$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 9, 2014 Check-out: Sep 10, 2014

La Concha Renaissance Resort

4 stars
1077 Ashford Avenue, PO Box 6545, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
593 reviews
Recommended

The hotel location is ideal, within walking distance to shops and restaurants. The hotel has a... See full review

  • luisorl
  • Aug 17, 2014
Perfect for girls trip

We had 6 girls in 2 suites. The suites were perfect - roomy with kitchenettes and balconies. Get... See full review

  • River North Explorer Sue
  • Jul 22, 2014
An awe-inspiring architectural achievement in Puerto Rico's Tropical Modernism movement, the La Concha Renaissance Resort Hotel offers an incredible place to stay in San Juan.  With instant access to the Condado beach, this is the perfect place to put your feet up and enjoy spectacular ocean views. Kids are entertained with the spacious game room, and guests can take a dip in one of the three outdoor pools, including the Sereno Infinity Pool. Eat fresh in reflective pool surroundings at the luxurious Perla seafood restaurant, where you'll find a pretty extensive wine list. Work it off with one of the complimentary fitness classes, and then get ready to try your luck at the casino. Those on business can stay chilled on the Solera Upper & Pool Deck meeting space.
Key facts
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • On-site casino
  • Fitness center with complimentary fitness classes
  • 3 outdoor pools
  • Whirlpool available in certain suites
  • 30,000-square-feet of meeting space and 19 meeting rooms
  • Smoke-free resort
  • LCD televisions in rooms
  • Lobby Lounge
  • Concierge desk
  • Limousine service
  • Evening turndown service
  • Exclusive Ocean Lounge for Gold and Platinum Rewards members
  • 5 restaurants: Perla, Voga Italian Grill, Solera, Aroma and Komakai Sushi Bar
Neighborhood
Golden, sandy beaches are just steps away from the hotel, and its location plays host to many dining and shopping spots. Visit historic Old San Juan l district to soak up the culture, marvel at the Las Croabas Lagoon with its bioluminescence bay, take a trip out to the Bacardi Rum Distillery, or unwind at the Zen Spa.
Hints and tips
Both couples and those without children will appreciate the designated adults-only pool for some comfort and quiet.
Keep your walking and dancing shoes handy whenever you leave the room, since it's easy to get carried away by the extensive San Juan nightlife.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4548 -66.0658
Area served
San Juan, Hato Rey Business District, Carolina, Bayamon, Caguas, Guaynabo Metro Office Park, Buchanan Office Park.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU)- Take 26 w to SJ, take exit 27 (De Diego Ave.), heading north until Ashford Ave. Make a left (w) on Ashford Ave, drive estimate .8 miles. Property will be on your right-hand side.
Area description
In 1958, La Concha Resort opened to rave reviews in the local social and business scene, a shining moment in Tropical Modernism movement's heyday... in the Puerto Rico pushiest district, the Condado.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Concha Renaissance Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

La Concha Renaissance Resort Rooms

Oceanfront Room
Queen OR king, ocean or pool view 37' flat screen TV, Internet, Ipod/MP3 player connection, CD player, color TV, mini-bar, air conditioning, alarm clock, bottled water, coffee maker, individual climate control, iron and ironing board, luxurious bedding, safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.5 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.5 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.5 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.7 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.7 mi

Dining

Aroma
Serving Deli food, also open for breakfast.
Perla
Is a luxury seafood restaurant serving refined contemporary American cuisine with gracious professional hospitality. The wine cellar contains more than 4,000 bottles with over 1,000 labels. We have an extensive wines-by-the- glass program with 30 wines offered, all climate controlled in enigmatic wine preservation displays.
Komakai Sushi Bar
Komakai, translating to "small and detailed", is our newest dining selection, featuring a 13 seat sushi bar located right on our lobby. Open nightly, it features sushi, sashimi, several signature and traditional rolls, and a few hot items as well. No waiting for a seat required.
Voga Italian Grill
Voga, Italian Grill offers comfort Italian-American dishes made with homemade ingredients in a modern ambience. All our dishes represent recipes that have spanned many family generations. Savor a sumptuous array of fresh pastas confectioned every day by Chef Luis Castillo while you celebrate life overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Open seven days a week from 6:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. - Reservations needed.
Solera
Solera has restaurant-style seating and also more casual lounge areas for drinks and mingling in a tropical setting.
Lobby Lounge
Serving sandwiches

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (593)

Ratings and reviews for La Concha Renaissance Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
593 out of 593
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
luisorl
Caguas, PR
Aug 17, 2014

Recommended

The hotel location is ideal, within walking distance to shops and restaurants. The hotel has a great access to the beach, which is well kept. Most important was the excellent service. Our room (606) was clean and housekeeping service did a great job everyday. The view from our room was beautiful and relaxing. The pool service was also very attentive and the food was good. But on top of all was the Front Desk staff, with special thanks to Tatiana, whose great initiative and wonderful service, made our stay worth it. Being a local, it is great to have La Concha back and at this level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

On the last Sunday of every month, there is a free outdoor Jazz Concert held right next to the hotel.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Daddy Dog
New Jersey
Aug 11, 2014

Family Fun

The hotel and the staff was great. All shops and stores were in a walkable distance from the hotel. We did experience an issue when one of two elevators was down from one day. Cause a big back up for all the people in the tower side. There was no warning noe information posted for the guest. None of the staff knew what was happening. Overall, it was a fun time for us at this location. We will be be one day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R and Jay
New York
Aug 10, 2014

