$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 12, 2014 Check-out: Nov 14, 2014

Hotel Plaza De Armas

2 stars
202 San Jose St, San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
88 reviews
good

Great hotel, staff nice and friendly, great location and restaurants near by. The room was too... See full review

  • Y eye
  • Sep 15, 2014
location, location

perfect location close to everything old san juan, great ac in room and friendly helpful staff half... See full review

  • cowboy j
  • Jun 30, 2014
Hotel with historic setting and location in the heart of San Juan
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan is for travelers looking to be in the heart of Old San Juan. The hotel is in a coveted location in the historic quarter. The Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture.

A completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts guests mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, museums, art galleries, restaurants and world-class shopping. From its uniquely Spanish-colonial architecture to its comforting in-room amenities, the Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan offers visitors a seamless blend of Old World charm and New World elegance.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi access in lobby and atrium
  • Le Sucree Pastry Boutique inside the Hotel
  • Discounts at nearby restaurants
Rooms
The 50 rooms at the Hotel Plaza De Armas are wrapped around a spacious inner courtyard where patrons can seat to use Wi-Fi access. All units are clean and modest with simple touches such as wood wardrobes, headboards and nightstands, and stainless steel lamps. The rooms have clock radios, iron and ironing board, hairdryer and a television with cable. Suites have windows overlooking the historic district and  floor-to-ceiling shutters that open to street views. Some suites have small refrigerators and sofa sleepers. The modest standard rooms have no windows. The Hotel Plaza De Armas has high-speed Internet access in public areas (lobby & atrium).
Dining
The simple, on-site bistro is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Transportation
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (7.5 mi/12 km)
Attractions
  • Cathedral of San Juan Bautista (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • La Fortaleza (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Cruise ship piers (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Condado district (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Isla Verde Beach (6.8 mi/11 km)
Business
  • Copying, faxing
  • High-speed Internet access in lobby and atrium
Policies & fees

  • Extra-person charges apply and vary depending on availability and hotel policy.
  • For special accessibility needs like accessible path of travel, accessible bathroom, roll-in shower, in-room accessibility or other, please contact property before making the reservation.
  • Hotel requires government-issued photo identification per each adult.
  • A valid credit card is always required at check-in to process the reservation, all room fees and a $50.00 deposit per room.
  • Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and will incur in additional charges to your room fees. 
  • Pets are not allowed. A USD$ 250.00 penalty fee will be charged for any violation of this policy.
  • Hotel Plaza de Armas is a non-smoking hotel. A USD$ 250.00 cleaning fee will be charged for smoking in the room or public areas.
  • Check-in time starts at: 3:00 PM. Special request for early check-in between 11:00 AM and 2:59 PM will be subject to availability. Special request for Check-in earlier than 11:00 AM will charge an additional USD$50.00 per room and will be subject to availability.
  • Check-out time is at 12 Noon. Special request for late check-out from 12:01 PM to 3:00 PM may be subject to availability and a USD$40.00 late check-out fee per room will be charged. Special request for check-out after 3 PM will be charged an additional night stay per room and will be subject to availability.
  • There are no rollaway beds available and for security, guests can not bring their own.
  • Minimum check-in age per room is 21. 
  • All fees are charged and collected by the hotel either at check-in or check-out.
  • Fees may not include tax and are subject to change.
  • Standard, non-suite rooms are windowless.
  • Suites have windows.
  • Hotel Plaza De Armas PR has a "good night rest" policy ensuring all guests receive a good night rest. Any excessive noise complaints will not be tolerated and further action should be taken into consideration. This property's policy is to refuse certain bookings for the purpose of group events or parties, including pre-wedding stag/bachelor and hen/bachelorette parties. All guests staying in hotel guestrooms must be registered with the hotel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4652 -66.1172
Area served
202 San Jose Street, Old San Juan, Puerto Rico 00901
Nearby airports
SJU - San Juan International Airport code.
Area description
Located in the heart of Old San Juan, we are right next to the Department of State and we have taxi line just in front and a trolley stop right outside our door.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Plaza De Armas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Plaza De Armas Rooms

Interior Queen Bed
Located on floors 1-4. One Queen Bed. No windows, Desk, Cable/Satellite TV, Hair Dryer, Iron/Ironing board, In-room Safe, Air Conditioning and Free High Speed Internet in common areas.
Interior Single Bed, NO WINDOW
Located on floors 1-4, One Single Bed. No windows, Desk, Cable/Satellite TV, Hair Dryer, Iron/Ironing board,In-room Safe, Air Conditioning and Free High Speed Internet in common areas.
Suite King Bed. Window with Plaza View
Located on Floors 2-4, One King Bed Desk, Cable/Satellite TV, Hair Dryer, Iron/Ironing board, In-room Safe, Air Conditioning and Free High Speed Internet in common areas.
Suite King & Single Bed. Window with Plaza View
Located on Floors 2. One King Bed & One Single Bed Colonial Spanish-Style Ambience. May include Sofa Bed, Cable TV, Hair Dryer, Iron/Ironing Board, Air Conditioning and Free High Speed Internet.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Plaza de Armas: 0.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.4 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.4 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.3 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.5 mi

Dining

SOFO District (South of Fortaleza Street)
Near the center of the culinary district sofo - south of Fortaleza Street - where some of the greatest restaurants and bars of the island are located.
Restaurant
Raices Restaurant: Get a 20% OFF in Lunch/Dinner bill everytime you go there.. Restaurant is walking distance.
Restaurant
Barrachina Restaurant: Get a FREE Pia Colada and a 20% OFF in Lunch/Dinner bill everytime you go there.. Restaurant is walking distance.
Restaurant
Il Baccaro Venezia Italian Restaurant: Get a 10% OFF in Dinner bill everytime you go there.. Restaurant is walking distance.
Coffee Shop
Le Sucree Pastry Boutique: An excellent, beautiful, brand new coffee shop and pastry inside the hotel..

