$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 22, 2014

La Concha Renaissance Resort

4 stars
1077 Ashford Avenue, PO Box 6545, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
871 reviews
Amazing time

Staff was pleasant and extremely helpful when we needed a car rental and all the nearby places were... See full review

  • latindancer
  • Jul 7, 2014
Great Location, All You Need Right There

I broke my leg in a recent accident so my mobility was severely compromised. In spite of it all, my... See full review

  • Viajero Bill
  • Jun 15, 2014
An awe-inspiring architectural achievement in Puerto Rico's Tropical Modernism movement, the La Concha Renaissance Resort Hotel offers an incredible place to stay in San Juan.  With instant access to the Condado beach, this is the perfect place to put your feet up and enjoy spectacular ocean views. Kids are entertained with the spacious game room, and guests can take a dip in one of the three outdoor pools, including the Sereno Infinity Pool. Eat fresh in reflective pool surroundings at the luxurious Perla seafood restaurant, where you'll find a pretty extensive wine list. Work it off with one of the complimentary fitness classes, and then get ready to try your luck at the casino. Those on business can stay chilled on the Solera Upper & Pool Deck meeting space.
Key facts
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • On-site casino
  • Fitness center with complimentary fitness classes
  • 3 outdoor pools
  • Whirlpool available in certain suites
  • 30,000-square-feet of meeting space and 19 meeting rooms
  • Smoke-free resort
  • LCD televisions in rooms
  • Lobby Lounge
  • Concierge desk
  • Limousine service
  • Evening turndown service
  • Exclusive Ocean Lounge for Gold and Platinum Rewards members
  • 5 restaurants: Perla, Voga Italian Grill, Solera, Aroma and Komakai Sushi Bar
Neighborhood
Golden, sandy beaches are just steps away from the hotel, and its location plays host to many dining and shopping spots. Visit historic Old San Juan l district to soak up the culture, marvel at the Las Croabas Lagoon with its bioluminescence bay, take a trip out to the Bacardi Rum Distillery, or unwind at the Zen Spa.
Hints and tips
Both couples and those without children will appreciate the designated adults-only pool for some comfort and quiet.
Keep your walking and dancing shoes handy whenever you leave the room, since it's easy to get carried away by the extensive San Juan nightlife.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4548 -66.0658
Area served
San Juan, Hato Rey Business District, Carolina, Bayamon, Caguas, Guaynabo Metro Office Park, Buchanan Office Park.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU)- Take 26 w to SJ, take exit 27 (De Diego Ave.), heading north until Ashford Ave. Make a left (w) on Ashford Ave, drive estimate .8 miles. Property will be on your right-hand side.
Area description
In 1958, La Concha Resort opened to rave reviews in the local social and business scene, a shining moment in Tropical Modernism movement's heyday... in the Puerto Rico pushiest district, the Condado.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Concha Renaissance Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

La Concha Renaissance Resort Rooms

Oceanfront Room
Queen OR king, ocean or pool view 37' flat screen TV, Internet, Ipod/MP3 player connection, CD player, color TV, mini-bar, air conditioning, alarm clock, bottled water, coffee maker, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, luxurious bedding, safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.5 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.5 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.5 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.7 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.7 mi

Dining

Aroma
Serving Deli food, also open for breakfast.
Perla
Is a luxury seafood restaurant serving refined contemporary American cuisine with gracious professional hospitality. The wine cellar contains more than 4,000 bottles with over 1,000 labels. We have an extensive wines-by-the- glass program with 30 wines offered, all climate controlled in enigmatic wine preservation displays.
Komakai Sushi Bar
Komakai, translating to "small and detailed", is our newest dining selection, featuring a 13 seat sushi bar located right on our lobby. Open nightly, it features sushi, sashimi, several signature and traditional rolls, and a few hot items as well. No waiting for a seat required.
Voga Italian Grill
Voga, Italian Grill offers comfort Italian-American dishes made with homemade ingredients in a modern ambience. All our dishes represent recipes that have spanned many family generations. Savor a sumptuous array of fresh pastas confectioned every day by Chef Luis Castillo while you celebrate life overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open seven days a week from 6:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. - Reservations needed.
Solera
Solera has restaurant-style seating and also more casual lounge areas for drinks and mingling in a tropical setting.
Lobby Lounge
Serving sandwiches

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (871)

Ratings and reviews for La Concha Renaissance Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
871 out of 871
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TateC
Atlanta, GA
Mar 14, 2014

Nice Hotel!

