$146 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 23, 2014

Hotel El Convento

4 stars
100 Calle Cristo, Old San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
202 reviews
Way better than a secluded resort

The area is so great for just walking around/ bar hopping/ eating out/ picture taking and more! The... See full review

  • Anatole papi chulo
  • Jun 12, 2014
Small Luxury. .

5 star treatment every step of the way! Made the trip personal and even better : ) See full review

  • the solo travelist
  • Mar 9, 2014

With a wealth of history, rustic decor and charming details, it's easy to see why Hotel El Convento was chosen by Condo Nast Traveler as one of the 'Top 10 Hotels in the Caribbean'. Situated in Old San Juan, this boutique luxury hotel makes guests feel equally relaxed and spoiled. With the daily manager's reception offering hors d'oeuvres and cocktails for guests, the hotel also shows off three restaurants, a rooftop plunge pool and a veranda terrace.

Key facts

  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Plush slippers and bathrobes
  • Flat panel 37-inch TV and Bose Radio
  • Goose-down pillows
  • In-room refrigerator containing free bottled water
  • Handicapped-accessible rooms available
  • Two-cup coffeemaker with premium Alto Grande coffee
  • Plunge pool and Jacuzzi that overlook the San Juan Bay
  • Fitness center
  • Business center with 7 meeting rooms
  • 24-hour valet parking
  • Club that offers beach and pool privileges at two sister properties
  • Aromatherapy, massages and facials available upon request
  • Room service offered throughout the day
  • Dry cleaning service and coin-operated laundry facilities

Neighborhood

Guests are only steps away from the perpetually vibrant atmosphere in the heart of Puerto Rico, where they'll discover restaurants, bars and galleries. Make your way down to the piers from which many cruise ships depart, or take a quick drive to Condado Beach or Isla Verde Beach. Just across the way, you will find the iconic Cathedral of San Juan Bautista.

Hints and tips

If you'd like a cocktail with freshly-picked garnish, order a beverage that features an ingredient from the hotel's herb and fruit garden.

The helpful staff members are happy to fulfil any requirements you may have.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel El Convento Rooms

Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room includes: One queen bed and City view from French balcony (no step-out space). Open-air-corridor seating facing interior garden courtyard. Spanish-antique and antique-replica furniture, including desk, dining set, reading chair. Tile floor. Small marble bathroom with pedestal sink, shower/tub, bathrobes/slippers, telephone. 32-inch LCD HDTV. Bose CD player, radio. Complimentary high-speed wireless internet access. Compact refrigerator with complimentary bottled water. Smoking not permitted in room. Rollaway bed needed for a 3rd person in room ($35 extra nightly charge).
Vista Room
Vista Room includes: One Queen bed with full view of San Juan Bay from French balcony (no step-out space). Open-air-corridor seating facing interior garden courtyard. Spanish-antique and antique-replica furniture, including desk, dining set, reading chair. Tile floor. Small marble bathroom with pedestal sink, shower/tub, bathrobes/slippers, telephone. 32-inch LCD HDTV. Bose CD player, radio. Complimentary high-speed wireless internet access. Compact refrigerator with complimentary bottled water. Smoking not permitted in room. Rollaway bed needed for a 3rd person in room($35 extra nightly charge).
Double Deluxe Room
Double Deluxe Room includes: Two double beds with City view from French balcony (no step-out space). Open-air-corridor seating facing interior garden courtyard. Spanish-antique and antique-replica furniture, including desk, dining set, reading chair. Tile floor. Small marble bathroom with pedestal sink, shower/tub, bathrobes/slippers, telephone. 32-inch LCD HDTV. Bose CD player, radio. Complimentary high-speed wireless internet access. Compact refrigerator with complimentary bottled water. Smoking not permitted in room. Rollaway bed not allowed in room.
Superior Room
Superior Room includes: One queen bed or two twin beds (run of house)and limited view from French balcony (no step-out space). Open-air-corridor seating facing interior garden courtyard. Spanish-antique and antique-replica furniture, including desk, dining set, reading chair. Tile floor. Small marble bathroom with pedestal sink, shower/tub, bathrobes/slippers, telephone. 32-inch LCD HDTV. Bose CD player, radio. Complimentary high-speed wireless internet access. Compact refrigerator with complimentary bottled water. Smoking not permitted in room. Rollaway bed needed for a 3rd person in room ($35 extra nightly charge).

