$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Hotel Milano

3 stars
307 Fortaleza Street, Old San Juan, San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
17 reviews
Great deal

Room was ready when we walked in. Room service was great when we needed it. Room was very clean. It... See full review

  • JB88
  • May 27, 2014
Fantastic!!!!

The location is perfect! In the heart of Old San Juan. The hotel is very cleanliness. Have nice... See full review

  • Julieann2003
  • Apr 22, 2014
Come and experience the unique and personalized services with an European ambiance. Experience a historical location full of character, forts, landmarks, the cruise harbor and many restaurants and shops all within walking distance.

Hotel Map

18.4655 -66.1139
Area served
The hotel is located in the heart of Old San Juan within walking distance of historical sites and the culinary district SOFO (South of Fortaleza street) where some of the best restaurants and bars of the island are located.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) - Distance 20 minutes Fernando Luis Ribas Dominicci Airport (SIG) - Distance 10 minutes.
Area description
In the heart of historic and romantic Old San Juan the oldest city in the new hemisphere, embellished with blue cobblestone streets.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Milano also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Milano Rooms

Standard Room
Interior room, colonial paintings decor, air conditioned and plush bedding.
Superior Room - Queen
Comfortable and relaxing space with city views and a queen bed.
Superior Room - Double
Spacious with a retro style decor and city views.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.6 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 2.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 5.9 mi
  • Isla Verde: 6.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.8 mi

Dining

SOFO Area
Get a taste of the best that Puerto Rican cuisine has to offer just within walking distance...
Punto de Vista
Local cuisine with Mexican fusion.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (17)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Milano

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.5

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
world traveler88
New Jersey
May 29, 2013

BEWARE OF BED BUGS

This is a kooky hotel located in the heart of Old San Juan. For the price, we expected it to look the way it did. When we checked in the staff was very nice and helpful, we thought this may not be as bad as it looks. Until the next morning when we realized we were bitten by bed bugs all over our body. When we complained to management they didn't sound surprised and offer to switch the mattress or switch the room for us. We decided to give the hotel another shot hoping it would be different in the new room. When we woke up again covered in bed bug bites we decided to book the Sheraton by the docks for the rest of our stay. The management was cooperative and refunded the rest of our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wrightme
Ft Worth, Texas
Mar 21, 2013

Room dirty & hot upon arrival

I am generally a go with the flow type, but I really expected more from this place. We arrived to check in and the man behind the desk was not very helpful in offering recommendations on what to do. When we went up to our room, the hallways were a sauna and I was looking forward to going into a cool, clean hotel room . . . not so much, the A/C had not been turned on, the last guest had left a half drank bottle of water in the refrigerator and can of Pepsi in the freezer which exploded. We called the front desk and he said the cleaning crew had left for the day and that he had some paper towels we could come get if we wanted to clean the mess. The evening guy was much more friendly and offered free breakfast which opened at 7, but we had to be at the airport by 6 am. . . so we weren't able to take him up on the offer. Location - great! Cleanliness - lacking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tijuana's on the pier is a must, the shrimp tacos = flavor explosion

Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave and Sandi Mx
Saratoga, NY
Feb 18, 2013

Hotel Milano in Old San Juan

We stayed here a day early for our cruise and wanted to get to see Old San Juan. The hotel is right in the heart of Old San Juan. this is an older hotel right in the center of Old San Juan. It suited our needs and the staff were outstanding in dinner suggests and in getting us to our cruise on time. I would definitely stay there again if we sail out of Puerto Rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
upset and disappointed
Central PA
Dec 3, 2012

terrible moldy and musty smell

The lobby looks quite good but we were quite shocked when we went to our room. In fact we were so disappointed and upset that we tried to book at another hotel (but couldn't). This is not a hotel. It is at best a motel. In the ceiling above the fridge, there was leak and it looked terrible. The room has light-brownish carpet! In this heat and humidity! They really should remove the carpet and put tiles instead. Amenities: slow WIFI, small fridge, small table with 2 chairs, OLD TV. Bathroom with a shower (no tub). The shampoo/soaps provided are definitely motel quality. The biggest problem was that the room smelled very moldy. In fact, it smelled exactly like the prisoner's dungeon we toured in one of the castles nearby. I had a hard time sleeping because the smell just wouldn't go away. We ran AC while we are away but that didn't do anything. All clothes smelled musty after a few nights. Every night we dreaded returning to the hotel. We will never go back to this hotel. A couple of positives: the staff were polite and nice, the location cannot be beat. $25 to/from airport including $1 per bag, $2 gas surcharge, $1 night surcharge (10pm-6am).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food in Old San Juan is very expensive. Cafe Berlin has vegetarian/vegan options. Their tofu sandwich was quite good and not as expensive. About 20 minutes walk from Old San Juan, you can find a beach and a beach restaurant. This restaurant had better and cheaper food than restaurants in Old San Juan.

Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JTB1
Ellicott City, MD
Jun 13, 2012

Good Location

Location was great, room was small, A/C was a pain, but overall would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Northern Observer
Alaska, USA
Mar 23, 2012

Great location, comfortable accommodations

This is a nice, clean, genuine historic hotel located right in the heart of Old San Juan. As you would expect, the rooms are smaller than modern construction, and you may need to share electric outlets to charge up all those modern mobile conveniences. The hotel lobby, halls, and roof top restaurant are all traditionally furnished (tiled floors and attractive art) and clean. Our room was nicely furnished, clean and plenty of hot water in the bathroom. Daily maid service for our two night stay was excellent. WiFi is available in the rooms and of average quality. This is an urban hotel, so we were pleasantly surprised that it was pleasant sleeping and quiet at night, even with the air conditioner off and windows open. Each morning breakfast is a very nice continental style and a step up from the hotel chain we had just come from. Even nicer is the indoor and outdoor accommodations on the rooftop restaurant. Staff were very nice and friendly. This hotel’s location is just outstanding for visiting Old San Juan. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mojitos Restaurant was downhill two blocks then left one block. Food was excellent with many Puerto Rican offerings and good fresh fish. Prices were reasonable and service was good. There were enough tasty items on the menu to return again.

Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alfredo Merino
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Feb 22, 2012

Charming

For our vacation, my dear wife and I were searching for an hotel in Old San Juan, and we found this charming one in the center of the old city at a reasonable price. We stayed for 6 nights. Our room was small but comfortable and very clean (they have larger rooms). The staff was very friendly and helpful. They serve continental breakfast every morning for a reasonable fee. They have Internet service. There is not parking facility in the premises but there is a public parking near by. Actually every thing is a walking distance from this hotel, and we drove our rented car only when we decided to go outside from Old San Juan. We were very satisfied and we recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You will find all kind of restaurants near by at different budgets.

Review of Hotel Milano

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RorieK
USA
Feb 21, 2012

Great location, maybe not worth the price

We LOVED the location of this hotel. Concierge was very polite, helpful in finding dining, allowing us to keep our bags there after we checked out while we toured the city, and in finding us a taxi. However, for the price the accommodations were just okay. Clean and safe, but don't expect much. Just remember you're paying for the great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to La Bombonera 1 street north on Cll San Francisco for breakfast - be sure to order hot chocolate and mallorcas with butter

Back to menu Return to top

Change search