$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Hotel Plaza De Armas

2 stars
202 San Jose St, San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
146 reviews
Great value in Old San Juan

Get a Suite if you can. 4th floor has walk out patios. Wonderful staff, very helpful. Slow elevator... See full review

  • Baseball Fanatic
  • Mar 13, 2013
location, location

perfect location close to everything old san juan, great ac in room and friendly helpful staff half... See full review

  • cowboy j
  • Jun 30, 2014
Hotel with historic setting and location in the heart of San Juan

The Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the heart of Old San Juan. The coveted location on the Plaza de Armas in the historic quarter is on the same stretch as the San Juan Cathedral and city hall. The blue cobblestone streets of the old city sprawl out in every direction and world-class shopping, dining and entertainment abounds. The hotel's Spanish colonial-inspired lounge is decorated in rich red and gold with warm lighting, leather couches and a bar area.

Highlights
  • Located at the epicenter of Old San Juan
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Classy lounge with bar
Rooms

The 30 rooms at the Hotel Plaza De Armas are wrapped around a spacious inner courtyard. They're clean and modest with simple touches such as wood wardrobes, headboards and nightstands, and stainless steel lamps. All rooms have clock radios, coffeemakers, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, in-room safe and a television with cable. Suites have floor-to-ceiling shutters that open for views of the cobblestone streets. Some suites have small refrigerators and sofa beds. The modest standard rooms have no windows. Suites have windows overlooking the historic district. The Hotel Plaza De Armas has high-speed Internet access.

Dining

The simple, on-site bistro is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Transportation

Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (7.5 mi/12 km)

Attractions
  • Cathedral of San Juan Bautista (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • La Fortaleza (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Cruise ship piers (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Condado district (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Isla Verde Beach (6.8 mi/11 km)
Business
  • Copying, faxing
  • High-speed Internet access hotel-wide
Policies & fees
  • A valid credit card is required upon check-in for reservation and room fees. A $50.00 USD deposit per room is also required.
  • Minimum check-in age per room is 21. An adult must be present per room and is required to provide a government-issued photo ID.
  • Check-in starts at 3:00 p.m. Request for check-in between 11:00 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. is subject to availability. Check-in earlier than 11:00 a.m. incurs an additional $50.00 USD per room and is subject to availability.
  • Check-out is at 12:00 p.m. Request for late check-out from 12:01 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. incurs a $40.00 USD fee per room and is subject to availability. Check-out after 3:00 p.m. incurs an additional night stay per room and is subject to availability.
  • If traveling with guests in need of accessible facilities, please inform the hotel prior to making reservation.
  • Pets are not allowed. A $ 250.00 USD penalty fee will be charged for any violation. Smoking is likewise prohibited. Same fee applies.
  • Extra person charges apply and depend on availability and hotel policy.
  • All fees are charged and collected by the hotel either at check-in or check-out. Fees may not include tax and are subject to change.
  • Rollaway beds are not available. Guests are not allowed to bring their own for security purposes.
  • The hotel has no designated parking. There are public parking lots within walking distance.
  • A $3 per person per night municipal tax is added to bill.
  • The hotel does not have a pool.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4652 -66.1172
Area served
San Jos St. 202, Old San Juan, Puerto Rico 00901
Nearby airports
SJU - San Juan International Airport code.
Area description
Located in the heart of Old San Juan, we are right next to the Department of State and we have taxi line just in front and a trolley stop right outside our door.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Plaza De Armas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Hotel Plaza De Armas Rooms

Interior Queen Bed
Located on floors 1-4. One Queen Bed. No windows, Desk, Cable/Satellite TV, Hair Dryer, Iron/Ironing board, In-room Safe, Air Conditioning and Free High Speed Internet in common areas.
Interior Single Bed, NO WINDOW
Located on floors 1-4, One Single Bed. No windows, Desk, Cable/Satellite TV, Hair Dryer, Iron/Ironing board,In-room Safe, Air Conditioning and Free High Speed Internet in common areas.
Suite King Bed. Window with Plaza View
Located on Floors 2-4, One King Bed Desk, Cable/Satellite TV, Hair Dryer, Iron/Ironing board, In-room Safe, Air Conditioning and Free High Speed Internet in common areas.
Suite King & Single Bed. Window with Plaza View
Located on Floors 2. One King Bed & One Single Bed Colonial Spanish-Style Ambience. May include Sofa Bed, Cable TV, Hair Dryer, Iron/Ironing Board, Air Conditioning and Free High Speed Internet.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Plaza de Armas: 0.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.4 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.4 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.3 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 6 mi
  • Isla Verde: 6.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.5 mi

Dining

SOFO District (South of Fortaleza Street)
Near the center of the culinary district sofo - south of Fortaleza Street - where some of the greatest restaurants and bars of the island are located.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (146)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Plaza De Armas

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maine, USA
Feb 22, 2011

I liked it!

