Hotel El Convento ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$280
avg/night
Rate based on
Check-in: Feb 15, 2016 Check-out: Feb 17, 2016

Wonderful family trip

Would recommend Thu, Jan 15, 2015
Nice location to walk around, very kind staff, and a clean room!

| N/A Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Stay in Museum!!

Would recommend Fri, Jan 9, 2015
Great hotel with great restaurants staff great .our standard room a little small but was more than adequate. Close to everything you would want to see in old San Juan .will defitnly be going back

Dining

Italian restaraunt on calle San Francisco 5 minutes walk from hotel il ivo best Italian I've had in along time get the gnocchi ...

| Milford Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great time

Would recommend Mon, Jan 5, 2015
We stayed at Hotel El Convento and All I can say is that we had an incredible time. The hotel staff is very helpful and the service was excellent. This is 5 star boutique Hotel in the center of Old San Juan. The location is great if this is your first time going to San Juan because you have everything around the hotel. We loved it and we will stay at El Convento on our next trip to San Juan.

| Kenner Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Even better than we could have imagined

Would recommend Fri, Dec 19, 2014
This hotel was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The location was perfect right in the middle of Old Town San Juan, within walking distance of everything you could ask for. The room (we even got upgraded) was beautiful with a nice view of the park in front of the hotel and a partial water view. The staff was so friendly, the hotel had so much charm and we discovered something new every day. The manager's reception with wine, cheese, grapes and crackers was great and well attended and so was the rooftop pool. We would come back here in a heartbeat!

| Leonardtown Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

One of our favorite vacations and hotel!

Would recommend Tue, Dec 16, 2014
Hotel El Convento was outstanding! This historic luxury building offered a wonderful experience. We just loved everything about it! The friendly staff made our stay something special...from the moment we walked through the front entrance we were treated as though we were the only guests in the hotel. Everyone went out of their way to make us feel special. Our room was a great size and beautifully appointed, with period furniture and, oh yes, a private terrace! We couldn't ask for more. We can't wait to go back to Puerto Rico...and Guess Where We're Staying?? Hotel El Convento ! Steve and Sue

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Nice Getaway

Would recommend Wed, Nov 19, 2014
This is our 3rd time staying at this location. It has never fell short from my expectations. The staff is always friendly, helpful, and great with my kids.it's location has numerous places to shop, dine, and sight see. Also, it's close enough to more modern areas. Definitely a beautiful hotel that won't disappoint.

| Boulder City, NV Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Romantic Silver Anniversary

Would recommend Thu, Oct 9, 2014
My husband and I loved Hotel El Convento! Our daughters surprised us with a San Juan getaway for our 25th Anniversary. We didn't know what to expect and we honestly thought we would probably have preferred to stay on the beach. But now that we've been there, we wouldn't have wanted it any other way. We loved staying in Old San Juan. It was just so beautiful and so easy to walk everywhere. The hotel was the perfect location. It was peaceful and romantic . . . everything an anniversary trip should be. We wish we could have stayed longer. We ate breakfast there every morning. It was a little pricey, but we enjoyed the food and ambience so much that it was worth the indulgence! The staff was friendly and very helpful with directions and recommendations. In our opinion, it would not be the best choice for a family with young kids. The beach would be the better family option, although El Convento has two sister properties on beautiful beaches and guests at El Convento can use the pools and beaches at the sister properties free of charge. We took advantage of that and it was wonderful! We will remember our stay always with the fondest of memories.

Attractions

Beware when the rainforest tours tell you the hikes are"moderate". We found our hike back up from the falls to be pretty strenuous. It depends on your physical condition, of course, but if you're not used to that sort if trek, particularly in the heat, you might be in for an unpleasant surprise.

| Indianapolis, IN Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

A Little Gem

Would recommend Fri, Oct 3, 2014
This hotel is quaint, well kept, extremely clean and is managed by a staff that is efficient, friendly, caring and determined to make your stay relaxing and memorable. The location is perfect, right in the middle. When you leave, all you think about is your return. Love this place!

Dining

Try the small restaurants even the vendors have great food.

| Park Ridge, Illinois Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Incredible experience!!!

Would recommend Tue, Sep 16, 2014
Had high expectations for this hotel based on other reviews, but it surpassed them by a mile!! The most comfortable hotel stay I have ever experienced. ---From the bell staff, front desk , restaurant and bar personnel, right down to the cleaning staff- everyone made you feel that you were the only and most important guest! Charming and old world with every amenity imaginable available. --- courtyard welcomed you every time you left your room and the free water, coffee, tea and fruit available at any time was a welcomed treat. Even when you were done with your day, a great cup of coffee in the evening on the 3rd floor courtyard, under the stars, was a wonderful way to end each day, and don't forget the wine and cheese reception every evening!!! Even when a problem arose, management went above and beyond to accommodate you and solve the problem. ----Food in the restaurants and courtyard was usually good, but sometimes inconsistent but staff made up for any shortcomings---and were right on the mark with their restaurant and sightseeing recommendations. All in all, our party of four could not have asked for a better hotel stay. I only hope that I can return to paradise sometime soon.

| Detroit, MI Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

amazing hotel, location, stuff...everything

Would recommend Wed, Sep 10, 2014
I loved this hotel! I felt like I'm back into 16th century in Europe...so much history, so much art, beauty! There was free wine and cheese on a beautiful terrace and the best coffee in Puerto Rico:) I would highly recommend it!

| New York, NY Friends

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5