$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

La Concha Renaissance Resort

4 stars
1077 Ashford Avenue, PO Box 6545, San Juan, 00907
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
613 reviews
Amazing Service

It was my birthday weekend and I enjoyed the whole trip from beginning to end. They were so... See full review

  • Adventerous Traveler
  • Dec 2, 2014
Girls getaway

Had a great time on a girls getaway. If you want to do the touristy things or go out to a... See full review

  • Cmtina88
  • Dec 2, 2014
An awe-inspiring architectural achievement in Puerto Rico's Tropical Modernism movement, the La Concha Renaissance Resort Hotel offers an incredible place to stay in San Juan.  With instant access to the Condado beach, this is the perfect place to put your feet up and enjoy spectacular ocean views. Kids are entertained with the spacious game room, and guests can take a dip in one of the three outdoor pools, including the Sereno Infinity Pool. Eat fresh in reflective pool surroundings at the luxurious Perla seafood restaurant, where you'll find a pretty extensive wine list. Work it off with one of the complimentary fitness classes, and then get ready to try your luck at the casino. Those on business can stay chilled on the Solera Upper & Pool Deck meeting space.
Key facts
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • On-site casino
  • Fitness center with complimentary fitness classes
  • 3 outdoor pools
  • Whirlpool available in certain suites
  • 30,000-square-feet of meeting space and 19 meeting rooms
  • Smoke-free resort
  • LCD televisions in rooms
  • Lobby Lounge
  • Concierge desk
  • Limousine service
  • Evening turndown service
  • Exclusive Ocean Lounge for Gold and Platinum Rewards members
  • 5 restaurants: Perla, Voga Italian Grill, Solera, Aroma and Komakai Sushi Bar
Neighborhood
Golden, sandy beaches are just steps away from the hotel, and its location plays host to many dining and shopping spots. Visit historic Old San Juan l district to soak up the culture, marvel at the Las Croabas Lagoon with its bioluminescence bay, take a trip out to the Bacardi Rum Distillery, or unwind at the Zen Spa.
Hints and tips
Both couples and those without children will appreciate the designated adults-only pool for some comfort and quiet.
Keep your walking and dancing shoes handy whenever you leave the room, since it's easy to get carried away by the extensive San Juan nightlife.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Concha Renaissance Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

La Concha Renaissance Resort Rooms

Oceanfront Room
Queen OR king, ocean or pool view 37' flat screen TV, Internet, Ipod/MP3 player connection, CD player, color TV, mini-bar, air conditioning, alarm clock, bottled water, coffee maker, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, luxurious bedding, safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.5 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.5 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.5 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.7 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.7 mi

Dining

Aroma
Serving Deli food, also open for breakfast.
Perla
Is a luxury seafood restaurant serving refined contemporary American cuisine with gracious professional hospitality. The wine cellar contains more than 4,000 bottles with over 1,000 labels. We have an extensive wines-by-the- glass program with 30 wines offered, all climate controlled in enigmatic wine preservation displays.
Komakai Sushi Bar
Komakai, translating to "small and detailed", is our newest dining selection, featuring a 13 seat sushi bar located right on our lobby. Open nightly, it features sushi, sashimi, several signature and traditional rolls, and a few hot items as well. No waiting for a seat required.
Voga Italian Grill
Voga, Italian Grill offers comfort Italian-American dishes made with homemade ingredients in a modern ambience. All our dishes represent recipes that have spanned many family generations. Savor a sumptuous array of fresh pastas confectioned every day by Chef Luis Castillo while you celebrate life overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open seven days a week from 6:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. - Reservations needed.
Solera
Solera has restaurant-style seating and also more casual lounge areas for drinks and mingling in a tropical setting.
Lobby Lounge
Serving sandwiches

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (613)

Ratings and reviews for La Concha Renaissance Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
613 out of 613
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mohogo
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jul 24, 2011

Great San Juan vacation

We loved the La Concha. We were greated with enthusiasm and professionalism that continued thoughout our entire stay. The staff was constantly asking if we needed anything and were very friendly. We were greated with "buenos dias" every time we past an employee. The room and bathroom was very comfortably sized. A refrigerator allowed us to have our own beverages to reduce the bar bill. Drinks are not cheap in San Juan! Plus, Walgreens is a 5 minute walk so you can get any supplies you need or forgot at a reasonable price. The 4 pools are lovely. 2 provide views of the beach/ocean, which is awesome. Clean towels are provided poolside every day. You can get service poolside also. The beach is clean and was not very busy considering it is a public beach in addition to the hotels beach. Hotel staff will place lounge chairs on the beach where you want them and set up an umbrella if you wish. Finding a place to eat is easy. The hotels food was incredible. La Perla (one of the hotels restaraunts) is expensive, but the filet was delicious and worth every penny. The view from La Perla is excellent and the service was perfect. There is a Subway across the street, a Wendy's a minute away, and a Chili's 5 minutes away if you prefer a cheaper alternative. Taxis are expensive, $15 each way to Old San Juan and the airport. But, much easier than catching the $.75 bus. Go to Old San Juan!!! Lots of shopping and 2 forts to see. The food in Old San Juan is excellend too. But, don't go there just to eat because the food on Ashford next to the La Concho is just as good. Old San Juan has a lot of history and interesting things to see. Any of the excursions to El Yunque or a bio bay are worth the price. Don't worry about not speaking Spanish, everyone in San Juan speaks English. Only one negative to report. The city view room at the La Concha is not great and is loud at night due to the lively night life in San Juan. Get the ocean view if you require less noise to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Every place to eat on Ashford was excellent. Even the places that looked like holes in the wall were excellent. Try the Mofongo, it is delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, ny
Jul 20, 2011

