$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

La Concha Renaissance Resort

4 stars
View map of 1077 Ashford Avenue, PO Box 6545, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Concha Renaissance Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
645 out of 645
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luison
Business
New York, NY
Jul 12, 2011

Remains STRONG in looks and service

I continue to be amazed by the beauty and level of service La Concha still offers. I continue to return by myself and with friends simply because the friendly staff has become family. We arrived Thursday evening for Fourth of July weekend and stayed till Monday evening. Although the weather did not fully cooperate, we rested in the various pools, terraces and restaurants. La Concha has one of the most vivacious nightlife at the Bar where Jimmy rules. We stayed in one of the corner suites that have a living/dining area, terrace and Bedroom area that has a breathtaking view of the ocean. The place is so centrally located, that we had access of all nightclubs in el Condado, so it made it easy to navigate without a car. The only drawback was that on such a busy holiday, the service staff at the pools was lacking. Food and Beverage had limited the waiting staff since it had been raining days before. But Monday was a full sunny day and there were no drinks to be had. This may have been an oversight that should have easily been taken care of. This is truly one of my favorite vacation spots and I trust that we will be spending many more vacations there in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Get to the nightclubs late and return to the hotel at 6 in the morning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 10, 2011

Great Stay

The hotel was modern, had great service and had a great beach. I enjoyed my stay here and will definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ro And Doug
Business
Chicago,IL.
Jul 10, 2011

Summer at San Juan La Concha

La Concha was great. Keep in mind it is has a modern environment, very young and hip be ready to listen to house and dance music all night long on the weekends. The drinks are very pricey in the hotel lobby which turns into a night club on the weekends. There are tons of restaurants to eat around there so you will always find something to eat. There is a walgreens down the street for any needs you may have. .99 bottled water fyi!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The pools get super packed on the weekends and so does the beach. We suggest getting to the pool early on the weekends. On the weekdays, they're all yours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Car12
Business
Texas
Jul 9, 2011

Just okay

My husband and I expected way more from this hotel. To begin with, the shower did not fully have a door (as per design) therefore, water would spill out onto the floor..Everyday we had to place a towel so we wouldn't slip etc. Another thing that upset us was the sheets were never changed once throughout our stay.. Some towels looked as if they hadn't been washed either. When we would request additional towels or cups or just anything, it took them forever to bring it...several calls had to be made to remind them. Don't get me wrong it is a nice hotel as far as the exterior goes but interior needs a lot of maintenance..I don't recommend anyone staying here..had a friend that stayed at the ritz carlton and loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Bio bay tour was pretty cool and my husband did Toro Verde zip lining which was also pretty fun...Recommend doing both.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 7, 2011

La Concha "A Retro Urban Resort"

Upon our arrival my boyfriend and I were both caught off guard when our cab pulled up to the entrance of the resort. Once I walked in I immediately felt better. My boyfriend on the other hand, felt the resort should have been secluded as if it was in its own private paradise. The rain also played a major part in the appearance as well. The second day there the weather was beautiful and we were able to walk around. I appreciated being in the city next to the boutiques to my left and the high-end retail shops to our right. (Gucci, Cartier, LV, etc.) My boyfriend was still upset the casino did not have Poker and it wasn't very busy also it did not provide you with free drinks while gambling like most casinos. I was upset there wasn't a spa on sight. There was one 2 min. away that the resort advertises but it wasn't very impressive. We made an appointment for a "couples" pedicure and they tried to put us in 2 different rooms. What is the fun in that? So we left! On the brighter side of things, literally the brighter side if things once the rain stopped and the clouds cleared the paradise shined. The beach was a beautiful, relaxing, and great for those who love the water. The ocean view from our room was gorgeous. The pool area was very beautiful especially at night. The waiters/waitresses were very friendly and the bar/restaurant offered great drinks and a menu that changed throughout the day. The only other negative is that I wished the bar stayed open passed midnight. Overall we loved our experience here and hear this resort was much better than the others in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

If you plan to taxi to any clubs, bars, etc. be sure to make arrangements with your cab driver for a return pick up. Some of the locals pose as cab drivers and when you get in their cab they drop you off in a location you are unfamiliar with , robbing you of your belongings and leaving you stranded. Be sure to get your cab drivers cell!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Esmeralda A
Business
Mexicali, Mexico
Jul 6, 2011

Experience...

hotel has a great location... rooms are really nice,new and good space. at night during the weekends the bar is really nice... and a lot of people come to hang out... the only thing that im complain is the service.. i had a night that housekeeping didnt make my room until 10 PM...!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

all is really closed to the hotel... attractions, nightlife, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
New York, NY
Jun 29, 2011

Great place to stay!