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Plaza De Armas

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 88
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Papa Travelin
Business
Townsesd,Montana
May 20, 2013

So Let Down

Been here many times before,good experiances.This time booked 4 rooms,all had major problems.3 had broken air conditioners,1 the door would not shut completly,all were filthy,2 had broken appliances.But worse of all,when the staff was notified,you got a smile and nothing was done.there 4days never took off our shoes,the floor was so dirty.$190 a nite! never again,at any price. Date of our last visit was march of 2013,and i do mean last!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

food,shopping,and all sorts of things to do are a short walk from anywhere in Old San Juan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Baseball Fanatic
Business
Gilmore City, Iowa
Mar 13, 2013

Great value in Old San Juan

Get a Suite if you can. 4th floor has walk out patios. Wonderful staff, very helpful. Slow elevator - be patient, you'll get there. If you're in a hurry, go elsewhere. Suite has a refrigerator, microwave and in room safe. Near sights and restaurants. Taxi stand right there if you don't want to walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many good places on Forteleza Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
d.ruiz
Business
Rincón, Puerto Rico
Oct 16, 2011

that's good

good experience in the hotel, super location and good price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston, texas
Jun 22, 2011

this was a nice hotel

stayed before a cruise

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roseville, MI
Feb 2, 2011

Pre-Cruise Stay

This was a pre-cruise stop for us. It was a good location for us since we wanted to be in Old San Juan and tour the Forts before our cruise. You can walk to the Cristobal Fort and then take the trolley to the other Fort. We did our Fort tour on the day of check out and they held our luggage for us. We were able to walk to a nice place to eat. The Hotel is located by a city square which had shops, fast food and a Walgreens. It was a nice place to sit in the morning. I had reserved 3 rooms as there were 3 couples traveling together. One should note as in other posts the Hotel does not have a working elevator. I was aware of this prior to our trip and so it was not a problem for us. You will have to drag your suitcases up the back steps if you are on a higher level like we were. The doors are heavy and they bang very loudly when shut. I'm not a light sleeper and heard doors slamming most of the night. I was able to get a warm shower the next morning but the other 2 couples had to settle for cold showers that day. I had a little trouble at checkout, with additional charges on 2 of the 3 rooms that they could not explain. It seems that the night manager did not bill [...]correctly and was trying to charge me the extra. It took a while but I think we got it worked out, I say think, because I won't know for sure until my credit card bill comes in. We also walked to the cruise terminal with our luggage on the day of the cruise, it was about a mile and a half. It was actually faster to walk than to get a cab, since the streets are narrow and jammed with cars. If you don't mind walking, we found it to be a convient place to stay and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Noker
Business
New Jersey
Apr 27, 2010

Excellent trip!

Upon arrival my friends and I were thrilled about the location of this hotel. It was in a great place, within walking distance to many attractions we were interested in. We were greeted with a smile and a super friendly woman at the front desk who also gave us a great recommendation for dinner that evening! This was the first time my friends had been to Puerto Rico and were completely blown away by it! We look forward to planning our next vacation in Puerto Rico!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mature travelers, seasoned cruisers
Business
Centerburg, Ohio
Apr 20, 2010

Great for sight-seers

We got a basic, clean room. Few cable TV channels. Decor was minimalistic but the bed was VERY comfortable. It is not for honeymooners but for folks who were just in town the night before a cruise it was perfect. Taxi stand was across the street. Several inexpensive restaurants were within easy walking distance. The staff let us drop off our bags so we could go sight seeing before the room was ready.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is named after the plaza where it is located. Across the plaza, before you get to the Walgreen's is a bus stop that is free that will take you around Old San Juan. Keep going down the street from Walgreen's and you will find the city's best pastry shop, La Bombonera. In the rear of the shop, they have a diner which serves local food in large quantities at inexpensive prices. Everything looked good that came out of the kitchen.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 22, 2008

Very Friendly Staff

I had a very nice experience staying at the Howard Johnson Inn Plaza de Armas Old San Juan. The Check in was a bit late but we were able to keep our bags in the hotel although they were not kept in a locker but out in the back of the lobby were people could possibly steal them. The Hotel was in a perfect location and the Hotel staff was very helpful on what to do and were to go. There were no windows in our room so it felt almost like a jail. There was a minor problem with paying for the tax when we checked in, the front desk forgot to collect the bill so we had some minor problems when I was checking out but it was handled well and nothing got too out of hand. The staff was nice and made the diffrence of a good stay at this hotel.If I ever come back to San Juan, I will probably stay at this hotel because of the location and the very kind staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Most dinning and resturaunts were no longer then a five minute walk from the hotel and if you want to get groceries its right infront of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top