$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 9, 2014 Check-out: Sep 10, 2014

La Concha Renaissance Resort

4 stars
1077 Ashford Avenue, PO Box 6545, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
593 reviews
Recommended

The hotel location is ideal, within walking distance to shops and restaurants. The hotel has a... See full review

  • luisorl
  • Aug 17, 2014
Perfect for girls trip

We had 6 girls in 2 suites. The suites were perfect - roomy with kitchenettes and balconies. Get... See full review

  • River North Explorer Sue
  • Jul 22, 2014
An awe-inspiring architectural achievement in Puerto Rico's Tropical Modernism movement, the La Concha Renaissance Resort Hotel offers an incredible place to stay in San Juan.  With instant access to the Condado beach, this is the perfect place to put your feet up and enjoy spectacular ocean views. Kids are entertained with the spacious game room, and guests can take a dip in one of the three outdoor pools, including the Sereno Infinity Pool. Eat fresh in reflective pool surroundings at the luxurious Perla seafood restaurant, where you'll find a pretty extensive wine list. Work it off with one of the complimentary fitness classes, and then get ready to try your luck at the casino. Those on business can stay chilled on the Solera Upper & Pool Deck meeting space.
Key facts
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • On-site casino
  • Fitness center with complimentary fitness classes
  • 3 outdoor pools
  • Whirlpool available in certain suites
  • 30,000-square-feet of meeting space and 19 meeting rooms
  • Smoke-free resort
  • LCD televisions in rooms
  • Lobby Lounge
  • Concierge desk
  • Limousine service
  • Evening turndown service
  • Exclusive Ocean Lounge for Gold and Platinum Rewards members
  • 5 restaurants: Perla, Voga Italian Grill, Solera, Aroma and Komakai Sushi Bar
Neighborhood
Golden, sandy beaches are just steps away from the hotel, and its location plays host to many dining and shopping spots. Visit historic Old San Juan l district to soak up the culture, marvel at the Las Croabas Lagoon with its bioluminescence bay, take a trip out to the Bacardi Rum Distillery, or unwind at the Zen Spa.
Hints and tips
Both couples and those without children will appreciate the designated adults-only pool for some comfort and quiet.
Keep your walking and dancing shoes handy whenever you leave the room, since it's easy to get carried away by the extensive San Juan nightlife.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4548 -66.0658
Area served
San Juan, Hato Rey Business District, Carolina, Bayamon, Caguas, Guaynabo Metro Office Park, Buchanan Office Park.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU)- Take 26 w to SJ, take exit 27 (De Diego Ave.), heading north until Ashford Ave. Make a left (w) on Ashford Ave, drive estimate .8 miles. Property will be on your right-hand side.
Area description
In 1958, La Concha Resort opened to rave reviews in the local social and business scene, a shining moment in Tropical Modernism movement's heyday... in the Puerto Rico pushiest district, the Condado.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Concha Renaissance Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

La Concha Renaissance Resort Rooms

Oceanfront Room
Queen OR king, ocean or pool view 37' flat screen TV, Internet, Ipod/MP3 player connection, CD player, color TV, mini-bar, air conditioning, alarm clock, bottled water, coffee maker, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, luxurious bedding, safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.5 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.5 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.5 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.7 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.7 mi

Dining

Aroma
Serving Deli food, also open for breakfast.
Perla
Is a luxury seafood restaurant serving refined contemporary American cuisine with gracious professional hospitality. The wine cellar contains more than 4,000 bottles with over 1,000 labels. We have an extensive wines-by-the- glass program with 30 wines offered, all climate controlled in enigmatic wine preservation displays.
Komakai Sushi Bar
Komakai, translating to "small and detailed", is our newest dining selection, featuring a 13 seat sushi bar located right on our lobby. Open nightly, it features sushi, sashimi, several signature and traditional rolls, and a few hot items as well. No waiting for a seat required.
Voga Italian Grill
Voga, Italian Grill offers comfort Italian-American dishes made with homemade ingredients in a modern ambience. All our dishes represent recipes that have spanned many family generations. Savor a sumptuous array of fresh pastas confectioned every day by Chef Luis Castillo while you celebrate life overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open seven days a week from 6:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. - Reservations needed.
Solera
Solera has restaurant-style seating and also more casual lounge areas for drinks and mingling in a tropical setting.
Lobby Lounge
Serving sandwiches

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (593)

Ratings and reviews for La Concha Renaissance Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
593 out of 593
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
philadelphia, pa
Jun 22, 2011

Magnificent escape to luxurious hotel

We failed to book our touristy daytrips on time, so losing that money stung, but the hotel is hands down gorgeous. Tons of lounging or canoodling spots, multiple pools and hot tubs including kids-free areas, amazing staff from bartenders to consierge to the guys who call you a cab. Breakfast via room service was insaney delicious, the views are unforgettable, the casino is a blast. Tons of nearby restaurants to check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

So....[*]: my lady and I question if and where it exists. We read online about Cups, were in a cab en route there to learn it had closed and we were redirected by our straight driver to Circo which no joke was empty until about 11:30 and the [*] sat transfixed on the Kylie concert on screen. My gf and I, from Philly with its vibrant Stimulus parties, were perplexed and bored.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JEF L
Florida
Jun 21, 2011

Best hotel I've stayed in San Juan!!!

