$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2015 Check-out: Jul 16, 2015

Hotel El Convento

4 stars
View map of 100 Calle Cristo, Old San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel El Convento

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
184 out of 184
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYC ChrisMO
Business
NYC
May 22, 2012

Great small "old world" hotel

After a warm and personal welcome, I enjoyed 5 nights at this magical hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ben and Jerrys warm cones up the hill!

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Madame Mundo
Business
New York, NY
Jul 21, 2012

Gorgeous place with tons of character

Romantic, beautiful details, wine and cheese daily! The atmosphere is unforgettable. The service was exceptional. Will definitely come back. Take advantage of the beach passes to visit other hotels outside of Old San Juan. This is a great perk since the hotel is not by the beach. We will definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hit up the hole in the wall spots- these tend to have the best food. Ask local people, like bartenders and staff, and you will get good tips.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jr44
Business
Ohio
Jul 25, 2012

AMAZING HOTEL!!!!

This hotel was perfect in all areas! The hotel room, down to the staff. I absolutely will returen and stay anytime I'm in Puerto Rico. Loved every day of our stay. I tried all restuarants they have at the hotel and even ate at the pizza place 3 times lol. Only issue they might have a small electrical issue on one of their plugs in my room, my phone no longer works after plugging it in to recharge. Small price to pay for a perfect vacation they provided for me. Don't forget to visit their sister properties!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Allof their restuarants are extremely good and well priced!

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Madre 11215
Business
Park Slope, New York
Jun 13, 2012

Five Stars for El Convento

Perfect setting in Old San Juan--near Morro Castle, Museums. Free internet, great Wine and Cheese Hour. Great for couples, friends hanging out. Roof top poor. Vouchers for two beach hotels. Beautiful Sunday church service across from hotel. Take the free trolley for tour of the Old City. The hotel does not tell you about "free" trolley. The rum factory is a blast, take the ferry to Catano and then $3 van ride to rum factory. This hotel does not give discount vouchers nor does the visitor's center. Go on line before travelling to San Juan for those. Have a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cmwoobie
Business
West Point NY
Aug 14, 2012

Great Location

Hotel is in a great location in Old San Juan. It is within a few blocks of historic sites, restaurants, and shopping. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Wine and cheese reception every evening at 6pm. Plunge Pool is very small but take advantage of the beach privileges at the sister hotel. The only drawback is the $25. taxi fare each way. If you are staying in OSJ for more than 2-3 days, I recommend renting a car to get out and see the island. After you see the historical sites, plazas, and museums, there is not much left to do in the city and the taxis are a fortune to get anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car. Taxis are too expensive to get anywhere outside of Old San Juan.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
janicebr
Business
vancouver, wa
Aug 22, 2012

Perfect way to end our trip!

Hotel El Convecto is beautiful! There are 3 resturants to choose from. It has an open air courtyard where you can sit and enjoy a cool drink. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I definitely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask for directions to the fort before you try to find it yourself.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
celebrating 60
Business
Indiana
Sep 1, 2012

More than expected

Staff was excellent. Couldn't have been more helpful. Hotel is old and quaint. Delightful! Food was fabulous. Had the seafood paella one night. Can't even find words to describe how wonderful it was!! Pool side breakfast was a nice treat. Would definately recommend this hotel! Had a wonderful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Some attractions were further than we thought, but worth the travel time

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JustMi
Business
DC
Sep 11, 2012

Couldn't have chosen any better

Loved this small boutique hotel. Very clean, great architecture, absolutely no complaints. Wine and cheese every day on the terrace. The wedding on Saturday night did not create any issues, as the rooms are perfectly insulated and isolated, even just steps away from the restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ready to go
Business
Clearwater, Fl
Dec 17, 2012

atmosphere and ambiance

Imagine walking back to your room in the evening. lighted only by small lamps on tables for two along the courtyard balcony draped with philodendron and bougainvillea, music wafting up from the patio or second level tapas bar. You've just left the complimentary wine and cheese gathering and gazed over the city from a number of vantage points. This is a lovely, tranquil oasis with every staff member ready to assist with a smile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

La Fortelaza, the governor's palace, has the best guide and what you learn about the island's history sets you up for your entire visit.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bebele
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Jan 28, 2013

The Heart of Old San Juan

El Convento is a beautiful hotel! It is not only in the perfect location to enjoy great restaurants, the rooftop has amazing views of the city and water! The cathedral is also in the same square as the hotel, which makes the location even more dramatic. It is also within walking distance (less than 10 minutes) to El Morro. The staff was superb! We were traveling with our 1 yo daughter and the crib they provided was so cute! The maid for our room was great! We stayed there and attended a wedding reception in their gorgeous ballroom. I felt like I spent a little bit of time in a Spanish hotel in Europe! Cannot say enough good things about our stay! Definitely a splurge but worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

St. Germaine restaurant is a cute cafe/bistro very close by (less than 10 min) that is reasonably priced! El Convento has complementary wine for guests every night on the patio.

Back to menu Return to top