$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 18, 2015 Check-out: May 19, 2015

La Concha Renaissance Resort

4 stars
View map of 1077 Ashford Avenue, PO Box 6545, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Concha Renaissance Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
640 out of 640
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DebbieW
Business
Kansas City
Sep 15, 2011

Just about perfect

We loved our hotel stay at La Concha. We asked at check in for a room in the New Tower and they gave a studio room that included a full kitchen with dishes, stove, oven and microwave. It was great for reheating leftovers from restaurants. We would've loved to have bought some groceries to make meals there but didn't get a chance or find a grocery store close enough. The room was beautiful. Modern, clean and wonderful amenities including Aveda products, free wifi and a balcony that mostly looked over the city but we were on the corner of the hotel so we also got a little bonus view of the beach. The eleventh floor was perfect too. Just high enough so the street noise wasn't a bother. The shower was the only weird part. It didn't have a door to close. Just a halfway glass wall which let a lot of the water splash out if more than one person used it. But it was still nice and plenty of hot water. The service was also always prompt when we asked for additional pillows, an air mattress (for the one night my sister crashed with us) and house cleaning was done with our room by noon each day. We loved the decor of the hotel. Loved the snazzy, hip, modern, decor. The lobby bar seemed lively though we didn't hang out there much since I am pregnant. Walgreens was just walking distance away for cheap water, snacks and any hygiene products. They also sell the Puerto Rican coffee there cheaper than the tourist shops on the same block. (something we wish we knew before we bought ours at the shop and not at walgreens). There was always lots of security on the beach and around the hotel and on the block so we never felt unsafe. Great area to stay in. 15mins from the airport, 15mins from Old San Juan (definitely worth seeing). Definitely would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. We LOVED Ropa Vieja, a cuban/puetro rican restaurant. I had the ropa vieja and my husband had arroz con pollo(rice and chicken). Definitely get the congri and fried sweet plaintains as your sides. My husband had the sangria and said it was the best he's ever had. I'm cuban and I will say, the food rivals my family's recipe. It was amazing. We also ate breakfast every morning across the street at Dunkin Dounuts. They had breakfast crouissants and Guava and cheese dounuts which were amazing! And all reasonably priced. We also ate the Perla restaurant in the hotel. Pricey but the atmosphere was amazing and the food great. In Old San Juan we ate at Raices. The mofungo with steak was amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Magic M
Business
Central New Jersey
Sep 15, 2011

A modern and sophisticated resort

We stayed here for four nights. The pool area, jaucuzzi, and integrated beach area was amazing. The views from oceanfront rooms are panoramic views of breathtaking ocean.. The only down point is the resort restaurants and parking are pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pinkey is a affordable delicious breakfast stop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tlamo
Business
gettysburg, PA
Sep 13, 2011

La Concha, San Juan

La Concha resort had wonderful views, pools, staff and service. They graciously upgraded our room to the 11th floor-ocean view and the view was spectacular! Lots of local cuisine and restaurants within walking distance. Not much else in the immediate area, that we could find to do in the evenings other than hang at resort or nearby restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

take time and wait for the bus--it's only 75 cents into Old San Juan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thomas 58
Business
tallahassee fl.
Sep 8, 2011

What I went for

I love the Carribiean life style and this resort will fulfil all your expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

No reason to leave the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mjalexa
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Sep 1, 2011

Great Place, Highly Recommend

This hotel has the best staff of any hotel I have ever been to. All the concierge were good, but the main one was the best. She knew the bouncer at the club, the manager at the tour, the cooks at the restaurant, just wonderful. She put my girlfriend and I at the best table in the house. They are all great. I was so impressed with the service and San Juan is not high on vacation costs. Everything was less expensive than expected and if you did a little hunting or asking around you find great deals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

La Perla is a beautiful resturant right inside the hotel that did not disappoint. Great food and service, huge wine selection, but the best part is the decor. The whole resturant is shaped like a clam shell that appears to be floating on the water. Inside are beautiful shell shaped lights that project multiple colors unto the ceiling. A must see especially if you are staying in La Concha.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JRJR
Business
Ohio
Aug 30, 2011

concha hotel

great location, night life is awesome. Too many kids in the pool which is small. Concierge service below average. Delicious dinning at the Perla restaurant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M and Ed
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 22, 2011

great relaxing trip

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 days. The hotel was nice and clean. We had a lot of fun and took advantage of their awesome pool which never closes. Each night the lobby had music and a good bar. Not too loud but just right. The staff was very helpful and the concierge recommended a few great restaurants. The area is not fantastic, a few run down buildings for about 2 blocks (we never felt un safe) but if u go past the walgreens, you'll see it gets much better. Nice restaurants and other hotels. Overall a good experience :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Casa lola is a newer restaurant a short walk from the hotel. The food was fantastic, authentic puerto rican like cooking. Highly recommend

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doug4018
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 19, 2011

Great trendy hotel, great location

First time in PR, and so wasn't sure what to expect, but this was a great hotel. The staff was very friendly, helpful and accomodating. The pool area, beach area were always clean and beautiful. Restaurants were great, much better than I expected with a hotel. The only negative is we thought the bed could have been a bit more comfortable. Otherwise I'd highly recommend it and we would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are lots of great restaurants in walking distance. We tried Tijuana which had great drinks and food, we also tried Buenos Ayres which had wonderful steaks. There are also great italian restaurants and a couple of PR one's also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J Torr
Business
Clinton Township, MI, USA
Aug 17, 2011

Beautiful hotel for a honeymoon.

Me and my wife booked about a week prior to going and we were still able to get a suite for 7 nights. The hotel was very modern and inviting. The room was very nice. Separate living, dinning/kitchenette, bathroom, bedroom. The bed was firm, not my preference but comfy. Bathroom was very clean. The shower was large and all glass with no door. Kitchenette had 2 electric burners and cookware as well as plenty of utensils. Mini fridge was roomy.There were two plasma tvs one with a cd/dvd player. One i pod dock alarm clock. There were several dinning options on the property but relatively expensive. The food was amazing.not at all disappointed compared to price. If its to much to spend there's a subway right across the street. And if you want to cook there is a good selection at the Walgreen two blocks down. People who worked there were friendly and as helpful as possible. I would recommend it to anyone. The view was great from the tenth floor. And private balconies in the suite tower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

look into the bioluminescent kayak trips. We heard about them while snorkeling and unfortunately didn't have time to get to it before we left.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Newsbuff
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Aug 16, 2011

The Pinnacle of Hotel Modernism

We arrived to wonderful curbside service in the hotel courtyard carport and advanced into a sleek, modern lobby with undulating beats and rhythms of euro club music playing subtley in the background. Pool areas have been attended to with careful consideration to the geography of the hotel (it's proximity to tropical water and palm trees). Beach beds and settees are encsounced in lush tropical foliage dripping from beautiful mammoth pots and tucked in secluded zones that remain in close proximity to the beach, pool and food areas. Cool cream leather furnishings are warmed by wood tones and, green foliage and orange accents.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy your alcohol in the supermarkets or at the Duty Free Shops in the airport. Don't rent a car for trips around the hotel. IIf you can stand the heat, walk into Old San Juan and use car rentals to explore the island

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top