$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 28, 2014

Hotel Plaza De Armas

2 stars
202 San Jose St, San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
88 reviews
good

Great hotel, staff nice and friendly, great location and restaurants near by. The room was too... See full review

  • Y eye
  • Sep 15, 2014
location, location

perfect location close to everything old san juan, great ac in room and friendly helpful staff half... See full review

  • cowboy j
  • Jun 30, 2014
Hotel with historic setting and location in the heart of San Juan
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan is for travelers looking to be in the heart of Old San Juan. The hotel is in a coveted location in the historic quarter. The Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture.

A completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts guests mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, museums, art galleries, restaurants and world-class shopping. From its uniquely Spanish-colonial architecture to its comforting in-room amenities, the Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan offers visitors a seamless blend of Old World charm and New World elegance.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi access in lobby and atrium
  • Le Sucree Pastry Boutique inside the Hotel
  • Discounts at nearby restaurants
Rooms
The 50 rooms at the Hotel Plaza De Armas are wrapped around a spacious inner courtyard where patrons can seat to use Wi-Fi access. All units are clean and modest with simple touches such as wood wardrobes, headboards and nightstands, and stainless steel lamps. The rooms have clock radios, iron and ironing board, hairdryer and a television with cable. Suites have windows overlooking the historic district and  floor-to-ceiling shutters that open to street views. Some suites have small refrigerators and sofa sleepers. The modest standard rooms have no windows. The Hotel Plaza De Armas has high-speed Internet access in public areas (lobby & atrium).
Dining
The simple, on-site bistro is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Transportation
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (7.5 mi/12 km)
Attractions
  • Cathedral of San Juan Bautista (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • La Fortaleza (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Cruise ship piers (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Condado district (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Isla Verde Beach (6.8 mi/11 km)
Business
  • Copying, faxing
  • High-speed Internet access in lobby and atrium
Policies & fees

  • Extra-person charges apply and vary depending on availability and hotel policy.
  • For special accessibility needs like accessible path of travel, accessible bathroom, roll-in shower, in-room accessibility or other, please contact property before making the reservation.
  • Hotel requires government-issued photo identification per each adult.
  • A valid credit card is always required at check-in to process the reservation, all room fees and a $50.00 deposit per room.
  • Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and will incur in additional charges to your room fees. 
  • Pets are not allowed. A USD$ 250.00 penalty fee will be charged for any violation of this policy.
  • Hotel Plaza de Armas is a non-smoking hotel. A USD$ 250.00 cleaning fee will be charged for smoking in the room or public areas.
  • Check-in time starts at: 3:00 PM. Special request for early check-in between 11:00 AM and 2:59 PM will be subject to availability. Special request for Check-in earlier than 11:00 AM will charge an additional USD$50.00 per room and will be subject to availability.
  • Check-out time is at 12 Noon. Special request for late check-out from 12:01 PM to 3:00 PM may be subject to availability and a USD$40.00 late check-out fee per room will be charged. Special request for check-out after 3 PM will be charged an additional night stay per room and will be subject to availability.
  • There are no rollaway beds available and for security, guests can not bring their own.
  • Minimum check-in age per room is 21. 
  • All fees are charged and collected by the hotel either at check-in or check-out.
  • Fees may not include tax and are subject to change.
  • Standard, non-suite rooms are windowless.
  • Suites have windows.
  • Hotel Plaza De Armas PR has a "good night rest" policy ensuring all guests receive a good night rest. Any excessive noise complaints will not be tolerated and further action should be taken into consideration. This property's policy is to refuse certain bookings for the purpose of group events or parties, including pre-wedding stag/bachelor and hen/bachelorette parties. All guests staying in hotel guestrooms must be registered with the hotel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4652 -66.1172
Area served
202 San Jose Street, Old San Juan, Puerto Rico 00901
Nearby airports
SJU - San Juan International Airport code.
Area description
Located in the heart of Old San Juan, we are right next to the Department of State and we have taxi line just in front and a trolley stop right outside our door.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Plaza De Armas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Plaza De Armas Rooms

Interior Queen Bed
Located on floors 1-4. One Queen Bed. No windows, Desk, Cable/Satellite TV, Hair Dryer, Iron/Ironing board, In-room Safe, Air Conditioning and Free High Speed Internet in common areas.
Interior Single Bed, NO WINDOW
Located on floors 1-4, One Single Bed. No windows, Desk, Cable/Satellite TV, Hair Dryer, Iron/Ironing board,In-room Safe, Air Conditioning and Free High Speed Internet in common areas.
Suite King Bed. Window with Plaza View
Located on Floors 2-4, One King Bed Desk, Cable/Satellite TV, Hair Dryer, Iron/Ironing board, In-room Safe, Air Conditioning and Free High Speed Internet in common areas.
Suite King & Single Bed. Window with Plaza View
Located on Floors 2. One King Bed & One Single Bed Colonial Spanish-Style Ambience. May include Sofa Bed, Cable TV, Hair Dryer, Iron/Ironing Board, Air Conditioning and Free High Speed Internet.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Plaza de Armas: 0.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.4 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.4 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.3 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 6 mi
  • Isla Verde: 6.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.5 mi

Dining

SOFO District (South of Fortaleza Street)
Near the center of the culinary district sofo - south of Fortaleza Street - where some of the greatest restaurants and bars of the island are located.
Restaurant
Raices Restaurant: Get a 20% OFF in Lunch/Dinner bill everytime you go there.. Restaurant is walking distance.
Restaurant
Barrachina Restaurant: Get a FREE Pia Colada and a 20% OFF in Lunch/Dinner bill everytime you go there.. Restaurant is walking distance.
Restaurant
Il Baccaro Venezia Italian Restaurant: Get a 10% OFF in Dinner bill everytime you go there.. Restaurant is walking distance.
Coffee Shop
Le Sucree Pastry Boutique: An excellent, beautiful, brand new coffee shop and pastry inside the hotel..

