$155 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 24, 2015

InterContinental San Juan

4 stars
View map of 5961 ISLA VERDE AVENUE, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental San Juan

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
628 out of 628
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nickname 5512
Business
New Jersey
Jun 12, 2014

Overall good, a few minor glitches

Overall, this is a great hotel, even if it's a bit older. It has seen a number of recent renovations and the staff are the highlight of the stay. The only minor inconveniences were: take-down of a tree in the pool lounge (on weekday mornings), a slight odor from the bathroom (which the manager promised to have fixed by our next visit), and elevator upgrades that slowed elevator service (nearly finished when we left). We stayed in early May in an ocean view room on the 12th floor, and the view was wonderful. The room has a nice balcony for walking out and enjoying the sights, sounds, and smells of the Atlantic Ocean. The weather was fair - plenty of sun and just a couple of brief (15-minute) showers over 5 days on the island. The beach here is one of the best in the San Juan area. It's very walkable with other hotels/restaurants nearby (Zest was a fun change of pace). The hotel offers free chairs for guests on the beach, and umbrella rentals for a small fee. The resort has a somewhat small, but well-kept casino. It's out of the way and doesn't interfere if you don't like that kind of thing. It has 3 restaurants - Japanese, Italian, and steak house. The Italian restaurant provides the morning breakfast buffet if you order with your reservation. It also has 3 outdoor bars (including a swim-up bar) that serve food and drinks. The pool area is big, clean, and was never crowded. It has a spa (massage, facials, etc.), but we didn't use it. The street outside the hotel is very tourist-friendly, even at night. There are many shops and restaurants, even a gallery (small mall) 3 blocks to the east. Across the street is a small shopping plaza with a 24-hour store and a restaurant called Mi Casita that has good mofongo (a local dish). The staff were great, friendly, and always willing to offer their advice/opinion when asked. We rented a car and the valet service was fast and easy. Driving to Old San Juan was quick, and parking was fairly priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The 24-hour shop across the street a good selection and is less expensive than in the hotel. Mi Casita in the same shopping plaza has good local food at reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Meline
Business
Caguas, PR
Jun 9, 2014

Great birthday celebration getaway!

I surprised my husband with a stay in this hotel for his birthday celebration. Did a reservation at Ruth Chris restaurant for dinner. The staff were outstanding, making us feel welcome and remember every detail including writing Happy B'day in our dessert. Our experience was fantastic!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent restaurants in the hotel and many other hotels near by with great choices of steak, Italian and Asian food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LL Cool Jay
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jun 4, 2014

Beautiful beaches and scenery

The hotel and beaches are beautiful. Guests need to be aware that there are additional daily taxes that total up to $25 a day that are not included when booking. The staff is overall very friendly, especially the front door staff. Some of the wait staff seemed annoyed with having to split checks or answer questions and the restraunts and bar service is very slow. The beaches are wonderful and you couldn't ask for better! Would definitely go back to Puerto Rico!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brooklyn Kristen
Business
Brooklyn NY
Jun 2, 2014

Very nice hotel with a friendly staff!

My boyfriend and I just recently got back from a nice long weekend stay at the Intercontinetal Hotel. Very nice hotel located on the beach and just 7 minutes from the airport. The beach and the pool area are very clean and relaxing but the pool bar and restaurant is a bit expensive as well as the other on site restaurants. My boyfriend and I quickly learned about the Marketplace across the street and some great local Puerto Rican restraurants all within walking distance from th resort. Better food at half the price! We were most impressed with the consierge Ernesto who was very helpful throughout our stay. Our luggage did nt arrive with us on our flight and Ernesto made some calls and was very helpful and making the best of the situation. Or luggage arrived few hours later. Thankfully he also talked us into renting cAr to go to the rain forest. We don't normally like to drive when on vAcation but Ernesto reassured is that we wouldn't regret it. He organized our car pickup at a very reasonable price drew us a map and sent us on Our way Visiting El Yunque rainforest was by far my favorite part of the trip. As well as out short drive to Luqillo beach. All great recommendations from Ernesto Overall great trip. One downside was the drink and food prices at the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hike El Yunque and go eat at the kiosks on Luquillo Beach. Great cheap authentic Puerto Rican food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelers manny and caro
Business
San Juan
Jun 2, 2014

First time!!

