$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 5, 2015

Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

2 stars
View map of 4820 Isla Verde Ave, Rt 36 W Exit 37, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
berkeley, CA
Mar 25, 2011

Good for college kids

Good hotel for college spring break kids - not too expensive, but good enough for ppl on a budget. Really nice staff and good service. Really close to the beach and in middle of touristy area. Didn't really use the features in hotel (ie swimming pool). It was more for a place to stay and spent most of the time outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern New Jersey
Mar 11, 2011

Great hotel for the value

The hotel has excellent location right across the street from gorgeous beach in Isla Verde. The upscale hotels are just a few blocks away with nice restaurants but there are also plenty of fast food and moderately priced places like Ponderosa Steak House or Wendy's within walking distance. We had rented car and drove to Old San Juan and El Condado without any difficulties. The free breakfast was adequate with coffee, juices, bread, muffins and some fruit. The view from the breakfast room is simply amazing. The double room was pretty small and the furnishings dated but it was very clean and completely quiet. We felt very safe even when went out at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Rent a beach chair and umbrella for a very modest price (rental fee covers the whole day) from the guys located outside the Intercontinental Hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eagan,MN
Feb 22, 2011

Unclean, none working TV, No cold water

We arrived at the hotel at 11:45 pm and we were given a room that hadn't been cleaned. There was a day old pizza box on the dresser with trash on the floor and the bathroom hadn't been cleaned. We went to front desk and they gave us another room it smelled but at 12:oo am in the morning what could we do? The TV in the room didn't work and worse no cold water in the bathroom sink. [...]should remove them from their list of hotels! The sheets on the bed were so old they were discolored from washing. The continental breakfast area was shabby, the food selection was quite limited and there was no one in attendance to restock food items.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bay Area, CA
Jan 17, 2011

Lowsy customer service and hotel

I recently came back from my annual trip to the island and ended up staying at the Howard Johnson for the first time, mainly because of its location and the lack of choices due to the season. Overall, the hotel had nice facilities including the lobby, pool and restrooms which seemed to have gone through renovation. Customer service at check in was average. My room was clean and had the basic amenities but some of the facilities were in much need of repair and renovation including a loose toilet that moved every time you sat on it and A/C system that could not be regulated and a leak from one of the vents that left a big spot on the carpet wet. The corridor carpets had major stains and a strong rotten odor lived in the hallways. What really made me upset was the fact that I woke up one night with the smell of cigarettes. When I complained with the front desk, they apologized for not being able to do anything at that time of the night but offered to leave a message with the manager. The following evening was a sequel. This time when I called, the front desk staff apologized by saying that "no one should be smoking in the hotel as it was a smoke-free property" and then said, "well, but every one does it anyway and there's no way to control it". He then told me he would send a couple of security guards to inspect the floor. By the way, there was letter from management in my room indicating that the hotel was smoke-free facility and any violators would be fined. I gave up and knew it was senseless to even complain. Throughout the rest of my stay or at check out, no one apologized or followed up on my complaints. The hotel fees were high for what I got in exchange and I could have stayed at a different property and pay same amount for a completely different pleasant experience as I have had in prior years. I would not stay there again or recommend it to anybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bay Area, CA
Jan 17, 2011

Lowsy customer service and hotel

I recently came back from my annual trip to the island and ended up staying at the Howard Johnson for the first time, mainly because of its location and the lack of choices due to the season. Overall, the hotel had nice facilities including the lobby, pool and restrooms which seemed to have gone through renovation. Customer service at check in was average. My room was clean and had the basic amenities but some of the facilities were in much need of repair and renovation including a loose toilet that moved every time you sat on it and A/C system that could not be regulated and a leak from one of the vents that left a big spot on the carpet wet. The corridor carpets had major stains and a strong rotten odor lived in the hallways. What really made me upset was the fact that I woke up one night with the smell of cigarettes. When I complained with the front desk, they apologized for not being able to do anything at that time of the night but offered to leave a message with the manager. The following evening was a sequel. This time when I called, the front desk staff apologized by saying that "no one should be smoking in the hotel as it was a smoke-free property" and then said, "well, but every one does it anyway and there's no way to control it". He then told me he would send a couple of security guards to inspect the floor. By the way, there was letter from management in my room indicating that the hotel was smoke-free facility and any violators would be fined. I gave up and knew it was senseless to even complain. Throughout the rest of my stay or at check out, no one apologized or followed up on my complaints. The hotel fees were high for what I got in exchange and I could have stayed at a different property and pay same amount for a completely different pleasant experience as I have had in prior years. I would not stay there again or recommend it to anybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Jan 5, 2011

A little deceived

The hotel location is great! However, although it was supposed to be garanteed, they did not have a smoking room on my arrival. Next day I was changed to a room with a porch. The porch was dirty. During my stay, (seven days) the porch was never cleaned. The toilet sometimes did not flush. The hair drayer did not work, had to request another. The light in my porch did not work, and was never fixed during my stay. Otherwise, it was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 3, 2011

Nice hotel, pool n 2 min walk to beach

The hotel has a nice swimming pool, clean rooms, linen. It was conveniently located on ave. Isla Verde, so walking distance to multiple eating places. Good price, the hotel has breakfast place on 10th floor with good view of sea. Would have been better if it had the beach in the backyard, but that's just a wish, coz can't be unreasonable for the price it offers. Only dowside that we encountered is too much strong airspray smell in lobbies outside the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Morgantown, WV
Dec 18, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

Our room was without remote for the TV and it was provided and updated. The beds were comfortable and the internet access was excellent. We needed a taxi one day and it was called and arrived. Complimentary breakfast was limited to cereal, milk, fruit, toast, muffins, danish, plus 2 juices, coffee- all very well prepared and presented. Front desk was available to give me directions to shopping sites I needed. The swimming pool was a most gratifying plus. Nobody was swimming on Carolina Beach and I suspect there's an undertow. Well, enjoy! Bill

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant right next door to the right has Puerto Rican specialities at a very nominal price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mayaguez, P.R.
Dec 4, 2010

Not too bad for the cost

Nice employees, stinky smoking room, too darn cold at arrival, parking good, one night w/o hot water because boiler was down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice Caribbean restaurant next door to the hotel. Huge meals, low prices, good service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
santo domingo
Nov 29, 2010

everything worked out just fine

location is good; room was nice and clean; breakfast was just fine...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top