$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 15, 2015

Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

2 stars
View map of 4820 Isla Verde Ave, Rt 36 W Exit 37, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
101 out of 101
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Branch
Jun 9, 2008

family friendly

Great location the staff was friendly and courtious. The restaurants were fabulous and the pool was very clean.I plan to visit again. The only thing I did not like was the limited view from my window.The window was very small and it gives a clostrophobic feeling. Good thing we were always on the go as vacations should be. I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. The old san juan hotel is also within walking distance and they have a great nightlife and casino.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 3, 2008

Very helpful Staff

The staff at the hotel were very helpful. They allowed for early check in and had storage for the bags since we left late at night. They also were very prompt about helping to fix the room key issue. The bathroom is tiny, but the rest of the room is very spacious and makes up for the small bathroom. The pool was small, but very relaxing. My only complaint is the breakfast. You only get juice and/or a croissant/muffin for free. Otherwise you get $2 off of your breakfast. Overall a great hotel with PRIME beach location for the price. I think the hotel staff definitely made up for the price of breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

beach, Walgreen's, several upscale clubs, and restaraunts

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wilfredo
Business
Newark, NJ
Dec 8, 2007

Comfortable good location

The Howard was confortable clean and in a great location was great for what I needed for my stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is a short walk away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wilfredo
Business
Newark, NJ
Dec 8, 2007

Comfortable good location

The Howard was confortable clean and in a great location was great for what I needed for my stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is a short walk away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Sep 26, 2007

We'll be back

Expectations were met, helpful staff, clean, affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beautiful beach, many places to explore.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 19, 2007

Everything you need!

The location of this Howard Johnson was great. Very close to the airport, but I never heard the jets overhead. It was very convenient to restaurants and stores to pick up some needed things. Also very accessible to the interstate. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The only bad was the continental breakfast. Basically it was toast and coffee or a couple of dollars of the menu items. I was a little disappointed there, but all in all, I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Next door was a burger king, and within a mile were at least 20 other restaurants. Also, the pizza place in the lobby of the hotel is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 4, 2007

Clean Rooms and Restful Night Sleep

The Howard Johnson in San Juan was very clean. The rooms where big and spacious, plenty of towels and coffee. Very close to the airport and the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Apr 24, 2007

Good Hotel

Would recomend to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Fun local clubs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Apr 24, 2007

Good Hotel

Would recomend to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Fun local clubs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Isla Verde - Carolina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mocha's Mom
Business
New York, NY
Apr 22, 2007

Ver friendly

It was the first time I stay in this hotel. When we arrieved all the satff provided us with the best in formation about all location around the area. I am thinking to go back to PR for a weekend very soon. I hope I could get a good rate in the same hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top