$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

La Concha Renaissance Resort

4 stars
1077 Ashford Avenue, PO Box 6545, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
872 reviews
Take me back!

My boyfriend and I spent last week at La Concha resort and we LOVED it. Before our trip, I emailed... See full review

  • Lady Lil
  • Jul 13, 2014
Amazing time

Staff was pleasant and extremely helpful when we needed a car rental and all the nearby places were... See full review

  • latindancer
  • Jul 7, 2014
An awe-inspiring architectural achievement in Puerto Rico's Tropical Modernism movement, the La Concha Renaissance Resort Hotel offers an incredible place to stay in San Juan.  With instant access to the Condado beach, this is the perfect place to put your feet up and enjoy spectacular ocean views. Kids are entertained with the spacious game room, and guests can take a dip in one of the three outdoor pools, including the Sereno Infinity Pool. Eat fresh in reflective pool surroundings at the luxurious Perla seafood restaurant, where you'll find a pretty extensive wine list. Work it off with one of the complimentary fitness classes, and then get ready to try your luck at the casino. Those on business can stay chilled on the Solera Upper & Pool Deck meeting space.
Key facts
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • On-site casino
  • Fitness center with complimentary fitness classes
  • 3 outdoor pools
  • Whirlpool available in certain suites
  • 30,000-square-feet of meeting space and 19 meeting rooms
  • Smoke-free resort
  • LCD televisions in rooms
  • Lobby Lounge
  • Concierge desk
  • Limousine service
  • Evening turndown service
  • Exclusive Ocean Lounge for Gold and Platinum Rewards members
  • 5 restaurants: Perla, Voga Italian Grill, Solera, Aroma and Komakai Sushi Bar
Neighborhood
Golden, sandy beaches are just steps away from the hotel, and its location plays host to many dining and shopping spots. Visit historic Old San Juan l district to soak up the culture, marvel at the Las Croabas Lagoon with its bioluminescence bay, take a trip out to the Bacardi Rum Distillery, or unwind at the Zen Spa.
Hints and tips
Both couples and those without children will appreciate the designated adults-only pool for some comfort and quiet.
Keep your walking and dancing shoes handy whenever you leave the room, since it's easy to get carried away by the extensive San Juan nightlife.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

La Concha Renaissance Resort Rooms

Oceanfront Room
Queen OR king, ocean or pool view 37' flat screen TV, Internet, Ipod/MP3 player connection, CD player, color TV, mini-bar, air conditioning, alarm clock, bottled water, coffee maker, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, luxurious bedding, safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Concha Renaissance Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4548 -66.0658
Area served
San Juan, Hato Rey Business District, Carolina, Bayamon, Caguas, Guaynabo Metro Office Park, Buchanan Office Park.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU)- Take 26 w to SJ, take exit 27 (De Diego Ave.), heading north until Ashford Ave. Make a left (w) on Ashford Ave, drive estimate .8 miles. Property will be on your right-hand side.
Area description
In 1958, La Concha Resort opened to rave reviews in the local social and business scene, a shining moment in Tropical Modernism movement's heyday... in the Puerto Rico pushiest district, the Condado.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.5 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.5 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.5 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.7 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.7 mi

Dining

Aroma
Serving Deli food, also open for breakfast.
Perla
Is a luxury seafood restaurant serving refined contemporary American cuisine with gracious professional hospitality. The wine cellar contains more than 4,000 bottles with over 1,000 labels. We have an extensive wines-by-the- glass program with 30 wines offered, all climate controlled in enigmatic wine preservation displays.
Komakai Sushi Bar
Komakai, translating to "small and detailed", is our newest dining selection, featuring a 13 seat sushi bar located right on our lobby. Open nightly, it features sushi, sashimi, several signature and traditional rolls, and a few hot items as well. No waiting for a seat required.
Voga Italian Grill
Voga, Italian Grill offers comfort Italian-American dishes made with homemade ingredients in a modern ambience. All our dishes represent recipes that have spanned many family generations. Savor a sumptuous array of fresh pastas confectioned every day by Chef Luis Castillo while you celebrate life overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open seven days a week from 6:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. - Reservations needed.
Solera
Solera has restaurant-style seating and also more casual lounge areas for drinks and mingling in a tropical setting.
Lobby Lounge
Serving sandwiches

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (872)

Ratings and reviews for La Concha Renaissance Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
872 out of 872
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lady Lil
New York
Jul 13, 2014

Take me back!

