$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 30, 2014

InterContinental San Juan

4 stars
5961 ISLA VERDE AVENUE, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
539 reviews
RELAXATION BEFORE CRUISE

Everything about our stay at the InterContinenal San Juan was great!!! The staff was attentive and... See full review

  • Always Traveling Jones
  • Sep 14, 2014
Fantastic for a romantic Getaway

Awesome!! This Hotel was absolutely Beautiful! The staff is amazing they will treat you like... See full review

  • Nunuu
  • Sep 1, 2014
A backdrop of wild, tropical surroundings and a two-mile stretch of beach is offered by the InterContinental San Juan resort in Puerto Rico.  High-end touches to its island setting make guests feel constantly spoiled, from its canopied poolside lounge chairs to its chocolate granite and indigo decor. Troops of palm trees keep you company while you stroll by water fountains to take a dip in the outdoor pool. Get your heart racing at the gym or drop by for a relaxing massage at the spa. Five restaurants satisfy culinary wishes, and you can grab a drink at one of the welcoming hotel bars. Finish the night accompanying Lady Luck around the casino.
Key facts
  • 412 guestrooms
  • Spa
  • Full-service casino
  • Meeting facilities
  • Concierge
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • 4 on-site restaurants: Ruth's Chris Steak House, Trattoria Italiana, Momoyama, Ciao Mediterranean
  • 2 bars: I Bar and the Ottanta Bar
  • On-site gym
  • Whirlpool and sauna
Neighborhood
Picking up an authentic panama hat from Ole, a custom hat fitter, is just one of the ways to embrace the local culture in historic Old San Juan. Crammed with eateries, shops, boutiques and museums, this is a vibrant community. Caficultura dishes up an excellent breakfast spiked with rum (at your request), making an excellent start to a morning spent at the Eastern side of the area. Take a trip out and zip-line through the El Yunque Rainforest, or go at a more relaxing pace on its lower levels. You'll spot some incredible wildlife, including the charming Puerto Rican parrot.
Hints and tips
Club level rooms are excellent for guests desiring a child-free vacation.

Make sure to try a signature plate of grilled chicken and beans during your visit.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4429 -66.0197
Area served
Isla verde, San Juan, Carolina, Old San Juan, Rio Piedras, Hato Rey, Guaynabo.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU), estimated distance from property 1.5 miles.
Area description
The resort hotel is located on two miles of white sand beach, making it a preferred San Juan luxury hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental San Juan also booked these hotels.

InterContinental San Juan Rooms

Ocean View Room
1 King or 2 double beds. Independent temperature control and air conditioning Hair dyer, iron and ironing board, alarm clock , radio AM/FM Bill / Message viewing, safe deposit box in room, in room movies Oversized desk, direct in-dial lines available, two telephones with speaker and data port In room Wi-Fi Internet access
Laguna Room
1 King or 2 double beds. Independent temperature control and air conditioning Hair dyer, iron and ironing board, alarm clock , radio AM/FM Bill / Message viewing, safe deposit box in room, in room movies Oversized desk, direct in-dial lines available, two telephones with speaker and data port In room Wi-Fi Internet access

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.2 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.8 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.9 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.5 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.6 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.6 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.2 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.8 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.9 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.5 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.6 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.6 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.7 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.7 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.7 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.7 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.7 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.7 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.9 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.6 mi

Dining

La Bodequita
caf and wine bar offering light gourmet breakfast, lunch and evening delights. Open daily from 5:30 a.m. "10 p.m.
I-Bar
the resorts main lobby bar serving the best martinis and cocktails in a contemporary setting. Open daily from 11 a.m. "2 a.m. Also serving local cuisine specialties
Aqua Bar & Grill
light lunch fare and your favorite tropical cocktails. Open 11 a.m."6:30 p.m weekdays and 11 a.m."8:30 p.m weekends.
Ciao Mediterranean Caf
Authentic Mediterranean cuisine offered in an oceanfront setting. Open daily 11 a.m."11:30 p.m.
Momoyama
Traditional Japanese cuisine with Teppanyaki tables and Sushi Bar. Open Monday through Friday from 12 p.m. "3 p.m. and 5 p.m. "10:30 p.m. and Saturday and Sunday from 5 p.m. "10:30 p.m.
Ruths Chris Steak House
open daily 6 p.m.- 10:30 p.m.
Trattoria Italiana
the resorts signature Italian restaurant. Open daily for breakfast from 6:30a.m. - 12 p.m. Dinner from 6 p.m."11 p.m.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Over 18,000 sq. ft of flexible meeting and banquet space. Wireless Internet available throughout our conference center with several choices of bandwidth available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (539)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental San Juan