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel El Convento also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4659 -66.1184
Area served
Old San Juan, Condado, Hato Rey, Rio Piedras, Guaynabo, Bayamon, Isla Verde.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU): Approximate driving time is 20 minutes and distance is 9 miles.
Area description
The hotel's location in historic Old San Juan makes walking the best way around to the numerous shops, restaurants, and historic sites. Hopping on and off the district's open-air trolleys is free. Nearby attractions: San Juan Cathedral - across street / San Juan Gate - 1 block / Puerto Rico Indian Museum - 1 block / La Fortaleza (governor's mansion) - 2 blocks / Casa Blanca museum & garden - 2 blocks / African Heritage Museum - 3 blocks / Pablo Casals Museum - 3 blocks / San Felipe del Morro fortress - 0.5 mile / San Cristobal Castle - 0.5 mile / Plaza Las Americas (shopping, dining) - 7 miles / Pinones forest (bicycling, hiking, surfing) - 12 miles / El Yunque Rainforest - 31 miles.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo del Nino: 0 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.6 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.2 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.6 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.2 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.3 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 6.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 6.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel El Convento offers superb meeting and banquet facilities. With close proximity to the financial center in San Juan, and 7 multi-use meeting rooms of varying sizes, the hotel is the perfect venue for banquets, charity events, and high-level corporate affairs. The 2700 sq. ft. Salon Campeche is a spectacular ballroom and can accommodate from 250 - 300 people for classroom/banquet seating. For smaller gatherings and corporate functions, choose from Salon Oller which accommodates 75 people for a seated event; Salon Paoli, perfect for a group of 50; Salon Zafiro, for a group of 35, the Executive Boardroom which seats 12. Two additional rooms are available for up to 40 people. The hotel has every amenity the business traveler needs to assure a successful trip from audiovisual facilities, computer ports, dual-line data port phones in each guest and banquet room, Internet access, and valet parking. Restaurants are located within the hotel and we also provide expert catering services.

Dining

Pizza E Birra
Pizza e Birra offers a taste of classic Italian and American-Italian dishes, but the main attraction is definitely Pizza perfection. For the perfect combination Pizza e Birra features over 20 different craft beers from all over the world. The Pizzeria embodies all the eclectic elements that characterize the cobblestone city, with a cool modern spark
Patio del Nispero
Shaded by Hotel El Convento's famous 300-year old nispero fruit tree, Patio del Nispero is located on the ground floor of the stately open-air courtyard in the hotel. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, Patio del Nispero is a welcome culinary treat serving international gourmet fare in casual yet elegant surroundings. From the best banana nut pancakes,to creative and hearty sandwiches and salads, with even traditional Puerto Rican dishes, alfresco dining has never been more tasteful!
El Picoteo
There's something cooking in Old San Juan where the food is inventive, the service never misses a beat, and the wine list is exceptional. The atmosphere at El Picoteo is all about food and mood. Hot or cold, tapas warm you up for mas tapas de picotear. El Picoteo offers a cornucopia of choice without parallel on the island. After a sampling of delectable tapas, try the paella - voted best on the island! The gazpacho, tortillas, empanadillas, croquetas, specialty pizzas are all fantastico. The wine list fills classic bistro slots with imaginative producers and delectable desserts round out the eclectic menu. This is the place that defines the tapas and paella experience.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (202)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel El Convento

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 202
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, UT
Apr 21, 2009

Make sure you check the details

I'm apparently one of the few people on the Internet that didn't have a great experience at this hotel. Our room was part of a Suite on the 3rd floor. They had shut off (and put other guests in) the bedroom space and rolled a temporary bed into the Dining/Living area for us. The bed was real low to the ground and felt like a box spring. No mattress, just a box spring with sheets. No blankets, just sheets. It was really weird for such a nice hotel. The antique furniture was fabulos as was the view but the bed was too big for the space and you couldn't hardly pass between the bed and the dining table to get to the bathroom. There were no night stands and the phone was 30 feet away from the bed - lousy for our early morning wake up call. After trying to sleep on the miserable bed, we requested another room and were told that only one room was available. It had two twin beds and cigarette smoke pouring in through the ventilation. But the beds were soft and we were exhausted so we took the room. Then the noise started. Loud banging late into the night that started again before dawn. I swear we were sleeping next to elevator equipment but couldn't verify that. It took the front desk over an hour to honor our request for a room change. We believe they purposely put us in the worst room they had to punish us for complaining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, UT
Apr 21, 2009

Make sure you check the details

I'm apparently one of the few people on the Internet that didn't have a great experience at this hotel. Our room was part of a Suite on the 3rd floor. They had shut off (and put other guests in) the bedroom space and rolled a temporary bed into the Dining/Living area for us. The bed was real low to the ground and felt like a box spring. No mattress, just a box spring with sheets. No blankets, just sheets. It was really weird for such a nice hotel. The antique furniture was fabulos as was the view but the bed was too big for the space and you couldn't hardly pass between the bed and the dining table to get to the bathroom. There were no night stands and the phone was 30 feet away from the bed - lousy for our early morning wake up call. After trying to sleep on the miserable bed, we requested another room and were told that only one room was available. It had two twin beds and cigarette smoke pouring in through the ventilation. But the beds were soft and we were exhausted so we took the room. Then the noise started. Loud banging late into the night that started again before dawn. I swear we were sleeping next to elevator equipment but couldn't verify that. It took the front desk over an hour to honor our request for a room change. We believe they purposely put us in the worst room they had to punish us for complaining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tea Olive
Atlanta, GA
Nov 2, 2009

