$152 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

InterContinental San Juan

4 stars
5961 ISLA VERDE AVENUE, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
789 reviews
Great summer getaway

The hotel was great, right on the beach. The staff was very helpful and very willing to help to get... See full review

  • Adventurer 43
  • Jun 29, 2014
Great price, fantastic staff

The hotel is clean, organized, and well run. When we arrived, there was a problem with our... See full review

  • Florida girl 12
  • Jun 24, 2014
A backdrop of wild, tropical surroundings and a two-mile stretch of beach is offered by the InterContinental San Juan resort in Puerto Rico.  High-end touches to its island setting make guests feel constantly spoiled, from its canopied poolside lounge chairs to its chocolate granite and indigo decor. Troops of palm trees keep you company while you stroll by water fountains to take a dip in the outdoor pool. Get your heart racing at the gym or drop by for a relaxing massage at the spa. Five restaurants satisfy culinary wishes, and you can grab a drink at one of the welcoming hotel bars. Finish the night accompanying Lady Luck around the casino.
Key facts
  • 412 guestrooms
  • Spa
  • Full-service casino
  • Meeting facilities
  • Concierge
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • 4 on-site restaurants: Ruth's Chris Steak House, Trattoria Italiana, Momoyama, Ciao Mediterranean
  • 2 bars: I Bar and the Ottanta Bar
  • On-site gym
  • Whirlpool and sauna
Neighborhood
Picking up an authentic panama hat from Ole, a custom hat fitter, is just one of the ways to embrace the local culture in historic Old San Juan. Crammed with eateries, shops, boutiques and museums, this is a vibrant community. Caficultura dishes up an excellent breakfast spiked with rum (at your request), making an excellent start to a morning spent at the Eastern side of the area. Take a trip out and zip-line through the El Yunque Rainforest, or go at a more relaxing pace on its lower levels. You'll spot some incredible wildlife, including the charming Puerto Rican parrot.
Hints and tips
Club level rooms are excellent for guests desiring a child-free vacation.

Make sure to try a signature plate of grilled chicken and beans during your visit.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

InterContinental San Juan Rooms

Ocean View Room
1 King or 2 double beds. Independent temperature control and air conditioning Hair dyer, iron and ironing board, alarm clock , radio AM/FM Bill / Message viewing, safe deposit box in room, in room movies Oversized desk, direct in-dial lines available, two telephones with speaker and data port In room Wi-Fi Internet access
Laguna Room
1 King or 2 double beds. Independent temperature control and air conditioning Hair dyer, iron and ironing board, alarm clock , radio AM/FM Bill / Message viewing, safe deposit box in room, in room movies Oversized desk, direct in-dial lines available, two telephones with speaker and data port In room Wi-Fi Internet access

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental San Juan also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.4429 -66.0197
Area served
Isla verde, San Juan, Carolina, Old San Juan, Rio Piedras, Hato Rey, Guaynabo.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU), estimated distance from property 1.5 miles.
Area description
The resort hotel is located on two miles of white sand beach, making it a preferred San Juan luxury hotel.

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.2 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.8 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.9 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.5 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.6 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.6 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.2 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.8 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.9 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.5 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.6 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.6 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.7 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.7 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.7 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.7 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.7 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.7 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.9 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Over 18,000 sq. ft of flexible meeting and banquet space. Wireless Internet available throughout our conference center with several choices of bandwidth available.

Dining

La Bodequita
caf and wine bar offering light gourmet breakfast, lunch and evening delights. Open daily from 5:30 a.m. "10 p.m.
I-Bar
the resorts main lobby bar serving the best martinis and cocktails in a contemporary setting. Open daily from 11 a.m. "2 a.m. Also serving local cuisine specialties
Aqua Bar & Grill
light lunch fare and your favorite tropical cocktails. Open 11 a.m."6:30 p.m weekdays and 11 a.m."8:30 p.m weekends.
Ciao Mediterranean Caf
Authentic Mediterranean cuisine offered in an oceanfront setting. Open daily 11 a.m."11:30 p.m.
Momoyama
Traditional Japanese cuisine with Teppanyaki tables and Sushi Bar. Open Monday through Friday from 12 p.m. "3 p.m. and 5 p.m. "10:30 p.m. and Saturday and Sunday from 5 p.m. "10:30 p.m.
Ruths Chris Steak House
open daily 6 p.m.- 10:30 p.m.
Trattoria Italiana
the resorts signature Italian restaurant. Open daily for breakfast from 6:30a.m. - 12 p.m. Dinner from 6 p.m."11 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (789)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental San Juan

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
789 out of 789
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh
Feb 1, 2010

FANTASTIC!

Booked at the last minute and a little apprehensive, but needlessly so. Gorgeous facility and beach. Wonderful staff; eager to be helpful and extremely professional and courteous. Would highly recommend and go back in a second.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There are fun alternatives to the higher prices in the hotels; vendors on the beach can offer grilled to order hot dogs, hamburgers and sodas for just a couple of bucks. A local beach bar one block from the hotel offers Madella beer for half the price! Good food, too!

Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh
Feb 1, 2010

FANTASTIC!

