$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 9, 2014 Check-out: Sep 10, 2014

La Concha Renaissance Resort

4 stars
1077 Ashford Avenue, PO Box 6545, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
593 reviews
Recommended

The hotel location is ideal, within walking distance to shops and restaurants. The hotel has a... See full review

  • luisorl
  • Aug 17, 2014
Perfect for girls trip

We had 6 girls in 2 suites. The suites were perfect - roomy with kitchenettes and balconies. Get... See full review

  • River North Explorer Sue
  • Jul 22, 2014
An awe-inspiring architectural achievement in Puerto Rico's Tropical Modernism movement, the La Concha Renaissance Resort Hotel offers an incredible place to stay in San Juan.  With instant access to the Condado beach, this is the perfect place to put your feet up and enjoy spectacular ocean views. Kids are entertained with the spacious game room, and guests can take a dip in one of the three outdoor pools, including the Sereno Infinity Pool. Eat fresh in reflective pool surroundings at the luxurious Perla seafood restaurant, where you'll find a pretty extensive wine list. Work it off with one of the complimentary fitness classes, and then get ready to try your luck at the casino. Those on business can stay chilled on the Solera Upper & Pool Deck meeting space.
Key facts
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • On-site casino
  • Fitness center with complimentary fitness classes
  • 3 outdoor pools
  • Whirlpool available in certain suites
  • 30,000-square-feet of meeting space and 19 meeting rooms
  • Smoke-free resort
  • LCD televisions in rooms
  • Lobby Lounge
  • Concierge desk
  • Limousine service
  • Evening turndown service
  • Exclusive Ocean Lounge for Gold and Platinum Rewards members
  • 5 restaurants: Perla, Voga Italian Grill, Solera, Aroma and Komakai Sushi Bar
Neighborhood
Golden, sandy beaches are just steps away from the hotel, and its location plays host to many dining and shopping spots. Visit historic Old San Juan l district to soak up the culture, marvel at the Las Croabas Lagoon with its bioluminescence bay, take a trip out to the Bacardi Rum Distillery, or unwind at the Zen Spa.
Hints and tips
Both couples and those without children will appreciate the designated adults-only pool for some comfort and quiet.
Keep your walking and dancing shoes handy whenever you leave the room, since it's easy to get carried away by the extensive San Juan nightlife.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4548 -66.0658
Area served
San Juan, Hato Rey Business District, Carolina, Bayamon, Caguas, Guaynabo Metro Office Park, Buchanan Office Park.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU)- Take 26 w to SJ, take exit 27 (De Diego Ave.), heading north until Ashford Ave. Make a left (w) on Ashford Ave, drive estimate .8 miles. Property will be on your right-hand side.
Area description
In 1958, La Concha Resort opened to rave reviews in the local social and business scene, a shining moment in Tropical Modernism movement's heyday... in the Puerto Rico pushiest district, the Condado.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Concha Renaissance Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

La Concha Renaissance Resort Rooms

Oceanfront Room
Queen OR king, ocean or pool view 37' flat screen TV, Internet, Ipod/MP3 player connection, CD player, color TV, mini-bar, air conditioning, alarm clock, bottled water, coffee maker, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, luxurious bedding, safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.5 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.5 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.5 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.7 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.7 mi

Dining

Aroma
Serving Deli food, also open for breakfast.
Perla
Is a luxury seafood restaurant serving refined contemporary American cuisine with gracious professional hospitality. The wine cellar contains more than 4,000 bottles with over 1,000 labels. We have an extensive wines-by-the- glass program with 30 wines offered, all climate controlled in enigmatic wine preservation displays.
Komakai Sushi Bar
Komakai, translating to "small and detailed", is our newest dining selection, featuring a 13 seat sushi bar located right on our lobby. Open nightly, it features sushi, sashimi, several signature and traditional rolls, and a few hot items as well. No waiting for a seat required.
Voga Italian Grill
Voga, Italian Grill offers comfort Italian-American dishes made with homemade ingredients in a modern ambience. All our dishes represent recipes that have spanned many family generations. Savor a sumptuous array of fresh pastas confectioned every day by Chef Luis Castillo while you celebrate life overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open seven days a week from 6:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. - Reservations needed.
Solera
Solera has restaurant-style seating and also more casual lounge areas for drinks and mingling in a tropical setting.
Lobby Lounge
Serving sandwiches

