$126 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 14, 2014 Check-out: Dec 17, 2014

InterContinental San Juan

4 stars
5961 ISLA VERDE AVENUE, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
541 reviews
Wonder trip

My siblings and I could not have picked a better hotel to stay. We look forward to staying here... See full review

  • AMFC
  • Nov 19, 2014
RELAXATION BEFORE CRUISE

Everything about our stay at the InterContinenal San Juan was great!!! The staff was attentive and... See full review

  • Always Traveling Jones
  • Sep 14, 2014
A backdrop of wild, tropical surroundings and a two-mile stretch of beach is offered by the InterContinental San Juan resort in Puerto Rico.  High-end touches to its island setting make guests feel constantly spoiled, from its canopied poolside lounge chairs to its chocolate granite and indigo decor. Troops of palm trees keep you company while you stroll by water fountains to take a dip in the outdoor pool. Get your heart racing at the gym or drop by for a relaxing massage at the spa. Five restaurants satisfy culinary wishes, and you can grab a drink at one of the welcoming hotel bars. Finish the night accompanying Lady Luck around the casino.
Key facts
  • 412 guestrooms
  • Spa
  • Full-service casino
  • Meeting facilities
  • Concierge
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • 4 on-site restaurants: Ruth's Chris Steak House, Trattoria Italiana, Momoyama, Ciao Mediterranean
  • 2 bars: I Bar and the Ottanta Bar
  • On-site gym
  • Whirlpool and sauna
Neighborhood
Picking up an authentic panama hat from Ole, a custom hat fitter, is just one of the ways to embrace the local culture in historic Old San Juan. Crammed with eateries, shops, boutiques and museums, this is a vibrant community. Caficultura dishes up an excellent breakfast spiked with rum (at your request), making an excellent start to a morning spent at the Eastern side of the area. Take a trip out and zip-line through the El Yunque Rainforest, or go at a more relaxing pace on its lower levels. You'll spot some incredible wildlife, including the charming Puerto Rican parrot.
Hints and tips
Club level rooms are excellent for guests desiring a child-free vacation.

Make sure to try a signature plate of grilled chicken and beans during your visit.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4429 -66.0197
Area served
Isla verde, San Juan, Carolina, Old San Juan, Rio Piedras, Hato Rey, Guaynabo.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU), estimated distance from property 1.5 miles.
Area description
The resort hotel is located on two miles of white sand beach, making it a preferred San Juan luxury hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental San Juan also booked these hotels.

InterContinental San Juan Rooms

Ocean View Room
1 King or 2 double beds. Independent temperature control and air conditioning Hair dyer, iron and ironing board, alarm clock , radio AM/FM Bill / Message viewing, safe deposit box in room, in room movies Oversized desk, direct in-dial lines available, two telephones with speaker and data port In room Wi-Fi Internet access
Laguna Room
1 King or 2 double beds. Independent temperature control and air conditioning Hair dyer, iron and ironing board, alarm clock , radio AM/FM Bill / Message viewing, safe deposit box in room, in room movies Oversized desk, direct in-dial lines available, two telephones with speaker and data port In room Wi-Fi Internet access

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 2.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.2 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.8 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.9 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.5 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.6 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.6 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.7 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.2 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.8 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.9 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.5 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.6 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.6 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.7 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.7 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.7 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.7 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.7 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.7 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.9 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Over 18,000 sq. ft of flexible meeting and banquet space. Wireless Internet available throughout our conference center with several choices of bandwidth available.

Dining

La Bodequita
caf and wine bar offering light gourmet breakfast, lunch and evening delights. Open daily from 5:30 a.m. "10 p.m.
I-Bar
the resorts main lobby bar serving the best martinis and cocktails in a contemporary setting. Open daily from 11 a.m. "2 a.m. Also serving local cuisine specialties
Aqua Bar & Grill
light lunch fare and your favorite tropical cocktails. Open 11 a.m."6:30 p.m weekdays and 11 a.m."8:30 p.m weekends.
Ciao Mediterranean Caf
Authentic Mediterranean cuisine offered in an oceanfront setting. Open daily 11 a.m."11:30 p.m.
Momoyama
Traditional Japanese cuisine with Teppanyaki tables and Sushi Bar. Open Monday through Friday from 12 p.m. "3 p.m. and 5 p.m. "10:30 p.m. and Saturday and Sunday from 5 p.m. "10:30 p.m.
Ruths Chris Steak House
open daily 6 p.m.- 10:30 p.m.
Trattoria Italiana
the resorts signature Italian restaurant. Open daily for breakfast from 6:30a.m. - 12 p.m. Dinner from 6 p.m."11 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (541)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental San Juan