Excellent hotel

The hotel staff was amazing and the rooms were clean and very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
angela and andrew
Business
san juan,puerto rico
Jul 18, 2011

loved it, loved it,loved it!!

Me and my fiance went snorkeling and it was like paradise, we went to the rain forrest and went salsa dancing.Every restaurant we went to was great and the local bars with food was great too!! food was outstanding!! people at hotel on our excursions and local were really nice and attentive to your every need. There was evrything to do here,we will definitley come back and reccomend this place to all of our freinds!! oh yea our view from our room was unbeleivable!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

there was to many great places to name one. there was the italian restaurant in our hotel upstairs and alfredo was our waiter great guy!! lasange was to die for! there was cafe lola right down the road bueatiful fancy and food delicious! also peru rican right down the road yummy authentic food! dont forget the pearla in our hotel georgous inside fancy and outstanding food,i had the lobster! right across the street is carlos the bartender in a local bar forgot the name but best mexican food,nachos,tacos,fresh guacomoli,loved it!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
James jr
Business
Nyc
Jul 18, 2011

Great hotel want to go back soon

Great place, everything was outstanding including room, staff, beach, pools and restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BK texas girl
Business
Houston
Jul 15, 2011

LOVED IT!

Great hotel! I loved the pools, the beach access, the casino, the bar and all the near by shopping. I had a suite, so the fridge, stove, microwave and dishes were a plus. I was able to cook breakfast everyday instead of going out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boerne Texas
Jul 14, 2011

La Concha

I was in Puerto Rico on business,I was only at hotel at night.There looked to be shopping and restuarants very close. Very easy getting around San Jaun,had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go across street to buy beer much cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jul 13, 2011

Beautiful Stay

La Concha was amazing from the view, surroundings to the client services. You are greeted right of the back by 2 friendly gentlemen that make you feel really welcomed. The beach is clean and beautiful and the pools are the best and open all night long with guards on watch so nothing goes wrong. We were always late night swimmers in the pool and felt safe. On Friday and Saturday nights the lobby of the hotel turns in to a club sort of and everyone is dressed up. Other nights its pretty calm and nothing really happens. There is also a pretty big casino in the lobby. There 3 restaurants in the hotel, one of which tried called la perla which is the big seashell you see in the pictures. The prices were the same as the outside restaurants but to be honest not the greatest seafood or service I have had but worth a try. The room was spectacular and we were upgraded to ocean view which was amazing. Right across the street and down the block there were some amazing restaurants that are a must try. We did the Bacardi Factory Tour which was really nice and the Kayaking Bio-Luminescence tour which was great if you are into water activities and required some muscle and skill but was still enjoyable. Overall the trip was fun and wish we could have done more!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

One of our favorite restuarants was a Peruvian restaurant across the little park from la concha and the turn left. Best food we had there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LovieDovie
Business
Wise, Va
Jul 12, 2011

Wonderful Hotel

While we were in San Juan, we dined at the exquisite restaurants within the hotel. We also swam in all three pools (one of which was adults only). Can I say Woohoo! The hotel was impecable. The beds were so comfy and my husband loved the shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

When the weekend approached, the hotel was hopping. Many 20-30 yr old mingling around pool area and we were also treated to a concert and fashion show.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luison
Business
New York, NY
Jul 12, 2011

Remains STRONG in looks and service

I continue to be amazed by the beauty and level of service La Concha still offers. I continue to return by myself and with friends simply because the friendly staff has become family. We arrived Thursday evening for Fourth of July weekend and stayed till Monday evening. Although the weather did not fully cooperate, we rested in the various pools, terraces and restaurants. La Concha has one of the most vivacious nightlife at the Bar where Jimmy rules. We stayed in one of the corner suites that have a living/dining area, terrace and Bedroom area that has a breathtaking view of the ocean. The place is so centrally located, that we had access of all nightclubs in el Condado, so it made it easy to navigate without a car. The only drawback was that on such a busy holiday, the service staff at the pools was lacking. Food and Beverage had limited the waiting staff since it had been raining days before. But Monday was a full sunny day and there were no drinks to be had. This may have been an oversight that should have easily been taken care of. This is truly one of my favorite vacation spots and I trust that we will be spending many more vacations there in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Get to the nightclubs late and return to the hotel at 6 in the morning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 10, 2011

Great Stay

The hotel was modern, had great service and had a great beach. I enjoyed my stay here and will definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top