$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 5, 2015

Hotel Miramar

3 stars
View map of 606 Ponce De Leon Ave., San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Miramar

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
221 out of 221
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs.RSC
Northern Pennsylvania
Sep 16, 2012

Wonderfully Romantic Honeymoon Stay

My husband and I were thrilled with the MIramar! Located in the business district, the all-night diner, post office, bank and grocery store were all conveniently close by. Even the "tourist section" and beach, and Old San Juan were just a short walk away. The cleaning staff did a wonderful job--the room was spotless. The reception staff was so pleasant and incredibly helpful, too. We really enjoyed chatting with them and got great advice about the city, the culture and "must see" places. Also, the view from the sun terrace is amazing! One can appreciate the tropical city-scape, the lagoon, and the ocean. It was the perfect place to enjoy a pitcher of mojitos as the sun set. Staying at the Miramar was a wonderful experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

From the Miramar hotel, the all-night diner "Los Pinos Cafe" is less than a block away. The food is good, and the prices are reasonable as well. The grocery store, "Pueblo", is about 2 blocks away, and has a delicious dine in/take out specials for under 4 dollars. Breakfast is the best: Ham, eggs, toast, and coffee. The tostones are great there, too.

Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wn.yoga
Business
Oak Park, IL
Jan 7, 2013

clean hotel in a convenient location

The Miramar is within easy walking distance to the Condado area (over the bridge). Its also conveniently located at the highways that connect to the east (El Yunque, Fajardo), south (Ponce, etc), and west (the Bacardi plant!) The staff was great and the room very clean...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Casita Miramar for dinner

Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Avaya2012
Business
San June, Puerto Rico
Dec 31, 2012

the room has bad smell and the AC is too loud

It's a small hotel with a small lobby. The staff is OK. But the room has some kind of smell and the AC is too loud and I cannot sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cavgirl
Business
chicago, il
Dec 30, 2012

good modern hotel

I was happy in this hotel. It has all the modern amenities, the room was large and clean, parking was easy and the location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wm 2
Business
Phx
Dec 28, 2012

Just a nite in town

Hotel was in a bad area of town,but near the cruise ship.The room was just ok.Staff was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RBSG
Business
Texas
Dec 17, 2012

San Juan

The hotel was average...the location good, the service great. There was a night without running water b/c they had to clear the water lines. We didn't have water to flush the toilet, wash or brush teeth for 12 hours. It was a little inconvenient to say the least. Also, the rooms did not have coffee makers nor was there coffee available in the lobby. NO breakfast either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

El Yunque: Don't take a tour...you can walk it on self guided tour and it is much cheaper

Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Koi Fish
Business
Sacramento, California
Nov 8, 2012

Great price and service, but skip the cafe

The hotel staff was always great and accommodating. Walter happily answered any questions we had and always had quarters on hand when we needed to exchange dollars for change for the bus and/or laundry machine. The top balcony is the best feature of the hotel. It's quiet up there and the view is nice, albeit obstructed by a few badly abandoned buildings and parking lots. The hotel is located a short bus ride from pretty much everything. There are some nice restaurants in the area, but pricey (average $22 a plate), even pricier for the fancier restaurant. One thing about Puerto Rico restaurants is the service is awful across the board and mediocre at best. Maybe I'm just spoiled by great service from where I'm from. The worst part about the hotel is the adjoining cafe. Aside from the horrible service and pricey menu, the staff are unprofessional and mostly absent. The chef seconded as the bartender the entire time we were there and he didn't know how to make even simple drinks (less than three ingrediants), which became increasingly annoying. The people who live in the area are not the friendliest. On our first day a guy on his bike tried to start a fight with my boyfriend, who was standing outside the grocery store waiting for me to check out. My boyfriend just ignored him and we left. And no, you will not be a snob if you return thinking the the hotel's surrounding area is run down and not so great. We didn't let this deter us from going out, but it is definitely a valid observation and worth taking into consideration.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

I highly recommend taking a guided tour (E&B Tours -- ask Walter to make the reservation for you) of rain forest. The package includes an all-day excursion of the rain forest and Luquillo Beach for $75 per person. The tour guide, Joey, was excellent. Warning: There is an astounding number of homeless dogs and cats that roam Luquillo Beach. It was extremely depressing. Most of the dogs has exposed rib cages. All the dogs I encountered were social and friendly. I was informed by a worker that people drop off their unwanted dogs at the beach. My research later confirmed this and, worst, that animal homelessness and cruelty is an epidemic in Puerto Rico.

Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JETALLEN
Business
NEW YORK
Sep 14, 2012

PERFECT SERVICE FROM STAFF!

THE HOTEL STAFF, FROM RECEPTION TO MAID SERVICE WAS THE BEST. VERY CONGENIAL, COURTEOUS AND ACCOMODATING. SECOND NIGHT WE WERE THERE THE BATH TUB DRAIN CLOGGED. WALTER, THE CONCIERGE IMMEDIATELY UP-GRADE US TO A BIGGER ROOM AND GAVE US COMPLEMENTARY BREAKFAST VOUCHERS AT THE HOTEL BISTRO. AFTETR A 5 NIGHT STAY, IT FELT LIKE FAMILY. THE ROOF TOP TERRACE GIVES YOU A VIEW OF OLD SAN JUAN, THE CIVIC AREA, AND THE OCEAN. BEAUTIFUL, AND AFFORDS YOU GREAT PHOTOS. HOTEL IS LOCATED CONIENANTLY CLOSE TO THE EXPRESSWAY, MAKING DRIVING TO DIFFERENT PARTS OF THE ISLAND VERY CONVIENENT, AND TEN MINUTES FROM THE AIRPORT. MY KUDOS TO THE EXCELLENT STAFF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

ACCROSS FROM THE HOTEL THEIR IS A BUS THAT TAKES YOU TO THE BUS TERMINAL IN OLD SAN JUAN, WHERE YOU CAN TAKE THE TROLLEY FOR FREE THROUGH OLD SAN JUAN. YOU CAN GET OFF AS MANY TIMES AS YOU WISH, AT DIFFERENT STOPS LIKE EL MORRO, THE CAPITAL, ST. CHRISTOBAL FORT, AND OTHERS. THERE ARE 27 STOPS IN ALL. THERE IS ALSO ALOT OF SHOPPING AND SOURVENIR STORES.

Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chaguito
Business
Hartford, CT
Aug 29, 2012

2012 Vacation

Receptionist were very attentive. Would highly recommend. Great location. Great access to transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lost dream of paradise
Business
Guaynabo, pr
Aug 19, 2012

Great experience

Good place, clean and good price. Need more parking option and a map for first time travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Lago miramar

Back to menu Return to top