$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 22, 2015 Check-out: Jun 25, 2015

Hotel El Convento

4 stars
View map of 100 Calle Cristo, Old San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel El Convento

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
182 out of 182
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Celebrating 10 years
Business
Saint Augustine
Aug 13, 2014

Luxury boutique hotel at its finest!

The staff was so friendly and went above and beyond. They continued to give us VIP service and made us feel so special and made the trip very memorable. Very romantic hotel...charming...lots of character. Say hi to the cats for us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pattyandgabe123
Business
Fort myers Florida
Aug 31, 2014

Best hotel in San Juan!

This hotel is gorgeous! Every floor has something beautiful to look at. The location is perfect for shopping, site seeing and dining. I can't wait to go back and I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else in Puerto Rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you rent a car you better be well prepared for traveling anywhere because Puerto Rico does not believe in road signs of any sort. Thank god hotel el convento had valet parking because driving around San Juan is impossible let alone parking anywhere. We got lost every time we traveled outside of old San Juan. The next time I go we are taking a taxi not renting a car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Semova
Business
New York, NY
Sep 10, 2014

amazing hotel, location, stuff...everything

I loved this hotel! I felt like I'm back into 16th century in Europe...so much history, so much art, beauty! There was free wine and cheese on a beautiful terrace and the best coffee in Puerto Rico:) I would highly recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
franmaryann
Business
Detroit, MI
Sep 16, 2014

Incredible experience!!!

Had high expectations for this hotel based on other reviews, but it surpassed them by a mile!! The most comfortable hotel stay I have ever experienced. ---From the bell staff, front desk , restaurant and bar personnel, right down to the cleaning staff- everyone made you feel that you were the only and most important guest! Charming and old world with every amenity imaginable available. --- courtyard welcomed you every time you left your room and the free water, coffee, tea and fruit available at any time was a welcomed treat. Even when you were done with your day, a great cup of coffee in the evening on the 3rd floor courtyard, under the stars, was a wonderful way to end each day, and don't forget the wine and cheese reception every evening!!! Even when a problem arose, management went above and beyond to accommodate you and solve the problem. ----Food in the restaurants and courtyard was usually good, but sometimes inconsistent but staff made up for any shortcomings---and were right on the mark with their restaurant and sightseeing recommendations. All in all, our party of four could not have asked for a better hotel stay. I only hope that I can return to paradise sometime soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs.Teacher
Business
Park Ridge, Illinois
Oct 3, 2014

A Little Gem

This hotel is quaint, well kept, extremely clean and is managed by a staff that is efficient, friendly, caring and determined to make your stay relaxing and memorable. The location is perfect, right in the middle. When you leave, all you think about is your return. Love this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the small restaurants even the vendors have great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sir Lumpsalot
Business
Boulder City, NV
Nov 19, 2014

Nice Getaway

This is our 3rd time staying at this location. It has never fell short from my expectations. The staff is always friendly, helpful, and great with my kids.it's location has numerous places to shop, dine, and sight see. Also, it's close enough to more modern areas. Definitely a beautiful hotel that won't disappoint.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve & Sue C.
Business
N/A
Dec 16, 2014

One of our favorite vacations and hotel!

Hotel El Convento was outstanding! This historic luxury building offered a wonderful experience. We just loved everything about it! The friendly staff made our stay something special...from the moment we walked through the front entrance we were treated as though we were the only guests in the hotel. Everyone went out of their way to make us feel special. Our room was a great size and beautifully appointed, with period furniture and, oh yes, a private terrace! We couldn't ask for more. We can't wait to go back to Puerto Rico...and Guess Where We're Staying?? Hotel El Convento ! Steve and Sue

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JTQ23
Business
Leonardtown
Dec 19, 2014

Even better than we could have imagined

This hotel was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The location was perfect right in the middle of Old Town San Juan, within walking distance of everything you could ask for. The room (we even got upgraded) was beautiful with a nice view of the park in front of the hotel and a partial water view. The staff was so friendly, the hotel had so much charm and we discovered something new every day. The manager's reception with wine, cheese, grapes and crackers was great and well attended and so was the rooftop pool. We would come back here in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pipe Estrada
Business
Kenner
Jan 5, 2015

Great time

We stayed at Hotel El Convento and All I can say is that we had an incredible time. The hotel staff is very helpful and the service was excellent. This is 5 star boutique Hotel in the center of Old San Juan. The location is great if this is your first time going to San Juan because you have everything around the hotel. We loved it and we will stay at El Convento on our next trip to San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Erico M.
Business
Milford
Jan 9, 2015

Stay in Museum!!

Great hotel with great restaurants staff great .our standard room a little small but was more than adequate. Close to everything you would want to see in old San Juan .will defitnly be going back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Italian restaraunt on calle San Francisco 5 minutes walk from hotel il ivo best Italian I've had in along time get the gnocchi ...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top