$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 15, 2015

Hotel Plaza De Armas

2 stars
View map of 202 San Jose St, San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Plaza De Armas

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IntrepidFamily
San Francisco, california
Dec 31, 2012

Superb Location

My husband, my two teen sons, and I stayed one night at this hotel. Our room had a queen size bed, a twin size, and a futon with a balcony and view of Old San Juan. The room was comfortable and clean with air condition. Although, the refrigerator in the room didn't work. The staff was very friendly. Overall, we would stay in this hotel if we ever decided to visit San Juan again. The location is within walking distance of all the historical sights and restaurants. There is a large parking lot within 5 minutes walking to the hotel. The parking fee is inexpensive. We really enjoyed our stay in San Juan. Driving in Old San Juan is doable as long as you are patient and not in a hurry. We scheduled San Juan for our last leg of the trip so we won't need to be in a hurry to get somewhere else plus it is not far from the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cowboy j
Business
Ohio, USA
Jun 30, 2014

location, location

perfect location close to everything old san juan, great ac in room and friendly helpful staff half a block from Barrichina home of the pina colada

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

have dinner at Barrichina and see the flamenco show on weekend

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kat B.
Business
Atlanta, Ga and Luquillo, PR
Jun 10, 2014

Hotel Plaza de Armas

This is not a bell and whistle hotel nor is it a family friendly one either. It is just ok. It serves its purpose as being somewhere to sleep. The fact that the rooms have no windows is seriously odd to me. However, the staff is nice and aid you with whatever request that you have and also give great tips. The location of the hotel is also in a great place, in the heart of old San Juan. If you need to take the bus (50c trip) to go somewhere in the city, the bus terminal is a few blocks away. In front of the hotel, there is a trolley stop (which is free) which the tourists usually use cause it go through all of Old San Juan. The hotel also gives out coupons for local restaurants including a free pina colada from La Barranquilla which is where the drink was originally invented. Overall, great bang for your buck as long as you are not looking for a red carpet hotel. And the hotel is clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Old San Juan is buzzing with a wonderful night life, especially Friday-Sun. Plaza de Armas and Bahia are awesome. Meet the locals and spend time with them and you will certainly gets some great tips and have a great time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Minoobie
Business
Baltimore, MD, USA
May 21, 2014

Basic room, central to all the sights of Old San Juan

We booked this hotel room for one night in a pinch. It is set in a utilitarian building, many rooms do not have windows, but just the basics. The room was clean, the AC worked well, and you receive the value of its discounted price. Our room card key often required a dozen swipes to function...These little details matter far less when you realize you are steps from all the shops, cafes, and restaurants Old San Juan has to offer. Park you belongings here and plan to take your vacation to the cobble stone streets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Find the guy with the shaved ice cart. Ask for Tamarindo and Crema. A little tart a little sweet, you will not be disppointed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
angel.omar.g
Business
Puerto Rico
May 5, 2014

Old San Juan Weekend

The hotel staff very kind, the location is great to enjoy all Old San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Coach Factory, Ben and Jerry's, Casa Cortes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Santa Zhang
Business
New York, NY
Apr 23, 2014

Worth the money, will recommend to friends!

The location is very very good. Plaza de Armas used to be the central plaza of Old San Juan. You will reach most restaurants and gift shops in less than 5 minutes. The rooms are not very good, but consider it having 200 years of history it's good value. Notably, the staff are wonderful, just ask them whenever you have any problem. One notice: do not choose the rooms with balcony, it's freaking noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not impressed1
Business
Hartford, Connecticut
Mar 23, 2014

Hotel needs to be worked on

How should i start, i hope everyone would read this before booking and think twice about staying in this hotel,otherwise you will regret it just like i did. There is no type of security inside the hotel or even in your own room (so make sure to pull/push the door in/out for it lock) also the "privacy lock" Doesn't work at ALL or been broken off! Anyone could just walk in the hotel (since they dont ask or remember who is staying), check the doors , and who knows what happens from there. The rooms are not cleaned, i repeat, the rooms are not being cleaned. Which means that you could be sleepin in the same sheets from the last guest (how do i know? Its dirty with hair n etc..) especially, the bathrooms, u literally need to shower with slippers because it seems like it hasnt been cleaned in months or years that it is turning black and theres other people hair all over the bathroom. There are also pieces of food/molds/hair on the walls. The non-noise was a Lie, i stood in two different rooms one with windows and one without, you would still hear loud noises. Also i noticed that not all the electrical things in the room would work (tv,blowdryer,safe, n etc). Last, there is a window top of the door in your room, well guess what? If someone was standing on the next floor across your room, that person is able to see inside your room clearly. This hotel is in a good location, but staying there is not worth it. What makes it even worse is that my parent stood at a different hotel from me paid way less than i did, and was provided with wayy better experiences w/ free breakfast. Out of all the motels/hotels I stood in , I was very disappointed with this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aaponte
Business
Trijullo Alto
Jan 3, 2014

old sj experience

Quiet, calm,relaxing and historic experience on the old san juan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Barrachina restaurant, home of the pina colada

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top