$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Hotel Miramar

3 stars
606 Ponce De Leon Ave., San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
191 reviews
Family

It's in a good place and accessible to all such as Old San Juan and you can take the buses to avoid... See full review

  • Victor Soto
  • Sep 15, 2014
Excelent!

We stayed one night, the front desk staff member was well oriented and bilingual, the room was... See full review

  • Victor Soto
  • Jun 2, 2014

The Miramar Hotel San Juan extends a friendly hand to anyone visiting San Juan's shores, with its traditional bar and rooftop views of the lagoon and the Atlantic beyond. Even the most dedicated workers are treated to a warmly-lit, comfy business lounge, complete with eclectic furniture and lampshades, while wooden writing desks stand in for computer stations for a 'home office' feel. The Bistro 606 Restaurant serves up tempting plates of tapas over a glass or two of vino. The gym is located on the same floor as the ocean side sundeck, so sticking to your vacation workout may prove a challenge.

Key facts

  • 50 guestrooms
  • Dry bar, mini-fridge, and microwave available in all rooms
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Rooftop terrace and sundeck
  • Gym
  • Restaurant: 606 Bistro and Wine Bar
  • 24-hour concierge service
  • Babysitting services available
  • Laundry and dry cleaning services available

Neighborhood

The Miramar Hotel San Juan is located at the crossroads of San Juan in the unassuming neighborhood of Miramar. To the northwest across the water lies the district of Old San Juan, with its sea-forts and rambling cobbled walkways; to the east is the upscale Condado district, with Condado and Oceanpark beaches providing all the surfing and volleyball action you could wish for. The nearby Puerto Rico Convention Center is the gleaming, modern landmark of the district, and the calm waters of Condado Lagoon are only a block away.

Hints and tips

Buses run by the stop in front of the hotel frequently, so it's easy to get around San Juan and cross the bridge into the old historic district as well.

Inexpensive Lima Bar does a mean ceviche for dinner, and there's also a movie theater located a block away from the hotel for those looking to catch a flick.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Miramar also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Miramar Rooms

Standard Room
Spacious,clean, comfortable and nicely equipped to give a feeling of being home while away from home. The hotel is ideal for extended stays whether on business or pleasure. Guest rooms feature dry bars with mini fridge and microwaves, air conditioning, Cable TV, AM/FM clock radios, telephone with data ports, work desks, in-room safes, wall mounted hair dryers and iron/ironing boards.
Superior/Ocean View
Oversized corner rooms with panoramic views of the Condado Lagoon and the Atlantic Ocean Dry bars with mini fridge and microwaves,Free Wireless Internet,Large Work Desk or Dining Tables. Some with Plasma TV.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Solarium
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 1.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 1.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 1.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 1.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 1.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 1.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 1.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 1.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 2.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 2.4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 3.5 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.3 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 44.5 mi

Dining

Sun Deck
Enjoy a cool drink in our rooftop terrace while enjoying the fabuluos views of Old San Juan, the Atlantic Ocean, Condado skyline and the cruise ships in the San Juan Marina
606 Bistro & Wine Bar
Puerto Rican bistro!. Open for breakfast,lunch & dinner. Enjoy international cuisine and local dishes in a cozy and intimate atmosphere. Private Dining room and Bar.
Nearby Restaurants
Multiple dining options within driving distance.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (191)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Miramar

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
191 out of 191
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
IoPsycho
Business
Northern Virginia, USA
Jan 5, 2010

Acceptable for one night

Pros: (1) There is free parking. However, note that this essentially involves about 6 parking spots on the street in front of the hotel (which are shared with other establishments) and perhaps about 3 valet parking spots in the alley next to the hotel. We were lucky enough to find space in front of the hotel both times we parked, but it seems as though there may not always be available spots. (2) The room had a small fridge and microwave. (3) The hotel has an internet-enabled desktop computer that is free for guests. (4) The area around the hotel has several nice restaurants, catering to a variety of tastes and price-ranges. There were a couple of homeless people around, but the area seemed very safe. The hotel itself has a restaurant/bar, but we didn't try it. (5) The hotel is only about a 10-minute drive away from Old San Juan. Cons: (1) Our GPS didn't recognize the hotel's address. Of course this isn't the hotel's fault--GPS (or Google Maps) seems not to work very well in Puerto Rico--but it made the hotel slightly difficult to find. It might be a good idea to call the hotel ahead of time and ask for directions. (2) Our room had not been cleaned when we checked in at 4:30 PM. Even after it was cleaned, there was a heavy perfumed smell that aggravated both my wife's and my allergies. (3) The mattress on the bed was not comfortable. Overall: The hotel was reasonably priced and acceptable for one night, but I would hesitate to stay there for longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

