$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 9, 2014 Check-out: Sep 10, 2014

La Concha Renaissance Resort

4 stars
1077 Ashford Avenue, PO Box 6545, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
593 reviews
Recommended

The hotel location is ideal, within walking distance to shops and restaurants. The hotel has a... See full review

  • luisorl
  • Aug 17, 2014
Perfect for girls trip

We had 6 girls in 2 suites. The suites were perfect - roomy with kitchenettes and balconies. Get... See full review

  • River North Explorer Sue
  • Jul 22, 2014
An awe-inspiring architectural achievement in Puerto Rico's Tropical Modernism movement, the La Concha Renaissance Resort Hotel offers an incredible place to stay in San Juan.  With instant access to the Condado beach, this is the perfect place to put your feet up and enjoy spectacular ocean views. Kids are entertained with the spacious game room, and guests can take a dip in one of the three outdoor pools, including the Sereno Infinity Pool. Eat fresh in reflective pool surroundings at the luxurious Perla seafood restaurant, where you'll find a pretty extensive wine list. Work it off with one of the complimentary fitness classes, and then get ready to try your luck at the casino. Those on business can stay chilled on the Solera Upper & Pool Deck meeting space.
Key facts
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • On-site casino
  • Fitness center with complimentary fitness classes
  • 3 outdoor pools
  • Whirlpool available in certain suites
  • 30,000-square-feet of meeting space and 19 meeting rooms
  • Smoke-free resort
  • LCD televisions in rooms
  • Lobby Lounge
  • Concierge desk
  • Limousine service
  • Evening turndown service
  • Exclusive Ocean Lounge for Gold and Platinum Rewards members
  • 5 restaurants: Perla, Voga Italian Grill, Solera, Aroma and Komakai Sushi Bar
Neighborhood
Golden, sandy beaches are just steps away from the hotel, and its location plays host to many dining and shopping spots. Visit historic Old San Juan l district to soak up the culture, marvel at the Las Croabas Lagoon with its bioluminescence bay, take a trip out to the Bacardi Rum Distillery, or unwind at the Zen Spa.
Hints and tips
Both couples and those without children will appreciate the designated adults-only pool for some comfort and quiet.
Keep your walking and dancing shoes handy whenever you leave the room, since it's easy to get carried away by the extensive San Juan nightlife.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4548 -66.0658
Area served
San Juan, Hato Rey Business District, Carolina, Bayamon, Caguas, Guaynabo Metro Office Park, Buchanan Office Park.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU)- Take 26 w to SJ, take exit 27 (De Diego Ave.), heading north until Ashford Ave. Make a left (w) on Ashford Ave, drive estimate .8 miles. Property will be on your right-hand side.
Area description
In 1958, La Concha Resort opened to rave reviews in the local social and business scene, a shining moment in Tropical Modernism movement's heyday... in the Puerto Rico pushiest district, the Condado.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Concha Renaissance Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

La Concha Renaissance Resort Rooms

Oceanfront Room
Queen OR king, ocean or pool view 37' flat screen TV, Internet, Ipod/MP3 player connection, CD player, color TV, mini-bar, air conditioning, alarm clock, bottled water, coffee maker, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, luxurious bedding, safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.5 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.5 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.5 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.7 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.7 mi

Dining

Aroma
Serving Deli food, also open for breakfast.
Perla
Is a luxury seafood restaurant serving refined contemporary American cuisine with gracious professional hospitality. The wine cellar contains more than 4,000 bottles with over 1,000 labels. We have an extensive wines-by-the- glass program with 30 wines offered, all climate controlled in enigmatic wine preservation displays.
Komakai Sushi Bar
Komakai, translating to "small and detailed", is our newest dining selection, featuring a 13 seat sushi bar located right on our lobby. Open nightly, it features sushi, sashimi, several signature and traditional rolls, and a few hot items as well. No waiting for a seat required.
Voga Italian Grill
Voga, Italian Grill offers comfort Italian-American dishes made with homemade ingredients in a modern ambience. All our dishes represent recipes that have spanned many family generations. Savor a sumptuous array of fresh pastas confectioned every day by Chef Luis Castillo while you celebrate life overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open seven days a week from 6:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. - Reservations needed.
Solera
Solera has restaurant-style seating and also more casual lounge areas for drinks and mingling in a tropical setting.
Lobby Lounge
Serving sandwiches

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (593)

Ratings and reviews for La Concha Renaissance Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
593 out of 593
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kwamazing
San Juan, Puerto Rico
May 18, 2014

Absolutely great

Hotel was absolutely wonderful. The staff was great and very friendly. There were plenty pools and jacuzzi's along with the gorgeous beach view. There was a casino and bar in the lobby. The tours for rainforest and snorkeling etc all the information was at the front desk and picked you up directly in front of the hotel. No issues getting cabs, great shopping. Very convenient and close. I've stayed in plenty of hotels and this was by far the best for many reasons. I will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Prady90
W Greenwich, Rhode Island
May 15, 2014

Best Hotel

Best Place to stay with access to beach and the most friendly staff. Valet parking available but its paid parking.Three restaurants available on site. Casino is an added bonus. Different restaurants available close by. Spa is 2min walk from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ml9196
Phila, PA
May 6, 2014

Long weekend at La Concha

La Concha was fabulous! The pools and beaches were clean, easily accessible, and scenic. I was pleasantly surprised by the fitness center and bars/ restaurants. The staff at La Concha were also top notch... couldn't ask for nicer folks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nogster
Minnesota
May 5, 2014

San Juan rejuvenation!

