$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Hotel Plaza De Armas

2 stars
202 San Jose St, San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
146 reviews
Great value in Old San Juan

Get a Suite if you can. 4th floor has walk out patios. Wonderful staff, very helpful. Slow elevator... See full review

  • Baseball Fanatic
  • Mar 13, 2013
location, location

perfect location close to everything old san juan, great ac in room and friendly helpful staff half... See full review

  • cowboy j
  • Jun 30, 2014
Hotel with historic setting and location in the heart of San Juan

The Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the heart of Old San Juan. The coveted location on the Plaza de Armas in the historic quarter is on the same stretch as the San Juan Cathedral and city hall. The blue cobblestone streets of the old city sprawl out in every direction and world-class shopping, dining and entertainment abounds. The hotel's Spanish colonial-inspired lounge is decorated in rich red and gold with warm lighting, leather couches and a bar area.

Highlights
  • Located at the epicenter of Old San Juan
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Classy lounge with bar
Rooms

The 30 rooms at the Hotel Plaza De Armas are wrapped around a spacious inner courtyard. They're clean and modest with simple touches such as wood wardrobes, headboards and nightstands, and stainless steel lamps. All rooms have clock radios, coffeemakers, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, in-room safe and a television with cable. Suites have floor-to-ceiling shutters that open for views of the cobblestone streets. Some suites have small refrigerators and sofa beds. The modest standard rooms have no windows. Suites have windows overlooking the historic district. The Hotel Plaza De Armas has high-speed Internet access.

Dining

The simple, on-site bistro is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Transportation

Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (7.5 mi/12 km)

Attractions
  • Cathedral of San Juan Bautista (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • La Fortaleza (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Cruise ship piers (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Condado district (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Isla Verde Beach (6.8 mi/11 km)
Business
  • Copying, faxing
  • High-speed Internet access hotel-wide
Policies & fees
  • A valid credit card is required upon check-in for reservation and room fees. A $50.00 USD deposit per room is also required.
  • Minimum check-in age per room is 21. An adult must be present per room and is required to provide a government-issued photo ID.
  • Check-in starts at 3:00 p.m. Request for check-in between 11:00 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. is subject to availability. Check-in earlier than 11:00 a.m. incurs an additional $50.00 USD per room and is subject to availability.
  • Check-out is at 12:00 p.m. Request for late check-out from 12:01 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. incurs a $40.00 USD fee per room and is subject to availability. Check-out after 3:00 p.m. incurs an additional night stay per room and is subject to availability.
  • If traveling with guests in need of accessible facilities, please inform the hotel prior to making reservation.
  • Pets are not allowed. A $ 250.00 USD penalty fee will be charged for any violation. Smoking is likewise prohibited. Same fee applies.
  • Extra person charges apply and depend on availability and hotel policy.
  • All fees are charged and collected by the hotel either at check-in or check-out. Fees may not include tax and are subject to change.
  • Rollaway beds are not available. Guests are not allowed to bring their own for security purposes.
  • The hotel has no designated parking. There are public parking lots within walking distance.
  • A $3 per person per night municipal tax is added to bill.
  • The hotel does not have a pool.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Plaza De Armas Rooms

Interior Queen Bed
Located on floors 1-4. One Queen Bed. No windows, Desk, Cable/Satellite TV, Hair Dryer, Iron/Ironing board, In-room Safe, Air Conditioning and Free High Speed Internet in common areas.
Interior Single Bed, NO WINDOW
Located on floors 1-4, One Single Bed. No windows, Desk, Cable/Satellite TV, Hair Dryer, Iron/Ironing board,In-room Safe, Air Conditioning and Free High Speed Internet in common areas.
Suite King Bed. Window with Plaza View
Located on Floors 2-4, One King Bed Desk, Cable/Satellite TV, Hair Dryer, Iron/Ironing board, In-room Safe, Air Conditioning and Free High Speed Internet in common areas.
Suite King & Single Bed. Window with Plaza View
Located on Floors 2. One King Bed & One Single Bed Colonial Spanish-Style Ambience. May include Sofa Bed, Cable TV, Hair Dryer, Iron/Ironing Board, Air Conditioning and Free High Speed Internet.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Plaza De Armas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4652 -66.1172
Area served
San Jos St. 202, Old San Juan, Puerto Rico 00901
Nearby airports
SJU - San Juan International Airport code.
Area description
Located in the heart of Old San Juan, we are right next to the Department of State and we have taxi line just in front and a trolley stop right outside our door.

Nearby points of interest

  • Plaza de Armas: 0.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.4 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.4 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.3 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 6 mi
  • Isla Verde: 6.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.5 mi

Dining

SOFO District (South of Fortaleza Street)
Near the center of the culinary district sofo - south of Fortaleza Street - where some of the greatest restaurants and bars of the island are located.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (146)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Plaza De Armas

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 146
Amenities:
2.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.1

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Minoobie
Baltimore, MD, USA
May 21, 2014

Basic room, central to all the sights of Old San Juan

We booked this hotel room for one night in a pinch. It is set in a utilitarian building, many rooms do not have windows, but just the basics. The room was clean, the AC worked well, and you receive the value of its discounted price. Our room card key often required a dozen swipes to function...These little details matter far less when you realize you are steps from all the shops, cafes, and restaurants Old San Juan has to offer. Park you belongings here and plan to take your vacation to the cobble stone streets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Find the guy with the shaved ice cart. Ask for Tamarindo and Crema. A little tart a little sweet, you will not be disppointed.

Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
angel.omar.g
Puerto Rico
May 5, 2014

Old San Juan Weekend

The hotel staff very kind, the location is great to enjoy all Old San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Coach Factory, Ben and Jerry's, Casa Cortes

Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Santa Zhang
New York, NY
Apr 23, 2014

Worth the money, will recommend to friends!

The location is very very good. Plaza de Armas used to be the central plaza of Old San Juan. You will reach most restaurants and gift shops in less than 5 minutes. The rooms are not very good, but consider it having 200 years of history it's good value. Notably, the staff are wonderful, just ask them whenever you have any problem. One notice: do not choose the rooms with balcony, it's freaking noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not impressed1
Hartford, Connecticut
Mar 23, 2014

Hotel needs to be worked on

How should i start, i hope everyone would read this before booking and think twice about staying in this hotel,otherwise you will regret it just like i did. There is no type of security inside the hotel or even in your own room (so make sure to pull/push the door in/out for it lock) also the "privacy lock" Doesn't work at ALL or been broken off! Anyone could just walk in the hotel (since they dont ask or remember who is staying), check the doors , and who knows what happens from there. The rooms are not cleaned, i repeat, the rooms are not being cleaned. Which means that you could be sleepin in the same sheets from the last guest (how do i know? Its dirty with hair n etc..) especially, the bathrooms, u literally need to shower with slippers because it seems like it hasnt been cleaned in months or years that it is turning black and theres other people hair all over the bathroom. There are also pieces of food/molds/hair on the walls. The non-noise was a Lie, i stood in two different rooms one with windows and one without, you would still hear loud noises. Also i noticed that not all the electrical things in the room would work (tv,blowdryer,safe, n etc). Last, there is a window top of the door in your room, well guess what? If someone was standing on the next floor across your room, that person is able to see inside your room clearly. This hotel is in a good location, but staying there is not worth it. What makes it even worse is that my parent stood at a different hotel from me paid way less than i did, and was provided with wayy better experiences w/ free breakfast. Out of all the motels/hotels I stood in , I was very disappointed with this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aaponte
Trijullo Alto
Jan 3, 2014

old sj experience

Quiet, calm,relaxing and historic experience on the old san juan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Barrachina restaurant, home of the pina colada

Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lina7
Cabo Rojo, Puerto Rico
Jul 16, 2013

Great value

If you are on a budget and want an hotel near everything in San Juan this is the place you should stay. This is my second time at the hotel and i am looking forward to come back soon. You won't find luxuries, pool or amenities inside the hotel but it doesn't matter cause Old San Juan has plenty of atractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dinning options near the hotel: old harbor brewery (great mofongo and local craft beers), Fefo's (good trifongo), Raices rest. (Delicious local food and the best piña colada),

Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Honeymoon Vacation Cruise
Wisconsin
Jun 2, 2013

One night stay after Carnival Cruise 2 couples 2 rooms

Close to where the cruise ship is and at the center of everything in old san juan. If you have luggage, you should take a cab from the ship to the hotel. It is a very very old place, I wouldn't even call it a hotel. I've never been to a hotel like this before because it just wasn't a hotel. Elevator was scary because it almost wasn't automatic and you had to pull the elevator doors closed yourself. We didn't even know it was an elevator until we saw someone came out of it. Haha. I had to try not to have so many lights on or use too many electric plugs at the same time because the electricity did go out for a few minutes. Room and table had a lot of weird stains but the bedsheets looks pretty clean. I am cheap when it comes to hotel because I just need a bed and shower on vacation but this is just different. I had to have my sandals on at all time inside the room. I would not stay at this place more than one night and I do not recommend renting a car in san juan because the streets are so narrow it barely fit one car at a time and it took us 2 hrs and yet FAILED just looking for a parking space over night therefore we took the car back. Most of the streets are not even label so you can't really tell where you are on the map :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ronces
San Jose, CA, USA
Mar 27, 2012

It's a shame

What a shame to have such a beautiful and historical place loosing its charm. The night staff was ok, and the morning staff was not very friendly either. They even got defensive when we complained about the bad elevator. The room smelled like mold and it was very noisy at night. They used to have a complimentary breakfast, but now they only had a coffee maker in the bedroom without any coffee to make. I stayed in this hotel before it became a Howard Johnson and it was pretty decent, but this time we were very dissapointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ferny
Sunrise, FL, USA
Nov 1, 2011

couple getaway

Bad experience.No elevator.no internet.no tellephone in room.Only 4 TV chanel,no remote control.No parking space.Balconi (broken door.)Lot of noise coming from the sreet all night ,could`nt sleep.Bathroom disgusting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

G.P.S very helfull

Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
unpleased guest
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Sep 9, 2011

not a good hotel

The hotel was in a great location. Because we went on a cruise and the ship was very close walking distance, which was great. The hotel it self sucked because the elevator was not and has not been working for many months. We had to pull our heavy suit case all the way up to the third floor. The stair case was very small. The room was ok. I will not recommend this hotel to no one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top