$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 14, 2014 Check-out: Oct 17, 2014

Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

2 stars
4820 Isla Verde Ave, Rt 36 W Exit 37, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
83 reviews
Nice hotel

The staff was terrific. There was a problem with the shower head and they moved us to a better... See full review

  • dadlenn
  • Aug 16, 2014
very good, great family time

Very nice place quiet and affordable for family getaway. Just steps to the best portion of Isla... See full review

  • Gordous
  • Jul 4, 2014
San Juan hotel offers fun and comfort near Isla Verde Beach
The lofty lobby at the Howard Johnson Isla Verde is drenched in Caribbean sunshine via floor-to-ceiling windows. The spacious lobby is overflowing with plants and couches that overlook the hotel's waterfall and huge outdoor swimming pool, lined with comfortable lounge chairs. This nine-story building has views of Isla Verde Beach across the street. Two on-site restaurants offer a variety of palate-pleasing options. The Howard Johnson Isla Verde's rooms are spacious and contemporary and are equipped with free high-speed Internet.
Highlights
  • Two on-site restaurants
  • Nearby white sands of Isla Verde Beach
  • Large pool with waterfall
  • Convenient to Luis Munoz Marin International Airport
Rooms

The 115 rooms at the Howard Johnson Isla Verde are decorated in calm, cool colors with wooden headboards, large bureaus, attractive lamps and colorful throw pillows. They're also equipped with a desk, ergonomic chair and free high-speed Internet access. Bathrooms are bright with tropical shower curtains. Balconies with ocean views are available upon request on executive floors.

 

Features

The Howard Johnson Isla Verde is a Gold Medal Award Property. Self parking is available for a fee.

Dining

There are several on-site dining options at the Howard Johnson Isla Verde. Faccio Pizza is known for its slices and also offers pasta dishes and calzones for lunch and dinner. Fontana di Roman serves northern Italian fare on the top floor of the hotel. It is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Recreation

Howard Johnson Isla Verde has a pool with a waterfall. Isla Verde Beach, one of Puerto's finest stretches of sand, is right across the street. The fitness center is free of charge.

Transportation
  • Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
Attractions
  • Isla Verde Beach (0.1 mi/.2 km)
  • Museum of Art of Puerto Rico (3.4 mi/5.4 km)
  • Condado Lagoon (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Fort San Cristobal (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (6.8 mi/11 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (6.8 mi/11 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet access throughout hotel
Policies & fees
Continental breakfast is served from 6:30 to 9:30am.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4435 -66.0274
Area served
Isla Verde, Carolina, Old San Juan, Hato Rey, Rio Piedras, Rio Grande, Canovanas, Guaynabo, Bayamon.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) - Estimate driving time - five minutes.
Area description
Located in Isla Verde " San Juans premier beach destination that offers a variety of amenities. With easy access to the beautiful beach for water sports and more, our island hotel is a smart choice for your next family vacation, business trip or romantic escape to the Caribbean.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina Rooms

Standard
Standard accommodation with 1 King or 2 Double Beds non-smoking room " WIFI " Refrigerator and Microwave
Executive Room
Executive Efficiency with 1 King or 2 Double Beds non-smoking room " WIFI " Refrigerator and Microwave

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 2.7 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 2.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 3.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.4 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 5.6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 5.7 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 5.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 2.7 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 2.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 3.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.4 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 5.6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 5.7 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 5.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.2 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 6.9 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.1 mi

Dining

Faccio Pizza
A family-style restaurant located on the first floor of the hotel, Faccio Pizza provides a tantalizing array of fresh pasta dishes, hot pizzas, cheesy calzones, green salads, desserts and more. With a wide selection of local beers and international brews, our San Juan restaurant also offers a variety of tropical drinks including our signature sangria, a refreshing blend of red wine and fruit juices.
SALT Gastrobar
Exquisite modernist cuisine combined with innovative luxury cocktails in a vibrantly chic atmosphere, creating the perfect setting to enjoy the simple pleasure of sharing. Sunday Brunch available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bay Area, CA
Jan 17, 2011

