$145 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Hotel Plaza De Armas

2 stars
202 San Jose St, San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
22 reviews
San Juan Nights

Pro: Excellent staff, clean room and convenient location. Con: No designated parking. See full review

  • Edwin D.
  • Dec 23, 2014
good

Great hotel, staff nice and friendly, great location and restaurants near by. The room was too... See full review

  • Y eye
  • Sep 15, 2014
Hotel with historic setting and location in the heart of San Juan
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan is for travelers looking to be in the heart of Old San Juan. The hotel is in a coveted location in the historic quarter. The Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture.

A completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts guests mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, museums, art galleries, restaurants and world-class shopping. From its uniquely Spanish-colonial architecture to its comforting in-room amenities, the Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan offers visitors a seamless blend of Old World charm and New World elegance.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi access in lobby and atrium
  • Le Sucree Pastry Boutique inside the Hotel
  • Discounts at nearby restaurants
Rooms
The 50 rooms at the Hotel Plaza De Armas are wrapped around a spacious inner courtyard where patrons can seat to use Wi-Fi access. All units are clean and modest with simple touches such as wood wardrobes, headboards and nightstands, and stainless steel lamps. The rooms have clock radios, iron and ironing board, hairdryer and a television with cable. Suites have windows overlooking the historic district and  floor-to-ceiling shutters that open to street views. Some suites have small refrigerators and sofa sleepers. The modest standard rooms have no windows. The Hotel Plaza De Armas has high-speed Internet access in public areas (lobby & atrium).
Dining
The simple, on-site bistro is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Transportation
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (7.5 mi/12 km)
Attractions
  • Cathedral of San Juan Bautista (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • La Fortaleza (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Cruise ship piers (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Condado district (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Isla Verde Beach (6.8 mi/11 km)
Business
  • Copying, faxing
  • High-speed Internet access in lobby and atrium
Policies & fees

  • Extra-person charges apply and vary depending on availability and hotel policy.
  • For special accessibility needs like accessible path of travel, accessible bathroom, roll-in shower, in-room accessibility or other, please contact property before making the reservation.
  • Hotel requires government-issued photo identification per each adult.
  • A valid credit card is always required at check-in to process the reservation, all room fees and a $50.00 deposit per room.
  • Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and will incur in additional charges to your room fees. 
  • Pets are not allowed. A USD$ 250.00 penalty fee will be charged for any violation of this policy.
  • Hotel Plaza de Armas is a non-smoking hotel. A USD$ 250.00 cleaning fee will be charged for smoking in the room or public areas.
  • Check-in time starts at: 3:00 PM. Special request for early check-in between 11:00 AM and 2:59 PM will be subject to availability. Special request for Check-in earlier than 11:00 AM will charge an additional USD$50.00 per room and will be subject to availability.
  • Check-out time is at 12 Noon. Special request for late check-out from 12:01 PM to 3:00 PM may be subject to availability and a USD$40.00 late check-out fee per room will be charged. Special request for check-out after 3 PM will be charged an additional night stay per room and will be subject to availability.
  • There are no rollaway beds available and for security, guests can not bring their own.
  • Minimum check-in age per room is 21. 
  • All fees are charged and collected by the hotel either at check-in or check-out.
  • Fees may not include tax and are subject to change.
  • Standard, non-suite rooms are windowless.
  • Suites have windows.
  • Hotel Plaza De Armas PR has a "good night rest" policy ensuring all guests receive a good night rest. Any excessive noise complaints will not be tolerated and further action should be taken into consideration. This property's policy is to refuse certain bookings for the purpose of group events or parties, including pre-wedding stag/bachelor and hen/bachelorette parties. All guests staying in hotel guestrooms must be registered with the hotel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Plaza De Armas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Plaza De Armas Rooms