Booked at the last minute and a little apprehensive, but needlessly so. Gorgeous facility and beach. Wonderful staff; eager to be helpful and extremely professional and courteous. Would highly recommend and go back in a second.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There are fun alternatives to the higher prices in the hotels; vendors on the beach can offer grilled to order hot dogs, hamburgers and sodas for just a couple of bucks. A local beach bar one block from the hotel offers Madella beer for half the price! Good food, too!

Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston MA
Jan 26, 2010

Great Hotel!!

Intercontinental is a wonderful hotel.. the pool and bar areas are great... it's pricey tho so be prepared to spend money.. There is a little supermarket called Pueblo 2 blocks away and you can buy liquor and food so that can save you money. The Beach was not as clean as I expected, seaweed was always present... not an Aruba type beach but the weather and hotel made up for it all. Had great time and would recommend it...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Pueblo supermarket for liquor and food

Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jan 26, 2010

Awesome, me & my husband love it.

It was awesome, I can way to go back. I love Puerto Rico and the Intercontinental was incredible. Love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston MA
Jan 26, 2010

Great Hotel!!

Intercontinental is a wonderful hotel.. the pool and bar areas are great... it's pricey tho so be prepared to spend money.. There is a little supermarket called Pueblo 2 blocks away and you can buy liquor and food so that can save you money. The Beach was not as clean as I expected, seaweed was always present... not an Aruba type beach but the weather and hotel made up for it all. Had great time and would recommend it...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Pueblo supermarket for liquor and food

Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit -Michigan -USA
Dec 28, 2009

InterContinental San Juan Resort & Casin

Our family has traveled to somewhere warm every winter for the last 13 years. We chose a resort without all inclusive because we sometimes tire of resort food (but never cruise food). The InterContinental had good reviews and was priced right. It is a nice place with all the amenities. Lots of help, great service, super clean, great pool, with a nice ocean location. There is lots of service with a concierge, doormen opening the doors as we came and went, even staff that just happened to be ahead of me would open the door and hold it like I was the king of France, and our room attendant left little notes and towel animals. We have been to many resorts and have not seen some of this. The room had a good shower, lots of hot water, good view (we had a city view and could see planes landing and taking off which was noisy) with a tiny deck. Air conditioning was good, room had a fridge (but no microwave). They obviously wanted you to eat in their restaurants which were very high priced. We did enjoy eating at Yamamoto's in the hotel, which is like Benehana but about 25% higher in price. There were many more reasonably priced restaurants within walking distance including lots of fast food. All in all it was a great week and we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you go, be sure to see the bioluminescent bays. We had a great trip with Captain Charlie and his electric boat. (better than kayaking) They were very informative and seeing the lights in the water is unbelievable. We also liked an all day snorkeling cruise that we took with East Winds. The boat trip was enjoyable, snorkeling good, the crew was fun and they mixed good drinks.

Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit -Michigan -USA
Dec 28, 2009

InterContinental San Juan Resort & Casin

Our family has traveled to somewhere warm every winter for the last 13 years. We chose a resort without all inclusive because we sometimes tire of resort food (but never cruise food). The InterContinental had good reviews and was priced right. It is a nice place with all the amenities. Lots of help, great service, super clean, great pool, with a nice ocean location. There is lots of service with a concierge, doormen opening the doors as we came and went, even staff that just happened to be ahead of me would open the door and hold it like I was the king of France, and our room attendant left little notes and towel animals. We have been to many resorts and have not seen some of this. The room had a good shower, lots of hot water, good view (we had a city view and could see planes landing and taking off which was noisy) with a tiny deck. Air conditioning was good, room had a fridge (but no microwave). They obviously wanted you to eat in their restaurants which were very high priced. We did enjoy eating at Yamamoto's in the hotel, which is like Benehana but about 25% higher in price. There were many more reasonably priced restaurants within walking distance including lots of fast food. All in all it was a great week and we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you go, be sure to see the bioluminescent bays. We had a great trip with Captain Charlie and his electric boat. (better than kayaking) They were very informative and seeing the lights in the water is unbelievable. We also liked an all day snorkeling cruise that we took with East Winds. The boat trip was enjoyable, snorkeling good, the crew was fun and they mixed good drinks.

Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M Woods
Eldersburg, MD
Dec 15, 2009

Overall, a very nice Resort/Casino

Very nice accommodations. The rooms were larger than most other hotel rooms and it included a love sofa. The food was expensive but typical for the area. The beach was as close as your back yard and it was very clean. The lobby was nicely decorated and the marble floors added a touch of class.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Take the bus to old San Juan and enjoy some history.

Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M Woods
Eldersburg, MD
Dec 15, 2009

Overall, a very nice Resort/Casino

Very nice accommodations. The rooms were larger than most other hotel rooms and it included a love sofa. The food was expensive but typical for the area. The beach was as close as your back yard and it was very clean. The lobby was nicely decorated and the marble floors added a touch of class.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Take the bus to old San Juan and enjoy some history.

Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nederland, TX
Dec 7, 2009

ISJ Resort and Casino review

I loved the location, the ammenities, the over friendly staff, the treatment received and the location was just great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The food was amazing in all the restaurants in the hotel

Back to menu Return to top