$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

2 stars
View map of 4820 Isla Verde Ave, Rt 36 W Exit 37, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
101 out of 101
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cubiche
Business
Elizabeth, NJ
Jul 28, 2010

Great Location!

We arrived in San Juan in the middle of an onslaught of rain and as a result spent a good amount of time at the Howard Johnson which accommodated us well. [...]the staff was friendly and helpful. Our 8th floor room was perfect for a young couple on a small vacation, and we had a great view to the beach across the street. The hotel is in a great location, surrounded by various local restaurants, including an Italian-style eatery (Faccio Pizza) at the hotel lobby, it is a short walk from casinos, not to mention right across the street from the beach. The bus stops next to the hotel, allowing easy travel throughout San Juan, and if you don't like busses there are a couple of car rental places down the block (make reservations). If you want to stock up your miniature fridge in the room, you can always head to Walgreens or local supermarkets nearby. It seems that most people in San Juan are friendly and willing to help if you have a question. The stay at the Howard Johnson was definitely a memorable one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you have a chance, I suggest you rent a car and head about 40 minutes east to the province of Fajardo and take the ferry to Culebra, a beautiful island where you can snorkel or enjoy the white sands and clear blue water of Playa Flamenco.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cubiche
Business
Elizabeth, NJ
Jul 28, 2010

Great Location!

We arrived in San Juan in the middle of an onslaught of rain and as a result spent a good amount of time at the Howard Johnson which accommodated us well. [...]the staff was friendly and helpful. Our 8th floor room was perfect for a young couple on a small vacation, and we had a great view to the beach across the street. The hotel is in a great location, surrounded by various local restaurants, including an Italian-style eatery (Faccio Pizza) at the hotel lobby, it is a short walk from casinos, not to mention right across the street from the beach. The bus stops next to the hotel, allowing easy travel throughout San Juan, and if you don't like busses there are a couple of car rental places down the block (make reservations). If you want to stock up your miniature fridge in the room, you can always head to Walgreens or local supermarkets nearby. It seems that most people in San Juan are friendly and willing to help if you have a question. The stay at the Howard Johnson was definitely a memorable one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you have a chance, I suggest you rent a car and head about 40 minutes east to the province of Fajardo and take the ferry to Culebra, a beautiful island where you can snorkel or enjoy the white sands and clear blue water of Playa Flamenco.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jun 24, 2010

Fairly Good for the PRICE

Rooms were simple and clean with the exception of the bathroom where there was mold on the ceiling. Restaurant was closed but available for simple continental breakfast. Windows do need cleaning throughout (specially in th e10th floor restaurant)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike X
Business
San Juan, PR
May 17, 2010

Is decent for the price.

The beach is like 2 min walk so good location. Decent hotel, good for the price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Newly Wed Steph
Business
Owatonna, MN
May 10, 2010

Good location

I stayed there with my husband, as our honeymoon. It was great that the beach was just right across the street. We were there for about a week. I would've liked a bigger continental breakfast other than just toast, cereal, a muffin and coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Slickster
Business
Orlando, Fl
May 2, 2010

Well worth the stay

Great location great price good food, Excelent restaurant view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Romulus, Mi
Apr 20, 2010

Nice place to cool down after a cruise.

We used the hotel as a lay over between our cruise the the flight home. The cost was concern, and the price was right. There was shopping in walking distance, which fill our needs for food and other items.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jerrel Penn/Truckman
Business
St. John, Virigin Islands
Mar 15, 2010

Unbeatable Location for the price

I did a lot of shopping and site seeing. More movie channels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandma Eileen
Business
Bronx, NY
Jan 15, 2010

three generations of girls getaway

The physical plant of the hotel was somewhat dated, but the staff was wonderful. The restaurant was terrific. It would be recommended that a computer center be available for hotel guests. We really enjoyed the trip. My granddaughter loved the pool and the beach (Less than a block away) was great. We did have to rent chairs and an umbrella at the beach each day. Perhaps, some arrangement to reduce costs of that would be a good idea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The 10th floor restaurant staff were delightful on the first two days (1/12/10 and 1/13/10). They treated my 4 year old granddaughter like a princess and she loved it. They even brought her to the kitchen to introduce her to the chef. On the final evening there (11/14/10), our waiter was not very warm or accommodating. The food was terrific. Eileen in NYC

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
leebmon
Business
Chicago
Jan 4, 2010

Awful

Pros: -Good location Cons: -Not very clean -Room had no windows -Out dated -Staff not very friendly -The free breakfast was a joke, my wife and I ended up leaving after waiting 20 minutes for toast and OJ.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top