$117 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Hotel El Convento

4 stars
View map of 100 Calle Cristo, Old San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel El Convento

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
149 out of 149
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mrmine
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Sep 4, 2011

Great Service

Great location and service from everyone on staff during our stay, from the front desk to the resturants to matinence crew. Everything was spot on. Can't wait to return to this hotel for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

take advantage of the bus, 75 cent to their sister hotel LaConcha.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I survived Puerto Rico
Business
Santa Cruz, CA
Jul 14, 2009

A perfect hotel

A wonderful hotel. It has real ambience and provided helpful service. Great coffee in the morning, fantastic happy hour from 6 to 7 and helpful staff who would even hail a taxi for me. Very charming with bats flying around the courtyard tree at night. Great views, great pool, great location. Worth every penny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Enjoy the fantastic cheese plate during happy hour at the hotel. Better than any restaurant we ate in in San Juan

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
spaghetti bob
Business
phila, PA
Mar 12, 2011

Excellent in every way

This was everything and more than we thought it would be. We researched different hotel on line before we went to PR and choose El Convento--it was excellent. The staff was supurb (we had a slight noice problem with our initial room and they seamless moved us to another) The inhouse restaurant for breakfast and dinner was some of the best meals we ate...also loved the 2nd floor tapas bar. Would highly recommend El Convento-we'll probably return there next year

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many great restaurants in walking distance--ask staff for recommendations

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rhinebeck, NY
Jan 30, 2010

Beautiful hotel, great location!

Everything was wonderful at El Convento! The room was very nice, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the location can't be beat! It really is in the heart of Old San Juna with easy access to shops, restaurants, historical attractions, and great plazas where you can have a drink and people-watch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Absolutely take advantage of the hotel's partnership with La Concha hotel. There is a very nice beach and several pools that guests at El Convento can use.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlantic City, NJ
Jan 22, 2011

Great location, fantastic hotel

Wife and I have stayed at El Convento 6 times in the past 3 yrs, and have yet to discover a negative related to this beautiful hotel and its courteous and professional staff. Yes it's more expensive than most San Juan hotels, but it's worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

To go sandwiches from the Cafe St. Germain. Enjoy them on the pool deck.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Isaac Falconer
Business
Venice, ITALY + Philadelphia, USA
Jan 10, 2011

FANTASTIC peaceful retreat

The Hotel El Convento is an exquisitely renovated "period" building-once a nunnery-so if you HATE "character"-courtly Spanish architecture with balconies opening into a beautiful courtyard-WITH "all the modern amenities" [pool/hot tub/high-speed internet connection/exquisitely well-mannered and attentive hotel staff-who manage to be attentive and warm-NOT INTRUSIVE] then this is NOT for you! I was "desperate" for r&r after a grueling 2.5 years of humanitarian advocacy-I "return" well-rested and feeling exquisitely cared-for by the staff at El Convento. My visit in 2008 was equally rewarding. DR SAKU GUNASEGARAM [Wilfrid Csaplar did not travel]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
Oct 26, 2009

Stay at El Convento

very friendly staff; would definitely stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Fortaleza--great bargain deals; but even better if you have time to take bus to Rio Piedras (market take bus number A9 or M1)

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boise, idaho
May 15, 2011

Family vacation

We did a lot of walking and seeing the sights of Old San Juan. The restaurants were very good, the people were friendly and willing to give suggestions, and it was very charming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the locals for dining suggestions.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
business leisure lady
Business
kansas city, mo
Mar 24, 2011

Classic Puerto Rico

El Convento is the true San Juan, PR experience. It is gorgeous and the service is superior. The hotel is old, so expect a few "character" related flaws, i.e. doors that jam and such. Food is not too pricey, but very good. There are a lot of free perks-daily wine and cheese 6pm; free coffee, tea, water, fruit all day. Free internet access. Location is awesome for those interested in history/San Juan. Kids loved it. Keep in mind it is not near a beach really. Only negatives were (1) It is a busy place with lots of traffic and noise later into the night. After all streets are so narrow, you may hear your neighbor or the club across the street. This did not bother us, as we were tired. (2) Hotel has a relationship with beach front hotels that allow you to use their beach and facilities. However, you pay your own taxi fare to get there, usually $20 each way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walgreens and Marshall's are close by.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Trekking Erin
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 25, 2010

Amazing

The perfect location right in the middle of Old San Juan. Everything is in walking distance. The staff was terrific and the rooms were beautiful. The pool is a small plunge pool, but on the 4th fllor with amazing views of the whole city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The bartender/manager of the El Picoteco, the tapas bar in the hotel is terrific. Super knowledgeable about rum and drinks. He let us taste a few rums and was then able to tell us which were the best deals and where we could pick them up. Definitely worth stopping by the bar just to chat with him for a bit

Back to menu Return to top