot of unfriendly staff at this Hotel. first impressions go along way and there was not very much of that at this hotel. We visited a friend that was staying at the Court yard by Marriott in Carolina Puerto Rico over by the airport. And the staff there was the most courteous and professional and we were not even guest at the Hotel. I wished I would have done more Research before wasting 2500 dollars at this Place. Very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

orozco's restaurant. It is a Short walk maybe two blocks. The Best Puerto Rican food you will ever eat and the Best staff. Price is very reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
May 10, 2011

So glad we stayed here!

Everything at La Concha was wonderful! My husband and I stayed there seven nights for our honeymoon. We got a free upgrade to a suite. The room was clean, nicely furnished, and the bed was very comfy. The valve for the shower was broken when we got there, so we called down to the front desk and someone came up and replaced it within ten minutes. All of the staff were friendly and the concierge was helpful when we needed directions and recommendations for restaurants. The hotel is beautiful, very modern-looking and I loved that there were plants everywhere. We had an amazing trip and would definitely stay there again if we return to San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

One of my favorite parts of the trip was hiking in El Yunque. The views were gorgeous, and it's free aside from the toll booth on the drive there. Go in the morning before the crowds come. There's nothing like the feeling of having an entire rain forest to yourselves.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
honemooners
Business
Edinburg, Texas
May 7, 2011

Nice Hotel

We went to San Juan, Puerto Rico to celebrate our one year anniversary. La Concha was just 5 minutes away from the beautiful Old San Juan, and we liked that alot. It was a very nice modern-looking hotel. The only thing we didn't like was that the street in front of La Concha was VERY busy on the weekend and took us like 20 minutes to drive down the street. There are many hotels on that street, so that was probably a reason. But besides that, it was cool! Previous trip we went on was to Maui, Hawaii. Very different than PR! In out hotel in Maui, it was very calm, quiet, and not busy around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just on the next street of La Concha is a delicious restaurant called Puerto Peru. We recommend it. The restaurant inside La Concha though, is VERY expensive and we did not enjoy our food. :/

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top