$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

La Concha Renaissance Resort

4 stars
View map of 1077 Ashford Avenue, PO Box 6545, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Concha Renaissance Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
641 out of 641
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Newsbuff
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Aug 16, 2011

The Pinnacle of Hotel Modernism

We arrived to wonderful curbside service in the hotel courtyard carport and advanced into a sleek, modern lobby with undulating beats and rhythms of euro club music playing subtley in the background. Pool areas have been attended to with careful consideration to the geography of the hotel (it's proximity to tropical water and palm trees). Beach beds and settees are encsounced in lush tropical foliage dripping from beautiful mammoth pots and tucked in secluded zones that remain in close proximity to the beach, pool and food areas. Cool cream leather furnishings are warmed by wood tones and, green foliage and orange accents.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy your alcohol in the supermarkets or at the Duty Free Shops in the airport. Don't rent a car for trips around the hotel. IIf you can stand the heat, walk into Old San Juan and use car rentals to explore the island

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jay Jay
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Great Guys weekend trip.

Me and a good friend decided to take a quick guys weekend trip looking for night life and beautiful girls. I don't think we could have found a better place for both. Even the staff was gorgeous and extremely friendly. The hotel is top notch with great restaurants and food. Great beach that was a lot of fun. Great location to all the night life. And plenty to do. If there was anything they could work on it would only be one thing and that is how long it takes you to get served your food. This is not specific to the hotel but the case all through out San Juan. Be ready to wait a hour. That said the food in the hotel was well worth the wait. I did not find as great a food out side the hotel but that is a to each there own kinda taste I guess. The hotel was a great compilation of eye candy and well dressed people. The lounge turned into a night club feel at night just wish the bar stayed open a little longer since nothing gets really going until 2 am. The water fall pool was a great place to hang out and meet people and relax. we would normally hit the beach and then relax pool side, all a very short walk from one another. One thing the hotel could make better is how you charge your drinks and food to the room. I think it would be much better and allot more convenient to just swipe your room key like a credit card and like its done one cruise lines. It was a little pain walking around carrying a bill holder until you closed out your tab. If your looking for places to go ask the hotel staff at the lounge. Veronica was a great help, She was pregnant at the time and I wish her all the luck and good fortune, She was the most friendliest waitress there. Her personality was so great and she is a true treat and value to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Brava night club for a wild time short cab ride. If your looking for something right out side the hotel in walking distance go to Di chero. best to just ask the younger hotel staff

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mish
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Makes you want to return!

As soon as we get to the hotel, we are greeted by friendly Felix who helps us with our luggage and holds them in a room until our rooms are ready. We are then greeted by Luis at the front desk who did his best to have our group's rooms next to each other. During our stay, we asked our concierge, Victor, for all the "to do" things in Puerto Rico and he was right on point. He did an amazing job detailing on how to get to the places and he facilitated everything by calling the places and actually booking it for us. He gave us so many options, because you can tell he knows Puerto in and out. The hotel is at a great location, we did rent a car which was the best thing we could've done because in the morning, we would have day trips to places like El Yunque and then in the night time we drive off to Rio Piedras and party. We did the bio-luminescence, which is over rated but nice to experience. Overall, I will definitely return to PR and stay at LA CONCHA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Definitely rent a car if you plan to do day trips and take your own GPS if you have one. You save money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
THOMAS
Business
Bradenton, FL, USA
Aug 12, 2011

WOULD STAY THERE AGAIN

ROOM COULD HAVE BEEN CLEANER, ASKED FOR EARLY CHECKIN, DIDN'T HAPPEN. GREAT SERVICE, FRIENDLY PEOPLE, VERY HELPFUL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

OLD SAN JUAN

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
esmie53
Business
Los Angeles, California
Aug 12, 2011

An unbelievable experience!!!!!!!!!!