My boyfriend and I spent last week at La Concha resort and we LOVED it. Before our trip, I emailed the resort about airport transportation (none, but the cab ride was easy and reasonable) as well as an early check-in (which they happily accommodated).We were greeted by Felix, who is both fabulously friendly and famous online. The hotel grounds are beautiful - 4 pools, many restaurants, fantastic beach, so many places to lounge and relax. Our favorite pool was the suite tower pool, which was an adult only infinity pool overlooking the beach and ocean. We ate at three of the restaurants - Solera for an easy lunch, La Voga Italian restaurant for a light dinner and Perla for our last dinner. All of the food was good but Perla is a really special experience, from the atmosphere to the meal. Because the food and drinks at the hotel could be pricey, we also ate at the many restaurants near the hotel (shout out to Ben and Jerry's for many great breakfasts!#. I wasn't really sure what to expect from the beach outside of the hotel, because I had read that Isla Verde had the best beaches. However, it turned out that this beach was perfect for us because my boyfriend loves the waves #although there was one day that they were a bit too much for me!#. The rooms were super comfortable - clean, great beds, wonderful view of the beach and sunsets from the balcony. The only downside to the room was the temperature - the AC only went down to 68 degrees and we were a bit warm at times. Loved the location of the hotel. Although we walked to Old San Juan the first night, it took an hour and we quickly discovered the bus that left from right outside of the hotel. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. Always someone around to offer you a towel or drink. They arranged a tour to the Bio Bay, which was such a special and magical trip. They also recommended a car rental company so that we could drive to El Yunque rainforest #also a cool trip, but super crowded). I was so excited to finally try paddle boarding, which was a short walk from the hotel. I could not speak more highly of my overall experience and can't wait to go back to Puerto Rico and to La Concha!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip the cabs and take a bus to Old San Juan!

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
latindancer
New York, NY
Jul 7, 2014

Amazing time

Staff was pleasant and extremely helpful when we needed a car rental and all the nearby places were sold out, the food at Perla and Voge was great. The beach was gorgeous and the location was wonderful. Couldn't have asked for anything more. Would definitely stay again if I was in PR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Father
Houston, TX, USA
Jul 6, 2014

Family Getaway

Close by excellent restaurants and good shops. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bestdaughterauntytrip
NYC
Jul 4, 2014

mini vacay

On arrival we were pleasantly greeted by Felix who was very welcoming. The receptionist were also welcoming, we lucked out because our room was ready early. On arrival to our tower suite we immediately got hit by a strong mildew smell, which worsened with the air on, despite the smell the room was clean; the suite provided us everything that was promised and the refrigerator was actually full size with a freezer, we even had a full functioning stove and microwave. Other than the smell the room could use a paint job and the bathroom handle bars need to be refinished a bit rusty on some areas. I couldn't bare the smell so I checked with the front desk staff an they promised someone would come up to check out the smell but we left to get food after no one showed in 30 min after all we were hungry; upon return the smell was still present. The next day I stopped by the front desk and reported the problem again and maintenance arrived to our room right away. They changed the air conditioner vent which was filthy but that didn't help the mildew smell. At this point we were settled in, Instead of requesting a room change, we decided to tough it out for the next 2 days. The hotel overall was nice very modern, chic. There were many areas to relax by the lobby, pool areas, beach, never once did it feel crowded; we especially loved the adult only pool area overlooking the beach. the hotel is in a prime location, in the middle of everything so easy walk to restaurants, shops and the beach is right behind the hotel which was a plus! I would stay at La Concha again but first I'll need to do a room SNIFF!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

take the city bus to Old San Juan it only cost 0.75 and its a 15 minute ride vs $15 taxi. While in Old San Juan take the trolley its free and site see on your own. There's plenty to see!