Great Staff, clean Rooms, great food and location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Perla Rest. amazing food!

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami
Jun 20, 2011

What a great place to stay!!

The La Concha is a wonderful hotel. Our room was beautiful and we had an amazing view of the ocean. We laid out on the beach and enjoyed the water. The hotel staff at the La Concha are very helpful and friendly people. This is probably the best hotel in San Juan, PR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Jun 20, 2011

Great getaway, great deal

This was the best hotel ever! There is a club and casino in the hotel. The beach is directly outside the hotel. The location was in the center of all tourist spots. Old San Juan, Rainforest, and great eateries. A must stay place!! Most importantly, the staff was the most professional and sweet individuals I've seen in awhile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Yum Yum Tree, a Chinese restaurant and Kasalta, a sandwich shop are both great places.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Jun 19, 2011

La Concha Resort Experience

Great resort in the heart of downtown San Juan with great access to the various pools arounds as well as the beach. Very convenient. The suites have a beautiful ocean view, and are great for families. One minor improvement it could use is housekeeping. Products such as soaps, shower gels, etc. in the bathrooms were not replaced if you ran out. Also, the kitchen was missing items such as coffee mugs, glasses. But we worked around those, so not a negative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are plenty of good places to dine at for lunch or dinner within walking distance of the resort if you want to try a variety of eclectic foods instead of dining at the resort everyday.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alwayz0npoint
NYC, NY
Jun 19, 2011

BALLIN

ALOT OF GAMBLING PARTYING DRINKING SIGHTSEEING BEACH CANT ASK FOR ANYTHING ELSE. DEF. miss PR. DONT SETTLE FOR ANYTHING LESS THEN THAT OCEAN VIEW SUITE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

dont go with usave as the car rental. they are thiefs. it will come up as least expensive but when you get there to pick up your car they hit you with over 200 dollars in other fees. go with any other car rental besides USAVE!! USAVE ARE SCAM ARTISTS.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Jun 18, 2011

LaConcha rocks

Had lunch in feb visit and knew then I wanted to stay next time. We stayed for the weekend last and loved it. Cabana, pools, drinks, servers Amenities, everything was just the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Saturday night the entire lobby was a dance floor with great music, people, and ambiance .

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bowie, MD
Jun 16, 2011

Great Hotel

The staff at La Concha were friendly and very helpful. I had a great beach view from my window and just outside the front door was the view of the pool area. Be advised that there they require a security deposit upon arrival, which I was not aware of, for each night. The deposit is $100 per night but you get your money back upon check out, excluding the resort fee. I was a little upset that this wasn't disclosed at booking but all worked out. I would recommend this hotel and I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buford, GA
Jun 16, 2011

San Juan, PR

The hotel was beautiful. Even though it rained everyday during our stay it didn't matter because it was still plenty to do and see. I wouldn't stay at any other hotel there but the La Concha!!! I traveled the entire resort area and they were the BEST in my opinion. Everything was either in walking distance. The buses are cheap and can get you just about anywhere. They do run on a strange schedule but well worth it. Old San Juan was very nice. We toured the entire city in one day, but you have to start early. The local trolly was free in Old San Juan. Make sure you wear a good pair of comfort shoes. We caught the ferry to visit the Bacardi distillery. Love it. And the Don Q visitors center is located in the visited center in Old San Juan when you get back from the ferry. The best way to see the rain forest is to rent a car and drive there on your own if there are more than two people. It's only about $15 - 30 for the car and you can site see on the hour drive, be on your own schedule, see the best beaches there, and save about $60 per person. I went with my two daughters age 17 and 20. Oh the food is not that expensive as some reviews stated. Normal city prices but if you get a suite, the come with a kitchen with all the utensil so you can shop at the walgreen grocey store a block away and cook your own meals or quick foods. We saved by cooking breakfast and eating out for lunch (lite) and dinner. I could tell you so much but you have to see it for yourself. The people are wonderful all over San Juan, they make you feel so great for coming to PR. I was thanked so many times for visiting PR and helping them keep PR beautiful. They make you feel like your the most important person there every time you pass them. The hotel lost power at one point due to something on the island but they gave us breakfast that morning since we couldn't cook in our room and special gift box in our room that evening thanking us for our patience. Lovely!!! The sushi bar was the best and all the restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The only thing I was unhappy about was at restaurants they don't tell you that you are not getting free refills on your drinks ( tea ) when they ask you if you want more to drink while you wait for your food and it takes them a long time to bring your food out at all the restaurants.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
avid yearly vacationer
winston salem, NC
Jun 16, 2011

great getaway

the out door areas were great, my duaghter loves the pool there was the added benefit of the pools and hot tubs being open all night. the beach was great. the room was a little musty initially but very modern. I think it was because the air conditioning was off but resolved after turning on the air.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search