$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 30, 2014

Hotel Milano

3 stars
307 Fortaleza Street, Old San Juan, San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
18 reviews
Great deal

Room was ready when we walked in. Room service was great when we needed it. Room was very clean. It... See full review

  • JB88
  • May 27, 2014
Fantastic!!!!

The location is perfect! In the heart of Old San Juan. The hotel is very cleanliness. Have nice... See full review

  • Julieann2003
  • Apr 22, 2014
Come and experience the unique and personalized services with an European ambiance. Experience a historical location full of character, forts, landmarks, the cruise harbor and many restaurants and shops all within walking distance.

Hotel Map

18.4655 -66.1139
Area served
The hotel is located in the heart of Old San Juan within walking distance of historical sites and the culinary district SOFO (South of Fortaleza street) where some of the best restaurants and bars of the island are located.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) - Distance 20 minutes Fernando Luis Ribas Dominicci Airport (SIG) - Distance 10 minutes.
Area description
In the heart of historic and romantic Old San Juan the oldest city in the new hemisphere, embellished with blue cobblestone streets.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Milano also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Milano Rooms

Standard Room
Interior room, colonial paintings decor, air conditioned and plush bedding.
Superior Room - Queen
Comfortable and relaxing space with city views and a queen bed.
Superior Room - Double
Spacious with a retro style decor and city views.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.6 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 2.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 5.9 mi
  • Isla Verde: 6.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.8 mi

Dining

SOFO Area
Get a taste of the best that Puerto Rican cuisine has to offer just within walking distance...
Punto de Vista
Local cuisine with Mexican fusion.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (18)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Milano

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 18
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.5

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JB88
Business
New Jersey
May 27, 2014

Great deal

Room was ready when we walked in. Room service was great when we needed it. Room was very clean. It was in a great location, less than a 15 minute walk anywhere in Old San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Julieann2003
Business
Guayama, Puerto Rico
Apr 22, 2014

Fantastic!!!!

The location is perfect! In the heart of Old San Juan. The hotel is very cleanliness. Have nice continental breakfast. I feel comfort. I like so much. The staff is very special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Puddle skipper
Business
New york
Apr 19, 2014

Comfortable stay, excellent location, a bit overpriced

The room was simple, clean and comfortable. The hotel staff was accommodating and friendly. Hotel is right in the heart of old San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lueda
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 8, 2014

Very Good Location

Cant beat the price for the great location. Easy to experience everything from here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything good is around. A must stay to experience Old San Juan

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler1999
Business
Owego, NY, USA
Nov 25, 2013

More than satisfied

Very good value. Excellent location. Helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shuyak
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 12, 2013

Convinent and friendly

We stayed for two nights at the end of September (Hurricane season) before our cruise from Old San Juan because of (1) its easy walking to attractions, free trolley and the port, also (2) its better cancellation policy (72hrs) compared to one (much cheaper but at least 1 day will be charged) and (3) having an elevator compared to the other all on the same road within 1 - 2 blocks.. The free breakfast included by the booking agent (typically charged a bit over $5 pp/pd) helps the budget. The stand queen room on 2nd floor has small high windows looking out to walls but is very quite. The room appears smaller than the picture than but is sufficient for our need. There is a small refrigerator in room and we later find out the bottled water within is free. There is no safe in room but a sign on the door directs guest to the front desk where they have the safe box (like in the bank safe) available for use. A/C works well. We did asked for the 1 of only 2 remote control upon checking in (as suggested by others) and find the preset temperature is comfortable and returned the remote the following morning. The cost for the simple breakfast (toast, some pastry, cereal, fruit, juice, coffee, etc) makes it not as attractive. It will be helpful to have some tower bars or something allowing to hang clothes that we washed after walking in the very hot and humid environment. Location is very convenient that we can easily walk to many attractions, free trolley, restaurants, and the port. When it gets too uncomfortable, we will just come back to relax. The front door is locked at midnight and the front desk is always manned. They let us to store luggage (chained and tagged) after return from the cruise during our final exploring of the old town. Everyone at the hotel is extremely friendly, from the front desk to the breakfast restaurant. The mood is laid back. One final note, a good portion of the Fortaleza Street is currently under construction that you can only be dropped of at the side streets, and the street side room may be noisy due to construction activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
world traveler88
Business
New Jersey
May 29, 2013

BEWARE OF BED BUGS

This is a kooky hotel located in the heart of Old San Juan. For the price, we expected it to look the way it did. When we checked in the staff was very nice and helpful, we thought this may not be as bad as it looks. Until the next morning when we realized we were bitten by bed bugs all over our body. When we complained to management they didn't sound surprised and offer to switch the mattress or switch the room for us. We decided to give the hotel another shot hoping it would be different in the new room. When we woke up again covered in bed bug bites we decided to book the Sheraton by the docks for the rest of our stay. The management was cooperative and refunded the rest of our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wrightme
Business
Ft Worth, Texas
Mar 21, 2013

Room dirty & hot upon arrival

I am generally a go with the flow type, but I really expected more from this place. We arrived to check in and the man behind the desk was not very helpful in offering recommendations on what to do. When we went up to our room, the hallways were a sauna and I was looking forward to going into a cool, clean hotel room . . . not so much, the A/C had not been turned on, the last guest had left a half drank bottle of water in the refrigerator and can of Pepsi in the freezer which exploded. We called the front desk and he said the cleaning crew had left for the day and that he had some paper towels we could come get if we wanted to clean the mess. The evening guy was much more friendly and offered free breakfast which opened at 7, but we had to be at the airport by 6 am. . . so we weren't able to take him up on the offer. Location - great! Cleanliness - lacking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tijuana's on the pier is a must, the shrimp tacos = flavor explosion

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave and Sandi Mx
Business
Saratoga, NY
Feb 18, 2013

Hotel Milano in Old San Juan

We stayed here a day early for our cruise and wanted to get to see Old San Juan. The hotel is right in the heart of Old San Juan. this is an older hotel right in the center of Old San Juan. It suited our needs and the staff were outstanding in dinner suggests and in getting us to our cruise on time. I would definitely stay there again if we sail out of Puerto Rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
upset and disappointed
Business
Central PA
Dec 3, 2012

terrible moldy and musty smell

The lobby looks quite good but we were quite shocked when we went to our room. In fact we were so disappointed and upset that we tried to book at another hotel (but couldn't). This is not a hotel. It is at best a motel. In the ceiling above the fridge, there was leak and it looked terrible. The room has light-brownish carpet! In this heat and humidity! They really should remove the carpet and put tiles instead. Amenities: slow WIFI, small fridge, small table with 2 chairs, OLD TV. Bathroom with a shower (no tub). The shampoo/soaps provided are definitely motel quality. The biggest problem was that the room smelled very moldy. In fact, it smelled exactly like the prisoner's dungeon we toured in one of the castles nearby. I had a hard time sleeping because the smell just wouldn't go away. We ran AC while we are away but that didn't do anything. All clothes smelled musty after a few nights. Every night we dreaded returning to the hotel. We will never go back to this hotel. A couple of positives: the staff were polite and nice, the location cannot be beat. $25 to/from airport including $1 per bag, $2 gas surcharge, $1 night surcharge (10pm-6am).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food in Old San Juan is very expensive. Cafe Berlin has vegetarian/vegan options. Their tofu sandwich was quite good and not as expensive. About 20 minutes walk from Old San Juan, you can find a beach and a beach restaurant. This restaurant had better and cheaper food than restaurants in Old San Juan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top