$133 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

InterContinental San Juan

4 stars
5961 ISLA VERDE AVENUE, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
531 reviews
Really good the best

We stayed there for 3 nights. The seining pool the beach and restraurent the lobby the entrance are... See full review

  • Abhinav Johri
  • Aug 10, 2014
perfect beach

best experience ever and want to be there in the future again See full review

  • caichendi
  • Aug 5, 2014
A backdrop of wild, tropical surroundings and a two-mile stretch of beach is offered by the InterContinental San Juan resort in Puerto Rico.  High-end touches to its island setting make guests feel constantly spoiled, from its canopied poolside lounge chairs to its chocolate granite and indigo decor. Troops of palm trees keep you company while you stroll by water fountains to take a dip in the outdoor pool. Get your heart racing at the gym or drop by for a relaxing massage at the spa. Five restaurants satisfy culinary wishes, and you can grab a drink at one of the welcoming hotel bars. Finish the night accompanying Lady Luck around the casino.
Key facts
  • 412 guestrooms
  • Spa
  • Full-service casino
  • Meeting facilities
  • Concierge
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • 4 on-site restaurants: Ruth's Chris Steak House, Trattoria Italiana, Momoyama, Ciao Mediterranean
  • 2 bars: I Bar and the Ottanta Bar
  • On-site gym
  • Whirlpool and sauna
Neighborhood
Picking up an authentic panama hat from Ole, a custom hat fitter, is just one of the ways to embrace the local culture in historic Old San Juan. Crammed with eateries, shops, boutiques and museums, this is a vibrant community. Caficultura dishes up an excellent breakfast spiked with rum (at your request), making an excellent start to a morning spent at the Eastern side of the area. Take a trip out and zip-line through the El Yunque Rainforest, or go at a more relaxing pace on its lower levels. You'll spot some incredible wildlife, including the charming Puerto Rican parrot.
Hints and tips
Club level rooms are excellent for guests desiring a child-free vacation.

Make sure to try a signature plate of grilled chicken and beans during your visit.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4429 -66.0197
Area served
Isla verde, San Juan, Carolina, Old San Juan, Rio Piedras, Hato Rey, Guaynabo.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU), estimated distance from property 1.5 miles.
Area description
The resort hotel is located on two miles of white sand beach, making it a preferred San Juan luxury hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental San Juan also booked these hotels.

InterContinental San Juan Rooms

Ocean View Room
1 King or 2 double beds. Independent temperature control and air conditioning Hair dyer, iron and ironing board, alarm clock , radio AM/FM Bill / Message viewing, safe deposit box in room, in room movies Oversized desk, direct in-dial lines available, two telephones with speaker and data port In room Wi-Fi Internet access
Laguna Room
1 King or 2 double beds. Independent temperature control and air conditioning Hair dyer, iron and ironing board, alarm clock , radio AM/FM Bill / Message viewing, safe deposit box in room, in room movies Oversized desk, direct in-dial lines available, two telephones with speaker and data port In room Wi-Fi Internet access

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.2 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.8 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.9 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.5 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.6 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.6 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.2 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.8 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.9 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.5 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.6 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.6 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.7 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.7 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.7 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.7 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.7 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.7 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.9 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Over 18,000 sq. ft of flexible meeting and banquet space. Wireless Internet available throughout our conference center with several choices of bandwidth available.

Dining

La Bodequita
caf and wine bar offering light gourmet breakfast, lunch and evening delights. Open daily from 5:30 a.m. "10 p.m.
I-Bar
the resorts main lobby bar serving the best martinis and cocktails in a contemporary setting. Open daily from 11 a.m. "2 a.m. Also serving local cuisine specialties
Aqua Bar & Grill
light lunch fare and your favorite tropical cocktails. Open 11 a.m."6:30 p.m weekdays and 11 a.m."8:30 p.m weekends.
Ciao Mediterranean Caf
Authentic Mediterranean cuisine offered in an oceanfront setting. Open daily 11 a.m."11:30 p.m.
Momoyama
Traditional Japanese cuisine with Teppanyaki tables and Sushi Bar. Open Monday through Friday from 12 p.m. "3 p.m. and 5 p.m. "10:30 p.m. and Saturday and Sunday from 5 p.m. "10:30 p.m.
Ruths Chris Steak House
open daily 6 p.m.- 10:30 p.m.
Trattoria Italiana
the resorts signature Italian restaurant. Open daily for breakfast from 6:30a.m. - 12 p.m. Dinner from 6 p.m."11 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (531)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental San Juan

