$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2014 Check-out: May 12, 2014

La Concha Renaissance Resort

4 stars
1077 Ashford Avenue, PO Box 6545, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
565 reviews
great location

The hotel has great location and great views. Staff are very friendly. The only thing is that the... See full review

  • Feifei
  • Mar 25, 2014
La concha

I loved it. It was refreshing and gorgeous. Pple were very polite and accommodated me to a bigger... See full review

  • Desmonique
  • Mar 22, 2014
A chic, relaxing experience on the San Juan lagoon
La Concha, a Renaissance Resort is nestled in idyllic surroundings on the San Juan lagoon in Puerto Rico. A sophisticated open-air lobby with white marble and leather sofas welcomes guests on arrival. Enjoy delicious fresh-caught seafood in La Perla restaurant, then lay back and relax on sunny beaches or by palm-shaded waters. Near Old San Juan's El Moro fort and Tapia Theatre, guests of La Concha, A Renaissance Resort also have excellent entertainment options. Be sure to also check out Casino del Mar and Suite Tower Ocean Lounge, where engaging staff give a top quality service.
Reasons to stay
  • Relaxing surroundings on the San Juan Lagoon
  • Perla seashell-sculpted restaurant surrounded by water
  • Exemplary concierge hospitality 
La Concha, a Renaissance Resort rooms

La Concha, a Renaissance Resort visitors choose from 483 ocean and city-view Spanish lifestyle rooms. Plush, elegant furnishings with white linen and walk-in spa showers revive guests. Rooms also have 37-inch flat-panel TVs with international channels and movie, ergonomically-designed workspaces and complimentary Wi-Fi.

Things to do nearby
  • Puerto Rico Museum of Contemporary Art (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Plaza del Condado (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Condado Bridge Beach (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Parque del Indio (0.87 mi/1.4 km)
  • Santurce's Central Park (1.86 mi/3.0 km)
  • San Juan Natatorium (2.05 mi/3.3 km)
  • Old San Juan (3.36 mi/5.4 km) 

La Concha Renaissance Resort Rooms

Oceanfront Room
Queen OR king, ocean or pool view 37' flat screen TV, Internet, Ipod/MP3 player connection, CD player, color TV, mini-bar, air conditioning, alarm clock, bottled water, coffee maker, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, luxurious bedding, safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Concha Renaissance Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4548 -66.0658
Area served
San Juan, Hato Rey Business District, Carolina, Bayamon, Caguas, Guaynabo Metro Office Park, Buchanan Office Park.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU)- Take 26 w to SJ, take exit 27 (De Diego Ave.), heading north until Ashford Ave. Make a left (w) on Ashford Ave, drive estimate .8 miles. Property will be on your right-hand side.
Area description
In 1958, La Concha Resort opened to rave reviews in the local social and business scene, a shining moment in Tropical Modernism movement's heyday... in the Puerto Rico pushiest district, the Condado.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.5 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.5 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.5 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.7 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.7 mi

Dining

Aroma
Serving Deli food, also open for breakfast.
Perla
Is a luxury seafood restaurant serving refined contemporary American cuisine with gracious professional hospitality. The wine cellar contains more than 4,000 bottles with over 1,000 labels. We have an extensive wines-by-the- glass program with 30 wines offered, all climate controlled in enigmatic wine preservation displays.
Komakai Sushi Bar
Komakai, translating to "small and detailed", is our newest dining selection, featuring a 13 seat sushi bar located right on our lobby. Open nightly, it features sushi, sashimi, several signature and traditional rolls, and a few hot items as well. No waiting for a seat required.
Voga Italian Grill
Voga, Italian Grill offers comfort Italian-American dishes made with homemade ingredients in a modern ambience. All our dishes represent recipes that have spanned many family generations. Savor a sumptuous array of fresh pastas confectioned every day by Chef Luis Castillo while you celebrate life overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open seven days a week from 6:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. - Reservations needed.
Solera
Solera has restaurant-style seating and also more casual lounge areas for drinks and mingling in a tropical setting.
Lobby Lounge
Serving sandwiches