I wanted a fairly cheap place to stay in San Juan for 3 nights, and found this hotel. I read the reviews before booking, and a lot of them were very negative which worried me, but I decided to book anyway because of the good location and price. Overall, I had a great experience here and would recommend it to any of my friends. Other reviewers wrote about the older style of the hotel, but all of the buildings in old San Juan are old and spaced tightly together. I have never stayed in a place like this and actually enjoyed the uniqueness of the hotel. The elevator is one of the older kinds where you have to close the door yourself (yes, its slow, but fun too!). All of the rooms on the 4 floors open to an area spanning the 4 floors and overlook the lounge/sitting area on the first floor. I found the hotel very quiet, and since I was in one of the windowless inner rooms, I slept very well. I can forsee, though, that some of the first floor rooms may be able to hear the TV in the common area... but no one was ever in there when I was there, so you can just turn it off if its bothering you. The room and bathroom were clean, the shower worked fine, and there was both a desk and large clothes dresser. The only negative thing I can think of is that the wireless internet didn't work well in my room (the front desk said that sometimes people have problems with it in their rooms because of the thick walls). Whenever I brought my laptop to the common areas, though, it worked fine. This isn't the fanciest hotel, but it met my needs for my time in Old San Juan. Also, I'm a female in my mid-20's, and I found the area around the hotel perfectly safe even at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Spokane, WA
Feb 14, 2011

Horrible experience

This was the worst place we have ever stayed in. The conditions of the hotel were so bad we got up at 5:00 so we could get out of there. Very noisy, poor condition through out, duct tape holding things together, phone in-op, bed hard, elevator you rode at your own risk, there were no towels in room, had to ask for them. Giving it a 1 star, should be half. No parking within 6 blocks. Will never consider a Howard Johnson again. For the price this was like being robbed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Spokane, WA
Feb 14, 2011

Horrible experience

This was the worst place we have ever stayed in. The conditions of the hotel were so bad we got up at 5:00 so we could get out of there. Very noisy, poor condition through out, duct tape holding things together, phone in-op, bed hard, elevator you rode at your own risk, there were no towels in room, had to ask for them. Giving it a 1 star, should be half. No parking within 6 blocks. Will never consider a Howard Johnson again. For the price this was like being robbed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
w.i.
Feb 8, 2011

an unbecoming stay

shopping the hotel need upliftment the elevator not working made it very tedious up and down the stairs. the aircondition too noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
w.i.
Feb 8, 2011

an unbecoming stay

shopping the hotel need upliftment the elevator not working made it very tedious up and down the stairs. the aircondition too noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Roseville, MI
Feb 2, 2011

Pre-Cruise Stay

This was a pre-cruise stop for us. It was a good location for us since we wanted to be in Old San Juan and tour the Forts before our cruise. You can walk to the Cristobal Fort and then take the trolley to the other Fort. We did our Fort tour on the day of check out and they held our luggage for us. We were able to walk to a nice place to eat. The Hotel is located by a city square which had shops, fast food and a Walgreens. It was a nice place to sit in the morning. I had reserved 3 rooms as there were 3 couples traveling together. One should note as in other posts the Hotel does not have a working elevator. I was aware of this prior to our trip and so it was not a problem for us. You will have to drag your suitcases up the back steps if you are on a higher level like we were. The doors are heavy and they bang very loudly when shut. I'm not a light sleeper and heard doors slamming most of the night. I was able to get a warm shower the next morning but the other 2 couples had to settle for cold showers that day. I had a little trouble at checkout, with additional charges on 2 of the 3 rooms that they could not explain. It seems that the night manager did not bill [...]correctly and was trying to charge me the extra. It took a while but I think we got it worked out, I say think, because I won't know for sure until my credit card bill comes in. We also walked to the cruise terminal with our luggage on the day of the cruise, it was about a mile and a half. It was actually faster to walk than to get a cab, since the streets are narrow and jammed with cars. If you don't mind walking, we found it to be a convient place to stay and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Roseville, MI
Feb 2, 2011

Pre-Cruise Stay

This was a pre-cruise stop for us. It was a good location for us since we wanted to be in Old San Juan and tour the Forts before our cruise. You can walk to the Cristobal Fort and then take the trolley to the other Fort. We did our Fort tour on the day of check out and they held our luggage for us. We were able to walk to a nice place to eat. The Hotel is located by a city square which had shops, fast food and a Walgreens. It was a nice place to sit in the morning. I had reserved 3 rooms as there were 3 couples traveling together. One should note as in other posts the Hotel does not have a working elevator. I was aware of this prior to our trip and so it was not a problem for us. You will have to drag your suitcases up the back steps if you are on a higher level like we were. The doors are heavy and they bang very loudly when shut. I'm not a light sleeper and heard doors slamming most of the night. I was able to get a warm shower the next morning but the other 2 couples had to settle for cold showers that day. I had a little trouble at checkout, with additional charges on 2 of the 3 rooms that they could not explain. It seems that the night manager did not bill [...]correctly and was trying to charge me the extra. It took a while but I think we got it worked out, I say think, because I won't know for sure until my credit card bill comes in. We also walked to the cruise terminal with our luggage on the day of the cruise, it was about a mile and a half. It was actually faster to walk than to get a cab, since the streets are narrow and jammed with cars. If you don't mind walking, we found it to be a convient place to stay and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Aguadilla, PR
Dec 5, 2010

very bad

so really bad because this hotel dont no have water and the service is poor... sorry dont not like is very very bad... the price its nice because the service is out...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Aguadilla, PR
Dec 5, 2010

very bad

so really bad because this hotel dont no have water and the service is poor... sorry dont not like is very very bad... the price its nice because the service is out...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Canal Winchester, OH
Nov 27, 2010

Don't waste your money

I was given a room on the 4th floor. The elevator was not working. I tried to get in with the room key and it did not work. I had to ask the front desk person to open the door for me. The ice machine was not working. Front desk staff told me that I can buy ice at a supermarket across from the hotel. I asked the front desk person if he could give me money to buy ice and he said that he did not have any petty cash. Also, the internet was not working inside the room but it worked in the hallway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top