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
531 out of 531
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chusi
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Jul 28, 2013

My stay in The Intercontinental in San Juan

Overall a good place to stay. Good ocean view room, but try to avoid the ones just in front of the elevators, people waiting there, or coming out tend to be very noisy. Good beach, but not so good pool area, too small when is crowded. My only complaint would be the excesive input in the gratuities. They "force" you on that, and constantly remind you about it. BUT, it happens everywhere in town, is really annoying. There are good restaurants in the area, but very, very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Trattoria

Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Drlee
Everett, WA
Jul 27, 2013

A Wonderful Holiday

We really enjoyed our stay at the Intercontinental San Juan. The room was clean and comfortable, the beach and pool area beautiful and not crowded during the 4 days we were there. There were several meal options in the hotel and within walking distance. The entire staff was curteous, helpful, and always went out of their way to be of assistance and to do all they could to make our stay a pleasant and memorable one. We truly felt pampered and special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Salt Water Adventurer
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Jul 16, 2013

Summer in San Juan

The InterContinental, San Juan is a truly great place to stay. At this writing, they are renovating much of the property. While the construction can be an inconvenience, the end result will make a super place even better. The staff, from bellman to concierge are fantastic. Nestor was tireless in finding us just the right activities for our trip. The InterContinental is always busy, so prepare for wait times if you are trying to check in or out at the popular times. Overall, I recommend this hotel for any trip to San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The beach is the most perfect one in the area.

Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Isislove
New Jersey
Jul 13, 2013

Isla Verde Blast

The Intercontinental is a beautiful hotel. As you enter the property you notice all of the tropical plants in an array of colors. They have beautiful flags of the different locations right in front of the hotel, it gives the hotel a very international feel. Make sure to take a picture in front of the waterfall which is also right in front of the hotel doors. It's beautiful. The doormen are a great source of information, they were friendly and they gave Great suggestions about what to do and where to go. Check in was easy, just remember that you can't check in until check in time, that's not really an issue because the bellman will hold you bags while you go exploring. You are allowed to use the hotel amenities, the pool, the beach. There are plenty of food options in the hotel and they were decently priced. We ate at the Ibar one night and the food was delicious they have this chicken salad that was yummy. If you go out of the hotel there is Platos, Metropol, don Jose, mi casita,there's a bakery that opens at 5am. Goodness!! There is security on the property, but the security guards are friendly and they don't standout but they are there and they can advise what areas in San Juan to really pay attention to your surroundings. We were safe on and off the property. Go to Old San Juan, it a $21cab ride or a 75cents bus ride. We took a cab there and the bus back. It was Awesome! The tour desk at the hotel was Great! We booked the rainforest tour and our tour guide Renee was delightful! He was very personable and very knowledgable about the rainforest and the history of San Juan. The staff at the hotel were very polite and everyone said "it's my pleasure",can I tell you that made every experience that much better. The pool was nice, the water was warm. The beach was pretty. The sand was clean, there wasn't an issue getting a beach chair, you have to rent the umbrella for $10. The beach closes at 6, but you can still access it because its a public beach. If you like to workout the gym is 24hrs, we went at 6am and there wasn't anyone there. When we left the gym an hour and a half later only three people had come, there is enough equipment there to get a good work out in, and the view of the beach while getting it in. Priceless! Enjoy your time! We had a Blast! Good,good food,good food! Lol, lots of activities to do, Great company! It's everything a vacation should be. One last thing-there is a little construction going on at the hotel, they are working from 11-5,but even with that going on everything else overshadows the construction noise. We will definitely return to San Juan and also use The Intercontinental.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don Jose has good food and they are cheap. However if you want a nicer meal with a little bit of a night life atmosphere go to Platos. The music is nice and the waitstaff is attentive. They also have a coconut mojitos, that is yummy delicious. Mi Casita which is in the shopping mall across from the hotel has a better variety of breakfast options than Don Jose, but they are a little slow when it comes to service at Mi Casita.

Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Knowzit
Somewhere, South
Jul 1, 2013

Great Resort, But Horrible Hidden Fees!

This place was so lovely that we may indeed return in spite of the shock of being charged an extra nearly $50 a day for "resort fees." These charges just showed up when we received our bill, with no explanation or prior warning/information about what they were for. When we asked, the front desk person just sheepishly (and with some obvious embarrassment) explained that the fees were for towels at the pool, the fitness center, chairs on the beach....In essence, for all the things that a resort SHOULD have anyway. Frankly, we would have paid $50 more a night for our time here, but it was pretty tacky and underhanded to just slap these fees on a final bill. Quite Used Car Salesman of the Intercontinental, I would say! I would recommend this resort, but be prepared for mild (and on the verge of illegal) sticker shock when you get your bill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Engaged in Puerto Rico
Chandler, Arizona
Jun 18, 2013

Beautiful hotel, Watch the hidden fees!

When you first arrive at this beautiful hotel be prepared to be smacked in the face with fees! There is a one hundred dollar per night incidental fee which No one informed us of prior. (This is in addition to the hotel fee of about forty dollars per day that is do at check out) I even called before booking because we were aware of the Separate daily hotel fee. However, no one mention this to us. So because we stayed six nights, that was six hundred dollars the moment we arrived (without prior notice). All of the restaurants there are over priced. Look elsewhere to get your money worth, and I truly believe they water down the drinks. At home, one glass of wine puts me right to sleep. If you drink at the hotel be prepared to spend lots of money and not even a light buzz (coming from an extremely light drinker)! With all that being said, it is a beautiful hotel in a prime location! You can't beat the views of the ocean, breathtaking! The rooms have a slight smell, but you can tell that it's clean. I think it's from the hotel being older and the humidity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

In Old San Juan the restaurant Reices is a MUST TRY! I had the shrimp mofongo!!!!! Still in love with that dish!

Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SalemRicco
Boston , MA
Jun 16, 2013

Needs a facelift. Tired old girl and over rated.

We come here every year for our anniversary. This was by far the most disappointing. Hotel no longer is as clean and modern as it was. Staff is average to below in attitude and helpfulness. Some exceptions were the beach staff and couple of dealers in the casino. Pool and beach location are about all this place has to offer any more and in this part of the island, you can find the same at a better price. Jacuzzi was luke warm all week, showers in rooms were slow to drain and also luke warm. Room service was over priced even for room service, and one night we couldn't reach anyone for 30 minutes(Wednesday). I think we start looking at the ESJ or Conrad and others for similar to better pricing and same type of beach and pool service. We are not travel snobs or overly picky fuddy duddies, just we can do better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the local supermarket behind Chili's and buy all the food and drinks you can. Its cheaper and close by. Don't need a car if you want to hang out and do the beach and drink thing. Old San Juan and other sites will require a cab ride.

Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeniiiiita
New Jersey
Jun 9, 2013

Great for a nice getaway

Hotel is clean but was a little thrown off when I saw a baby roach in the bathroom.. Other than that the pool is amaZing and so is the beach. Drinks are a bit pricey but overall had a pretty good tome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
love to travel 29
glendale ny
May 27, 2013

great time

We had a great visit staff was excellent very attentive rooms were very clean the grounds were very well taken care of all around good experience and good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Spanish restaurant Mi Casita across from the hotel in the shopping center great food.

Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Canadian Beach Bum
New York
May 14, 2013

Comfortable Hotel in Great Location

Overall my experience was great. The hotel really has everything you could ask for from a beach vacation hotel. I went for the weekend with my sister and had a great time. The staff was always very professional and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The pool is stunning. Note: In May it rains in PR, but the sun came out every day and my tan is amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search