I was looking for affordable yet nice hotel. This hotel exceeded my expectations. It was beautiful, not to far from most things. I was extremely happy with my stay. The concierge is awesome, you need it ....he'll find it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The cevicheria - is worth mention. The seafood is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Banton
Business
Isla verde, PR
Jun 1, 2014

excellent location

very good service, the beach is beautiful and central location. 15 minutes away from the old city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Old San Juan

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vince K
Business
Tampa, FL
May 27, 2014

Will stay in condado again next time

We visited during Memorial Day weekend so the hotel was very busy and we heard a lot through the hotel walls- and were even disturbed via a hard knock at 2 in the morning by another (drunk) visitor. We stayed at caribe hilton 2 years ago and it was cheaper with a better location but no beach. The hotel pool was great, some great restaurants on site and great beach access. Staff was friendly. Beds were not comfy and bathroom was small. Did not look like it did in the pics and needs some renovations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

La trattoria was excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nisha S
Business
NJ
May 22, 2014

Nice place

I had a good experience for the most part. Checking in was very smooth and Brenda who checked us in was great. We were upgraded to an ocean view room since there were no more of our regular rooms left. For the most part, it was great. However, there were a couple of things that really bugged us. We ordered room service one night because we needed to get up at 5 am the next day. We wanted to get to bed early that night. Well, we ordered and the food didn't come up till well over an hour. It's 11:30 and we are still waiting on dinner. That defeated the whole purpose of us getting room service. The food finally comes and I'm missing condiments. She said I had to ask for them. Why would I have to ask for them when it says it in the description of what I ordered that it was supposed to come with that stuff. Next, the cleaning. When we returned to our room the next day, my bed was made but the robe was just unfolded lying there with a tissue on the bed. Also our room service food was still in the room. I would've expected that to have been taken. Then, someone else's room service food was outside of our room. That annoyed us but didn't ruin our stay. We spent most of our time outside of the hotel anyway doing things. We did mention it during check out and Brenda took off our room service charge to try and make it up to us. I appreciated that. Despite that stuff, I would stay again as the hotel itself is very nice and everyone was helpful and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Isamom
Business
San Antonio, Texas
May 20, 2014

Wonderful place to stay!

The hotel Inter Continental San Juan was a wonderful place to stay! The staff was extremely friendly, helpful, and dedicated to pleasing it's guests' requests. If you are not afraid to ask they will guide you to the best and most affordable restaurants within walking distance or just a cab ride away in Old San Juan. The standard rate for a taxi in the San Juan area will cost you $21 (US) dollars. I recommend Basilia's Restaurant just a few blocks away from the hotel or if you spend a day in Old San Juan, you shouldn't miss out on eating at El Jabarito! Both places have authentic Puerto Rican fare and are very affordable. I suggest trying the Mofongo and tostones! The location is amazing. The hotel has a beautiful courtyard leading out to the pool (with an adult swim-up bar and a hot tub area). You can dine at the outdoor Cafe Mediterranean and catch a great view of the beach. When you're done walk right onto to the beach for a lovely stroll, dip in the ocean, soak up the sun, or rent a Sea-do! On the weekend that we stayed the hotel had live Carribean music for guests to dance to. There is also a casino inside the hotel, but we chose to go next door for two reasons; 1. there was no ATM in our hotel (even though there is a sign in the lower lobby for one), and 2. there wasn't a craps table which is what my husband and I like to play. The amenities and room are pretty standard. Nothing to rave about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I would not recommend dining or even having breakfast at the hotel restaurant unless you want to spend a lot of money. Although there is a great variety of food in the breakfast buffet it is not worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Skhan
Business
Florida
May 12, 2014

Couples getaway.

The hotel was nice over all but I was expecting the room to be nicer. Also the walls are paper thin could hear everyone in the room next to us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure to check when the rainy season is. We made the biggest mistake going this past weekend May 7-11th. It rained all weekend long.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top