$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Hotel Plaza De Armas

2 stars
202 San Jose St, San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
146 reviews
Great value in Old San Juan

Get a Suite if you can. 4th floor has walk out patios. Wonderful staff, very helpful. Slow elevator... See full review

  • Baseball Fanatic
  • Mar 13, 2013
location, location

perfect location close to everything old san juan, great ac in room and friendly helpful staff half... See full review

  • cowboy j
  • Jun 30, 2014
Hotel with historic setting and location in the heart of San Juan

The Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the heart of Old San Juan. The coveted location on the Plaza de Armas in the historic quarter is on the same stretch as the San Juan Cathedral and city hall. The blue cobblestone streets of the old city sprawl out in every direction and world-class shopping, dining and entertainment abounds. The hotel's Spanish colonial-inspired lounge is decorated in rich red and gold with warm lighting, leather couches and a bar area.

Highlights
  • Located at the epicenter of Old San Juan
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Classy lounge with bar
Rooms

The 30 rooms at the Hotel Plaza De Armas are wrapped around a spacious inner courtyard. They're clean and modest with simple touches such as wood wardrobes, headboards and nightstands, and stainless steel lamps. All rooms have clock radios, coffeemakers, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, in-room safe and a television with cable. Suites have floor-to-ceiling shutters that open for views of the cobblestone streets. Some suites have small refrigerators and sofa beds. The modest standard rooms have no windows. Suites have windows overlooking the historic district. The Hotel Plaza De Armas has high-speed Internet access.

Dining

The simple, on-site bistro is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Transportation

Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (7.5 mi/12 km)

Attractions
  • Cathedral of San Juan Bautista (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • La Fortaleza (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Cruise ship piers (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Condado district (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Isla Verde Beach (6.8 mi/11 km)
Business
  • Copying, faxing
  • High-speed Internet access hotel-wide
Policies & fees
  • A valid credit card is required upon check-in for reservation and room fees. A $50.00 USD deposit per room is also required.
  • Minimum check-in age per room is 21. An adult must be present per room and is required to provide a government-issued photo ID.
  • Check-in starts at 3:00 p.m. Request for check-in between 11:00 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. is subject to availability. Check-in earlier than 11:00 a.m. incurs an additional $50.00 USD per room and is subject to availability.
  • Check-out is at 12:00 p.m. Request for late check-out from 12:01 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. incurs a $40.00 USD fee per room and is subject to availability. Check-out after 3:00 p.m. incurs an additional night stay per room and is subject to availability.
  • If traveling with guests in need of accessible facilities, please inform the hotel prior to making reservation.
  • Pets are not allowed. A $ 250.00 USD penalty fee will be charged for any violation. Smoking is likewise prohibited. Same fee applies.
  • Extra person charges apply and depend on availability and hotel policy.
  • All fees are charged and collected by the hotel either at check-in or check-out. Fees may not include tax and are subject to change.
  • Rollaway beds are not available. Guests are not allowed to bring their own for security purposes.
  • The hotel has no designated parking. There are public parking lots within walking distance.
  • A $3 per person per night municipal tax is added to bill.
  • The hotel does not have a pool.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4652 -66.1172
Area served
San Jos St. 202, Old San Juan, Puerto Rico 00901
Nearby airports
SJU - San Juan International Airport code.
Area description
Located in the heart of Old San Juan, we are right next to the Department of State and we have taxi line just in front and a trolley stop right outside our door.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Plaza De Armas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Hotel Plaza De Armas Rooms

Interior Queen Bed
Located on floors 1-4. One Queen Bed. No windows, Desk, Cable/Satellite TV, Hair Dryer, Iron/Ironing board, In-room Safe, Air Conditioning and Free High Speed Internet in common areas.
Interior Single Bed, NO WINDOW
Located on floors 1-4, One Single Bed. No windows, Desk, Cable/Satellite TV, Hair Dryer, Iron/Ironing board,In-room Safe, Air Conditioning and Free High Speed Internet in common areas.
Suite King Bed. Window with Plaza View
Located on Floors 2-4, One King Bed Desk, Cable/Satellite TV, Hair Dryer, Iron/Ironing board, In-room Safe, Air Conditioning and Free High Speed Internet in common areas.
Suite King & Single Bed. Window with Plaza View
Located on Floors 2. One King Bed & One Single Bed Colonial Spanish-Style Ambience. May include Sofa Bed, Cable TV, Hair Dryer, Iron/Ironing Board, Air Conditioning and Free High Speed Internet.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Plaza de Armas: 0.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.4 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.4 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.3 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 6 mi
  • Isla Verde: 6.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.5 mi

Dining

SOFO District (South of Fortaleza Street)
Near the center of the culinary district sofo - south of Fortaleza Street - where some of the greatest restaurants and bars of the island are located.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (146)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Plaza De Armas

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Canal Winchester, OH
Nov 27, 2010

