$209 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 3, 2015 Check-out: Mar 4, 2015

InterContinental San Juan

4 stars
View map of 5961 ISLA VERDE AVENUE, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
569 reviews
awesome trip for couples

Puerto Rico has the finest cuisine. Very comfortable and relaxing See full review

  • daniel c.
  • Feb 23, 2015
nice

this hotel was great would definitely recommend excellent for couples See full review

  • daniel c.
  • Feb 22, 2015
A backdrop of wild, tropical surroundings and a two-mile stretch of beach is offered by the InterContinental San Juan resort in Puerto Rico.  High-end touches to its island setting make guests feel constantly spoiled, from its canopied poolside lounge chairs to its chocolate granite and indigo decor. Troops of palm trees keep you company while you stroll by water fountains to take a dip in the outdoor pool. Get your heart racing at the gym or drop by for a relaxing massage at the spa. Five restaurants satisfy culinary wishes, and you can grab a drink at one of the welcoming hotel bars. Finish the night accompanying Lady Luck around the casino.
Key facts
  • 412 guestrooms
  • Spa
  • Full-service casino
  • Meeting facilities
  • Concierge
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • 4 on-site restaurants: Ruth's Chris Steak House, Trattoria Italiana, Momoyama, Ciao Mediterranean
  • 2 bars: I Bar and the Ottanta Bar
  • On-site gym
  • Whirlpool and sauna
Neighborhood
Picking up an authentic panama hat from Ole, a custom hat fitter, is just one of the ways to embrace the local culture in historic Old San Juan. Crammed with eateries, shops, boutiques and museums, this is a vibrant community. Caficultura dishes up an excellent breakfast spiked with rum (at your request), making an excellent start to a morning spent at the Eastern side of the area. Take a trip out and zip-line through the El Yunque Rainforest, or go at a more relaxing pace on its lower levels. You'll spot some incredible wildlife, including the charming Puerto Rican parrot.
Hints and tips
Club level rooms are excellent for guests desiring a child-free vacation.

Make sure to try a signature plate of grilled chicken and beans during your visit.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental San Juan also booked these hotels.

InterContinental San Juan Rooms

Ocean View Room
1 King or 2 double beds. Independent temperature control and air conditioning Hair dyer, iron and ironing board, alarm clock , radio AM/FM Bill / Message viewing, safe deposit box in room, in room movies Oversized desk, direct in-dial lines available, two telephones with speaker and data port In room Wi-Fi Internet access
Laguna Room
1 King or 2 double beds. Independent temperature control and air conditioning Hair dyer, iron and ironing board, alarm clock , radio AM/FM Bill / Message viewing, safe deposit box in room, in room movies Oversized desk, direct in-dial lines available, two telephones with speaker and data port In room Wi-Fi Internet access

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 2.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.2 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.8 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.9 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.5 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.6 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.6 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.7 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.2 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.8 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.9 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.5 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.6 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.6 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.7 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.7 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.7 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.7 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.7 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.7 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.9 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.6 mi

Dining

La Bodequita
caf and wine bar offering light gourmet breakfast, lunch and evening delights. Open daily from 5:30 a.m. "10 p.m.
I-Bar
the resorts main lobby bar serving the best martinis and cocktails in a contemporary setting. Open daily from 11 a.m. "2 a.m. Also serving local cuisine specialties
Aqua Bar & Grill
light lunch fare and your favorite tropical cocktails. Open 11 a.m."6:30 p.m weekdays and 11 a.m."8:30 p.m weekends.
Ciao Mediterranean Caf
Authentic Mediterranean cuisine offered in an oceanfront setting. Open daily 11 a.m."11:30 p.m.
Momoyama
Traditional Japanese cuisine with Teppanyaki tables and Sushi Bar. Open Monday through Friday from 12 p.m. "3 p.m. and 5 p.m. "10:30 p.m. and Saturday and Sunday from 5 p.m. "10:30 p.m.
Ruths Chris Steak House
open daily 6 p.m.- 10:30 p.m.
Trattoria Italiana
the resorts signature Italian restaurant. Open daily for breakfast from 6:30a.m. - 12 p.m. Dinner from 6 p.m."11 p.m.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Over 18,000 sq. ft of flexible meeting and banquet space. Wireless Internet available throughout our conference center with several choices of bandwidth available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (569)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental San Juan

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
569 out of 569
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brooklyn 35
Business
Brooklyn new York
May 9, 2014

mini vacation

Definitely had a good time drinks a little high but love the jucuzzi. pool and had a beautiful spa day......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Ruth steak house awesome

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vcer
Business
Willow Grove
May 7, 2014

Beautiful Resort, Tons of Hidden, Costly Fees!