Wonderful Experience

This hotel was amazing. Great location, super chic, rooms are awesome. Did not know I was receiving a suite and was super impressed with the room. Pools were beautiful, open 24 hrs and even an adult only pool. Hotel lead right out to the beach. Food was delicious in the hotel and lots of surrounding restaurants with great food also. Food can be pricey when eating out for all your meals and drinks. But fast food venues within walking distance. Staff was great and very helpful. Will definitely visit this hotel again. Puerto Rico was a very enjoyable vacation. Very impressed. Highly recommended!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many restaurants surrounding this hotel which makes it a great location!! Plus fast food venues are close by as well as stores like Walgreens and CVS

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ryton
Chicago
Aug 7, 2014

Relaxing getaway

Upon arrival, around 2:45 pm on a Thursday, the lobby was bustling with people checking in. We were informed that our room was not ready but would be shortly. After touring the hotel, getting some drinks at the bar, eating a full meal at the hotel restaurant, 3 attempts at obtaining our room, we finally got a room (after it was upgraded) 3 hours later. Granted it was busy and somewhat inconvenient, but you're in PUERTO RICO... there are worse things that could have happened. After that, the stay was excellent, the staff was super helpful, the restaurants were delicious, strong drinks. Overall, I would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Orozco's is just down the street and they had amazing food. It looks like a hole in the wall, but those places generally have the best food.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suburban Newbie
Huntley, Illinois
Aug 2, 2014

4 Night Vacation

The resort itself is beautiful, but it is way too expensive to wine and dine there. Venture out onto Ashford Avenue to find more affordable dining choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Resort is extremely expensive. Venture out onto Ashford avenue for more affordable choices.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
STR8CERTIFIED
Corona, NY
Aug 1, 2014

Very Designable

It was very well designed and modernized. This is definitely a minimum of 4 star hotel. I enjoyed the activities and features it offer. I'm definitely indeed going to come back in the future. Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rx Gator
Fort Myers, FL
Jul 29, 2014

Nice place on the beach

Modern resort right on the beach..great service and friendly staff. Walking distance from stores and restaurants. Amazing views from the ocean view rooms. The pillows and bed could have been more comfortable but overall an excellent place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Do the rainforest excursion offered by the hotel.

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
River North Explorer Sue
Glen Ellyn, IL
Jul 22, 2014

Perfect for girls trip

We had 6 girls in 2 suites. The suites were perfect - roomy with kitchenettes and balconies. Get one close to the elevator if you can - these have HUGE balconies. We also loved the hallway of mirrored closet doors - girls can never have too many mirrors! Right by the elevator to the suite tower is the entrance to an adult only pool - so relaxing. There were so many other pools that we tried a different one every day. Vans come right to the front of the hotel for excursions. Or there is a rental car place right across the street if you want to venture out on your own. We really enjoyed ourselves in Puerto Rico - and ending the day back at the Renaissance!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinese restaurant across the street is open late night - great for midnight snack after returning from a Bio Bay excursion!

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lady Lil
New York
Jul 13, 2014

Take me back!

My boyfriend and I spent last week at La Concha resort and we LOVED it. Before our trip, I emailed the resort about airport transportation (none, but the cab ride was easy and reasonable) as well as an early check-in (which they happily accommodated).We were greeted by Felix, who is both fabulously friendly and famous online. The hotel grounds are beautiful - 4 pools, many restaurants, fantastic beach, so many places to lounge and relax. Our favorite pool was the suite tower pool, which was an adult only infinity pool overlooking the beach and ocean. We ate at three of the restaurants - Solera for an easy lunch, La Voga Italian restaurant for a light dinner and Perla for our last dinner. All of the food was good but Perla is a really special experience, from the atmosphere to the meal. Because the food and drinks at the hotel could be pricey, we also ate at the many restaurants near the hotel (shout out to Ben and Jerry's for many great breakfasts!#. I wasn't really sure what to expect from the beach outside of the hotel, because I had read that Isla Verde had the best beaches. However, it turned out that this beach was perfect for us because my boyfriend loves the waves #although there was one day that they were a bit too much for me!#. The rooms were super comfortable - clean, great beds, wonderful view of the beach and sunsets from the balcony. The only downside to the room was the temperature - the AC only went down to 68 degrees and we were a bit warm at times. Loved the location of the hotel. Although we walked to Old San Juan the first night, it took an hour and we quickly discovered the bus that left from right outside of the hotel. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. Always someone around to offer you a towel or drink. They arranged a tour to the Bio Bay, which was such a special and magical trip. They also recommended a car rental company so that we could drive to El Yunque rainforest #also a cool trip, but super crowded). I was so excited to finally try paddle boarding, which was a short walk from the hotel. I could not speak more highly of my overall experience and can't wait to go back to Puerto Rico and to La Concha!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip the cabs and take a bus to Old San Juan!

Review of La Concha Renaissance Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
latindancer
New York, NY
Jul 7, 2014

Amazing time

Staff was pleasant and extremely helpful when we needed a car rental and all the nearby places were sold out, the food at Perla and Voge was great. The beach was gorgeous and the location was wonderful. Couldn't have asked for anything more. Would definitely stay again if I was in PR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search