$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

InterContinental San Juan

4 stars
View map of 5961 ISLA VERDE AVENUE, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental San Juan

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
570 out of 570
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yvonne P.
Business
Bronx, NY
Aug 23, 2014

InterContinental San Juan 8/2014

We enjoyed our stay. The hotel staff was accommodating, helpful and friendly. We made 4 recommendations already to friends. The resort was beautiful, with so much under 1 roof; we enjoyed the beach, in-house casino, restaurants, and enjoyed dancing at the club a few doors down. The elevators were under construction during non-peak hours which caused delays, nothing too bad. But we plan on revisiting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel restaurants can be a bit pricey. Take a walk across the street to the local restaurant. The Mofongo, steak and eggs, and lemon chicken was delicious and a fraction of the cost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
247724
Business
Queens, New York
Aug 23, 2014

Wonderful Mother-Daughter Trip

My 14 year old daughter and I just returned from a 3 night stay. The staff at the hotel is wonderful. Everyone was so friendly and helpful, from directions to change for the bus everyone is willing to assist and always with a smile. The hotel is very close to the airport $12 base fare +$1 for luggage. There are several food options at the hotel and within walking distance. The pool is huge and never seemed over crowded. The beach was steps from the rear door, clean and peaceful. I was also very pleased for great cell phone reception that kept my daughter happy! The only two issues we had were... 1) The 2 of 3 elevators being out of service, which caused major delays traveling to and from our room on the 11th floor. 2) We tried to eat breakfast at the hotel's restaurant and waited over 15 minutes for someone to take our order. After 15 minutes we decided to leave and save money by eating breakfast across the street at Burger King. However, I don't think they were purposely ignoring us...I think they just assumed that everyone wanted to the buffet and didn't expect us to place individual orders and it was difficult to get someone's attention. Overall, I am almost 100% likely to stay here on my next trip to Puerto Rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the city bus to Old San Juan from the hotel. It costs $0.75 pp and gets there in about 30 minutes. Great way to see more of the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Houston Jeff
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 19, 2014

Couples Getaway

overall experience was good, but the food and drinks at the hotel were way overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Christy loves to travel
Business
New York
Aug 19, 2014

Hopefully you'll have a better time than me

I just came back from my mini vacation in Puerto Rico. I was very excited to be staying in this hotel based on other reviews. The outside of the hotel, the lobby, and beach were gorgeous. We had the bell staff hold on to our luggage while we walked around the area to pass some time until we were allowed to check in. The check in process was very smooth...although I was taken aback by the hotel charging a resort fee because I saw no mention of it when I booked. I was told that it was for the amenities that the property offers like free wifi, gym access, beach towels... How is it free if you have to pay? I didn't want to start the vacation on a bad note, so I didn't dispute the charge. I was given my room key and a form letter from management apologizing for the elevators not working. We went upstairs without a problem opened up the room door and that's when the fun began... I had 8 mosquitoes in my room. I climbed from bed to bed and chair to chair to kill these mosquitoes on the ceiling. I understand that there will be bugs in a tropical climate, but I've been to many Caribbean islands and I never encountered anything like that in my life and many of those hotel rooms were not inside of a building with an elevator (meaning the doors are outside). Well, I couldn't imagine sleeping with mosquitoes in my room especially since there were cases of Chikungunya found on the island. After killing what I thought was the last, I wanted to go to the lobby to ask about changing rooms. Unfortunately, I had to wait so long for this elevator to arrive. The couple who was there before me gave up and took the stairs. When I finally get downstairs, the check in line was absolutely ridiculous. Why would you only have two people working at this busy time of day? I had to wait so long to finally be helped (while shooing away mosquitoes in the lobby) just to be told that the mosquitoes are everywhere and she even has them all over her house (not true, because I visited El San Juan right next door and I didn't see anything). Then she offered to send maintenance up to spray the room or to show me another room. I agreed to have another room shown to me. So I was told to go upstairs and maintenance will come to my door. I waited a few minutes again for the elevator upstairs and this time, I gave up and took the stairs. When I got back to the room, my family said they killed 3 more mosquitoes while I was downstairs and haven't seen any in a while, so we did not change rooms anymore. We put the tub mat under the door and went shopping. When we returned, we saw a few more flying in our hallway. We inspected the room and saw nothing, so I figured the previous tenants probably left the balcony door open. Unfortunately, I was wrong. There were two more mosquitoes the next morning and evening, so I'm convinced they were coming through the vent. Now, onto the elevators...why aren't they fixed yet? When you read these reviews, the problems have been going on for a while now and should've been fixed already. Shouldn't the resort fee be waived for this MAJOR inconvenience to everyone? The wait times are absolutely ridiculous. You are also given the option to use the service elevator which leads you to the dungeon. I truly hope there isn't kitchen down there isn't because it looked really dingy down there. Not to mention, I heard a staff member complain about the elevator and how they keep saying they are fixing it and it hasn't been fixed yet. Also, beware of where they give you a room, mine was close to the elevator and it's extremely noisy there. Not only that, but the walls are paper thin. We were woken up every morning by either slamming doors or loud talking. Besides the mosquito, elevator, and noise problem, the hotel was beautiful. The staff was extremely nice, the grounds were well kept, and the beach was beautiful, but my negative experiences outweigh my positive experiences by far.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go to the Bacardi tour. It's free, you get two free drinks, the tour guides are well informed, all in all, it's a nice trip to take when you are visiting old San Juan. Just take the ferry from Pier 2 (it's only fifty cents per person).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hehardy01
Business
Lynchburg va
Aug 10, 2014

Amazing

We booked through here instead of our travel agent and we saved 2k dollars. We we're very happy with the inclusive breakfast everyday and we flew first class, which was amazing and well worth it considering it is a 3hr flight to San Juan! We will be booking this trip again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Abhinav Johri
Business
New Jersey
Aug 10, 2014

Really good the best

We stayed there for 3 nights. The seining pool the beach and restraurent the lobby the entrance are the best !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vivi7
Business
New York
Aug 7, 2014

Good choice

Relaxing, clean, very close to the airport, very nice staff, nice pool, nice beach. Check in was at 4pm, which was a bit annoyng, but overall it was a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vpl3
Business
San Juan
Aug 6, 2014

Nice hotel but expensive

The hotel was beautiful and well maintained. The staff was excellent and addressed every question. Unfortunately between the parking and the taxes things added up and it became quite costly. The temperature in the room on one day was too cold and another hot. Guests should be allowed to adjust the temperature in their rooms themselves. Other than cost and room temperature this is a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
caichendi
Business
san jose
Aug 5, 2014

perfect beach

best experience ever and want to be there in the future again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sparlington
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 1, 2014

Nice Stay

I traveled to PR alone and stayed at the Intercontinental Hotel. Pros: - Beach location is perfect extremely nice - Nice pool area - the bar by the beach has good food and drinks Cons: - Must have money for a cab because of the limited food selections at the hotel - The pool area is nice however there should be a cut off at night for unsupervised kids (18 and under) - the mattress in the room was a little too firm for my taste - Breakfast buffet really expensive $27 but decent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Budget for Cab fares. Condado area has tons of restaurants and shopping verse Isle Verde so you will want to go there. Once there you can walk shop and eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top