Clean Hotel with a great location. Right on the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach lover 37
Boston, MA
Feb 25, 2014

Great all-around resort

La Concha has a good vibe and a friendly staff. I stayed four nights, enjoying the beach amenities. The room was large and well furnished. Great bathroom with a large walk-in shower. One issue came up - the door wouldn't latch after a screw fell out - they sent someone from maintenance to repair it immediately. It's a big place that seemed well suited to either families or anyone looking for a quick getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ummo Argentinian steak house was excellent for a somewhat pricey meal.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David WorldTraveler
Baltimore, MD
Feb 17, 2014

Beautiful resort

Had a terrific time at LaConcha! The location in Condado can't be beat and the pools and the beach location are both terrific.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
roquerjr
NYC
Feb 13, 2014

Excellent hotel

Fantastic hotel, stylish bar and pool areas, nice staff. The location is also perfectly suited to trying out many of the area restaurants, and less than $20 to cab to the airport or Old San Juan for a night out. One thing -- the pullout sofas in the living rooms are twin bed size, not double beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Guessguyrsd
Middletown CT
Jan 30, 2014

Simply the best

This Hotel has it all. Amazing location! A walk out your door to the most beautiful beach and pools. The staff was so friendly. I will be sure to tell many and will plan a return trip soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Voga right in the hotel was fantastic. Many others close by for local flavor.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gerry F
San Juan. Puerto Rico
Jan 23, 2014

Puerto Rico 2014

La Concha is a great place to stay. It was inviting without being over bearing. The lobby bar was always busy and the staff was accommodating. Found the beach a little on the small side but not overcrowded. Overall very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

With a bunch of liquor stores in walking distance it was nice to have drinks and snacks in the room.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RBHK
Long Island, NY
Jan 22, 2014

Perfect place

Perfect hotel and location for a relaxing, sun-filled vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Local, inexpensive and simple meals at Mikes Pizza, right down the street from the hotel.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sara9232012
Boston, MA
Jan 17, 2014

Near Old San Juan

We stayed here 2 nights. It was only 5-10 minutes from Old San Juan (driving...not walking). The grounds were really nice. Lots of great outdoor lounge space and pools. It backs right up to the beach. Although some of the other rundown "resorts" next door gave it a slightly unsavory touch. I was a bit disappointed in the food. I've had some really great food at other Renaissance hotels and the three meals we had here were average, average, and below average. Great drinks, though. We booked a suite and it was honestly more space than we needed. It was basically two separate rooms (a living room/kitchen and a bedroom)...I think we would have enjoyed it more if it had been one large open space. One night they had a really loud mariachi type band/party right in the courtyard outside our room...that was pretty strange. Overall, we had a nice stay. I think I would try something else if I were to go back...for the sake of variety.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retired FL Couple
Fernandina Beach, FL
Jan 14, 2014

Turned Away

Upon arrival, we were told that they did not have a room for us even though we had a confirmed and prepaid reservation. They said that we would be put up in a "sister" hotel;. That hotel was quite inferior to the La Concha and the room we were given was their most basic room. We returned to the La Concha the next day/ and by 3 PM we were given an upgraded room. The rest of the week was fine. A nice hotel, but we were disappointed about being relocated the first night. We felt it took a day away from our vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The pools and beach were wonderful. We always were able to find lounge chairs and enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Faith sp
New York New York
Jan 14, 2014

The best vacation

Everything was amazing. The area is located close to everything that you want to see, the beach is axing and speaks for itself, it's a very safe and absolutely beautiful. The people both staff and strangers are kind and try to make you feel as welcome as possible. I would come back here a millions time it was the best vacation ever

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel food is pretty pricey, but there are more than plenty of restaurants within a few blocks, if you want to save some money and eat authentic food take the walk it is worth it

Back to menu Return to top