$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 15, 2015 Check-out: Jun 17, 2015

Hotel El Convento

4 stars
View map of 100 Calle Cristo, Old San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel El Convento

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
182 out of 182
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bronco C
Business
Montclair, NJ, USA
Sep 9, 2014

Unimpressed with room and accommodations

Room was not ready when I arrived. Fan did not work. Mosquitoes in the room. Floor tile worn out and seemed dirty. Will not stay again until conditions improve. Was very disappointed since I'd been a guest of this hotel several times before and always had a very pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rusty Shackleford
Business
Arlen, TX
Aug 4, 2011

Hotel El Convento, Old San Juan, PR

The check-in was a nightmare. Absolutely unorganized and unprofessional. When you pay in full and in advance, there should not be any reason to not have a room available for check-in upon arrival. Aside from that, the rest of the stay/staff was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DENNIS P.
Business
N/A
May 14, 2015

Location!

Perfect location for Old San Juan. HOWEVER, they stuck me with a first floor room! The first floor is the absolute worst location to have a room in this great old hotel. Do not under any circumstances permit this hotel to stick you in a first floor room. The room was outdated and in need of repairs. Additionally the noise is overwhelming on the first floor from the restaurant and lounge area. Terrible room never again! I loved the hotel from the upper levels but hated it from the first floor. Ask before you book because they will try to stick you with a room that they know is not up to par.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
baldar
Business
Maryland
Mar 7, 2014

Eighteenth Century Charm

It depends on what you want. If you want a hotel, stay on the beach. If you want to experience San Juan, stay at the El Convento. In the center of Old San Juan, the place was a convent for 2 1/2 centuries, and the conversion to a hotel preserved the charm of the convent without being at all primitive. The staff is 5-star. Don't miss the wine and cheese on the patio in the evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Aug 2, 2007

Friendly

I had a very bad expeeince in thier Jacuzzi, as I stepped out of the Jucuzzi thetiel by the Jacuzzi became very slippery and I fell and injured myself seriously, I spent the first night in a local emergency room, the doctor thought I had broken my neck, I had to cut my trip short

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fletc001
Business
Birmingham, AL
Jun 3, 2009

Great hotel, excellent service

Near lots of shopping!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blonde_Scholar
Business
Lexington, KY
Oct 3, 2009

Hotel El Convento Reivew

The hotel is lovely and historic. I was able to use my GPS to find it. Old San Juan is a great part of the city boasting lots of culture -- great food, people, location. Be prepared to drive down a couple cobble streets on your way to the hotel -- they are a tight squeeze. If you get flustered easily, you may not want to be the one behind the wheel. I would definately stay at this hotel again. It's beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If using your American GPS hand-held unit (I used the one in my Sprint Blackberry; although my rental car hand one in it as well), you may want to put "Street" into the address versus "Calle" as you would in the US mainland. I almost got lost trying to type it in as one would write the address in Puerto Rico.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mantua, new jersey 08051
Apr 7, 2010

a great old hotel

since i research very well before i travel, i am seldom surprised. this hotel was everything i expected. very close to all the intersting places to visit. spectacular service. wonderful restaurants. four star for sure

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

take advantage of the best tappas restaurant ever!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PRFAN
Business
Sun City, CA
Jun 7, 2011

"The Best Cultural Experience"

The hotel is definitely in a class all it's own. It is full of character and charm. The food was amazing. We also took advantage of El Convento's partner hotel La Concha located in El Condado. We were able to lounge by the pool and make use of their private beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alfred the traveler
Business
Miami,Fl
Jul 5, 2011

4th of July weekend

The staff was very attentive and the hotel was right in the heart of old san Juan we walk to museums, boutiques and restaurats in a matter of seconds.our room was on the 5Th floor and we have a beautiful view of the San Juan Bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

is very well located right in the heart of attractions, dining and shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top