Lowsy customer service and hotel

I recently came back from my annual trip to the island and ended up staying at the Howard Johnson for the first time, mainly because of its location and the lack of choices due to the season. Overall, the hotel had nice facilities including the lobby, pool and restrooms which seemed to have gone through renovation. Customer service at check in was average. My room was clean and had the basic amenities but some of the facilities were in much need of repair and renovation including a loose toilet that moved every time you sat on it and A/C system that could not be regulated and a leak from one of the vents that left a big spot on the carpet wet. The corridor carpets had major stains and a strong rotten odor lived in the hallways. What really made me upset was the fact that I woke up one night with the smell of cigarettes. When I complained with the front desk, they apologized for not being able to do anything at that time of the night but offered to leave a message with the manager. The following evening was a sequel. This time when I called, the front desk staff apologized by saying that "no one should be smoking in the hotel as it was a smoke-free property" and then said, "well, but every one does it anyway and there's no way to control it". He then told me he would send a couple of security guards to inspect the floor. By the way, there was letter from management in my room indicating that the hotel was smoke-free facility and any violators would be fined. I gave up and knew it was senseless to even complain. Throughout the rest of my stay or at check out, no one apologized or followed up on my complaints. The hotel fees were high for what I got in exchange and I could have stayed at a different property and pay same amount for a completely different pleasant experience as I have had in prior years. I would not stay there again or recommend it to anybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fbazo
Business
San Jose, Costa Rica
Nov 19, 2012

Needs more work

The Hotel is conveniently located, they recently renovated but only minor details like lamps and mirrors. The doors look really used, the walls are not well painted. The worst part was the smell, the pillows and sheets smelled used (Terrible!!), we had to ask for replacements and the new ones also smelled funny, it was disgusting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Eagan,MN
Feb 22, 2011

Unclean, none working TV, No cold water

We arrived at the hotel at 11:45 pm and we were given a room that hadn't been cleaned. There was a day old pizza box on the dresser with trash on the floor and the bathroom hadn't been cleaned. We went to front desk and they gave us another room it smelled but at 12:oo am in the morning what could we do? The TV in the room didn't work and worse no cold water in the bathroom sink. [...]should remove them from their list of hotels! The sheets on the bed were so old they were discolored from washing. The continental breakfast area was shabby, the food selection was quite limited and there was no one in attendance to restock food items.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
leebmon
Chicago
Jan 4, 2010

Awful

Pros: -Good location Cons: -Not very clean -Room had no windows -Out dated -Staff not very friendly -The free breakfast was a joke, my wife and I ended up leaving after waiting 20 minutes for toast and OJ.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wont' be staying there again.
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 7, 2009

Lower than a Motel 6

This is a REALLY BAD HOTEL! If you have a rental car they charge you $6.75 per day to park it in THEIR PARKING LOT! The restaurant on the 10th floor is a RIP OFF! I ordered the same breakfast for 4 days and the price varied from $5.46 to $11.97. One day the coffee was free refills and the next day their not. Same for the soda and orange juice. Staff was not friendly. The beach was across the street. That's it. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY AND TIME HERE!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dissatisfied Vacationer
Houston, TX
Jul 21, 2009

Don't lodge here!!!!

Hotel is very old and needs maintenance and upgrades. Rooms were very unclean, contained mildew Sheets were not changed and maids entered the room without notice Food was very expensive. Continental breakfast was provided, but it was one muffin/croissant and a small coffee. Would not recommend staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Snorkelling/boat service, 30 mins away for a good price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA.
Nov 15, 2009

Sabby, but not chic

The location is accessible to Old San Juan and walking distance to the beach. The hotel is in need for serious updates. The first room we were in smelled like mild dew.The furniture looked like 70's throw back and I felt like I was in the projects. Our room was changed to a healthier smelling room. If your just looking for a place to lay your head, but plan on spending little time in your room, then I guess you'll be ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
olga rafael
miramar florida
Sep 9, 2012

getaway

we did not have hot water for two nights for the money is not bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
caty
York PA
Oct 16, 2011

no that good

room was ok cleaned very good,parking pay more because they rent the space for somevary else and is 6.95more dollar a day and space is little.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

they have a restaurant call Bebos spanish food cheap and very very good,from hotel is strait drive go and comeback to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NPSH
Business
Mississippi
Jul 20, 2014

not worth the price

Staff was helpfully but room was poor and quite small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search