My wife and I highly recommend the Los Pinos Cafe, which is very reasonably priced (e.g., $20 for food and beverages for two people), has excellent food, and is located very close to the hotel (ask the desk clerk for directions). We ate there twice. The papaya shake at the cafe was truly excellent--I cannot recommend it highly enough! We also ate at a restaurant named Lima (which, as you might suspect from the name, serves Peruvian food). This is a fairly expensive restaurant. The food was good, but the service was sloooooooow.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ohio
Jun 29, 2009

Hotel Miramar

great staff. good for short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

old san juan

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
disappointment traveler
Business
West Palm Beach, Fl
Jul 6, 2009

looks could be deceiving

Location of Hotel not very safe at nite and no parking what so ever for rental. Staff not knowledgeable about the area. No pool or area to relax in the evenings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the entire island, do not just stay in San Juan. The island has many wonderful location to view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Father and mother
Business
Florida
Jun 17, 2014

It was ok

It was ok my stay at this hotel. The tub was clogged.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D adventure of a lifetime
Business
Central , NJ
Aug 17, 2009

overall a very satifsying experience

When we first arrived at the hotel it wasn't really what I had expected. The area wasn't as nice as I thought, but once we went in the staff was super friendly. The hotel is small, but nice its located 10 mins walking distance to the Beach Condada, this beach is small, but it was nice.. At first when we walked into the room there was a bit of a smell, but the room itself was clean and I felt very comfortable there. It has many restaurants nearby and is only a 15 mins bus drive over to Ocean Park and Isla Verde where the beaches are beautiful. I would recommend going on the buses which are only 75cents compared to the cabs which get a bit pricey. People all around are very helpful and are more than willing to help you get to a specific area so you won't get lost!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Taking the cab over to Old San Juan which is probably 10-15mins away. There are many bars and the nightlife is very nice. We went to Cafe Seda which had a live salsa band and the drinks were very cheap it was a great atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Martha,Super granma
Business
Miami,Fl
Sep 30, 2009

Stupendous stay!

I really enjoyed this hotel.the price was fair,clean and comfortable.Delicious food prepared by Chef Omar at the Hotel's Restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Location of the hotel close to expressways to reach differents locations (old San Juan,Condado,airport,and others places.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PR
Jun 28, 2010

Good hotel with bad staff

Didn't has parking Unfriendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mpaltfdl
Business
San Paolo, Brasile
Oct 11, 2011

Nice hotel

nice hotel, breakfast is 3 mini toasts, 1 cup of coffee and 3 pices of fruit. I checked in at noon while the check in time is 3pm. I was sent to a very smelly room and I requested to be changed and the receptionist did it with no problems. They advertise free parking but they only have 4 parking spots and if they are full, receptionist works as vallet and park the car on the streets. They have a nice view from roff top but this is it. Close to mall las americas, bar and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CJbeach
Business
New York, NY, USA
Dec 29, 2011

Friendly staff

Nice staff, but didn't love that curtains were above bedboard. Mattress a bit stiff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1Baboo
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Mar 30, 2012

Great get away!

The first day we arrived the front desk attendant confirmed our reservation, asked for a credit card (just in case of any room service charges; but nothing was charged at that moment), handed us 2 room cards and we were on our way. The room was clean and it was very comfortable. The only thing that was missing was a coffee maker! The WIFI worked very well also. Most of all I enjoyed lifting the window and getting fresh air while enjoying the view every morning. The sun deck/roof area was really nice. We took great pictures there. If you are a gym rat, this gym would not be for you, but the trail for running is beautiful if cardio is your primary workout. The hotel is literally in walking distance from the main strip/stores and beaches. There is a grocery store (Pueblo) that sold alcohol and whatever else you may need. There was a Papa Johns, Subway, Taco Maker (equivalent to Taco Bell) and a nice restaurant across the street. There is also a bistro on the 1st level of the hotel. It was very easy getting a cab and the people were very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Plaza Las Americas was the mall we went to. There was a movie theatre (cheaper than in Houston, TX); and if you go to the information desk they will give you a bag full neat souvenirs and a huge coupon book. The mall was full of restaurants and GREAT stores!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top