$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 4, 2015

Hotel El Convento

4 stars
View map of 100 Calle Cristo, Old San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel El Convento

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
184 out of 184
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Staples913
Business
King of Prussia, PA
Jul 12, 2009

Excellent location; outstanding staff!

Enjoyed the phenomenal beauty and grandeur of this elegant hotel. Good restaurants and amenities. Fantastic location. Hotel staff was very helpful, especially with arranging activities and adventures for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Room had a frig so by walking a short distance to the SuperMax food store, it was easy to get cold cuts, bread, beer, wine, and lots more to help cut down on restaurant spending. (Note: Restaurants and bars were lots of fun -- don't cut them out altogether)

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burlington
Oct 21, 2008

Great Hotel Staff

We stayed for 5 nights during the middle of October. We were planning on staying somewhere else in old SJ until we saw that the hotel went on special so the price went down quite a bit. We are so glad that we selected El Convento. The people in the entire hotel are so friendly and go out of their way to help in any way. The rooms are big (we had a queen superior) and very clean. The only thing i would warn others against is that the pool is tiny. It's in a beautiful setting but very tiny. If you are going to SJ though specific for the pool then you shouldn't stay in Old San Juan but stay in the Condado area instead. El Convento is absolutely beautiful and romantic and a great choice for any couple deciding to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining around every corner

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
miami beach
Jan 15, 2010

awesome

amazing! the only place i would consider staying at again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
altha
May 20, 2008

great place to stay

The Hotel El Convento was a superb place to stay. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful in making reservations to dining and day trips. The location in Old San Juan was perfect for site seeing. The restaurants in the hotel were very good, all three.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

All the museums, shopping and dining in Old San Juan were within a short walking distance.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mrmine
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Sep 4, 2011

Great Service

Great location and service from everyone on staff during our stay, from the front desk to the resturants to matinence crew. Everything was spot on. Can't wait to return to this hotel for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

take advantage of the bus, 75 cent to their sister hotel LaConcha.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I survived Puerto Rico
Business
Santa Cruz, CA
Jul 14, 2009

A perfect hotel

A wonderful hotel. It has real ambience and provided helpful service. Great coffee in the morning, fantastic happy hour from 6 to 7 and helpful staff who would even hail a taxi for me. Very charming with bats flying around the courtyard tree at night. Great views, great pool, great location. Worth every penny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Enjoy the fantastic cheese plate during happy hour at the hotel. Better than any restaurant we ate in in San Juan

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
spaghetti bob
Business
phila, PA
Mar 12, 2011

Excellent in every way

This was everything and more than we thought it would be. We researched different hotel on line before we went to PR and choose El Convento--it was excellent. The staff was supurb (we had a slight noice problem with our initial room and they seamless moved us to another) The inhouse restaurant for breakfast and dinner was some of the best meals we ate...also loved the 2nd floor tapas bar. Would highly recommend El Convento-we'll probably return there next year

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many great restaurants in walking distance--ask staff for recommendations

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rhinebeck, NY
Jan 30, 2010

Beautiful hotel, great location!

Everything was wonderful at El Convento! The room was very nice, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the location can't be beat! It really is in the heart of Old San Juna with easy access to shops, restaurants, historical attractions, and great plazas where you can have a drink and people-watch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Absolutely take advantage of the hotel's partnership with La Concha hotel. There is a very nice beach and several pools that guests at El Convento can use.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlantic City, NJ
Jan 22, 2011

Great location, fantastic hotel

Wife and I have stayed at El Convento 6 times in the past 3 yrs, and have yet to discover a negative related to this beautiful hotel and its courteous and professional staff. Yes it's more expensive than most San Juan hotels, but it's worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

To go sandwiches from the Cafe St. Germain. Enjoy them on the pool deck.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Isaac Falconer
Business
Venice, ITALY + Philadelphia, USA
Jan 10, 2011

FANTASTIC peaceful retreat

The Hotel El Convento is an exquisitely renovated "period" building-once a nunnery-so if you HATE "character"-courtly Spanish architecture with balconies opening into a beautiful courtyard-WITH "all the modern amenities" [pool/hot tub/high-speed internet connection/exquisitely well-mannered and attentive hotel staff-who manage to be attentive and warm-NOT INTRUSIVE] then this is NOT for you! I was "desperate" for r&r after a grueling 2.5 years of humanitarian advocacy-I "return" well-rested and feeling exquisitely cared-for by the staff at El Convento. My visit in 2008 was equally rewarding. DR SAKU GUNASEGARAM [Wilfrid Csaplar did not travel]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top