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leonsia
Staten Island, NY
Jul 1, 2014

NICE MINI VACATION

Check in was a bit disappointing got there a little early and rooms were not ready and even at check in time they weren't ready. After that all was great the staff is very nice and helpful. This hotel is in a great place to eat andwalk around in the evenings. Overall it was a great time and the kids also had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thai tardballs
chicago, il
Jun 30, 2014

fun time

very nice accommodations and friendly staff. will definitely go back there next visit to PR

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

old san Juan has nice bars and restaurants

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chesty Puller
Houston, TX
Jun 25, 2014

Very energetic and lively hotel

La Concha definitely caters to the younger crowd (20-40) that are still into the nightlife scene. While staying there I ran into many tourists and locals from other hotels that come to La Concha on a Friday or Saturday night to spend time at their lively bar and to listen to the live music. Beautiful hotel and great staff (especially Joshua at the Concierge desk!). Ask for a list of tours contracted through the hotel and you can check off the highlights of PR utilizing those tours. All in all, great hotel, comfortable and clean rooms, and I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ropa Vieja is a must visit (1 block past Chili's on the right). Oceano Seafood restaurant was a let down.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Viajero Bill
West Hartford, Connecticut
Jun 15, 2014

Great Location, All You Need Right There

I broke my leg in a recent accident so my mobility was severely compromised. In spite of it all, my wife and I were able to get around from the room to the elevator, to the pool, restaurants, bar, everything you would expect at a resort with little difficulty. Everything you need is in the hotel or across the street. You can't beat it for convenience anywhere. What was particularly gratifying was the size of the refrigerator and freezer in our tower suite. We were able to walk a block and a half to a Walgreens for snacks, drinks, staples and liquor (there are also two more liquor stores across the street). I was told there's a Walmart less than a 10 minute walk away if you want to buy meat, fish and produce. We ate a two great restaurants at the Hotel, La Perla (the Pearl) where we enjoyed excellent seafood, and Voga (Italian restaurant) where we enjoyed typical Puerto Rican fare buffet style. You can also get an assortment of appetizers, salads, wraps, desserts at Solera at the bar in the lobby. We arrived at the hotel before our room was ready and sat down there for some sliders, papas fritas (crispyfrench fries) and a couple Coconut Mohitos. In the morning for breakfast you can stop by Solera for pastry, yogurt, coffee and juice. It's located at the main bar. They call it Cafe Aroma at the Solera. For really home style Puerto Rican food try Cafe del Angel across the street from the lobby. We had breakfast of two eggs, a large portion of crispy bacon, toast and strong cafe y leche (coffee and milk) from the mountains of Puerto Rico. For dinner we had to try mofongo (meat or seafood or vegetables wrapped in fried and mashed plantains), a Puerto Rican favorite with a side of arroz y habichuelas (rice and beans). Delicious. The food here is really good, local culinary and inexpensive. If you want your typical american fare and want to save some money, Baskin Robbins/Dunkin Donuts, Subway and Wendy's is less than a minutes walk away. We stayed in the tower suites with an ocean view. The room was spacious and accommodating with a lounge with couches, chairs, cafe seating, coffee table and flat screen TV and kitchenette with dishes, deep sink, utensils, microwave, stove and fridge/freezer. The bathroom had a step in shower, private toilet and large sink/counter/ mirror between them with storage area and high powered hair blower. Mucho closet space with hangers, a large king sized bed with extra pillows, end tables a flat screen leading to a heavy sliding door and an ample balcony overlooking the beach area and vast blue and green ocean north, west and east. I'm not one to end a review with a negative, and frankly there is little to complain about in La Concha. Just so you are aware; 1) controlling the temperature in your room can be tricky if you are in bed with the A/C on. It tends to blow on the passenger nearest the curtains and window. 2) the sweet drinks are often weak (only one shot). You can get two shots if you pay $3 more for a drink for an extra 4 ounces. That's it. Hope this helps. You'll have a great time at La Concha all things considered. Vien viaje!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ClaudiaC
Connecticut
Jun 11, 2014

Relaxing stress free getaway

Location is central to restaurants, clubs, outdoor music and it is right on the beach. Food at the hotel is delicious. Courteous, helpful staff always available to make your stay enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cat1714
Tennessee
Jun 4, 2014

Fantastic Hotel!

Beautiful hotel with happy helpful staff who bend over backwards for you. Great location & beautiful beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Orozco's Restaurant!!! Great food for great prices.

Back to menu Return to top