$102 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Hotel Miramar

3 stars
View map of 606 Ponce De Leon Ave., San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Miramar

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
206 out of 206
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JETALLEN
NEW YORK
Sep 14, 2012

PERFECT SERVICE FROM STAFF!

THE HOTEL STAFF, FROM RECEPTION TO MAID SERVICE WAS THE BEST. VERY CONGENIAL, COURTEOUS AND ACCOMODATING. SECOND NIGHT WE WERE THERE THE BATH TUB DRAIN CLOGGED. WALTER, THE CONCIERGE IMMEDIATELY UP-GRADE US TO A BIGGER ROOM AND GAVE US COMPLEMENTARY BREAKFAST VOUCHERS AT THE HOTEL BISTRO. AFTETR A 5 NIGHT STAY, IT FELT LIKE FAMILY. THE ROOF TOP TERRACE GIVES YOU A VIEW OF OLD SAN JUAN, THE CIVIC AREA, AND THE OCEAN. BEAUTIFUL, AND AFFORDS YOU GREAT PHOTOS. HOTEL IS LOCATED CONIENANTLY CLOSE TO THE EXPRESSWAY, MAKING DRIVING TO DIFFERENT PARTS OF THE ISLAND VERY CONVIENENT, AND TEN MINUTES FROM THE AIRPORT. MY KUDOS TO THE EXCELLENT STAFF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

ACCROSS FROM THE HOTEL THEIR IS A BUS THAT TAKES YOU TO THE BUS TERMINAL IN OLD SAN JUAN, WHERE YOU CAN TAKE THE TROLLEY FOR FREE THROUGH OLD SAN JUAN. YOU CAN GET OFF AS MANY TIMES AS YOU WISH, AT DIFFERENT STOPS LIKE EL MORRO, THE CAPITAL, ST. CHRISTOBAL FORT, AND OTHERS. THERE ARE 27 STOPS IN ALL. THERE IS ALSO ALOT OF SHOPPING AND SOURVENIR STORES.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
masonspack
Business
Falls Church Virginia
Jan 29, 2013

Everything was good but the bed

Wonderful staff, good location close to convention center and beach hotels, nice restaurants nearby, bistro nice for breakfast and lunch. The bedding needs to be updated...mattress hard , mattress cover in tatters. Bedding tolerable, but experience would be enhanced by a new set.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RoxanaD
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 28, 2013

Could definitely use some improvements

While the cost of the hotel is reasonable, you are getting what you pay for. Like other reviewers, our shower drains were AWFUL with water starting to accumulate within 3 min into the shower. Not to mention that there is insufficient hot water. The gym also leaves little to be desired. If you are willing to put up for the horrible shower conditions, the cost may be worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joan Jet
Business
Portland, ME
Jan 18, 2013

Pleasant stay

We arrived later than anticipated and really only had time to sleep and have breakfast. Room was good, staff friendly and close to cruise ship. View of the city from the rooftop was spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mauiman
Business
UK
Jan 8, 2013

Excellent small hotel

The Miramar was chosen because of its location between Old San Juan and the Condado strip. It turned out to be a bit of a walk to the Old SJ but the hotel staff soon provided info about the local bus services and it's just a 75c hop on a bus there and Condado is easily walkable. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and there are plenty of shops, banks, cafes etc nearby with more about to open. The restaurant attached to the hotel seem pushed to server people most of the time but if you're patient the food and coffee are good. The staff are friendly and helpful and managed to get us a hire car when none were supposed to be available over Christmas. they even park the car for you every night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pinos Cafe is only a few yards away and serves excellent breakfasts for a very reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wn.yoga
Business
Oak Park, IL
Jan 7, 2013

clean hotel in a convenient location

The Miramar is within easy walking distance to the Condado area (over the bridge). Its also conveniently located at the highways that connect to the east (El Yunque, Fajardo), south (Ponce, etc), and west (the Bacardi plant!) The staff was great and the room very clean...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Casita Miramar for dinner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Avaya2012
Business
San June, Puerto Rico
Dec 31, 2012

the room has bad smell and the AC is too loud

It's a small hotel with a small lobby. The staff is OK. But the room has some kind of smell and the AC is too loud and I cannot sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cavgirl
Business
chicago, il
Dec 30, 2012

good modern hotel

I was happy in this hotel. It has all the modern amenities, the room was large and clean, parking was easy and the location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wm 2
Business
Phx
Dec 28, 2012

Just a nite in town

Hotel was in a bad area of town,but near the cruise ship.The room was just ok.Staff was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RBSG
Business
Texas
Dec 17, 2012

San Juan

The hotel was average...the location good, the service great. There was a night without running water b/c they had to clear the water lines. We didn't have water to flush the toilet, wash or brush teeth for 12 hours. It was a little inconvenient to say the least. Also, the rooms did not have coffee makers nor was there coffee available in the lobby. NO breakfast either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

El Yunque: Don't take a tour...you can walk it on self guided tour and it is much cheaper

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Miramar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Koi Fish
Business
Sacramento, California
Nov 8, 2012

Great price and service, but skip the cafe

The hotel staff was always great and accommodating. Walter happily answered any questions we had and always had quarters on hand when we needed to exchange dollars for change for the bus and/or laundry machine. The top balcony is the best feature of the hotel. It's quiet up there and the view is nice, albeit obstructed by a few badly abandoned buildings and parking lots. The hotel is located a short bus ride from pretty much everything. There are some nice restaurants in the area, but pricey (average $22 a plate), even pricier for the fancier restaurant. One thing about Puerto Rico restaurants is the service is awful across the board and mediocre at best. Maybe I'm just spoiled by great service from where I'm from. The worst part about the hotel is the adjoining cafe. Aside from the horrible service and pricey menu, the staff are unprofessional and mostly absent. The chef seconded as the bartender the entire time we were there and he didn't know how to make even simple drinks (less than three ingrediants), which became increasingly annoying. The people who live in the area are not the friendliest. On our first day a guy on his bike tried to start a fight with my boyfriend, who was standing outside the grocery store waiting for me to check out. My boyfriend just ignored him and we left. And no, you will not be a snob if you return thinking the the hotel's surrounding area is run down and not so great. We didn't let this deter us from going out, but it is definitely a valid observation and worth taking into consideration.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

I highly recommend taking a guided tour (E&B Tours -- ask Walter to make the reservation for you) of rain forest. The package includes an all-day excursion of the rain forest and Luquillo Beach for $75 per person. The tour guide, Joey, was excellent. Warning: There is an astounding number of homeless dogs and cats that roam Luquillo Beach. It was extremely depressing. Most of the dogs has exposed rib cages. All the dogs I encountered were social and friendly. I was informed by a worker that people drop off their unwanted dogs at the beach. My research later confirmed this and, worst, that animal homelessness and cruelty is an epidemic in Puerto Rico.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top