$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 4, 2015

InterContinental San Juan

4 stars
5961 ISLA VERDE AVENUE, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
561 reviews
Wonderful experience.

My third stay at the InterContinental San Juan, and I have never been disappointed. Great location,... See full review

  • cmaxw
  • Jan 21, 2015
great hotel

Amazing location, great amenities, loved staying there! Staff is extremely nice and helpful. See full review

  • natalia c.
  • Jan 9, 2015
A backdrop of wild, tropical surroundings and a two-mile stretch of beach is offered by the InterContinental San Juan resort in Puerto Rico.  High-end touches to its island setting make guests feel constantly spoiled, from its canopied poolside lounge chairs to its chocolate granite and indigo decor. Troops of palm trees keep you company while you stroll by water fountains to take a dip in the outdoor pool. Get your heart racing at the gym or drop by for a relaxing massage at the spa. Five restaurants satisfy culinary wishes, and you can grab a drink at one of the welcoming hotel bars. Finish the night accompanying Lady Luck around the casino.
Key facts
  • 412 guestrooms
  • Spa
  • Full-service casino
  • Meeting facilities
  • Concierge
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • 4 on-site restaurants: Ruth's Chris Steak House, Trattoria Italiana, Momoyama, Ciao Mediterranean
  • 2 bars: I Bar and the Ottanta Bar
  • On-site gym
  • Whirlpool and sauna
Neighborhood
Picking up an authentic panama hat from Ole, a custom hat fitter, is just one of the ways to embrace the local culture in historic Old San Juan. Crammed with eateries, shops, boutiques and museums, this is a vibrant community. Caficultura dishes up an excellent breakfast spiked with rum (at your request), making an excellent start to a morning spent at the Eastern side of the area. Take a trip out and zip-line through the El Yunque Rainforest, or go at a more relaxing pace on its lower levels. You'll spot some incredible wildlife, including the charming Puerto Rican parrot.
Hints and tips
Club level rooms are excellent for guests desiring a child-free vacation.

Make sure to try a signature plate of grilled chicken and beans during your visit.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental San Juan also booked these hotels.

InterContinental San Juan Rooms

Ocean View Room
1 King or 2 double beds. Independent temperature control and air conditioning Hair dyer, iron and ironing board, alarm clock , radio AM/FM Bill / Message viewing, safe deposit box in room, in room movies Oversized desk, direct in-dial lines available, two telephones with speaker and data port In room Wi-Fi Internet access
Laguna Room
1 King or 2 double beds. Independent temperature control and air conditioning Hair dyer, iron and ironing board, alarm clock , radio AM/FM Bill / Message viewing, safe deposit box in room, in room movies Oversized desk, direct in-dial lines available, two telephones with speaker and data port In room Wi-Fi Internet access

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 2.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.2 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.8 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.9 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.5 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.6 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.6 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.7 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.2 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.8 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.9 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.5 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.6 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.6 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.7 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.7 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.7 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.7 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.7 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.7 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.9 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.6 mi

Dining

La Bodequita
caf and wine bar offering light gourmet breakfast, lunch and evening delights. Open daily from 5:30 a.m. "10 p.m.
I-Bar
the resorts main lobby bar serving the best martinis and cocktails in a contemporary setting. Open daily from 11 a.m. "2 a.m. Also serving local cuisine specialties
Aqua Bar & Grill
light lunch fare and your favorite tropical cocktails. Open 11 a.m."6:30 p.m weekdays and 11 a.m."8:30 p.m weekends.
Ciao Mediterranean Caf
Authentic Mediterranean cuisine offered in an oceanfront setting. Open daily 11 a.m."11:30 p.m.
Momoyama
Traditional Japanese cuisine with Teppanyaki tables and Sushi Bar. Open Monday through Friday from 12 p.m. "3 p.m. and 5 p.m. "10:30 p.m. and Saturday and Sunday from 5 p.m. "10:30 p.m.
Ruths Chris Steak House
open daily 6 p.m.- 10:30 p.m.
Trattoria Italiana
the resorts signature Italian restaurant. Open daily for breakfast from 6:30a.m. - 12 p.m. Dinner from 6 p.m."11 p.m.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Over 18,000 sq. ft of flexible meeting and banquet space. Wireless Internet available throughout our conference center with several choices of bandwidth available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (561)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental San Juan

