$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Hotel Miramar

3 stars
606 Ponce De Leon Ave., San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
232 reviews
Excelent!

We stayed one night, the front desk staff member was well oriented and bilingual, the room was... See full review

  • Victor Soto
  • Jun 2, 2014
Good place to stay

The room is comfortable and big. And it's close to old san juan. The staffs are friendly. See full review

  • manting
  • Dec 21, 2013

The Miramar Hotel San Juan extends a friendly hand to anyone visiting San Juan's shores, with its traditional bar and rooftop views of the lagoon and the Atlantic beyond. Even the most dedicated workers are treated to a warmly-lit, comfy business lounge, complete with eclectic furniture and lampshades, while wooden writing desks stand in for computer stations for a 'home office' feel. The Bistro 606 Restaurant serves up tempting plates of tapas over a glass or two of vino. The gym is located on the same floor as the ocean side sundeck, so sticking to your vacation workout may prove a challenge.

Key facts

  • 50 guestrooms
  • Dry bar, mini-fridge, and microwave available in all rooms
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Rooftop terrace and sundeck
  • Gym
  • Restaurant: 606 Bistro and Wine Bar
  • 24-hour concierge service
  • Babysitting services available
  • Laundry and dry cleaning services available

Neighborhood

The Miramar Hotel San Juan is located at the crossroads of San Juan in the unassuming neighborhood of Miramar. To the northwest across the water lies the district of Old San Juan, with its sea-forts and rambling cobbled walkways; to the east is the upscale Condado district, with Condado and Oceanpark beaches providing all the surfing and volleyball action you could wish for. The nearby Puerto Rico Convention Center is the gleaming, modern landmark of the district, and the calm waters of Condado Lagoon are only a block away.

Hints and tips

Buses run by the stop in front of the hotel frequently, so it's easy to get around San Juan and cross the bridge into the old historic district as well.

Inexpensive Lima Bar does a mean ceviche for dinner, and there's also a movie theater located a block away from the hotel for those looking to catch a flick.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Miramar Rooms

Standard Room
Spacious,clean, comfortable and nicely equipped to give a feeling of being home while away from home. The hotel is ideal for extended stays whether on business or pleasure. Guest rooms feature dry bars with mini fridge and microwaves, air conditioning, Cable TV, AM/FM clock radios, telephone with data ports, work desks, in-room safes, wall mounted hair dryers and iron/ironing boards.
Superior/Ocean View
Oversized corner rooms with panoramic views of the Condado Lagoon and the Atlantic Ocean Dry bars with mini fridge and microwaves,Free Wireless Internet,Large Work Desk or Dining Tables. Some with Plasma TV.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Solarium
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Miramar also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4566 -66.0848
Area served
Condado/Miramar, San Juan, Isla Verde, Old San Juan, Hato Rey, Carolina, Rio Piedras.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU).
Area description
Miramar is, for the most part, a quiet, unassuming neighborhood across the water from Condado. It's a mix of residential community, business sector, and some admittedly shady areas. But Miramar's fortune changed with the arrival of the Puerto Rico Convention Center. An architectural wonder, the center is still putting it's stamp on the neighborhood, but it has already transformed the landscape.
Directions from San Juan Airport: Take Route 26 West to San Juan. Take exit: "Ave RH Todd-Santurce Pda.18-Condado Centro".Turn left at street light. Turn right onto Ponce de Leon Ave (Rt.25). Hotel is at the end of the avenue on your left. Stay on the inside left lane and make a U turn to access the hotel.

Nearby points of interest

  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 1.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 1.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 1.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 1.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 1.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 1.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 1.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 1.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 2.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 2.4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 3.5 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 4.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 44.5 mi

Dining

Sun Deck
Enjoy a cool drink in our rooftop terrace while enjoying the fabuluos views of Old San Juan, the Atlantic Ocean, Condado skyline and the cruise ships in the San Juan Marina
606 Bistro & Wine Bar
Puerto Rican bistro!. Open for breakfast,lunch & dinner. Enjoy international cuisine and local dishes in a cozy and intimate atmosphere. Private Dining room and Bar.
Nearby Restaurants
Multiple dining options within driving distance.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (232)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Miramar

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
232 out of 232
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nita (Aruba)
Aruba Dutch Caribbean
Sep 16, 2009

Great and nice staff

It was great, the staff were so nice and welcomed me very good. No complain at all! I recommend this hotel to everybody.I will go back because of the staff: [...].Orbitz settle everything very good for me. Thank you Orbitz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Plaza Las Americas, Condado Plaza, Old SJ.

Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston MA
Jun 18, 2009

Great hotel.

Great hotel. We stayed 5 days, unlike many who just stay 1 day before a cruise. After reading reviews from a few different sites we were a bit concerned. When we arrived we were turned off by the neighborhood. A bit run down, but it was just because we expected more of the island itself. The hotel itself was great! The staff was very very nice and are always available. They let us check in 3 hours early without notice. There is a grocery/liquor store 2 seconds away. Lots of familiar food places and one 24 hour restaurant all right out side. The rooms were very very nice, large and clean. Dont be fooled by the exterior. the inside is wonderful! We WILL stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

DO NOT TAKE THE CABS. They over charge. The bus is 50 cent and will get you everywhere you want to go up until 11oclock. We went to Old San Juan and all other attractions on the bus and took cabs back to Mirimar. They come fast and people are very helpful with directions. Go to the Bacardi rum tour, El San Juan Hotel and Casino, walking tours all on the bus. The beach is in walking distance. I cant stress how helpful and nice the staff at the hotel was. Dont pay for tour guides. There are lost of things to do and see for free.

Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Paterson, NJ
Aug 10, 2008

Very Friendly

When I first got to the hotel I was wondering how good could it be because it seemed small and in a semi quiet area, but once we checked in and the welcome we received went well, then we went up to the room and it was beautiful, king size bed, flat screen TV with Satelite, and very clean and an awesome view of the ocean across the way. I am VERY happy that I picked the Miramar Hotel in San Juan, Puerto Rico to stay in. The owners of the Hotel were GREAT and always made sure we were happy. I would DEFINITLY stay at this hotel in my next stay in Puerto Rico!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you had a car like I did there were many places close to the hotel where you could drive to, like Old San Juan, The Fort, many little stores to shop and lots of historical sites. It was awesome and all close to the hotel. They also had tour buses leaving from the hotel.

Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Clarksville, TN
Jan 4, 2011

Nice Stay, friendly staff, clean,

Have a nice stay in PR, visiting family and friends. Hotel staff were friendly. Hotel was clean. Breakfast was good. The Bistro Restaurant was good. And the hotel is centrally located accesible to amenities, to other hotels, museums and restaurants, and close to Old San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping in Old San Juan, and in Plaza las Americas Shopping Center. Good restaurants everywhere, as well as hotels with casinos and entertainment. Good bakeries. Recommend Kasalta Bakery. Cafe Valencia Restaurant in Hato Rey - highly recommended although pricey, but good Spanish food. We recommend Al Dente Italian Restaurant in Old San Juan - food was excellent.

Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nomada
Ohio
Jul 5, 2009

Great and convenient location plus charm

Great location, charm and convenience for your money! Is like being in old Europe without the travel and cost issues......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Check the Bizarre Foods Show (Travel Channel-Andrew Zimmern -June/09) for the best food experiences!!!

Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FrankieD
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Mar 10, 2012

Don't listen to the bad reviews

I was a bit skeptical after seeing some of the bad reviews but the hotel is great for the money! The staff is very friendly; especially the manager. They were very knowledgeable of where to go to and how to get there. The area is safe enough as long as you don't go where the staff tells you not to go. It is very centrally located between Old San Juan and Carolina. I highly recommend this hotel and would stay there the next time I am in San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
modee
toledo,oh
Jul 13, 2012

hotel is close to everythinnnggggg!!!!!!!!!!!!

really enjoyed my stay at hotel miramar all staff members were great and very helpful and u get more than what you pay for. I once stayed in a 5star hotel but overall was treated better at the hotel miramar and they always made sure we were satisfied! will def rebook to stay with them on my next visit! looking foward too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

bus line is right there, the lagoon the condado beach is a walking distance so it dont get any better than that!

Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
NEW YORK
Jun 24, 2009

NICE COZY HOTEL

THIS IS OUR THIRD TRIP TO MIRMAR HOTEL WE PICK THIS HOTEL BECAUSE IT'S A SMALL COZY HOTEL. THERE ARE MANY RESTAURANTS AROUND THE AREA. PLUS THE A5 BUS TAKE YOU TO OLD SAN JUAN LESS THEN 10 MINUTES. AND THE BEACH IS WALKING DISTANCE. I LOVE THIS HOTEL PLANNING TO GO BACK SOON.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

OLD SAN JUAN

Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs.RSC
Northern Pennsylvania
Sep 16, 2012

Wonderfully Romantic Honeymoon Stay

My husband and I were thrilled with the MIramar! Located in the business district, the all-night diner, post office, bank and grocery store were all conveniently close by. Even the "tourist section" and beach, and Old San Juan were just a short walk away. The cleaning staff did a wonderful job--the room was spotless. The reception staff was so pleasant and incredibly helpful, too. We really enjoyed chatting with them and got great advice about the city, the culture and "must see" places. Also, the view from the sun terrace is amazing! One can appreciate the tropical city-scape, the lagoon, and the ocean. It was the perfect place to enjoy a pitcher of mojitos as the sun set. Staying at the Miramar was a wonderful experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

From the Miramar hotel, the all-night diner "Los Pinos Cafe" is less than a block away. The food is good, and the prices are reasonable as well. The grocery store, "Pueblo", is about 2 blocks away, and has a delicious dine in/take out specials for under 4 dollars. Breakfast is the best: Ham, eggs, toast, and coffee. The tostones are great there, too.

Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hugh, Matthew and Sarah Ezell
Tucson, AZ
Jun 29, 2009

The staff made this stay great.

We arrived at 11pm. Our room was ready and we had a quick checkin. The initial impression was a musty smelling entry and a concern that this smell was going to be a part of our stay. When we stepped into our room, the room was chilled and the smell was gone. The rest of the stay was uphill. From [...] at the front desk, [...] in the main rooms and [...] in the kitchen, everyone was helpful and genuine in making our stay enjoyable. [...] is a hands-on owner and reponsive to our requests. Food in the bar was great, the Puerto Rican people were great and the driving, once you get use to it, was an adventure one has to experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Guavate

Back to menu Return to top