There were at least 5-10 hidden fees that are not disclosed on the travel site or on the Resort Site. The only disclosed fee is the $136 resort fee which covers nothing! As soon as we get to the front desk, they asked to charge the $136 resort fee(which covered nothing but wifi, we barely had chairs on the beach) and a $500 HOLD FOR INCIDENTALS ! I've been to way better resorts with higher star ratings that don't hold anywhere near that much for incidentals. I told them the hold fee was outrageous and I was not going to allow it so they charged me a $200 resort fee ON MY FIRST NIGHT AND ANOTHER $149 RESORT FEE UPON CHECK OUT! I disputed both charges with my bank as their resort fee is disclosed to be $136 for 5 days . They charged us $10 for each bottle of water that THEY PUT IN OUR ROOM EACH DAY. WE NEVER ASKED FOR IT ! All the resort food and drinks were high priced, drinks were $20 each and food such as chicken fingers, wings etc was $25-$30 each! The beautiful blue canopy chairs that you see in all their site pictures cost $100 per day to sit in !!!!! When pool chairs and beach chairs run out, there is no where else to sit unless you're going to pay $100 per day ! The beach umbrellas for the resort are $10 per day per room ! The beach chairs were free if there were any left. The spa was $100 for a 25 minute massage !!! During the lobby shows mentioned to be included in the resort fee, there were no seats and nothing was free. You pay for everything, food, drinks, dancing, etc ! 3 different managers there all gave us different info on these costly hidden fees and each one of them claimed to be the only manager for the Resort, LOL! This trip was an early birthday gift for my mother who has never been to San Juan or even on a plane for that matter. Needless to say, she enjoyed herself and it costed me roughly $5000.00 (more than half of that was paid at that resort) ! I would never stay here again. If it's your 1st time in san juan, stay at the Marriott Stellaris or the San Juan Resort and Casino. They are both better than this Resort and MUCH MUCH MUCH MUCH LESS COSTLY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat on the strip off of the resort, the food is better and much less $$$

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Future Mrs O
Business
Queens, NY
Apr 16, 2014

Perfect Relaxing Vacation

I came here referred by some family that was here the previous year and loved it. The rooms were great, the staff was great. Everything you are looking for in a vacation. The only thing- they were doing construction by the pool area during my stay. Since this is something thats usually planned in advance maybe a heads up or a discount could have helped. Other than that beautiful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Mi Casita diner/restaurant across the street next to the mini supermarket. Delicious food GREAT price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
traci76
Business
Elkridge, MD, USA
Apr 14, 2014

Fantastic hotel and location! !

Perfect location - close to airport and restaurants. Pool and hot tub is really nice. Casino is a fun place. Loved it. We will definitely be back. Great hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lazydaisy
Business
Queens, New York
Apr 14, 2014

One year wedding anniversary

The lobby is beautiful! Room was nice as well, although lighting in shower was dim, it could have been brighter. Bathroom always had a cleaning supply smell, it wasn't bad but I really didn't care for it. Ocean view room was really nice! But I thought a balcony meant there would be two chairs so you could sit out there and enjoy the view. The balcony was very small. The hotel has quite a few places to eat, although the breakfast buffet was not good. You are better off eating sit down or room service. You won't believe it but it's cheaper then the buffet price. I also was not crazy about being charged $10 to rent an umbrella on the beach when I was charged almost $40 per day for what the Intercontinental calls a "resort fee". Which when I questioned the front desk they told me it's for the beach towels, security at night at the hotel, the FREE wi-fi, (which should be free right), the gym and a place they have for kids. Which my husband and I did not use the gym or the kids place. If the intercontinental wants to charge for stuff like that why not put it in the price of the room for the night. So if the room were $220 a night, which was roughly what we paid it was more like $260! But this is partly my fault, I should have not booked this hotel but I was told I may be able to have the intercontinental waive this fee if I didn't use these services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not eat buffet breakfast, it wasn't great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K'D and JD
Business
Ellington, CT
Apr 12, 2014

Another awesome stay at our favorite hotel

The service doesn't get much better! Our mattress wasn't up to the usual standards we have had in our previous 6-7 stays. We were asked when we would be out for dinner and a new mattress was delivered (rather than making us pack up and move to another room.). There was a small leak in our room from the air conditioner in the room above ours and fixed in minutes! Everyone is so accommodating and nice here. Tried Nestor's Italian restaurant recommendation - not a drop of food left on our plates and 50 percent off wine on Thursdays!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Best pool and beach area in Isla Verde!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rupert H
Business
Kansas City, KS
Apr 9, 2014

Good value for money

The hotel is very close to the heart the city in Puerto Rico. Has a good breakfast spread and awesome views of the ocean. Friendly staff and great room service made our stay very special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chongs
Business
New Jersey
Apr 5, 2014

Great location..

Best locations and good pool for an Affordable rate.. Enjoyed my stay..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stevg1226
Business
Long Island, New York
Apr 4, 2014

5 Day Get away!

The front desk and concierge staff were not very friendly but the rest of the staff really made up for the few unwelcoming ones. The rooms were very clean and nice. The restaurant and bars on site were a bit expensive but the food and drinks were very good. The stay was worth it for what we payed, but honestly bring lots of money and don't expect a 5 star hotel and you'll have a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cross the street and go to the local restaurants and convince store for food and adult beverages !!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
snowbirds from md
Business
ocean city, md
Apr 4, 2014

snow getaway

wonderful, we were treated soooo well. the club level was great. they said a continental breakfast but it was so much more from which to choose. Nestor, the concierge was wonderful as was the staff at the breakfast room on the club level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

across street is nice market and they had fresh pizza and sandwiches. Do not go to the ponderosa steak house... it was dirty and they insisted you reuse your plates ... ugh

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top