Beautiful hotel, inexperienced staff

El Convento is a beautiful little hotel. It's quiet and elegant, and located in the older part of San Juan. There are many nice shops and restaurants (and also the historic fort) within walking distance.Unfortunately, the experience level of the staff doesn't match the elegance of the hotel. We checked in at noon on a busy Sunday, when a large group of guests were checking out to leave on cruise ships. Although we waited for the rush to subside, the staff was still flustered and it took around 30-40 minutes to get our bags tagged and into a storage area (check-in time wasn't until 3PM). They took my cell phone number and said they'd call when the room was ready. No one called, so we returned at 2:45 and rooms were ready for check-in.The room was beautifully furnished. Unfortunately, there was no running water. When I called the front desk at 3:30, I was told it would be restored "soon". We spent the afternoon out in the heat and returned at 6 PM. Still no water. No way to flush the toilet or wash our hands. Again, the front desk said "soon". Housekeeping came to each room with a bucket of water to force-flush toilets. It turns out that the water problem extended throughout that section of the city. But it was clear that the general manager wasn't on duty and the desk manager wasn't able to handle unhappy guests by herself. Three other staff members at the front desk just stood and watched. At 7 PM I finally asked them to find us another hotel. We re-packed, they agreed to refund our fees through [...], and they booked several of us into the Marriott Courtyard Isle Verde (with running water). When the taxi finally dropped us off at 8:30 PM, we discovered El Convento had paid for my fare but not the others. Very awkward situation. The water problem was out of their control. But some basic customer service moves (quickly and proactively informing guests, keeping them updated, even meeting them in the lobby with bottled water) might have kept tempers under control. During a major situation like that, there also needs to be a manager on duty with decision-making authority. I didn't like having to come up with my own resolution at 7 PM. Not good for an expensive hotel that bills itself as a "small luxury hotel of the world".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tea Olive
Atlanta, GA
Nov 2, 2009

Beautiful hotel, inexperienced staff

El Convento is a beautiful little hotel. It's quiet and elegant, and located in the older part of San Juan. There are many nice shops and restaurants (and also the historic fort) within walking distance.Unfortunately, the experience level of the staff doesn't match the elegance of the hotel. We checked in at noon on a busy Sunday, when a large group of guests were checking out to leave on cruise ships. Although we waited for the rush to subside, the staff was still flustered and it took around 30-40 minutes to get our bags tagged and into a storage area (check-in time wasn't until 3PM). They took my cell phone number and said they'd call when the room was ready. No one called, so we returned at 2:45 and rooms were ready for check-in.The room was beautifully furnished. Unfortunately, there was no running water. When I called the front desk at 3:30, I was told it would be restored "soon". We spent the afternoon out in the heat and returned at 6 PM. Still no water. No way to flush the toilet or wash our hands. Again, the front desk said "soon". Housekeeping came to each room with a bucket of water to force-flush toilets. It turns out that the water problem extended throughout that section of the city. But it was clear that the general manager wasn't on duty and the desk manager wasn't able to handle unhappy guests by herself. Three other staff members at the front desk just stood and watched. At 7 PM I finally asked them to find us another hotel. We re-packed, they agreed to refund our fees through [...], and they booked several of us into the Marriott Courtyard Isle Verde (with running water). When the taxi finally dropped us off at 8:30 PM, we discovered El Convento had paid for my fare but not the others. Very awkward situation. The water problem was out of their control. But some basic customer service moves (quickly and proactively informing guests, keeping them updated, even meeting them in the lobby with bottled water) might have kept tempers under control. During a major situation like that, there also needs to be a manager on duty with decision-making authority. I didn't like having to come up with my own resolution at 7 PM. Not good for an expensive hotel that bills itself as a "small luxury hotel of the world".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ianne Traveler
Bloomington, Indiana
Jun 16, 2010

