$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 5, 2015

Hotel Plaza De Armas

2 stars
View map of 202 San Jose St, San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Plaza De Armas

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not impressed1
Business
Hartford, Connecticut
Mar 23, 2014

Hotel needs to be worked on

How should i start, i hope everyone would read this before booking and think twice about staying in this hotel,otherwise you will regret it just like i did. There is no type of security inside the hotel or even in your own room (so make sure to pull/push the door in/out for it lock) also the "privacy lock" Doesn't work at ALL or been broken off! Anyone could just walk in the hotel (since they dont ask or remember who is staying), check the doors , and who knows what happens from there. The rooms are not cleaned, i repeat, the rooms are not being cleaned. Which means that you could be sleepin in the same sheets from the last guest (how do i know? Its dirty with hair n etc..) especially, the bathrooms, u literally need to shower with slippers because it seems like it hasnt been cleaned in months or years that it is turning black and theres other people hair all over the bathroom. There are also pieces of food/molds/hair on the walls. The non-noise was a Lie, i stood in two different rooms one with windows and one without, you would still hear loud noises. Also i noticed that not all the electrical things in the room would work (tv,blowdryer,safe, n etc). Last, there is a window top of the door in your room, well guess what? If someone was standing on the next floor across your room, that person is able to see inside your room clearly. This hotel is in a good location, but staying there is not worth it. What makes it even worse is that my parent stood at a different hotel from me paid way less than i did, and was provided with wayy better experiences w/ free breakfast. Out of all the motels/hotels I stood in , I was very disappointed with this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aaponte
Business
Trijullo Alto
Jan 3, 2014

old sj experience

Quiet, calm,relaxing and historic experience on the old san juan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Barrachina restaurant, home of the pina colada

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lina7
Business
Cabo Rojo, Puerto Rico
Jul 16, 2013

Great value

If you are on a budget and want an hotel near everything in San Juan this is the place you should stay. This is my second time at the hotel and i am looking forward to come back soon. You won't find luxuries, pool or amenities inside the hotel but it doesn't matter cause Old San Juan has plenty of atractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dinning options near the hotel: old harbor brewery (great mofongo and local craft beers), Fefo's (good trifongo), Raices rest. (Delicious local food and the best piña colada),

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Derek R.
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 5, 2013

Old San Juan Charm

Perfectly located for experiencing Old San Juan. The staff is friendly and eager to help share the "feel" of Old San Juan/Puerto Rico. The hotel lacks some basic amenities such as parking, a pool, etc. and the decor is a little antiquated but I guess that is part of the Old San Juan charm. Great value for the money especially for the budget minded "no frills" traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a bus terminal in Old San Juan that provides transportation to other parts of the city. A lot cheaper than taxis but there can be some long waits.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Honeymoon Vacation Cruise
Business
Wisconsin
Jun 2, 2013

One night stay after Carnival Cruise 2 couples 2 rooms

Close to where the cruise ship is and at the center of everything in old san juan. If you have luggage, you should take a cab from the ship to the hotel. It is a very very old place, I wouldn't even call it a hotel. I've never been to a hotel like this before because it just wasn't a hotel. Elevator was scary because it almost wasn't automatic and you had to pull the elevator doors closed yourself. We didn't even know it was an elevator until we saw someone came out of it. Haha. I had to try not to have so many lights on or use too many electric plugs at the same time because the electricity did go out for a few minutes. Room and table had a lot of weird stains but the bedsheets looks pretty clean. I am cheap when it comes to hotel because I just need a bed and shower on vacation but this is just different. I had to have my sandals on at all time inside the room. I would not stay at this place more than one night and I do not recommend renting a car in san juan because the streets are so narrow it barely fit one car at a time and it took us 2 hrs and yet FAILED just looking for a parking space over night therefore we took the car back. Most of the streets are not even label so you can't really tell where you are on the map :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Papa Travelin
Business
Townsesd,Montana
May 20, 2013

So Let Down

Been here many times before,good experiances.This time booked 4 rooms,all had major problems.3 had broken air conditioners,1 the door would not shut completly,all were filthy,2 had broken appliances.But worse of all,when the staff was notified,you got a smile and nothing was done.there 4days never took off our shoes,the floor was so dirty.$190 a nite! never again,at any price. Date of our last visit was march of 2013,and i do mean last!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

food,shopping,and all sorts of things to do are a short walk from anywhere in Old San Juan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stella2626
Business
Iowa
Apr 23, 2013

Pre Cruise Stay

This is the second time we have stayed here and we love it. We booked four rooms and we were pleasantly surprised that they were all together. The location makes this hotel a great value. It is in the heart of Old San Juan. It is close to both forts. If your cruise ship is at the pier in Old San Juan, you can easily walk to it with luggage. It is all downhill. We will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Baseball Fanatic
Business
Gilmore City, Iowa
Mar 13, 2013

Great value in Old San Juan

Get a Suite if you can. 4th floor has walk out patios. Wonderful staff, very helpful. Slow elevator - be patient, you'll get there. If you're in a hurry, go elsewhere. Suite has a refrigerator, microwave and in room safe. Near sights and restaurants. Taxi stand right there if you don't want to walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many good places on Forteleza Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top