$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Hotel Plaza De Armas

2 stars
202 San Jose St, San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
88 reviews
good

Great hotel, staff nice and friendly, great location and restaurants near by. The room was too... See full review

  • Y eye
  • Sep 15, 2014
location, location

perfect location close to everything old san juan, great ac in room and friendly helpful staff half... See full review

  • cowboy j
  • Jun 30, 2014
Hotel with historic setting and location in the heart of San Juan
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan is for travelers looking to be in the heart of Old San Juan. The hotel is in a coveted location in the historic quarter. The Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture.

A completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts guests mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, museums, art galleries, restaurants and world-class shopping. From its uniquely Spanish-colonial architecture to its comforting in-room amenities, the Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan offers visitors a seamless blend of Old World charm and New World elegance.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi access in lobby and atrium
  • Le Sucree Pastry Boutique inside the Hotel
  • Discounts at nearby restaurants
Rooms
The 50 rooms at the Hotel Plaza De Armas are wrapped around a spacious inner courtyard where patrons can seat to use Wi-Fi access. All units are clean and modest with simple touches such as wood wardrobes, headboards and nightstands, and stainless steel lamps. The rooms have clock radios, iron and ironing board, hairdryer and a television with cable. Suites have windows overlooking the historic district and  floor-to-ceiling shutters that open to street views. Some suites have small refrigerators and sofa sleepers. The modest standard rooms have no windows. The Hotel Plaza De Armas has high-speed Internet access in public areas (lobby & atrium).
Dining
The simple, on-site bistro is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Transportation
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (7.5 mi/12 km)
Attractions
  • Cathedral of San Juan Bautista (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • La Fortaleza (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Cruise ship piers (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Condado district (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Isla Verde Beach (6.8 mi/11 km)
Business
  • Copying, faxing
  • High-speed Internet access in lobby and atrium
Policies & fees

  • Extra-person charges apply and vary depending on availability and hotel policy.
  • For special accessibility needs like accessible path of travel, accessible bathroom, roll-in shower, in-room accessibility or other, please contact property before making the reservation.
  • Hotel requires government-issued photo identification per each adult.
  • A valid credit card is always required at check-in to process the reservation, all room fees and a $50.00 deposit per room.
  • Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and will incur in additional charges to your room fees. 
  • Pets are not allowed. A USD$ 250.00 penalty fee will be charged for any violation of this policy.
  • Hotel Plaza de Armas is a non-smoking hotel. A USD$ 250.00 cleaning fee will be charged for smoking in the room or public areas.
  • Check-in time starts at: 3:00 PM. Special request for early check-in between 11:00 AM and 2:59 PM will be subject to availability. Special request for Check-in earlier than 11:00 AM will charge an additional USD$50.00 per room and will be subject to availability.
  • Check-out time is at 12 Noon. Special request for late check-out from 12:01 PM to 3:00 PM may be subject to availability and a USD$40.00 late check-out fee per room will be charged. Special request for check-out after 3 PM will be charged an additional night stay per room and will be subject to availability.
  • There are no rollaway beds available and for security, guests can not bring their own.
  • Minimum check-in age per room is 21. 
  • All fees are charged and collected by the hotel either at check-in or check-out.
  • Fees may not include tax and are subject to change.
  • Standard, non-suite rooms are windowless.
  • Suites have windows.
  • Hotel Plaza De Armas PR has a "good night rest" policy ensuring all guests receive a good night rest. Any excessive noise complaints will not be tolerated and further action should be taken into consideration. This property's policy is to refuse certain bookings for the purpose of group events or parties, including pre-wedding stag/bachelor and hen/bachelorette parties. All guests staying in hotel guestrooms must be registered with the hotel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Plaza De Armas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Plaza De Armas Rooms

Interior Queen Bed
Located on floors 1-4. One Queen Bed. No windows, Desk, Cable/Satellite TV, Hair Dryer, Iron/Ironing board, In-room Safe, Air Conditioning and Free High Speed Internet in common areas.
Interior Single Bed, NO WINDOW
Located on floors 1-4, One Single Bed. No windows, Desk, Cable/Satellite TV, Hair Dryer, Iron/Ironing board,In-room Safe, Air Conditioning and Free High Speed Internet in common areas.
Suite King Bed. Window with Plaza View
Located on Floors 2-4, One King Bed Desk, Cable/Satellite TV, Hair Dryer, Iron/Ironing board, In-room Safe, Air Conditioning and Free High Speed Internet in common areas.
Suite King & Single Bed. Window with Plaza View
Located on Floors 2. One King Bed & One Single Bed Colonial Spanish-Style Ambience. May include Sofa Bed, Cable TV, Hair Dryer, Iron/Ironing Board, Air Conditioning and Free High Speed Internet.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Plaza de Armas: 0.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.4 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.4 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.3 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.5 mi

Dining

SOFO District (South of Fortaleza Street)
Near the center of the culinary district sofo - south of Fortaleza Street - where some of the greatest restaurants and bars of the island are located.
Restaurant
Raices Restaurant: Get a 20% OFF in Lunch/Dinner bill everytime you go there.. Restaurant is walking distance.
Restaurant
Barrachina Restaurant: Get a FREE Pia Colada and a 20% OFF in Lunch/Dinner bill everytime you go there.. Restaurant is walking distance.
Restaurant
Il Baccaro Venezia Italian Restaurant: Get a 10% OFF in Dinner bill everytime you go there.. Restaurant is walking distance.
Coffee Shop
Le Sucree Pastry Boutique: An excellent, beautiful, brand new coffee shop and pastry inside the hotel..