Interior Queen Bed
Located on floors 1-4. One Queen Bed. No windows, Desk, Cable/Satellite TV, Hair Dryer, Iron/Ironing board, In-room Safe, Air Conditioning and Free High Speed Internet in common areas.
Interior Single Bed, NO WINDOW
Located on floors 1-4, One Single Bed. No windows, Desk, Cable/Satellite TV, Hair Dryer, Iron/Ironing board,In-room Safe, Air Conditioning and Free High Speed Internet in common areas.
Suite King Bed. Window with Plaza View
Located on Floors 2-4, One King Bed Desk, Cable/Satellite TV, Hair Dryer, Iron/Ironing board, In-room Safe, Air Conditioning and Free High Speed Internet in common areas.
Suite King & Single Bed. Window with Plaza View
Located on Floors 2. One King Bed & One Single Bed Colonial Spanish-Style Ambience. May include Sofa Bed, Cable TV, Hair Dryer, Iron/Ironing Board, Air Conditioning and Free High Speed Internet.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Plaza de Armas: 0.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.4 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.4 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.3 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.5 mi

Dining

SOFO District (South of Fortaleza Street)
Near the center of the culinary district sofo - south of Fortaleza Street - where some of the greatest restaurants and bars of the island are located.
Restaurant
Raices Restaurant: Get a 20% OFF in Lunch/Dinner bill everytime you go there.. Restaurant is walking distance.
Restaurant
Barrachina Restaurant: Get a FREE Pia Colada and a 20% OFF in Lunch/Dinner bill everytime you go there.. Restaurant is walking distance.
Restaurant
Il Baccaro Venezia Italian Restaurant: Get a 10% OFF in Dinner bill everytime you go there.. Restaurant is walking distance.
Coffee Shop
Le Sucree Pastry Boutique: An excellent, beautiful, brand new coffee shop and pastry inside the hotel..

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Plaza De Armas

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aaponte
Business
Trijullo Alto
Jan 3, 2014

old sj experience

Quiet, calm,relaxing and historic experience on the old san juan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Barrachina restaurant, home of the pina colada

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lina7
Business
Cabo Rojo, Puerto Rico
Jul 16, 2013

Great value

If you are on a budget and want an hotel near everything in San Juan this is the place you should stay. This is my second time at the hotel and i am looking forward to come back soon. You won't find luxuries, pool or amenities inside the hotel but it doesn't matter cause Old San Juan has plenty of atractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dinning options near the hotel: old harbor brewery (great mofongo and local craft beers), Fefo's (good trifongo), Raices rest. (Delicious local food and the best piña colada),

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Derek R.
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 5, 2013

Old San Juan Charm

Perfectly located for experiencing Old San Juan. The staff is friendly and eager to help share the "feel" of Old San Juan/Puerto Rico. The hotel lacks some basic amenities such as parking, a pool, etc. and the decor is a little antiquated but I guess that is part of the Old San Juan charm. Great value for the money especially for the budget minded "no frills" traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a bus terminal in Old San Juan that provides transportation to other parts of the city. A lot cheaper than taxis but there can be some long waits.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Honeymoon Vacation Cruise
Business
Wisconsin
Jun 2, 2013

One night stay after Carnival Cruise 2 couples 2 rooms

Close to where the cruise ship is and at the center of everything in old san juan. If you have luggage, you should take a cab from the ship to the hotel. It is a very very old place, I wouldn't even call it a hotel. I've never been to a hotel like this before because it just wasn't a hotel. Elevator was scary because it almost wasn't automatic and you had to pull the elevator doors closed yourself. We didn't even know it was an elevator until we saw someone came out of it. Haha. I had to try not to have so many lights on or use too many electric plugs at the same time because the electricity did go out for a few minutes. Room and table had a lot of weird stains but the bedsheets looks pretty clean. I am cheap when it comes to hotel because I just need a bed and shower on vacation but this is just different. I had to have my sandals on at all time inside the room. I would not stay at this place more than one night and I do not recommend renting a car in san juan because the streets are so narrow it barely fit one car at a time and it took us 2 hrs and yet FAILED just looking for a parking space over night therefore we took the car back. Most of the streets are not even label so you can't really tell where you are on the map :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Papa Travelin
Business
Townsesd,Montana
May 20, 2013