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
541 out of 541
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sparlington
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 1, 2014

Nice Stay

I traveled to PR alone and stayed at the Intercontinental Hotel. Pros: - Beach location is perfect extremely nice - Nice pool area - the bar by the beach has good food and drinks Cons: - Must have money for a cab because of the limited food selections at the hotel - The pool area is nice however there should be a cut off at night for unsupervised kids (18 and under) - the mattress in the room was a little too firm for my taste - Breakfast buffet really expensive $27 but decent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Budget for Cab fares. Condado area has tons of restaurants and shopping verse Isle Verde so you will want to go there. Once there you can walk shop and eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pat Dad
Business
New York
Jul 29, 2014

Family getaway

Very good. Comfortable. Nice beach and good surroundings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheGeneral
Business
Long Island, New York
Jul 25, 2014

Great for the money

This hotel was perfect for a couple looking for a nice relaxing getaway. My wife and I had a great experience and we enjoyed all that the hotel had to offer. There were some restaurants on site that were pretty good as well. All of the staff was friendly. The only issue was with the elevators. They were being renovated so it was a long wait. This is obviously only a temporary issue. Overall, pretty great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Raices in Old San Juan

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Adventurer 43
Business
High Point, NC
Jun 29, 2014

Great summer getaway

The hotel was great, right on the beach. The staff was very helpful and very willing to help to get you where you want to go. The food was good with a lot of different options. Will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many ways to save some money through dinning and drinks if you just walk to some of the local shops outside the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Florida girl 12
Business
Durham, NC
Jun 24, 2014

Great price, fantastic staff

The hotel is clean, organized, and well run. When we arrived, there was a problem with our reservation due to this website and the manager instead gave us a room in a higher price range at no extra cost. Everyone who works there is kind and happy. They remembered us every time we walked by, and helped us with anything and everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The club next door is great - you can get in for free if you speak with the Intercontinental's doorman

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ron58
Business
Prattville, Alabama
Jun 21, 2014

Vacation with friends

We had been to Puerto Rico three times over the last year and a half. We have always had a great time so, this time we invited friends to go along with us. We once again had a wonderful time with the location and activities that we have learn to enjoy while being in San Juan. We took one full day to enjoy the beautiful pool area, however, we were unable to use our electronic devices due to the weak wi-fi signal in the pool area. Being in sales I have to stay in touch with customers even while on vacation. The hotel staff and tech assistance staff were unconcerned even though we had paid a resort fee to cover the wi-fi signal. After speaking with staff about the problem I was transferred (on a house phone) for assistance, after being left on hold for several minutes,I was prompted to leave a voice message. No one ever got back with me. The next day I had a little problem and spoke with guest services and was offered complimentary breakfast but even then no one contacted me concerning the media problem. It is a beautiful resort but lacking somewhat in guest services. There is another 4 star resort (where we have stayed before)in the area and next time I feel we will use it where they are a little more customer obliging.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Happy hour at Ruth's Chris Steak House is outstanding. The steak sandwich with fries is second to none.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kitthree
Business
Atlanta Ga.
Jun 18, 2014

nice thre days of fun

hotel was nice and clean. we had a ocean view room on the 12th floor. we had no problem with anything in that room. the t.v. went out for cable a little bit. I had a fall going out to the pool on the lower floor. just a little hurt. just need to make sure water is clean up there. over all lots of fun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Coach store.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Worldwide beach lover
Business
Atlanta, ga
Jun 18, 2014

1 year Anniversary trip

The hotel was nice! I loved the immediate beach access. We had a few minor problems, the first day the elevators were down, only one was operating. The second day our television was out for the evening, the hotel said it was some type of electrical issue. And the third day we were awakened at 8am with some loud construction noises. That lasted for about 2hours. But overall the hotel was nice and clean. The 24 hour pool was a definite plus. The cafe right on the beach had good fresh food and good frozen drinks. And the jet ski rental was in close proximity. There was also a Ruth Chris on the property, which always surpasses my food expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
traci76
Business
Elkridge, MD, USA
Jun 16, 2014

Great short vacation! !

Hotel is very comfortable with a very friendly and helpful staff! Location is super on the beach! Pool is very refreshing! ! We have taken friends here and will definitely be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Njtomboi
Business
Trenton Nj
Jun 16, 2014

Great birthday trip for my girlfriend

This hotel was very nice.The staff was helpful. The food was everything.The room was very clean even my view wasn't the greatest but overall we will go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

There are three different places to eat and dance in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top