Great Hotel; Some Spotty Service

The hotel is beautiful with lots of interesting history. Its location is right near great shopping and restaurants in Old San Juan and just a couple of blocks from the El Morro fort. Our room was very nice, looked out on the plaza/park. Particularly enjoyed the 6pm wine reception with quite a variety of drinks and a lovely patio setting to watch the sun go down. Breakfast was good and service there was excellent.Our visit did start off a bit negative. We waited 1 hour and 20 minutes for the hotel to deliver our luggage. I called the bell captain several times and the phone would just ring and ring with no one answering. I finally went down to the reception desk and they started pursuing the lost luggage. It turned out it had been misdelivered to the wrong room. So a negative start to a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Found lots of good dining spots in close proximity to the hotel. Dinner at AquaViva was quite tasty.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ianne Traveler
Bloomington, Indiana
Jun 16, 2010

Great Hotel; Some Spotty Service

The hotel is beautiful with lots of interesting history. Its location is right near great shopping and restaurants in Old San Juan and just a couple of blocks from the El Morro fort. Our room was very nice, looked out on the plaza/park. Particularly enjoyed the 6pm wine reception with quite a variety of drinks and a lovely patio setting to watch the sun go down. Breakfast was good and service there was excellent.Our visit did start off a bit negative. We waited 1 hour and 20 minutes for the hotel to deliver our luggage. I called the bell captain several times and the phone would just ring and ring with no one answering. I finally went down to the reception desk and they started pursuing the lost luggage. It turned out it had been misdelivered to the wrong room. So a negative start to a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Found lots of good dining spots in close proximity to the hotel. Dinner at AquaViva was quite tasty.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Charlie ML
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 28, 2011

Post-hurricane out-of-the-ordinary experience

*** DISCLAIMER: We had reserved 4 nights that happened to be a couple days after Hurricane Irene.*** When we were checking in, they stated they had water but no electricity and apologized for the inconvenience. They couldn't tell us any kind of estimate as to when it would be restored. We stayed the night, hoping the power would come back, and it didn't. We were surprised that the hotel didn't offer flashlights or anything, being a 5 star hotel. Thankfully there happened to be a dim street lamp outside of our window across the street-- if we hadn't, we would have had absolutely NO light in the room. The following afternoon, we still did not have lights or A/C and we decided enough was enough and we checked out, were refunded (thru Orbitz) for our remaining 3 nights and transferred to El Convento's sister hotel La Concha in El Condado, (La Concha: modern, sleek, clean, nice employees, and great location, right on the beach. LOVED it.) I realize that it's unfair to judge the hotel because of the circumstances that they had little/no control over, but overall, it was a negative, depressing experience. We didn't get to experience any of the amenities at all (to this day I don't even know what they are), and we felt our stay should've been AMAZING and flawless for $150+ per night. Regardless, we felt it was pretty, but not as nice and luxurious as we had expected after reading all the positive reviews. We felt the hotel should have done more to help make the experience more comfortable for its guests... discounts? Flashlights? Offer to transfer to a sister hotel? ANYthing. We also grew tired of Old San Juan quickly, and felt that 24 hours in that area was more than plenty. We were SO happy to move to La Concha.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

LA BOMBONERA!!! Order the cheese and bacon (queso y tocineta) mallorca, and their amazing coffee. SO GOOD. Also, the food is Old San Juan is EXPENSIVE for what it is! You're paying for the location. We went to a tiny run-down restaurant, had 3 small and weak mojitos and two entrees (shrimp-stuffed avocados with beans and rice) and were charged $65! Wtf?

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jul 3, 2011

Pleasant but not lunxury

I was under the impression for friends who had visited that El Convento was a luxury hotel. While is it is quite quaint and aesthetically impressive, it is by no means a luxury hotel. Luxury hotel connotes not just amazing amenities but also high quality service. Multiple times we had to call down for towels and to have housekeeping service come by. This shouldn't happen in a luxury hotel. We were supposed to have a Vista view - but could barely see the water from our room's window. The place is more old than antique to be honest. I would have preferred to stay that their sister resort, La Concha on Condado Beach. The pool is absolutely tiny so if you enjoy swimming do not stay here. The one positive is that the crowd here is well-mannered and not rowdy. Also, Old San Juan is very easy to navigate so the location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BlkXican
San Fernando, CA
Jun 30, 2011

Nice hotel in a Fantastic location

It's location is great. You're at walking distance to everything in Old San Juan. I loved its architecture, ambiance, and the restaurants it has. The room was nice but there was some cleanliness issues. It seemed as though the staff only cleans the surface or what's visible to they eye. If it considers to be a luxury hotel, staff should be more thorough. There was an issue with the iron and it ruined my $300 shirt. They did not do anything about but bring me another broken iron. Wasn't pleased at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rusty Shackleford
Arlen, TX
Aug 4, 2011

Hotel El Convento, Old San Juan, PR

The check-in was a nightmare. Absolutely unorganized and unprofessional. When you pay in full and in advance, there should not be any reason to not have a room available for check-in upon arrival. Aside from that, the rest of the stay/staff was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top