$193 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 19, 2015 Check-out: Jan 22, 2015

InterContinental San Juan

4 stars
5961 ISLA VERDE AVENUE, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
549 reviews
Awesome resort

No wait time for checking in & checking out. Staff was very friendly and gave great suggestions on... See full review

  • Lexxy
  • Dec 3, 2014
Fantastic Birthday getaway

Wonderful getaway! Nice beach and hotel.... We love Jose at the pool... We definitely come again See full review

  • Lisa10468
  • Nov 26, 2014
A backdrop of wild, tropical surroundings and a two-mile stretch of beach is offered by the InterContinental San Juan resort in Puerto Rico.  High-end touches to its island setting make guests feel constantly spoiled, from its canopied poolside lounge chairs to its chocolate granite and indigo decor. Troops of palm trees keep you company while you stroll by water fountains to take a dip in the outdoor pool. Get your heart racing at the gym or drop by for a relaxing massage at the spa. Five restaurants satisfy culinary wishes, and you can grab a drink at one of the welcoming hotel bars. Finish the night accompanying Lady Luck around the casino.
Key facts
  • 412 guestrooms
  • Spa
  • Full-service casino
  • Meeting facilities
  • Concierge
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • 4 on-site restaurants: Ruth's Chris Steak House, Trattoria Italiana, Momoyama, Ciao Mediterranean
  • 2 bars: I Bar and the Ottanta Bar
  • On-site gym
  • Whirlpool and sauna
Neighborhood
Picking up an authentic panama hat from Ole, a custom hat fitter, is just one of the ways to embrace the local culture in historic Old San Juan. Crammed with eateries, shops, boutiques and museums, this is a vibrant community. Caficultura dishes up an excellent breakfast spiked with rum (at your request), making an excellent start to a morning spent at the Eastern side of the area. Take a trip out and zip-line through the El Yunque Rainforest, or go at a more relaxing pace on its lower levels. You'll spot some incredible wildlife, including the charming Puerto Rican parrot.
Hints and tips
Club level rooms are excellent for guests desiring a child-free vacation.

Make sure to try a signature plate of grilled chicken and beans during your visit.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental San Juan also booked these hotels.

InterContinental San Juan Rooms

Ocean View Room
1 King or 2 double beds. Independent temperature control and air conditioning Hair dyer, iron and ironing board, alarm clock , radio AM/FM Bill / Message viewing, safe deposit box in room, in room movies Oversized desk, direct in-dial lines available, two telephones with speaker and data port In room Wi-Fi Internet access
Laguna Room
1 King or 2 double beds. Independent temperature control and air conditioning Hair dyer, iron and ironing board, alarm clock , radio AM/FM Bill / Message viewing, safe deposit box in room, in room movies Oversized desk, direct in-dial lines available, two telephones with speaker and data port In room Wi-Fi Internet access

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 2.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.2 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.8 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.9 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.5 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.6 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.6 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.7 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.2 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.8 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.9 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.5 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.6 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.6 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.7 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.7 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.7 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.7 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.7 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.7 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.9 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.6 mi

Dining

La Bodequita
caf and wine bar offering light gourmet breakfast, lunch and evening delights. Open daily from 5:30 a.m. "10 p.m.
I-Bar
the resorts main lobby bar serving the best martinis and cocktails in a contemporary setting. Open daily from 11 a.m. "2 a.m. Also serving local cuisine specialties
Aqua Bar & Grill
light lunch fare and your favorite tropical cocktails. Open 11 a.m."6:30 p.m weekdays and 11 a.m."8:30 p.m weekends.
Ciao Mediterranean Caf
Authentic Mediterranean cuisine offered in an oceanfront setting. Open daily 11 a.m."11:30 p.m.
Momoyama
Traditional Japanese cuisine with Teppanyaki tables and Sushi Bar. Open Monday through Friday from 12 p.m. "3 p.m. and 5 p.m. "10:30 p.m. and Saturday and Sunday from 5 p.m. "10:30 p.m.
Ruths Chris Steak House
open daily 6 p.m.- 10:30 p.m.
Trattoria Italiana
the resorts signature Italian restaurant. Open daily for breakfast from 6:30a.m. - 12 p.m. Dinner from 6 p.m."11 p.m.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Over 18,000 sq. ft of flexible meeting and banquet space. Wireless Internet available throughout our conference center with several choices of bandwidth available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (549)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental San Juan

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
549 out of 549
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Markic Marker
Business
Naples, FL
Mar 3, 2009

Nice short getaway!