After reading so many reviews from other travelers my husband and I decided to celebrate our first anniversary at La Concha. At first we were skeptical in going at all to Puerto Rico, due to media (telling about all the violence occuring at PR). However, we decided to go and we are glad we did! In La Concha I saw a security around every area of the property, so as far as safety, we felt good! La Concha provides great amenities (pools are open 24 hrs!), the beach is only footsteps away! Although it wasnt the best beach, the waves are high and strong...if your looking for a calm beautiful beach you should visit Luquillo Beach! What I did not like that the beach chairs were picked up early. Staff was very friendly, they made us feel welcomed since day one. La Concha is located in a great place... there's a 24 hour walgreens that is only 2 blocks away, which makes it very convenient. There is also great places to eat authentic puerto rican food. You should try Orozco's restaurant which is only a block away( very economical). It's very important to consider what's impotant being at footsteps of the beach or being in city, because taxis are expensive. Since la Concha is not near San Juan were maily all the action happens we had to keep paying for taxi ($15 each way). You might want to consider renting car, however you have to pay to store it at hotel $20 daily plus anywhere you go. Make sure you make your reservation for tour early, since they do book early. La concha provides tours (of course at a cost) to many places. We did the trio...Yunque, luquillo beach, and the BIOluminist kayak)... Great Place to stay! Have fun and be safe!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Raices @ old san juan (guaranteed) orozco's block from hotel Latin Roots (dancing/dining) Yummy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Juan
Business
Tampa
Aug 12, 2011

Excellent value

Enjoyed our stay immensely & would recommend hotel to friends & family!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ciaoholly
Business
New York City
Aug 9, 2011

Beautiful hotel- service needs work

PLUS SIDE: The hotel is very chic and modern with excellent facilities. We were upgraded to a suite, which was very spacious and comfortable. Plenty of lounge chairs by the 3 different pools- no need to get up early to stake your claim as at many resorts. Loved the pool staff handing out chilled towels and small dishes of sorbet. Food was yummy, especially the duck quesadillas and grilled tuna sandwich. I would stay here again. DOWN SIDE: At night there is a very lively club scene in the lobby, and we were bothered by the noise either from that or from the parade of cars passing by blasting their music. Though all the staff was friendly, we had several service issues: housekeeping lost my husband's suit that was being pressed, and it took 4 calls to a manager to get it resolved-- with no apology. The rooms were never cleaned before 4pm, even when we specifically requested earlier service so we could get ready for a 5pm wedding. Given the late cleaning, it was especially frustrating that the front desk wouldn't allow a late check out. Frustratingly, there is NO room service or food options in the hotel after 11pm on weeknights-luckily there is a Subway across the street for late night snack options. I would expect a hotel of this caliber to offer 24-hr dining options, event if it's just a reduced snack menu. The lobby bar does serve food until 1 or 2am on weekends though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Perurrican restaurant just west of the hotel has delicious Peruvian and Puerto Rican food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BC Chicago
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 9, 2011

Great Hotel and location in San Juan

Everyone in the hotel was extremly friendly. They booked an ATV tour for the four of us and we had a great time. Restaurants all had good food and drinks you can do a breakfast buffet or continental breakfast the lunch you can do in the restaurant or at pool side. Rooms were clean with mini refrigerator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurant across the street Budta not cheap but great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston
Aug 8, 2011

[...]

Hotel was nice. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Only bars, no danceing clubs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 8, 2011

"Most fun hotel in San Juan"

I have been at this hotel twice in the last month; one stay of 5 nights and another one of 3 nights. Returning so quickly can only mean that the experience was great. The hotel is very well located, in the Condado area. Plenty of restaurants, shops and hotels nearby. This time I stayed at one of the suites, at a very good rate, I would totally recommend doing this. The service is allways excellent. The parties that are organized at the bar in the lobby are great fun and the music isn't heard from the rooms... at least not from the ones if stayed in. Nice suhi bar, but I haven't tried the italian and the other restaurant yet. I will in my next trip to PR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Crowded lobby bar every Thursday through Saturday in which you allways have fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top