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
561 out of 561
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cmaxw
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 18, 2014

Wonderful beach getaway

The staff at this hotel are the best! From housekeeping to the front desk to the beach staff to the food/beverage staff, it just doesn't get any better. The were very helpful in giving us tips (when, where, what) for attending the San Sebastian Festival. And the ocean view from the room was to die for!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to take advantage of the historical sites in Old San Juan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Terri P.
Business
Palm Harbor, FL
Jan 13, 2014

Not what I expected.

Boy, would I like to hire the photographer who took the pics at the Intercontinental. First they took me from an Ocean Front Room and "upgraded me" to the Club level. Which was a room on the bottom floor with absolutely no view. The room was full of mold, which I am extremely allergic to. Not the cleanest room at all and I couldn't put any clothes in the drawers as they stunk like mold. Finally they moved us to the original Ocean Front room that we originally booked. We also had the most miserable unfriendly waiter at breakfast buffet I've ever encountered. On the good side, Pedro the pool attendant was absolutely awesome. He made our day at the pool a memorable one. Unfortunately not enough to make me stay there again. We walked into the El San Juan Resort and decided immediately that it would be our next hotel stay they next time we go to Puerto Rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You can't leave until you have lunch or dinner at the Metropol Restaurant across the street. The Pollo Arroz the Can-Can, Mufungo and Rice And Beans are to die for.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Franchi
Business
New york city
Jan 11, 2014

Family getaway

Perfect for a family getaway as it is very family friendly compare to others hotel I have stood in San Juan. The room was average i would have liked them to upgrade the rooms but they were still comfortable. The staff was mostly nice and helpful. The pool area was nice although the water was a lil cold since the weather wasnt too hot. Overall satisfied with my stay i am pretty sure if it was 90 degree weather I wouldve loved it more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
raptor2xtreme
Business
Marshall, MN
Jan 6, 2014

Been here before, haven't been disappointed

Overall great place to stay and nice restaurants. Staff is very friendly and welcoming and always happy to assist.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The 3 restaurants at the hotel are great. if they are too spendy for you, there is a Subway, Pizza Hut, Burger King and 3 other local restaurants within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Partially frequent flyer
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Jan 6, 2014

Convenient and Quick

It was a convenient and quick trip which met our needs for a last minute reasonable and relaxing vacation. The staff and service were excellent. The facilities were good but the rooms can use some updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We made last minute reservations at Zest, a restaurant just a short walk from the hotel. It was by far one of the best meals we've ever had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MayaJoi
Business
Detroit, MI
Dec 22, 2013

Birthday getaway!

The hotel was really nice right off the beach and the pool area was beautiful even though I spent most of my time on the beach. Staff was great the only thing is upon check out I had an issue with the complimentary breakfast. Staff stated I did not have it so make sure it's included because it was 74 bucks for 2 ppl for the breakfast buffet. Overall stay was great and fun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Diana Roman
Business
san jose ca
Dec 14, 2013

super

It was an amazing hospitality the services was great I highly recomend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Madea82
Business
St petersburg, fl
Nov 21, 2013

Love the intercontintal

I loved the place over all. I have some concerns. I was not notified about the resort fee and all the taxes that were not covered in the price i paid through or bitz. I ended up spending 200 dollars more in taxes and fees that i did not expect to at all. I was upset with that and the staff didnt seem concerned about it at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
csw1
Business
New York
Nov 12, 2013

Good weekend Getaway!

I enjoyed my time in PR, the hotel is close to the airport and Old San Juan as well. They could improve on the food though, we opt'd to eat out a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tee n Bee
Business
S.I New York
Nov 10, 2013

Fantastic getaway!

The wife and I love this location! The hotels staff and amenities are great! we've been there several times and are planning our return! P.S also great for the whole family! Plenty to do!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little restaurant La Casitas. Traditional, excellent! You won't be sorry!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top