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (593)

Ratings and reviews for La Concha Renaissance Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
593 out of 593
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
ny
Jun 16, 2011

amazing resort

the experience was great, the number of pools meant that there were ample opportunities to swim in some degree of privacy and the staff were very helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The resort had some great food and within a five minute walk chef trevino has a few restaurants with sensational food

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sissydyer
philly
Jun 14, 2011

Awesome Hotel & Staff

Staff was always very polite and helpful to any and every request we had. Hotel grounds, pools, restaurants all amazing. Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dynamite!
Maryland
Jun 14, 2011

Beautiful Place minor updates needed

We went for the location and for the beach. It was a exactly what we needed. The hotel was within walking distance of over 25 restaurants of variety. It's not within walking distance of Old San Juan, but it's only 75 cents to take the bus or 13/14 bucks to take a taxi. Thus we took the bus to do our shopping. During our stay Denise, the front desk manager took care of all our concerns and was very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again and recommend it to others as well. You wont go wrong staying at La Concha. One tip: try to get a room in the new part of the building. It's possibly already booked because of weddings and ceremony's that they have. They had about 4 in the week that we were there. Two things I wish they had were a fan in the elevator and ceramic floors in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Puerto Rican food place right across the street was good and further down Ashford, Pinky's had really good breakfast. Pelayo not too far away also had a decent breakfast. But Pinky's took the cake!

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wattans
Houston
Jun 12, 2011

Great Hotel

Its a beautiful hotel right in front of the Condado beach.You need not go to any other beach, because this beach was beautiful but can get crowded though. The pools at the facility were awesome and the staff were super friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

One hint to give is that people shouldn't take taxis to go to Old San Juan. They have a bus stop in front of La Concha, which cost us 75 cents each to get to the city. On the other hand, if you were to go in a taxi it would cost 16$ each back and fro. That helped us save a lot of money.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kas Soccermad dad
Indialantic, Fl
Jun 11, 2011

Fantastic family getaway

Nice restaurants on property, a little expensive, Great open atmosphere, 4 pools, 2 jacuzzi's, step onto beach, shopping and restaurants close by, old san juan 7 minutes away, FRIENDLY HELPFUL STAFF. Only negative was cost of alcohol on property $11 for spirits, $7 for beer. But really a great hotel. Will stay here in future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

rent car to get to attractions if with family. Rainforest, biobay, zipline is 45 minutes and cheaper to drive yourself and not difficult to get to. Park in old san juan and take ferry to baccardi factory, cheers!!Try Tantra restaurant in old san juan...

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DRaff1130
New City, NY
Jun 11, 2011

