$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2015 Check-out: Sep 26, 2015

Hotel Milano

3 stars
View map of 307 Fortaleza Street, Old San Juan, San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
27 reviews
Great location.Shopping and eateries very close.

This hotel met my expectations. The staff was very helpful and the location was outstanding. AI... See full review

  • Rickey J.
  • May 19, 2015
Great deal

Room was ready when we walked in. Room service was great when we needed it. Room was very clean. It... See full review

  • JB88
  • May 27, 2014
Come and experience the unique and personalized services with an European ambiance. Experience a historical location full of character, forts, landmarks, the cruise harbor and many restaurants and shops all within walking distance.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Milano also booked these hotels.

★★★
$128
3.6 / 5 121 reviews
★★★★
$116
3.9 / 5 421 reviews
★★
$79
3.5 / 5 24 reviews
★★
$125
3.1 / 5 32 reviews
★★★
$104
3.7 / 5 49 reviews
★★★★
$179
3.9 / 5 461 reviews
★★★★
$129
3.8 / 5 416 reviews
★★★
$144
4.5 / 5 24 reviews
★★★★
$199
3.4 / 5 23 reviews

Hotel Milano Rooms

Standard Room
Interior room, colonial paintings decor, air conditioned and plush bedding.
Superior Room - Queen
Comfortable and relaxing space with city views and a queen bed.
Superior Room - Double
Spacious with a retro style decor and city views.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.6 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 2.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 5.9 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.8 mi

Dining

SOFO Area
Get a taste of the best that Puerto Rican cuisine has to offer just within walking distance...
Punto de Vista
Local cuisine with Mexican fusion.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Milano

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
upset and disappointed
Couples
Central PA
Dec 3, 2012

terrible moldy and musty smell

The lobby looks quite good but we were quite shocked when we went to our room. In fact we were so disappointed and upset that we tried to book at another hotel (but couldn't). This is not a hotel. It is at best a motel. In the ceiling above the fridge, there was leak and it looked terrible. The room has light-brownish carpet! In this heat and humidity! They really should remove the carpet and put tiles instead. Amenities: slow WIFI, small fridge, small table with 2 chairs, OLD TV. Bathroom with a shower (no tub). The shampoo/soaps provided are definitely motel quality. The biggest problem was that the room smelled very moldy. In fact, it smelled exactly like the prisoner's dungeon we toured in one of the castles nearby. I had a hard time sleeping because the smell just wouldn't go away. We ran AC while we are away but that didn't do anything. All clothes smelled musty after a few nights. Every night we dreaded returning to the hotel. We will never go back to this hotel. A couple of positives: the staff were polite and nice, the location cannot be beat. $25 to/from airport including $1 per bag, $2 gas surcharge, $1 night surcharge (10pm-6am).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food in Old San Juan is very expensive. Cafe Berlin has vegetarian/vegan options. Their tofu sandwich was quite good and not as expensive. About 20 minutes walk from Old San Juan, you can find a beach and a beach restaurant. This restaurant had better and cheaper food than restaurants in Old San Juan.

Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
world traveler88
Couples
New Jersey
May 29, 2013

BEWARE OF BED BUGS

This is a kooky hotel located in the heart of Old San Juan. For the price, we expected it to look the way it did. When we checked in the staff was very nice and helpful, we thought this may not be as bad as it looks. Until the next morning when we realized we were bitten by bed bugs all over our body. When we complained to management they didn't sound surprised and offer to switch the mattress or switch the room for us. We decided to give the hotel another shot hoping it would be different in the new room. When we woke up again covered in bed bug bites we decided to book the Sheraton by the docks for the rest of our stay. The management was cooperative and refunded the rest of our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SDFon
Family
Florida
Jun 26, 2013

Not a three star hotel

The location of this hotel is really great, right in the middle of everything in Old San Juan. But the hotel itself is not deserving of three stars! I should have known there was a problem when we walked in and a large fan on the floor was blowing toward the front desk. I asked if there was air conditioning in the rooms, and the front desk clerk said there was. When he checked us in, he said there was a problem with our reservation, so they charged us again for the room. I called customer service on my reservation immediately and they called the hotel immediately. After the customer service call, the front desk clerk realized he made a mistake and he did refund the money, but it was much later that day. Once we occupied our room we realized what a poor hotel it was. Roaches crawled out from under the fridge in the closet, we had to have the room sprayed. For the problems we had so far experienced, they gave us free breakfast the next day. It was serve yourself with packaged pastries, sliced bread for toast, a bowl of whole apples and bananas, boxes of cold cereal, some milk, some juice and coffee. That night the air conditioner started to drip water on the carpet, it woke me up and I put towels under it and a garbage can. We reported this in the morning and the handyman asked me if I opened the window and caused it. We hadn't. He was supposed to fix it, but it leaked the entire time we stayed. There was also a huge crack along the side of the door, a huge crack beside the tub, a long crack across the wall with stains, the tub faucet was rusted, the grout discolored, and the bedding was thin, unattractive quilts. The staff were nice, but the hotel was barely one star. We won't be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

On Thursday nights you can take free salsa lessons at Restaurante Triana Tapas and see free movies and dance tango at PR Coffee at night.

Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wrightme
Couples
Ft Worth, Texas
Mar 21, 2013

Room dirty & hot upon arrival

I am generally a go with the flow type, but I really expected more from this place. We arrived to check in and the man behind the desk was not very helpful in offering recommendations on what to do. When we went up to our room, the hallways were a sauna and I was looking forward to going into a cool, clean hotel room . . . not so much, the A/C had not been turned on, the last guest had left a half drank bottle of water in the refrigerator and can of Pepsi in the freezer which exploded. We called the front desk and he said the cleaning crew had left for the day and that he had some paper towels we could come get if we wanted to clean the mess. The evening guy was much more friendly and offered free breakfast which opened at 7, but we had to be at the airport by 6 am. . . so we weren't able to take him up on the offer. Location - great! Cleanliness - lacking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tijuana's on the pier is a must, the shrimp tacos = flavor explosion

Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Estela
Couples
N/A
Jun 28, 2015

Not good!

The location is great. But that is it. The hotel smell bad, and the room was not clean. We found trash on the bed. Literally on the bed!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lueda
Couples
Boston, MA
Apr 8, 2014

Very Good Location

Cant beat the price for the great location. Easy to experience everything from here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything good is around. A must stay to experience Old San Juan

Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RorieK
Couples
USA
Feb 21, 2012

Great location, maybe not worth the price

We LOVED the location of this hotel. Concierge was very polite, helpful in finding dining, allowing us to keep our bags there after we checked out while we toured the city, and in finding us a taxi. However, for the price the accommodations were just okay. Clean and safe, but don't expect much. Just remember you're paying for the great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to La Bombonera 1 street north on Cll San Francisco for breakfast - be sure to order hot chocolate and mallorcas with butter

Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JTB1
Couples
Ellicott City, MD
Jun 13, 2012

Good Location

Location was great, room was small, A/C was a pain, but overall would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler1999
Couples
Owego, NY, USA
Nov 25, 2013

More than satisfied

Very good value. Excellent location. Helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ann Conner
Single
Westchester, New York
Aug 17, 2014

Hotel Milano

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel the location was soooo convenient. I was able to get around and experience old san juan without an issue. Everything I needed was in walking distance. The staff was friendly, room was clean, nice and cool in the lobby and rooms. The price was right. Would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top