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (565)

Ratings and reviews for La Concha Renaissance Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
565 out of 565
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
Sara9232012
Boston, MA
Jan 17, 2014

Near Old San Juan

We stayed here 2 nights. It was only 5-10 minutes from Old San Juan (driving...not walking). The grounds were really nice. Lots of great outdoor lounge space and pools. It backs right up to the beach. Although some of the other rundown "resorts" next door gave it a slightly unsavory touch. I was a bit disappointed in the food. I've had some really great food at other Renaissance hotels and the three meals we had here were average, average, and below average. Great drinks, though. We booked a suite and it was honestly more space than we needed. It was basically two separate rooms (a living room/kitchen and a bedroom)...I think we would have enjoyed it more if it had been one large open space. One night they had a really loud mariachi type band/party right in the courtyard outside our room...that was pretty strange. Overall, we had a nice stay. I think I would try something else if I were to go back...for the sake of variety.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
Retired FL Couple
Fernandina Beach, FL
Jan 14, 2014

Turned Away

Upon arrival, we were told that they did not have a room for us even though we had a confirmed and prepaid reservation. They said that we would be put up in a "sister" hotel;. That hotel was quite inferior to the La Concha and the room we were given was their most basic room. We returned to the La Concha the next day/ and by 3 PM we were given an upgraded room. The rest of the week was fine. A nice hotel, but we were disappointed about being relocated the first night. We felt it took a day away from our vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The pools and beach were wonderful. We always were able to find lounge chairs and enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
Faith sp
New York New York
Jan 14, 2014

The best vacation

Everything was amazing. The area is located close to everything that you want to see, the beach is axing and speaks for itself, it's a very safe and absolutely beautiful. The people both staff and strangers are kind and try to make you feel as welcome as possible. I would come back here a millions time it was the best vacation ever

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel food is pretty pricey, but there are more than plenty of restaurants within a few blocks, if you want to save some money and eat authentic food take the walk it is worth it

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
Philly runner
Philadelphia
Jan 6, 2014

Loved our stay at this hotel

We were in La Concha for 4 nights and it was worth the buck. The location is ideal for spending time at the beach/going to old San Juan or to go for water sports at Isla Verde. Close to the airport and cabs are always available. Friendly staff, good breakfast buffet and clean pools facing the ocean. Better beach than other hotels nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
PR Trip
Charlotte, NC
Jan 4, 2014

Friends and Family Getaway

Awesome location - Great value. Hotel staff very inconsistent with charges applied for services. Found 3 - 4 errors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
liza s
NYC
Dec 27, 2013

great getaway

lovely property and friendly service. choices of pools, beach, nice casino

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

1
Disappointed Jessica
Kansas City, KS
Dec 20, 2013

Beware of leaking showers!

My husband and I were looking forward to our honeymoon in Puerto Rico for a year. I searched for months, looking for the perfect hotel for us to stay at. This hotel had such high reviews, I decided quickly, THIS was THE place to stay!! We couldn't have been more wrong. When we arrived, I was told our room wasn't ready, but we would receive a call when it was. I never received a phone call. After we arrived back from touring the rainforest, I decided to ask if our room was ready. (It was after 4:00 pm, so I hoped it was!) It was ready, and were placed on the 4th floor. Even though I was told a few months prior that they would AT LEAST get us a higher floor, if not an upgrade for our honeymoon. Neither occurred. When we took our showers that evening, the shower leaked so bad, it FLOODED the bathroom floor. We called maintanence, they came up and looked at it, and informed us they wouldn't be able to fix it, and here, have some towels to mop up your floor every time you want to take a shower. This was NOT acceptable to either one of us. It took FOUR sepearte phone calls to the front desk before they FINALLY moved us to another room. I honestly believe they were hoping we would just deal with the leak. The room we moved to was a higher floor, but it was placed right next to the stairwell, and made a weird clicking noise all night long. It was absoutely awful. The only positive this hotel had was the valet guys were exceptional. Overall though, we were NOT IMPRESSED.Extremely devestating, knowing how long we have been looking forward to this! PICK ANOTHER HOTEL, STAY ELSEWHERE!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a delicious restaurant right across the street from the hotel. Their breakfast is cheap (much cheaper than the hotel), and extremely good. At night, try their chicken fried rice or their Mufongos. AMAZING!