From the moment we walked in the door we knew we made the right choice. We have stayed at the Courtyard Isla Verde in the past. Unfortunately, they are undergoing well needed renovation. We had know idea the property had become so run down. We checked in and checked out the same day and moved over to the La Concha. The front desk manager was very understanding of our unfortunate check-in at the Courtyard. He made sure we had a beautiful ocean view room and made some excellent recommendations for great restaurants in the area. The rooms are extremely contemporary and hip. We especially loved the shower with rain shower head. The bed was extremely comfortable with the usual Marriott Pacific Coast linens. The pillows could have been a little fresher and fluffier. That would be my only complaint. The entire property was extremely hip and contemporary. I highly recommend this property to someone looking for style and vibe!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
V Dot Nessa
Hoboken, New Jersey
Apr 29, 2014

Cousin's Birthday Weekend Getaway

On the positive side, the hotel, pools, and beach are beautiful! On the negative side, the restaurant food and drink prices were expensive and the staff needed better customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't want to spend $13 for a vodka with Sprite, there is a liquor store two blocks away from the hotel.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr.Kats
Puerto Rico
Apr 21, 2014

Luxury and comfort

From the moment you walk in, everything is perfect. The staff is very accomodating and courteous. Everything in the hotel is next to excellent, the halls, the rooms, the pools and bars. I stayed on a Jr. suite which had a small kitchen, a refrigerator, a waiting area and a small lunch table.The location makes it easier to walk to all the cool places in Condado, specially the beach. The only problem is that is to expensive and, if you plan on spending most of the time outside the hotel then it is definitely not worth paying so much money. Is a beautiful hotel but very overpriced. I feels that it lacks a certain something for it to be so expensive. I enjoyed my stay but is still to overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food at the hotel is kind of bland. There are many dinning places nearby and are not as expensive. There are many restaurants to pick from and with great taste.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
springtravel
Providence, RI
Mar 27, 2014

spring break

La Concha is a beautiful hotel, but we experienced difficulties with our room. To begin the bathroom was all glass in a room for 4 friends. But thankfully housekeeping put up a cloth to give us some privacy. Housekeeping otherwise was terrible. Everyday except the last we had to call thrice to get the room cleaned, which is unacceptable. The location is ideal, restaurants, bars all close by. And all the sight seeing was 10 minutes away. The bad housekeeping was just very inconvenient and tainted an otherwise good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

La Piazza was a lot of fun, great club, good music, well dressed crowd.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Out for Family Fun
New Jersey
Mar 25, 2014

Family vacation

We had confirmed reservations for 2 suites connecting or "close by" rooms for us and our children. upon check in, we were told they did not have the type of room as per our reservation and that the kids room was not only not connecting but not on the same floor! we then asked for a manager, who was very nice and proceeded to " upgrade " our kids room to a view of the beach, give us the size beds previously requested and said ,even though the rooms were not connecting they would be close by. However when we finally got to our rooms, the kid's room couldn't have been further away on the floor! Moreover, he view was of decayed buildings -we called the front desk, a new manager was on duty and told us that they 'downgrades Us".ok Not happy with this at all BUT the hotel itself was beautiful, and was well appointed . the beach is beautiful but as you walk on the beach you quickly notice the rundown, vacant buildings surrounding La Concha- not a pretty site The food was very average- the drinks very expensive. Departure day- as our flight was late in the afternoon, I called the evening before to request a late check out. I was told to call the day of checkout. The next morning, as requested, I called to ask, they told me ' we no longer have any rooms for late check out ". HUH?? the best they told us we could "have" is an extra 30 minutes in the room> if we stayed beyond that time, we would be charged. I requested they reconsider giving us some extra time on check out day considering what we had been through upon check in, and the person on the phone had an answer for everything.. ugh THEN FINAL thing, one and half hour PRIOR to check out , we returned to the room to pack and depart only to find out we were LOCKED out of our rooms!! Called the front desk again, and was told "we do this automatically upon check out ", HUH?? we did not check out yet and it was prior to check out time BOTTOM LINE< they were nasty and did not honor the reservations, did not seem to have any concerns about treating customers in this manner, DO NOT STAY HERE - plenty of other beautiful accommodating resorts in PR

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Feifei
Chicago
Mar 25, 2014

great location

The hotel has great location and great views. Staff are very friendly. The only thing is that the elevators were slow and I often needed to wait long time to get on one that was not completely packed. Although my room was only on the 3rd floor, elevator was the only means to get down to the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Desmonique
New York New York
Mar 22, 2014

La concha

I loved it. It was refreshing and gorgeous. Pple were very polite and accommodated me to a bigger suite room free of charge wen I complained about wanting two beds

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search