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Plaza De Armas

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lina7
Business
Cabo Rojo, Puerto Rico
Jul 16, 2013

Great value

If you are on a budget and want an hotel near everything in San Juan this is the place you should stay. This is my second time at the hotel and i am looking forward to come back soon. You won't find luxuries, pool or amenities inside the hotel but it doesn't matter cause Old San Juan has plenty of atractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dinning options near the hotel: old harbor brewery (great mofongo and local craft beers), Fefo's (good trifongo), Raices rest. (Delicious local food and the best piña colada),

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Derek R.
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 5, 2013

Old San Juan Charm

Perfectly located for experiencing Old San Juan. The staff is friendly and eager to help share the "feel" of Old San Juan/Puerto Rico. The hotel lacks some basic amenities such as parking, a pool, etc. and the decor is a little antiquated but I guess that is part of the Old San Juan charm. Great value for the money especially for the budget minded "no frills" traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a bus terminal in Old San Juan that provides transportation to other parts of the city. A lot cheaper than taxis but there can be some long waits.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Honeymoon Vacation Cruise
Business
Wisconsin
Jun 2, 2013

One night stay after Carnival Cruise 2 couples 2 rooms

Close to where the cruise ship is and at the center of everything in old san juan. If you have luggage, you should take a cab from the ship to the hotel. It is a very very old place, I wouldn't even call it a hotel. I've never been to a hotel like this before because it just wasn't a hotel. Elevator was scary because it almost wasn't automatic and you had to pull the elevator doors closed yourself. We didn't even know it was an elevator until we saw someone came out of it. Haha. I had to try not to have so many lights on or use too many electric plugs at the same time because the electricity did go out for a few minutes. Room and table had a lot of weird stains but the bedsheets looks pretty clean. I am cheap when it comes to hotel because I just need a bed and shower on vacation but this is just different. I had to have my sandals on at all time inside the room. I would not stay at this place more than one night and I do not recommend renting a car in san juan because the streets are so narrow it barely fit one car at a time and it took us 2 hrs and yet FAILED just looking for a parking space over night therefore we took the car back. Most of the streets are not even label so you can't really tell where you are on the map :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Papa Travelin
Business
Townsesd,Montana
May 20, 2013

So Let Down

Been here many times before,good experiances.This time booked 4 rooms,all had major problems.3 had broken air conditioners,1 the door would not shut completly,all were filthy,2 had broken appliances.But worse of all,when the staff was notified,you got a smile and nothing was done.there 4days never took off our shoes,the floor was so dirty.$190 a nite! never again,at any price. Date of our last visit was march of 2013,and i do mean last!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

food,shopping,and all sorts of things to do are a short walk from anywhere in Old San Juan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stella2626
Business
Iowa
Apr 23, 2013

Pre Cruise Stay

This is the second time we have stayed here and we love it. We booked four rooms and we were pleasantly surprised that they were all together. The location makes this hotel a great value. It is in the heart of Old San Juan. It is close to both forts. If your cruise ship is at the pier in Old San Juan, you can easily walk to it with luggage. It is all downhill. We will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Baseball Fanatic
Business
Gilmore City, Iowa
Mar 13, 2013

Great value in Old San Juan

Get a Suite if you can. 4th floor has walk out patios. Wonderful staff, very helpful. Slow elevator - be patient, you'll get there. If you're in a hurry, go elsewhere. Suite has a refrigerator, microwave and in room safe. Near sights and restaurants. Taxi stand right there if you don't want to walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many good places on Forteleza Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IntrepidFamily
Business
San Francisco, california
Dec 31, 2012

Superb Location

My husband, my two teen sons, and I stayed one night at this hotel. Our room had a queen size bed, a twin size, and a futon with a balcony and view of Old San Juan. The room was comfortable and clean with air condition. Although, the refrigerator in the room didn't work. The staff was very friendly. Overall, we would stay in this hotel if we ever decided to visit San Juan again. The location is within walking distance of all the historical sights and restaurants. There is a large parking lot within 5 minutes walking to the hotel. The parking fee is inexpensive. We really enjoyed our stay in San Juan. Driving in Old San Juan is doable as long as you are patient and not in a hurry. We scheduled San Juan for our last leg of the trip so we won't need to be in a hurry to get somewhere else plus it is not far from the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
x chen
Business
San Francisco, California
Jun 26, 2012

stylish hotel at a great location

The hotel is located right in front of Plaza De Armos. Parking is not included but available in south old San Juan. Overall positive experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ronces
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Mar 27, 2012

It's a shame

What a shame to have such a beautiful and historical place loosing its charm. The night staff was ok, and the morning staff was not very friendly either. They even got defensive when we complained about the bad elevator. The room smelled like mold and it was very noisy at night. They used to have a complimentary breakfast, but now they only had a coffee maker in the bedroom without any coffee to make. I stayed in this hotel before it became a Howard Johnson and it was pretty decent, but this time we were very dissapointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rwconyers
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Mar 25, 2012

Great place to stay in Old San Juan

In contrast to some of the reviews that I read prior to my trip, I thought the place was very charming and reminiscent of European old world hotels. The location in Old San Juan was excellent. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top