We just needed a short getaway so we decided on San Juan and we weren't at all disappointed. The hotel was great...nice and clean and on the beach. That's all we wanted. I've been on better beaches in the past but this beach would be fine. The casino in the hotel was a big plus for me. I love Roulette and there were two nights where we came home and she was tired and went up to the room while I found my way onto a table to unwind and it was great.The only real complaint I have is that the food and drink pricing at the hotel was outrageous. They have a nice grill/restaurant that sits right on the beach and makes for a convenient lunch right out of your beach chair. The prices are another story. No one ever loves paying $40-50 for a couple sandwiches for lunch so I was a bit disappointed in that but I guess you're paying for the convenience of it all. To counter some of the expense I did bring my own soft sided cooler and schlepped my own beer down to the beach and pool area...otherwise they want $6-7 a beer. There's a grocery store right around the corner from the hotel where we bought beer and a bottle of vodka. There are also plenty of little cafes and places to eat around the hotel as well. Walgreens isn't but a couple blocks down the street also.We spent one day in Old San Juan. I would highly recommend going there for a day. We visited one of the old forts- San Cristobel. It was fascinating and if you love any kind of history from the colonial times then you'll have a blast. The food in town was fantastic. Lots of traditional Puerto Rican fare abound. We ate all day and loved every minute of it. Lots of great restaurants, bars and diners in Old town.If you're looking for night life you'll have to go a couple doors down from the Intercontinental to the ESJ....El San Juan. It's a beautiful hotel with a nice casino and a couple trendy lobby bars. They have a decent night club as well as a couple higher end restaurants. Menus looked great but we didn't eat there. We did end up walking down the street from the Intercontinental to the Howard Johnson. On the 10th floor there they have one of the best Italian restaurants I have ever eaten in. I had a Fra Diavla seafood pasta dish and it was nothing short of 'the best'! Stacked with shrimp, scallops, mussels, clams, white fish, and a lobster tail. A bit pricey but it was well worth every penny!Hope this helps. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask for info on Italian restaurant at the HoJo's. You wont be disappointed!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SalStar
Business
San Antonio, TX
Feb 13, 2009

Worth the Price!

The hotel was packed the week we stayed so we were not able to book an ocean view room but the city view room and balcony was great. We were able to view San Juan as well as the hotel's lush landscaping. The food and alcoholic beverages in the resort are expensive. Great authentic PR cuisine restaurants can be found within walking distance in either direction of the resort at reasonable prices. The neighboring ESJ hotel has great nightly entertainment as this hotel does not offer any. Taxi's are waiting outside to take you anywhere you want around the clock. Security works hard to make sure only guests use the pool, spa and beach.Overall, the grounds are very well kept and the staff is superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Take advantage of the concierge service located in the lobby, that can coordinate some memorable day trips. Trips book quickly! The newly updated gym with a great view of the beach as well as the spa was empty everyday. It offers complimentary fruit and bottled water. The sauna and steam room are great along with a luxurious locker room stocked with clean towels, lotions, and soaps.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
High Point
Dec 8, 2008

great tropical beach vacation

My wife and I stayed at this nice hotel while in San Juan for a wedding. The airport is very close and convenient to the airport as well. The beach and pools were beautiful and the weather was wonderful for early December. We ate one evening at Alfredo's Italian restaurant outside on their patio and enjoyed the wonderful evening temperature, great food and wine, and the relaxing singing of the coqui frogs which live in the lush tropical vegetation around the pool and hotel. The charges for Alfredo's and Ruth's Chris Steak house at the hotel were no more than you would find for similar places in the US. There are other options like fast food and traditional Puerto Rican food for much less very nearby and it all provides a good mix of foods and costs and should suite just about everyone. the hotel is an older spanish style hotel which has been refurbished and upgraded to today's standards. I was very impressed with the beautiful lobby with marble tile floors with pillars and a very elegant feel. the rooms are nice and modern. We enjoyed our view of the lagoon from the front of the hotel...it was even fun watching the planes fly into the airport! The best was extremely comfortable and the staff was extremely professional and friendly. smiles everywhere! The food and drinks at the Restaurant on the beachfront(Ciao's)were true that they food was cheaper and still very good. The menu was more fast food though....pizza, burgers, appetizers, etc... This is a very nice hotel and I would return and stay there again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try mi casita in the plaza across the street any time of day. La playita rest. with oceanfront view(very casual)--has music at night too! Others to try are: the Oyster bar, the metropol, and drums....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hanover Park
Dec 2, 2008

