$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 21, 2015 Check-out: Jul 24, 2015

Hotel Milano

3 stars
View map of 307 Fortaleza Street, Old San Juan, San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Milano

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.5

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sheenshay
Business
Tulsa
Jul 22, 2014

Great location pre or post cruise

Don't expect any help getting your luggage inside or to your room. Google is more helpful than the staff on getting the 12 inch tv to work. No pool. Continental breakfast is a joke. Walk to el Mallorca around the block instead. Best breakfast I've ever had. Pizza place two doors done is wonderful. So as long as you don't mind helping yourself and are more interested in location, this IS the place to stay. Great location. Several Free trolley stops nearby!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JB88
Business
New Jersey
May 27, 2014

Great deal

Room was ready when we walked in. Room service was great when we needed it. Room was very clean. It was in a great location, less than a 15 minute walk anywhere in Old San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cowboy j
Business
Ohio, USA
Apr 27, 2014

last minjute bargain

one night stay great value and location for a late booking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Julieann2003
Business
Guayama, Puerto Rico
Apr 22, 2014

Fantastic!!!!

The location is perfect! In the heart of Old San Juan. The hotel is very cleanliness. Have nice continental breakfast. I feel comfort. I like so much. The staff is very special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Puddle skipper
Business
New york
Apr 19, 2014

Comfortable stay, excellent location, a bit overpriced

The room was simple, clean and comfortable. The hotel staff was accommodating and friendly. Hotel is right in the heart of old San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lueda
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 8, 2014

Very Good Location

Cant beat the price for the great location. Easy to experience everything from here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything good is around. A must stay to experience Old San Juan

Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler1999
Business
Owego, NY, USA
Nov 25, 2013

More than satisfied

Very good value. Excellent location. Helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shuyak
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 12, 2013

Convinent and friendly

We stayed for two nights at the end of September (Hurricane season) before our cruise from Old San Juan because of (1) its easy walking to attractions, free trolley and the port, also (2) its better cancellation policy (72hrs) compared to one (much cheaper but at least 1 day will be charged) and (3) having an elevator compared to the other all on the same road within 1 - 2 blocks.. The free breakfast included by the booking agent (typically charged a bit over $5 pp/pd) helps the budget. The stand queen room on 2nd floor has small high windows looking out to walls but is very quite. The room appears smaller than the picture than but is sufficient for our need. There is a small refrigerator in room and we later find out the bottled water within is free. There is no safe in room but a sign on the door directs guest to the front desk where they have the safe box (like in the bank safe) available for use. A/C works well. We did asked for the 1 of only 2 remote control upon checking in (as suggested by others) and find the preset temperature is comfortable and returned the remote the following morning. The cost for the simple breakfast (toast, some pastry, cereal, fruit, juice, coffee, etc) makes it not as attractive. It will be helpful to have some tower bars or something allowing to hang clothes that we washed after walking in the very hot and humid environment. Location is very convenient that we can easily walk to many attractions, free trolley, restaurants, and the port. When it gets too uncomfortable, we will just come back to relax. The front door is locked at midnight and the front desk is always manned. They let us to store luggage (chained and tagged) after return from the cruise during our final exploring of the old town. Everyone at the hotel is extremely friendly, from the front desk to the breakfast restaurant. The mood is laid back. One final note, a good portion of the Fortaleza Street is currently under construction that you can only be dropped of at the side streets, and the street side room may be noisy due to construction activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SDFon
Business
Florida
Jun 26, 2013

Not a three star hotel

The location of this hotel is really great, right in the middle of everything in Old San Juan. But the hotel itself is not deserving of three stars! I should have known there was a problem when we walked in and a large fan on the floor was blowing toward the front desk. I asked if there was air conditioning in the rooms, and the front desk clerk said there was. When he checked us in, he said there was a problem with our reservation, so they charged us again for the room. I called customer service on my reservation immediately and they called the hotel immediately. After the customer service call, the front desk clerk realized he made a mistake and he did refund the money, but it was much later that day. Once we occupied our room we realized what a poor hotel it was. Roaches crawled out from under the fridge in the closet, we had to have the room sprayed. For the problems we had so far experienced, they gave us free breakfast the next day. It was serve yourself with packaged pastries, sliced bread for toast, a bowl of whole apples and bananas, boxes of cold cereal, some milk, some juice and coffee. That night the air conditioner started to drip water on the carpet, it woke me up and I put towels under it and a garbage can. We reported this in the morning and the handyman asked me if I opened the window and caused it. We hadn't. He was supposed to fix it, but it leaked the entire time we stayed. There was also a huge crack along the side of the door, a huge crack beside the tub, a long crack across the wall with stains, the tub faucet was rusted, the grout discolored, and the bedding was thin, unattractive quilts. The staff were nice, but the hotel was barely one star. We won't be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

On Thursday nights you can take free salsa lessons at Restaurante Triana Tapas and see free movies and dance tango at PR Coffee at night.

Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
world traveler88
Business
New Jersey
May 29, 2013

BEWARE OF BED BUGS

This is a kooky hotel located in the heart of Old San Juan. For the price, we expected it to look the way it did. When we checked in the staff was very nice and helpful, we thought this may not be as bad as it looks. Until the next morning when we realized we were bitten by bed bugs all over our body. When we complained to management they didn't sound surprised and offer to switch the mattress or switch the room for us. We decided to give the hotel another shot hoping it would be different in the new room. When we woke up again covered in bed bug bites we decided to book the Sheraton by the docks for the rest of our stay. The management was cooperative and refunded the rest of our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top