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
539 out of 539
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pr14
Business
Ny
Jan 18, 2014

The Perfect Vacation

Only the best to say! The staff, the grounds, the rooms everything was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gota a deal
Business
cranford nj
Feb 5, 2014

breather from the cold

Excellent, classy place. Staff couldn't do enough for you and excellent attitude. Knowledge of the area was helpful and restaurants. Loved the pool, very relaxing atmosphere and the beach was wonderful. The ONLY thing might be the pillows (too soft for me) and maybe a coffee station in the morning for a quick cup. Second stay in PR. This was well worth the extra cost and will definitely recommend to friends as opposed to other places I've stayed. Allowed us to check out little later to accommodate my husband's disability which was great. Not cheap for drinks, food, etc. but still worth the upscale atmosphere. All in all 4-5 stars!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

local food places very reasonable if you're on a budget

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
toby44
Business
MA
Feb 12, 2014

coming back

Great time, will return next year. Expensive but remember you're on vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mary the mimi
Business
Stamford, CT
Mar 29, 2014

Spring getaway

This is our 2nd year staying at the interContinental San Juan and it was perfect Love the location, the Hotel and the staff are wonderful. Going back next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

make reservations a day in advance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
snowbirds from md
Business
ocean city, md
Apr 4, 2014

snow getaway

wonderful, we were treated soooo well. the club level was great. they said a continental breakfast but it was so much more from which to choose. Nestor, the concierge was wonderful as was the staff at the breakfast room on the club level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

across street is nice market and they had fresh pizza and sandwiches. Do not go to the ponderosa steak house... it was dirty and they insisted you reuse your plates ... ugh

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K'D and JD
Business
Ellington, CT
Apr 12, 2014

Another awesome stay at our favorite hotel

The service doesn't get much better! Our mattress wasn't up to the usual standards we have had in our previous 6-7 stays. We were asked when we would be out for dinner and a new mattress was delivered (rather than making us pack up and move to another room.). There was a small leak in our room from the air conditioner in the room above ours and fixed in minutes! Everyone is so accommodating and nice here. Tried Nestor's Italian restaurant recommendation - not a drop of food left on our plates and 50 percent off wine on Thursdays!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Best pool and beach area in Isla Verde!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
traci76
Business
Elkridge, MD, USA
Apr 14, 2014

Fantastic hotel and location! !

Perfect location - close to airport and restaurants. Pool and hot tub is really nice. Casino is a fun place. Loved it. We will definitely be back. Great hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Sep 8, 2007

My review of InterContinental San Juan Resort & Casino

Hotel services and staff were excellent. Location and beach were superb

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Do breakfast at Pui Bella a short 10 minute walk for breakfast-Lunch at La Playa Hotel a 7 min walk on the beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr & Mrs Smith
Business
New York
May 14, 2009

Wonderful Honeymoon

We decided on Puerto Rico for our honeymoon and we are so happy we did! This was one of our best trips! We paid a great price and stayed at a beautiful hotel. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We arrived before check in time and were given a hospiality room to freshen up and change so that we could enjoy the pool or beach. We visited Old San Juan and took the city bus there for .75 which we suggest because you get to see the small towns. It was just wonderful, romantic and not to mention we hit jackpot the day we were returning back home. Look foward to visiting again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Bebo's BBQ for real Puerto Rican food a cab will cost $10.00 or if you take the bus it's .75 but it is so worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 26, 2010

Awesome, me & my husband love it.

It was awesome, I can way to go back. I love Puerto Rico and the Intercontinental was incredible. Love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top