$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2015 Check-out: Jul 16, 2015

Hotel El Convento

4 stars
View map of 100 Calle Cristo, Old San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel El Convento

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
184 out of 184
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nuyorkrican1
Business
New York City
Aug 13, 2011

Quaint Hotel, Great Location!

El Convento was a great choice for us because of it's unique history and great location in the heart of Old San Juan. The rooms were very confortable and well kept. The staff kept the room neat and clean. Although the food was pricey the open air ambiance was nice and the service was good. The roof top pool and hot tub were great. I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice, less expensive restaurants a short walk from the hotel.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rockwater
Business
Rincón, Puerto Rico
Oct 23, 2011

Book it!

Great staff, clean room, excellent happy hour, convenient location. Only thing I would have changed is the beds. We had 2 twin beds, too small for 2 single adults.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

"3 Horns" is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Good times had by all.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Two Jays
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Mar 21, 2012

Nice Long Weekend In Old San Juan...except

Hotel nice. Location great. Excellent wine/cheese reception in early evening. Except...the room service was terrible. It might take hours for coffee. Only one staff person at front desk, clearly inadequate, when you would ask for assistance they said someone would call your room and no one would. Worst of all...NO kidding...a peice of jewlery was taken from the room and no one at the hotel cared much. After going back to the lobby and calling numerous times someone finally (two hours later) spoke with me and kindly refunded on night's stay. But I never felt they really cared about my level of comfort and need for assistance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want beaches don't take cabs from hotel. Go to main plaza and take trolley or municipal buses. One fifth the price, and easy.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T. Glenn
Business
Coral Springs, FL
Apr 2, 2012

Great Hotel, Great Location

Perfect Location. Walking distance from Forts, shopping, & many restaurants. 1st floor bar stays open late night, & the drinks are great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not rent a car unless you want a headache. Streets are narrow & everyone drives crazy...

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jackie B
Business
McHenry, IL
Jun 25, 2012

summer vacation

I loved the ambiance of this hotel! You'll love it to

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved the shops close to the hotel

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 17, 2012

Great hotel and even better staff

My wife and I had a great stay at this hotel. We loved the location, situated in a quiet and beautiful part of San Juan. Walking distance to anywhere. Breakfast and dinner at the hotel restaurants was delicious; although a bit overpriced. I really enjoyed the coffee during breakfast. But, the biggest reason why we loved the hotel was the friendly and superb staff. Annette at the front desk was amazing. She went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and hassle free. Thank you for the chocolates on our final night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

stop by the Natural Home store located next to the pigeon park. they have amazing hand made stuff. much better presents than the usual shot glass or magnets.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jdistrict
Business
Washington d.c.
Jul 22, 2012

El Convento

Overall a great experience. Renting a car may be the way to go. Cabfare is expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pacman75050
Business
Dallas
Jul 26, 2012

Awesome place to Honeymoon

Really a special place to stay in Old San Juan. Doesn't get much better. So much to see and do in this area and you are away from a lot of the resort non sense. Free wine and cheese every night. Free coffee and water on 4th floor. Staff is very friendly and food is excellent. My only gripe is no shuttle to sister properties with private beach access, but taxi ride is $15 or cheaper if you car pool like we did with other hotel guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Got to go to La Tortuga- short walk up the hill, hang a right...best breakfast and very reasonable

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maxwell Smart Traveller
Business
Adelaide, South Australia
Sep 29, 2012

Spur of the moment decision...no hurricanes predicted

All the reviews made this Hotel a must. It was like being at a Caribbean Raffles. Wide terraces on every floor, overlooking the central restaurant and courtyard. Potted plants in abundance. The well-appointed rooms left nothing to be desired.. Private courtyards a bonus, as was the roof-top Jacuzzi and plunge pool. All this right in the heart of the delightful Old Town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
no frills traveler 33
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Dec 23, 2012

Wonderful Experience, Perfect Location

I really felt lucky to be staying at Hotel El Convento. It is gorgeous, located in the heart of Old San Juan. The staff is top-notch. They speak both English and, of course, Spanish, fluently. They care very much about your experience as a guest. I was there just before Christmas time, and there were some parties happening in the center open area of the hotel. It was fun. There was some noise trying to go to sleep, but it didn't bother me. The rooms are relatively small, very clean, and lovely. (I stayed in a single, and am sure that the rooms are larger if you are staying with more people. Obviously.) I really liked it and would absolutely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are willing to splurge on a meal (and it is a splurge), I HIGHLY recommend eating at Marmalade. Everybody I spoke to said it was the best restaurant in Old San Juan and, from my limited experience, I would certainly agree. Every bite of food, every sip of drink was a delicious experience.

Back to menu Return to top