$146 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 5, 2015

InterContinental San Juan

4 stars
View map of 5961 ISLA VERDE AVENUE, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental San Juan

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
631 out of 631
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westminster, SC
Aug 23, 2009

Loved This Hotel

Great hotel, staff very friendly, and eager to please. Upgraded when we arrived and was well worth the money. Very nice rooms, very clean, and spacious. Would stay at this hotel on the next visit. Loved Puerto Rico!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
paynenasz
Business
NYC
Aug 20, 2009

Great Hotel

I had an absolutely amazing time at the Intercontinental. The pool and beach are AMAZING. Puerto Rico in general was very laid back and the only place we really found where there was any real action at night was Old San Juan, but there are plenty of little restaurants and fast food joints right next to the hotel. and a small mall a couple of blocks down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Helsinki,Finland
Aug 20, 2009

a great place for a quiet vacation

i stayed there a week and it was perfect,the staff was super friendly and i felt appreciated as a guest.Would deff. recommend this place to friends that are going to Puerto Rico

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

beautiful restaurants for fine cuisine lovers in old san juan

Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
paynenasz
Business
NYC
Aug 20, 2009

Great Hotel

I had an absolutely amazing time at the Intercontinental. The pool and beach are AMAZING. Puerto Rico in general was very laid back and the only place we really found where there was any real action at night was Old San Juan, but there are plenty of little restaurants and fast food joints right next to the hotel. and a small mall a couple of blocks down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Aug 17, 2009

Great Vacation

If you want a beach vacation for relaxation and sun this one is for you. While its not the trendiest hotel on the beach (try La Concha or El San Juan for that) it works well and is solid. Staff was great and helpful. Rooms are dated but bed was comfortable and room clean. Not a lot going on in the lobby. Excursions arranged via hotel were worth time and effort and the ease/convenience of not shopping around to get to key sites worth it. Everything else as expected. Hotel clearly takes security seriously but be sure to use the safe provided..... Do See: Luminescent Lagoon, Walk to WaterFalls (if you are able, its a hike but being in the water was fun...take early trip), Jet Skis down the beach, El San Juan lobby, casino, and bars (hotel next door). Snorkel at Iacacco Island on Spread Eagle II catamaran. Old San Juan and Fort, worth visit but take a cab or the bus and do on your own. Hint: Paying for "Ocean View", be sure to get above the 7th floor to clear the trees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mi Casita. Not too expensive and across the street for local cuisine. Subway (yes that Subway) for a quick breakfast sandwich from friendly staff. Wasabi for sushi is a drive but worth it.

Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 16, 2009

Pleasant stay

The hotel stay was good. We weren't too crazy about the location, since there aren't any great restaurants around, unless you like dining at the restaurant inside the hotel, which was a little pricey. If you are looking for something close to the airport, this is a good place...it's a 10 minute taxi ride, which in August 2009 set you back only $12. Coming from a big city like NYC, we found Isla Verde to be "a lot like home" (little noisy, crowded and full of construction), which is not something that we were looking for during our vacation. If you prefer to have a more romantic and relaxed vacation check out some of the resorts on the north western part of the island. There is a great place called Ocean Front Hotel and Restaurant in Isabela that you might want to check out. We had dinner there after a horse ride on the beach (highly recommended). You have a view of Jobos beach, which is a surfing spot. Back to the InterContinental - the service was fantastic and the hotel staff was super friendly. [...], at the concierge desk was extremely nice, helping us with the itinerary of a few excursions that turned out great. The pool area was a decent size, and the beach was right past the pool area. In a nutshell, nice hotel, nice service, pleasant staff, close to the airport, not so great area, lots of tourists around. If your cup of tea, you will have a great time; otherwise try something on the west side of the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I loved the sangria at the restaurant across the street called Mi Casita.

Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
queens new york
Aug 16, 2009

awesome vacation

fantastic can't wait to go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great breakfast across the street at mi casita

Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mislead in boston
Business
massachusetts
Aug 12, 2009

read before you decide esp. with family

it is best to rent a car and see the sites. the bus takes 1/2 to 1 hour to arrive for 75 cents all cabs are 22 dollars one way. so rent a car to see old san juan, the rainforest, aricebo,caves etc. the trips from the hotel are ex. to see caves and aricebo it cost us 300dollars for 2 adults and a 15 yr old, to rent a car is 50.00 for the day and admision is10 to 12 per person to each site. and 1 to 1/2 hour drive. Do not waste your time at the rum factory. yYou never see the manufacturing just 4 rooms of hx. There are several inexpensive restaurants across the street and to the left of the hotel for breakfast .very clean too. THe serice at the hotel was wonderful and immediate. the rooms were clean and the staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Rutan-Clan
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 2, 2009

Great Hotel, great service

The location is good, its right by a clean beach and the staff are very helpful, especially the concierge. The only recommendation is to have a rental car as buses are not very punctual and the cabs can be a bit pricey when going to nearby restaurants. Otherwise, i would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast, there are some restaurants near by eg Mi Casita and a bagel shop which are relatively inexpensive.

Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sjpgt
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 1, 2009

Pleasant Experience...Great Beach

The hotel is literally 5 minutes from the Airport (taxi, $12 for 2 people). The hotel is really nice, the pool area going out to the beach is awesome. The beach was absolutely great! There's not really a lot to do around the hotel, there are a lot of fast food places (Burger King, Churches, Wendy's, Chili's) around the hotel. We enjoyed taking the bus (A5, .75) to Old San Juan. We spent most of time there shopping and site-seeing. I would recommend taking the trolley in Old San Juan to see El Morro, the views of the ocean from the hillside are awesome!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast we went to MiCasita which is across the street from the hotel. The staff there gave us some really good recommendations on what do while in Puerto Rico, and the food was really inexpensive and pretty good.

Back to menu Return to top