Beautiful

This is a beautiful hotel, with the best pool area on the island. The staff at the hotel were very helpful, and will work with you to accommodate your needs. Pay the extra $ and get an ocean view room, you'll be glad you did. The view is breathtaking! I have been to the hotel before, but this was the first time with a 9 month old. They provided a crib for my son at no extra charge, and gave me a local number for a sitter if I needed one. The only downside to this hotel is the price for food and drinks at the hotel are very expensive. Try the bakery behind the hotel. Great food at great prices. All in all, a great hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walgreens is about 2 blocks away if you need to stock up on sunblock or drinks. Mi Casita is a small authentic Puertorican restaurant just behind the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Henrietta
Nov 16, 2008

Best sleep I've ever had!

I can't say enough about the staff, very friendly, especially the gentlemen that arranged for our transportation to the pier and airport. The beds, the beds are amazing. I have not slept that well in years, and my husband and I are going to try and find that mattress and mattress cover as soon as we get home from our cruise!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The hotel is right on the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 14, 2008

Great Hotel

What a great hotel and experience. The whole experience started off with magnificient service from the Front Desk and Concierge. Food is excellent, but as expected with hotels the drinks can be a little pricey. If staying here the upgrade to ocean-facing rooms is worthwhile. The hotel has a great evening entertainment with live bands and a casino. The surrounding area also has some great restaurants but go in the direction towards the ESJ Hotel as the other way can be a bit seedy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

For a great bar and night out with great views try the 10th Floor of the ESJ Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 28, 2008

VERY RELAXING

THE STAFF AT THE INTERCONTINENTAL WERE VERY HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY. ALEX , IN THE POOL AREA, GAVE US GREAT ADVICE ON HOW TO GET AROUND AND PLACES TO EAT.THE PICTURES WE TOOK FROM OUR BALCONY LOOK AMAZING. WE ALSO RECOMMEND THE SNORKELING TOUR--TRULY EXCELLENT. ROOM SERVICE, OF COURSE, IS PRICEY. HOWEVER, THERE ARE MANY RESTAURANTS NEARBY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

wALGREENS, dENNYS, BURGER KING, KFC,BASKIN ROBBINS, PONDER ROSA

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lakeside
Sep 15, 2008

Great all around hotel

This hotel was good in a couple of ways. It had several nice restaurants, the rooms were very comfortable (the best bedding ever) and the pool area was really nice. The only bad thing I can think of is that the surrounding area was not very nice. It seems that Puerto Rico is not zoned and a nice place is right in the middle of a bad area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mi Casita is wonderful and is across the street in the strip mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sicklerville
Sep 1, 2008

5 Star Hotel

The hotel was gorgeous. The service throughout the hotel was very accomadating and impeccable. The rooms were luxurious-very comfortable. Alfredo's restaurant was delicious and very romantic. I did not find it too pricey. (Dinner for four with a bottle of sparkling wine tip included $175.00) The food prices were comparable to the service and quality. The beach/pool area are just as expected beautiful. We really had a terrific time. Our seven year old daughter had a really good time. Especially on the beach. One of my favorite things was being able to sit in the pool with an adult refreshment at night under candle light and listening to a live band play spanish music. One night we were pleasantly awaken by the sound of booms. We got up and went to the balcony and witness the most beautiful fireworks display. I highly recommend the hotel and I can't wait to go back. We loved Puerto Rico! A+++++

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Alfredo's restaurant offers a terrific breakfast buffet for $22.00 pp and half price for children.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rockton
Aug 22, 2008

Decent Hotel

I stayed at the Intercontinental for my honeymoon. When we arrived at the hotel, the check-in attendant was very friendly. He asked if we were there for any special occaison. I told him it was our honeymoon, and he then offered us an upgrade. He memtioned they had either a pool or an ocean view. We opted for the pool view, and then we found out it was $40/night extra. When we got up to our room. the only thing we could see was the roof and palm trees, no pool. Other than that, the hotel was just okay. They did surprise us with champagne and strawberries though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a very nice casino and shopping in the El San Juan. It's like a mini Las Vegas. Great dining options too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top