$143 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

InterContinental San Juan

4 stars
View map of 5961 ISLA VERDE AVENUE, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental San Juan

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
522 out of 522
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 8, 2008

Good Times

Overall a great hotel, with a nice beach area and a comfortable pool area. Being able to check in before 4 would have been nice. The room had adequate space and a comfortable bed. Very clean as well. The eating and drinking options are a bit pricey, especially the hotel bar so i'd either get a few free drinks at the casino (or very expensive ones, depending on your luck) or rum and beer can be purchased across the street. The waiters around the pool were very friendly. The location is great, $12 cab from the airport and 20 to Old San Juan. Easy and safe to walk to the other hotels nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

El San Juan next door has a club and better Jazz lounge. Lupis is a good basic bar with reasonable prices.

Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 4, 2008

My review of InterContinental San Juan Resort & Casino

bathrooms are not clean and the food price is very costly. rooms are not as i expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

shoping

Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 4, 2008

Beautiful and Relaxing

The Intercontinental Resort and Casino in San Juan, Puerto Rico provided my daughter and I with a beautiful and relaxing spring break experience. Our room was clean, comfortable, and spacious with 2 double beds, oversized chair and side table, large desk, armoire and a small balcony. The vanity area with wall mirror and make up mirror was separate from the shower area. A hair dryer, iron, ironing board, refrigerator, coffee pot and clock radio were provided. The pool area was beautifully landscaped complete with a waterfall, swim up bar, and plenty of lounge furniture. Fresh towels and pillows were available in the pool area. This resort is beach side with the beach being just beyond the pool. All staff members that we encountered were very helpful and a safe, clean, and secure atmosphere was provided. Our favorite dining option was the beach side grill located on the property. We found the other dining options to be over priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The El San Juan Resort and Casino is next door offering Star Bucks as well as other dining and shopping options.

Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 19, 2008

Nice but no value

The Intercontinental was nice but I have a few problems, considering the cost. Our room was quite small. We were facing the street and we could hear airport traffic. Maybe you can't hear that on the beach side but that was disappointing. The elevators make you want to slit your wrists -- they are SO slow. We ate at Alfredo's the first night and it was terrific -- wonderful food and the service was impeccable. We went back on our last night and it was almost the complete opposite experience. Also, someone needs to police the lounge chairs -- people were reserving them for hours on end even though no one was using them. Overall, a nice visit but unless you need to be close to San Juan, you'd probably be happier staying somewhere a little further out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Mar 16, 2008

good digs

very good and would recomend to a friend.everything was close by and accessable,they need to put a chair out on the balcony and lower the drink prices other than that good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

mi casita across the street was very good.ruth chris steak house is to die for in the hotel

Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Feb 20, 2008

great hotel

very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Room well maintained and clean. We had a beautfiul view on the ocean with a small balcony where we can put one chair. Free internet access is a big advantage. Great pool area and the gym room is well equiped with view to the ocean. In all, great value for the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Feb 10, 2008

My review of InterContinental San Juan Resort & Casino

The concierge staff at Intercontinental was very helpful and informative, although I was disappointed with the staff at the front desk (check in / out counter). There were two of them chatting while we were waiting for someone to assist us. We would've appreciated being given a warning before being billed $251 because one of our friend smoked in the balcony of our room. The staff at the beach resto and the pool area was accomodating. Also, it would be better if they provided robes in the room. The bathrooms were also pretty small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 29, 2008

My review of InterContinental San Juan Resort & Casino

Our stay was very pleasent. If you have stayed at higher level beach resort hotels, this did not have a WOW factor, but was just level below. The hotel would not allow a late checkout even with our flight at 5 pm. Nice beach area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Need to go see the fort El Morro and the rain forest. Nicer than Maui!

Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Sep 28, 2007

My review of InterContinental San Juan Resort & Casino

The Intercontinental San Juan is in a great location in San Juan since it's close to everything. It was a 5 minute ride from the airport and only a few minutes from Old San Juan. Our room was comfortable and well-kept. I especially liked the balcony. The pool area and the jacuzzi were very nice, clean, and comfortable. The beach was nice, but it wasn't big and impressive. I didn't like that we had to drag out our own chairs though. The concierges were wonderful and very helpful. They told us in detail exactly how to work out all of the excursions we were interested in. The only thing I was dissatisfied with were the restuarants in the hotel. They were so outrageously expensive! There were no cheaper options for meals & my husband & I usually went to near by restuarants to eat instead of spending a ridiculous amount of money in their bars and restuarants. There needs to be at least one less expensive option for dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Historic Old San Juan. It's a short cab ride or about 30 minutes by bus. There is lots of shopping as well as the historic old forts to visit. Once you are in Old San Juan, the Bacardi Distillary is only a short ferry ride away.

Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Sep 14, 2007

Good business hotel; very convenient to the airport

All personnel were very accommodating, friendly and knowledgable. Great pick for business stay with accessible office amenities; quite a few families and children there, good for groups, but don't pick for a romantic getaway. Could use refurbishment on the exterior; the facade and very small balconies on the street side could use an update.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Quick cab ride (about 15-20 minutes for $20)into Old San Juan for a great range of dining and nightlife.

Back to menu Return to top