Me and my girlfriend stay at the hotel was amazing. The events they have at night by the pool, the casino, the friendly and courtesy staff members, the room service and the room "ocean view" was absolutely astounding. I would say the only down side to this was the parking guest fee....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The catameran which is a boat that takes you out to the islands off the east coast of the island was the best. They take you sailing snorkeling and kayaking all in one day. The also serve drinks and plenty of food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vac
Business
Chicago
Jun 29, 2011

A lovely stay!

Pros: --Great, safe location with many stores and restaurants in walking distance. A short bus ride to Old San Juan and not far from airport.--Fab decor all around, from room to lobby to pool areas. Really nice vibe.--Comfy rooms with expansive ocean views.--Very good on-site restaurant (Solera). Prices are comparable to any quality, big-city restaurant (e.g., Chicago, New York). --Good gym.--Nice urban beach at end of hotel strip near another park (water a little rough for swimming but fun waves for kids).Cons:--Loud party in pool area could be heard thumping in our 10th-story room. --Tried to make us pay an unadvertised "resort fee" despite the fact that our [...]receipt said "includes all taxes and fees." Luckily we had printed out the receipt and brought it with us; they waived the fee but only after we showed them the receipt.Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and felt like we were on vacation. Would definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Loving the Conch
Business
Dallas
Jun 29, 2011

Paradise in San Juan

We had a suite in the new portion of the hotel. I have never had a room that had a full refrig like this one! The room was ready when we got there at 3pm. It was cleaned everyday early. The staff was wonderful! They are friendly and knowledgeable about where to go and eat. Ask [...]--one of the doormen. He gives legendary service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Rupa Viejo. It's fabulous!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
2ndAnniversary
Business
Philadelphia
Jun 29, 2011

Amazing and fantastic

We couldn't believe how great this hotel was! We stayed for 6 nights. We booked our trip on [...]back in December, and I was expecting an average-but-nice hotel room when we arrived. We got a suite with a kitchenette, jacuzzi tub, and balcony overlooking the city. It was very nicely furnished, the cleaning staff (we tipped well, but they earned it) kept the place sparkling and the pillows fluffed. There are three pools, none of which were crowded much. The beach is gorgeous and well-maintained. I was glad we stayed here rather than Isla Verde or Old San Juan. I wanted to move in, honestly. La Concha is a happening place. Friday and Saturday night there were loud parties that went on pretty late. However, we were invited to join them and I went to sleep just fine even though I'm a light sleeper and our wall was right next to the pool area where the music was. There were many people coming in who weren't guests, however, security was good and no visitors were ever in the hotel area with rooms. If you are looking for serenity this might not be the best spot on the weekend, however, my husband and I LOVED it. I read some reviews about prices being very high-- we ordered a few drinks pool-side and found them delicious and reasonably priced. We never went to the lobby bar or La Perla, but compared to quality and prices in the surrounding area I thought La Concha's prices reasonable. We also went on a concierge-arranged trip to the rainforest. Our guide was fantastic, the hotel gave us very good advice about clothing and provided warm towels to take with us, and we enjoyed our day trip very much.Staff was welcoming every time they saw us, and it didn't seem like they were just looking for tips they way some people at hotels can. Locals would ask us where we were staying and when we mentioned La Concha, they always reinforced our experience with their reaction. It must have a good reputation. Only negative: The hot tubs were NEVER hot. They were barely warmer than the pool. But the pools were a fabulous temperature, so I really didn't care.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Have plenty of cash. Many places give discounts for cash rather than credit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top