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
Melissa P.
Long Island, New York
Dec 18, 2013

Love La Concha

Upon arrival, we were greated by the most friendly person ever, Felix! He was so outgoing and so accommodating. Check in was easy. Our room wasn't ready because we arrived early so they let us put our bags in storage and gave us a pager so we could go use the bar and pool until our room was ready (which was about a half hour later). The room was set up like a one bedroom apartment. It was quite nice. We had a kitchenette with plates, silverware, glasses, cooking utensils and pots to cook with. There is a full refrigerator and freezer. We bought snacks and drinks at the local Walgreens. My only complaint was there was one king size bed for 4 people. There is a sofabed in the living room but not big enough for 2 people. We had an air mattress brought to the room as well. As a whole, the entire staff is amazing. Everyone is welcoming and eager to please you. The pools were beautiful and we didn't have any difficulty finding chairs even with the hotel booked to capacity. The hotel is a quick walk to the beach which was a nice alternative to the pool. My friend used the fitness center which she said was the best she's ever been at out of all places we've ever stayed. We ate at La Perla one evening and the food was definitely 5 star quality as well as the service from our waitress, Elaine. The inside is breathtaking as well. On Fridays and Saturdays, there is a DJ at the bar inside the hotel which was a lot of fun. We met a lot of great people too.The location of the hotel is very convenient as well. We were about 15 minutes from the airport and very close to Old San Juan too. The Bacardi Rum factory was a little further but still within a cab ride about $30. We ate at the local restaurants which offered a nice alternative if you didn't want to eat on the premises. We also did happy hour at other hotels and local bars. It was safe to walk around. Overall, we were very pleased to stay at La Concha. We would definitely stay there again. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
Petite4
New York, NY
Dec 17, 2013

Glorious views in gracious setting

I spent a thoroughly relaxing nine days at La Concha in early December, for the second year - returning because the first experience was so terrific - and again I was delighted with the gracious and friendly staff; the comfort and amenities of the hotel; and the setting that boasts both lush interior gardens and unspoiled ocean views. The in-house restaurants also offer delightful food, in venues that range from totally casual (Solara) to elegant (La Perla) with options in-between (the Italian Voga, and the lobby sushi bar). My only issue with this hotel is the apparent under-staffing of the housekeeping department on Sundays: when I checked-in on a Sunday, I had to wait an hour-and-a-half after the stated 4pm check-in time until my room was actually available and the following Sunday (I stayed for more than a week) my room still hadn't been cleaned by 4pm. Once I called and asked for maid service, it was cleaned fairly quickly, but the problem doesn't appear to be a one-time only occurrence and management should try to address it in a more effective way. Also, be forewarned that if you have a room in the hotel building rather than the Tower Suites building, the weekend party noise from the atrium can be high-volume. The rooms are, however, equipped with additional interior glass doors that cut the noise down significantly, so I - who am not a night owl - don't have trouble sleeping even during peak partying hours! The location on the beach and the glorious "serenity" pool overlooking the ocean, really can't be beat. The rooms feature a wall of sliding glass doors that open completely to let you commune with the bright blue or moonlit skies (although you can still catch the roar of the surf with the doors closed, if you're not a nature buff). Request a room with a full ocean view for the full "paradise" experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

If you plan to dine in-hotel at either La Perla or Voga on Friday or Saturday nights, make reservations in advance!

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
Cat world traveler
Tampa
Dec 10, 2013

Fantastic Hotel!!!

Amazing amenities, staff and rooms. This hotel exceeded my expectations in every way. Met a celebrity who was also staying there. Highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top