So Let Down

Been here many times before,good experiances.This time booked 4 rooms,all had major problems.3 had broken air conditioners,1 the door would not shut completly,all were filthy,2 had broken appliances.But worse of all,when the staff was notified,you got a smile and nothing was done.there 4days never took off our shoes,the floor was so dirty.$190 a nite! never again,at any price. Date of our last visit was march of 2013,and i do mean last!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

food,shopping,and all sorts of things to do are a short walk from anywhere in Old San Juan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stella2626
Business
Iowa
Apr 23, 2013

Pre Cruise Stay

This is the second time we have stayed here and we love it. We booked four rooms and we were pleasantly surprised that they were all together. The location makes this hotel a great value. It is in the heart of Old San Juan. It is close to both forts. If your cruise ship is at the pier in Old San Juan, you can easily walk to it with luggage. It is all downhill. We will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Baseball Fanatic
Business
Gilmore City, Iowa
Mar 13, 2013

Great value in Old San Juan

Get a Suite if you can. 4th floor has walk out patios. Wonderful staff, very helpful. Slow elevator - be patient, you'll get there. If you're in a hurry, go elsewhere. Suite has a refrigerator, microwave and in room safe. Near sights and restaurants. Taxi stand right there if you don't want to walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many good places on Forteleza Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
unpleased guest
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Sep 9, 2011

not a good hotel

The hotel was in a great location. Because we went on a cruise and the ship was very close walking distance, which was great. The hotel it self sucked because the elevator was not and has not been working for many months. We had to pull our heavy suit case all the way up to the third floor. The stair case was very small. The room was ok. I will not recommend this hotel to no one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ANA MALAK
Business
N.Y.C.
Jul 23, 2011

DISSAPOINTED

First hotel that doesn't serve continental breakfast, they say that they don't have a kitchen. they don't need a kitchen to put some croissants and coffee makers. in the room there's no coffee machine(it says in the package that there's is one there, not true) I had to pay for my own breakfast $7 everymorning. the rooms smells like huminity, the towels are too small, the waters ''dripping'' no hot water, barely warm, the a/c has no regulator, so i had to shut it off, several times, it had led paint in the wall i had to asked them to change the room, which they did. The service in the front desk,very nice and helpul! It has fleas in the bed, I couldn't sleep all night. Only had 4 channels the tv, has no cable. I asked the girl when i make the reservation to go to isla verde/carolina, she sent me to the old san juan, extremely inconvinient for my fam. to go there! as soon as i arrived I called and called 3 times. No one could do nothing for me to change my reservation, coz Howard Jhonson had diff. owners, bla bla bla, they put me on hold up to 45 min. each time was 30, 35 min and then 45 min. no one picked up the phone! I know for sure I will never like to be in that hotel anymore, u can't even use the elevator is so old, is manual, first time i see one of those, and u can only put the ''lugagge'' and i was in the 3rd flr. so slow like a turttle. About the flight great! no complaints! oh and that room has a twin bed only no queens size, full of fleas!!!!!!!!! damm that was horrible! I guess that's it for now! U should pick better quality hotels that has no led paint on the wall, no huminity smell and no fleas! the rest is tolerable, this is absolutely NOT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I love the food from EL meson, not too expensive, great variarity and great service, also you have a subway there 1 block down, don't go to the rest. from the hotel, service is great, but a breakfast 7 dol. only fruist with coffee is too much, in el Meson for 4.00 u get coffee and a big sandwich ! much better deal, the ice cream they charge $2 to the tourist, before u pay tell him a dollar or nothing they will sell it to you for a buck, delicious by the way. fight the prices, u may get away with a good deal if you know how to negotiate! San Juan is a beautiful city, go to the port so gorgeous there!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 6, 2011

great location, rundwon hote,

This hotel is located in the very center of Old San Juan, a charming historic settlement full of attractive shops, bars, and restaurants. Ultimately, this location couldn't be better. The hotel, however is poorly maintained, most rooms have no windows, and the A/C system is terribly old-fashined and noisy. I travel to San Juan quite often and I won't definitely return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top