Don't waste your money

I was given a room on the 4th floor. The elevator was not working. I tried to get in with the room key and it did not work. I had to ask the front desk person to open the door for me. The ice machine was not working. Front desk staff told me that I can buy ice at a supermarket across from the hotel. I asked the front desk person if he could give me money to buy ice and he said that he did not have any petty cash. Also, the internet was not working inside the room but it worked in the hallway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bronx, N.Y.
Nov 23, 2010

the queen

I had stay in Howard Johnson before but I had better experience in it. After checking in I found out that the elevator was out of order. They didn,t offer to help with the luggage. The faucet in the bathroom had a little stream and it was cold. I was not happy with the service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bronx, N.Y.
Nov 23, 2010

the queen

I had stay in Howard Johnson before but I had better experience in it. After checking in I found out that the elevator was out of order. They didn,t offer to help with the luggage. The faucet in the bathroom had a little stream and it was cold. I was not happy with the service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Yonkers, New York
Nov 21, 2010

getaway vacation

My friends, husband and I spent a nice week in Puerto Rico we enjoy sightseeing and shopping in El Viejo San Juan but we were not to happy with our hotel. We got a room in the third floor and the elevator was out of order,I learned that it has been out of order for over a month, we had to carry the heavy luggage up the stairs to our room in a narrow staircase. They were also painting this passages while the guests were walking up and down the stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

shop around and compare prizes before actually buying something.

Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Yonkers, New York
Nov 21, 2010

getaway vacation

My friends, husband and I spent a nice week in Puerto Rico we enjoy sightseeing and shopping in El Viejo San Juan but we were not to happy with our hotel. We got a room in the third floor and the elevator was out of order,I learned that it has been out of order for over a month, we had to carry the heavy luggage up the stairs to our room in a narrow staircase. They were also painting this passages while the guests were walking up and down the stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

shop around and compare prizes before actually buying something.

Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
drdavis4
North Little Rock, AR
Nov 21, 2010

Great Location; Decent Rooms; Friendly

After spending a week on Culebra, we stopped for 2 nights in San Juan before heading back to the States. We selected the Howard Johnson because of its location in the heart of Old San Juan. It was a clean hotel. Pretty basic - nothing fancy. But it truly is in the heart of Old San Juan and everything was an easy walk from the hotel -- just what we wanted. The staff was friendly and nice. They were helpful with giving directions to nearby restaurants and bars. The only real negative was that the elevator was out of service. We had 5 heavy bags between 4 adults, because of our week on the island with snorkel gear, etc. Our rooms were on the 3rd floor of the hotel, so it was grueling getting the big bags up the 3 flights of stairs, and back down on our departure day. Otherwise, we were content with the rooms. No problems with water, cleanliness or air conditioning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Marilyn's Cafe was a very short walk from the Howard Johnson. Great bar with outside tables for enjoying drinks and people watching. Great service at Marilyn's.

Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
drdavis4
North Little Rock, AR
Nov 21, 2010

Great Location; Decent Rooms; Friendly

After spending a week on Culebra, we stopped for 2 nights in San Juan before heading back to the States. We selected the Howard Johnson because of its location in the heart of Old San Juan. It was a clean hotel. Pretty basic - nothing fancy. But it truly is in the heart of Old San Juan and everything was an easy walk from the hotel -- just what we wanted. The staff was friendly and nice. They were helpful with giving directions to nearby restaurants and bars. The only real negative was that the elevator was out of service. We had 5 heavy bags between 4 adults, because of our week on the island with snorkel gear, etc. Our rooms were on the 3rd floor of the hotel, so it was grueling getting the big bags up the 3 flights of stairs, and back down on our departure day. Otherwise, we were content with the rooms. No problems with water, cleanliness or air conditioning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Marilyn's Cafe was a very short walk from the Howard Johnson. Great bar with outside tables for enjoying drinks and people watching. Great service at Marilyn's.

Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Flagler Beach, Fl.
Nov 13, 2010

Awful

The Hotel had a disabled elevator & no Bellhops, therefore we had to carry our luggage up 3 flights of stairs. Exhausting!!!! Phone system did not work. No hot Water. Air conditioner in our room was loud & ran all night.Our stay , thank goodness was only one night. The accomodations were deplorable. On the positive side the location was excellent. Everything was within walking distance of what we wanted to see & do. We would never stay at this location again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Many of the historic sites of Old San Juan are within walking distance of this Hotel.

Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Flagler Beach, Fl.
Nov 13, 2010

Awful

The Hotel had a disabled elevator & no Bellhops, therefore we had to carry our luggage up 3 flights of stairs. Exhausting!!!! Phone system did not work. No hot Water. Air conditioner in our room was loud & ran all night.Our stay , thank goodness was only one night. The accomodations were deplorable. On the positive side the location was excellent. Everything was within walking distance of what we wanted to see & do. We would never stay at this location again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Many of the historic sites of Old San Juan are within walking distance of this Hotel.

Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ohio
Nov 8, 2010

Wouldn't stay there again

The elevator would not work we had to carry all our luggage up 3 flights of winding narrow stairs. the phone in the rooms were out, the staff told us at first it was due to the storm then later stated the elevator has not worked in over a month. this was a great location in center of old San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

it was a bakery down the sidewalk a couple of blocks from Walgreen's.

Back to menu Return to top