$242 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: May 2, 2015

La Concha Renaissance Resort

4 stars
View map of 1077 Ashford Avenue, PO Box 6545, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Concha Renaissance Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
636 out of 636
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington D.C
Jul 28, 2011

Chic comfort and great service!

We were at La Concha for 5 nights(6 days) and thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The infinity pools were the highlight and the helpful staff deserve special mention! The concierge was very helpful and gave us several options for local tours and sights. The other staff at the front desk (Luis comes to mind) were extremely friendly and always ready with tips on the best places for eating/nightlife. Rooms in the new tower (we were on the 11th floor) were clean,spacious and well designed. The area (Condado) was very safe and had numerous eateries (and a Walgreens!). Among the few cons, the business center at the hotel was small and one had to often wait in line to access the computers. Although the security guards tried their best, the adult pool had young kids at times which was a bit uncomfortable. The restaurants at the hotel were a bit pricey and so were the taxis rides to the old city. The hotel should perhaps consider a shuttle to the old city for its guests (even if only at fixed frequencies).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Several eating options near the hotel that can save you a few bucks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 27, 2011

Excellent hotel and staff

From the minute we arrived, which was around 2am, we were greater by the most friendliest staff I'd encountered in a long time. Welcoming doesn't begin to describe it. The hotel is absolutely beautiful. It's a modern, fun design overlooking amazing views of sand and blue ocean. I recommend getting an ocean view suite. We went on several excursions/activities that were recommended to us by friends and the staff. The only time we really spent in our room was to sleep and getting ourselves ready for the next thing. However, when we were in the room or hotel it always felt like paradise. The bar has great drinks and the hotel has great food which we only ate when we were poolside. We didn't eat in the hotel's restaurant because there was so much to eat outside. When I first started to look for a place to stay in PR, I read mixed reviews about this place. Some said it was overpriced and everything was expensive. What I realized while being there is, yes, some things are a bit pricey but some just depend on what you're used to paying. We live in Boston so we're not strangers to pricey drinks and food. But face it, you're on vacation and I don't recommend any hotel like this in general if you're on a budget. If you don't mind splurging a bit stay here, you won't regret it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Perucian, (I think it's spelled that way), a few blocks down the street has some good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carson City, NV
Jul 25, 2011

Wonderful resort

From the time of our arrival until our departure we were treated were treated with a high level of professionalism from every employee that we had contact with. Many hotels could learn a lot from these employees. Great job, thank you so much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mohogo
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jul 24, 2011

Great San Juan vacation

We loved the La Concha. We were greated with enthusiasm and professionalism that continued thoughout our entire stay. The staff was constantly asking if we needed anything and were very friendly. We were greated with "buenos dias" every time we past an employee. The room and bathroom was very comfortably sized. A refrigerator allowed us to have our own beverages to reduce the bar bill. Drinks are not cheap in San Juan! Plus, Walgreens is a 5 minute walk so you can get any supplies you need or forgot at a reasonable price. The 4 pools are lovely. 2 provide views of the beach/ocean, which is awesome. Clean towels are provided poolside every day. You can get service poolside also. The beach is clean and was not very busy considering it is a public beach in addition to the hotels beach. Hotel staff will place lounge chairs on the beach where you want them and set up an umbrella if you wish. Finding a place to eat is easy. The hotels food was incredible. La Perla (one of the hotels restaraunts) is expensive, but the filet was delicious and worth every penny. The view from La Perla is excellent and the service was perfect. There is a Subway across the street, a Wendy's a minute away, and a Chili's 5 minutes away if you prefer a cheaper alternative. Taxis are expensive, $15 each way to Old San Juan and the airport. But, much easier than catching the $.75 bus. Go to Old San Juan!!! Lots of shopping and 2 forts to see. The food in Old San Juan is excellend too. But, don't go there just to eat because the food on Ashford next to the La Concho is just as good. Old San Juan has a lot of history and interesting things to see. Any of the excursions to El Yunque or a bio bay are worth the price. Don't worry about not speaking Spanish, everyone in San Juan speaks English. Only one negative to report. The city view room at the La Concha is not great and is loud at night due to the lively night life in San Juan. Get the ocean view if you require less noise to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Every place to eat on Ashford was excellent. Even the places that looked like holes in the wall were excellent. Try the Mofongo, it is delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, ny
Jul 20, 2011

Excellent hotel

The hotel staff was amazing and the rooms were clean and very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
angela and andrew
Business
san juan,puerto rico
Jul 18, 2011

loved it, loved it,loved it!!

Me and my fiance went snorkeling and it was like paradise, we went to the rain forrest and went salsa dancing.Every restaurant we went to was great and the local bars with food was great too!! food was outstanding!! people at hotel on our excursions and local were really nice and attentive to your every need. There was evrything to do here,we will definitley come back and reccomend this place to all of our freinds!! oh yea our view from our room was unbeleivable!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

there was to many great places to name one. there was the italian restaurant in our hotel upstairs and alfredo was our waiter great guy!! lasange was to die for! there was cafe lola right down the road bueatiful fancy and food delicious! also peru rican right down the road yummy authentic food! dont forget the pearla in our hotel georgous inside fancy and outstanding food,i had the lobster! right across the street is carlos the bartender in a local bar forgot the name but best mexican food,nachos,tacos,fresh guacomoli,loved it!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
James jr
Business
Nyc
Jul 18, 2011

Great hotel want to go back soon

Great place, everything was outstanding including room, staff, beach, pools and restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BK texas girl
Business
Houston
Jul 15, 2011

LOVED IT!

Great hotel! I loved the pools, the beach access, the casino, the bar and all the near by shopping. I had a suite, so the fridge, stove, microwave and dishes were a plus. I was able to cook breakfast everyday instead of going out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boerne Texas
Jul 14, 2011

La Concha

I was in Puerto Rico on business,I was only at hotel at night.There looked to be shopping and restuarants very close. Very easy getting around San Jaun,had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go across street to buy beer much cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jul 13, 2011

Beautiful Stay

La Concha was amazing from the view, surroundings to the client services. You are greeted right of the back by 2 friendly gentlemen that make you feel really welcomed. The beach is clean and beautiful and the pools are the best and open all night long with guards on watch so nothing goes wrong. We were always late night swimmers in the pool and felt safe. On Friday and Saturday nights the lobby of the hotel turns in to a club sort of and everyone is dressed up. Other nights its pretty calm and nothing really happens. There is also a pretty big casino in the lobby. There 3 restaurants in the hotel, one of which tried called la perla which is the big seashell you see in the pictures. The prices were the same as the outside restaurants but to be honest not the greatest seafood or service I have had but worth a try. The room was spectacular and we were upgraded to ocean view which was amazing. Right across the street and down the block there were some amazing restaurants that are a must try. We did the Bacardi Factory Tour which was really nice and the Kayaking Bio-Luminescence tour which was great if you are into water activities and required some muscle and skill but was still enjoyable. Overall the trip was fun and wish we could have done more!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

One of our favorite restuarants was a Peruvian restaurant across the little park from la concha and the turn left. Best food we had there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top