Relaxing!!! Great Food and Great Staff

My husband and I went for 7 days, 6 nights and overall, had a great time. There were some hiccups but the hotel did a great job to rectify the situation. ExcursionsFirst the Good Stuff, We did the Biolumenesent River, Rainforest Tour and Horseback Riding along the beach. My husband also golfed at Trump and Bahia Beach and I went to the spa. Surprisingly, horseback riding was the BEST excursion. We had a great time as my husband loves to do any and every excursion. Bahia Beach was the nicest golf course he has ever been on and we have been to almost every island in the Carribbean, so that says a lot. It's expensive but well worth it. I had a facial at the Ritz and a massage and wrap at the Spa across from the hotel (in between Louis Vuitton and Cartier). The facial was nice, not the best I've ever had but nice. The massage was THE BEST I've ever had!!! Restaurants/FoodHands down, the best restaurant for me was La Perla...GORGEOUS room, excellent service and the food was to of the line. My husbands favorite was JAM (5 blocks from the hotel)---get the Veal if you go there- it was out of this world. The other restaurants we went to were Pamela's on the beach, Peruvian 2 blocks down and some other local joints...nothing to rave about. Also, if you are from the New York/New Jersey area, I would not recommend Velo. It is hard to find great Italian Food if you are from this area. The sushi was fantastic and the pool side food, quesadilla's and the steak wrap were some of the best!!! RoomWe upgraded to a partial balcony with an oceanview- worth EVERY penny. The amenities were great and I loved the Ipod Dock, Comfy King bed, etc...CasinoNice tables, not very crowded but clean as well.I would like to say thank you to the concierge, Frankie as they call him. He made our stay a pleasure. Also, all the guys at the valet were outstanding, kind, courteous and prompt always willing to help you with ANYTHING! Thank you to them. The things that did go wrong was the first night, from 3-5 AM, prom kids woke us up all night- We finally called and they sent Hotel Security up. They lost power TWICE!!! Tuesday and Thursday morning...I can't believe they do not have back up generators for the entire hotel. They blamed it on outside work but not one other building was our of power. My hubby said it was prob due to poor infrastructure but waking up SO HOT for 2x mornings is not fun on vacation. Also, they did not book 2 of our excursions; even though we received a conformation letter, both times they were not booked. This overall was the biggest disappointment because we tried to plan our week and both our activities were bumped. Also, when the woman booked my facial, she did not relay the message to bring my bathing suit for their hot tub first. She was there on Sunday and unfortunately did not book 2 of our activities or relay info. Also, the taxis were a RIP OFF!!! Be careful...Since it was my vacation, I was not looking for any complaints...I was there to enjoy myself and made the most of every situation but by Friday when my husband and I woke up and got ready for a 9:30 horseback riding excursion and wait for half hour for them to tell us it was never booked was so annoying. By this point, it was the 2nd time of poor planning on their behalf and I was just annoyed. Overall, the hotel gave us a $100 credit for all the inconveniences. I made the most out of the kids screaming, the first excursion moved and waking up to no power for 2 mornings and made the best of each situation. I would not let anything ruin our vacation, we were SO looking forward to this. Also, bring cash for all excursions- Since the concierge booked them, we thought it was charged through the hotel and it's not. They just set it up for you with an independent company and they only take cash. They NEVER told us this and we did not carry cash on us like that. Luckily, we had great people who lent us money- thank you for the couple from ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

La Perla- Get the Tuna Trio for app...Delicious!

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
N & B
Jackson, NJ
Jun 9, 2011

An amazing vacation

The staff were extremely helpful in giving directions and suggestions. Although we came prepared by doing our research. If you like adventure, you should hike the rainforest, but do it on your own and save the money. Check into some of the adventure trips while you're there. Walk around Old San Juan - 10 minute drive from hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Enjoy authentic Puerto Rican food at La Casita Blanca on Tapia Street - 10 minute drive from hotel. The food was amazing and so enjoyable. Also if you like sushi - Dragonfly in Old San Juan.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY. NY.
Jun 7, 2011

Wonderful Hotel

Ive been here before and it still holds its decadence. Lunch at the pool was great and the service is always helpful with anything you may need. Only draw back was the over crowded pool on a Sunday afternoon of non hotel guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are amazing restaurants within a few short blocks from the hotel.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jupiter, Fl
May 26, 2011

Hotel la Concha, San Juan. Puerto Rico

Very nice hotel almost like Miami style. Smiling faces and always eager to help. My room was fantastic and service was impeccable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely try the bio Luminisent canoe tours and the waterfall in yunkie. Wow!

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JayLlo
New York, Ny
May 24, 2011

Fun at la Concha, but don't gamble!

La Concha was a very nice hotel- the room Layout was comfortable with great views, and everything was clean. Food and drinks were affordable and the staff wad friendly and accommodating. Everyone spoke English. The pools and beach were gorgeous- much better than the other hotels on the strip that we walked to. Do NoT gamble in the casino though/ it seemed very shady with the casino manager hovering over the table on his cell phone the whole time and they would call "no more bets" as you were in the middle of placing your chips at the roulette wheel. An employee said the highest a person has ever won there was $1000, so not even really much to look forward to if you're a big gambler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pure and Natural- a quick two block walk from La Concha. The food is healthy and delicious

Back to menu Return to top

Change search