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Plaza De Armas

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ecruz929
Business
Villalba 00766, Puerto Rico
Dec 12, 2011

Just to crash for the night

Except for the elevator and the A/C on and off during the night. The Hotel is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Mesón, Starbucks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ferny
Business
Sunrise, FL, USA
Nov 1, 2011

couple getaway

Bad experience.No elevator.no internet.no tellephone in room.Only 4 TV chanel,no remote control.No parking space.Balconi (broken door.)Lot of noise coming from the sreet all night ,could`nt sleep.Bathroom disgusting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

G.P.S very helfull

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
d.ruiz
Business
Rincón, Puerto Rico
Oct 16, 2011

that's good

good experience in the hotel, super location and good price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LeVoyageur
Business
Greenbelt, Maryland
Sep 27, 2011

Would Recommend

Great location. Within walking distance of everywhere in Old San Juan. Their elevator was temporarily not functioning so they upgraded me to a room on the first floor. Front desk people were exceptional and aided me greatly with tourist information. I could easily walk to the cruise terminal and all the important 'old' city sites. Room was quiet and well furnished. A very plesent stay. When I go back I will check here first. Excellent price. Hotel deserves a high level than reflected in Orbitz' ratings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss La Bombonera (have a mallorca and have some coffee from a 100 year old machine) and Barrachina (for mofongo; this is where the Pina Colada is said to have been invented - there is a plaque - courtyard dining - free luggage storage)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
normita
Business
Hickory, NC, USA
Sep 15, 2011

new experience getaway

Well i didnt know much, when i got there i found that the hotel didnt have parking! My room didnt have hot water. They gave me another room that had the same problem. so the 3rd day finally i got a room that had hot water elevator wasnt working. the top cover for the bed was nasty durty but i didnt want to complain anymore i decided that i was going to make the best of it, since i was by myself n i was there for only 5 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Raices restaurant!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
unpleased guest
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Sep 9, 2011

not a good hotel

The hotel was in a great location. Because we went on a cruise and the ship was very close walking distance, which was great. The hotel it self sucked because the elevator was not and has not been working for many months. We had to pull our heavy suit case all the way up to the third floor. The stair case was very small. The room was ok. I will not recommend this hotel to no one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meghan
Business
Old San Juan, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Aug 16, 2011

Great location!

staff was friendly. Bistro in front was great and walkable historical sites. The ferry to Bacardi is also close and a safe, friendly location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ANA MALAK
Business
N.Y.C.
Jul 23, 2011

DISSAPOINTED

First hotel that doesn't serve continental breakfast, they say that they don't have a kitchen. they don't need a kitchen to put some croissants and coffee makers. in the room there's no coffee machine(it says in the package that there's is one there, not true) I had to pay for my own breakfast $7 everymorning. the rooms smells like huminity, the towels are too small, the waters ''dripping'' no hot water, barely warm, the a/c has no regulator, so i had to shut it off, several times, it had led paint in the wall i had to asked them to change the room, which they did. The service in the front desk,very nice and helpul! It has fleas in the bed, I couldn't sleep all night. Only had 4 channels the tv, has no cable. I asked the girl when i make the reservation to go to isla verde/carolina, she sent me to the old san juan, extremely inconvinient for my fam. to go there! as soon as i arrived I called and called 3 times. No one could do nothing for me to change my reservation, coz Howard Jhonson had diff. owners, bla bla bla, they put me on hold up to 45 min. each time was 30, 35 min and then 45 min. no one picked up the phone! I know for sure I will never like to be in that hotel anymore, u can't even use the elevator is so old, is manual, first time i see one of those, and u can only put the ''lugagge'' and i was in the 3rd flr. so slow like a turttle. About the flight great! no complaints! oh and that room has a twin bed only no queens size, full of fleas!!!!!!!!! damm that was horrible! I guess that's it for now! U should pick better quality hotels that has no led paint on the wall, no huminity smell and no fleas! the rest is tolerable, this is absolutely NOT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I love the food from EL meson, not too expensive, great variarity and great service, also you have a subway there 1 block down, don't go to the rest. from the hotel, service is great, but a breakfast 7 dol. only fruist with coffee is too much, in el Meson for 4.00 u get coffee and a big sandwich ! much better deal, the ice cream they charge $2 to the tourist, before u pay tell him a dollar or nothing they will sell it to you for a buck, delicious by the way. fight the prices, u may get away with a good deal if you know how to negotiate! San Juan is a beautiful city, go to the port so gorgeous there!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston, texas
Jun 22, 2011

this was a nice hotel

stayed before a cruise

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Attleboro, MA
Apr 20, 2011

CLEAN BUT OUTDATED

Location in Old San Juan was great but hotel needs updating. Phones were not working. Elevator was extremely small. However the staff was very helpful and friendly. All in all not bad for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dragonfly was differeent tyupe of dining experience. Oriental appetizers to share. Enjoyed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top