$117 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Hotel El Convento

4 stars
View map of 100 Calle Cristo, Old San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel El Convento

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
149 out of 149
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
L&K from NYC
Business
NYC
Jul 27, 2009

Fantastic Hotel in Old San Juan

Elegant hotel within walking distance of everything in Old San Juan. Great service without being stuffy. Quiet rooms. Romantic too as we saw 3 weddings in our 5 day stay! We really enjoyed the wine and cheese reception every night at 6 and our beach privileges at La Concha, a modern resort in Condado.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Resort privilege at La Concha in Condado.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Dec 2, 2009

great hotel

excellent. The only negative surprise was that we were not informed of the parking fee in advance; we only learned about it at checkout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Dec 9, 2009

Great Price and love the text messages!

It is a beautiful old hotel that has been magnificently updated and maintained. Very friendly and helpful staff. We ate dinner at the hotel also and it was very delicious! The hotel has a great location in Old San Juan and we went to the Fort San Felipe del Morro which is a couple of blocks away and did some shopping. It was a terrific stay. The only mark against was the very long wait for a room to be ready. We arrived at 11:20am and did not get a room until 4:20pm and that was only because we kept checking over and over. I suspect it was because we purchased the room at a discount. But for whatever reason it was a long wait!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Oct 16, 2008

Classic

This was an old Convent. 24 hrs of good coffee meant I was constantly wired. They had wine and cheese at 6-7. The cheese was pretty good. Not just a plain selection. People that worked there were very helpful and friendly. I was there during the rainy season and they had umbrellas you could borrow which was great. It was in a good location, close to a lot of old San Juan fun. If you're looking for a good beach, there is none close by. You either need to get a cab to their sister hotel or walk about 25 minutes. I walked it, didn't mind. Their pool is small but good enough for splashing around. And they have a nice hot tub you can sit in while enjoying the view of the church across the street. If you're looking for a classic looking hotel that is relaxing, this is the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe El Punto. 105 Fortaleza St. This is at the end of the hallway with some shopping inside. Excellent PR food. I think it's only open for lunch. Not fancy or romantic but if you want a taste of the local food it's good for that.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Milford, Ct.
Aug 4, 2009

Great Hotel, Worth the Money

The hotel is in a great location. You can walk around Old San Juan and feel safe and comfortable. The fort is easy to get too. Wine and chees hour was fantastic. The service staff was great. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Jun 29, 2007

Very beautiful, charming hotel

Hotel El Convento is in the Old San Juan area -excellent location - the hotel is very unique with paintings and nice furnishings, lots of character - so beautiful. I was only there for one short night. I chose it to stay in the Old San Juan area - probably the best hotel choice for that. The room was very clean, large screen TV (but with everything so close, didn't watch it), there was a dip pool (very small, but nice to cool down), a nice courtyard area in the center for breakfast, the staff was very friendly and scheduled our airport taxi right on time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants and bars very close by - but wasn't loud at the hotel at all. Cool cobblestone streets in Old San Juan. Lots of character.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Sep 9, 2007

Great place to stay

The El Convento Hotel in Old San Jaun was very well run. The hotel itself was very lovely and historic. The staff always friendly and helpful. The bed was extremely comfortable and the whole place was kept very clean. We had what I believe was one of the smallest rooms there but it was more than enough for two, the ceilings were very high and gave the feeling of a much larger space. The location was great, in the middle of Old San Juan and with in walking distance to El Morro and San Cristobal forts. The dinning was rather expensive at the hotel but there are many very good restaurants close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of shopping for blocks in every direction.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 15, 2007

What an experience

It is hard to beat the ambiance and location of the El Convento hotel. The room was perfect for family travel with an outer sitting room separate from the sleeping area. The beds were very comfortable and the sleeping conditions were good. The room was quiet and dark after closing the shutters. There was plenty of room for suitcases and space to unpack your belongings. The whole hotel was decorated in an early Spanish style which complimented it's location in Old San Juan. There were several dining options, most of which were outside, allowing observation of the city. The hotel is located in Old San Juan and is within walking distance of any attractions one would like to partake, especially shopping. The staff were friendly, helpful and very professional. I will make it a point to stay there again when in San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are traveling with children, there is a Ben and Jerry's across the street.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Show Low
Nov 28, 2008

My review of Hotel El Convento

Great hotel, great location to see old San Juan. If I go to Puerto Rico again, I will definitely stay here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leah Love to Travel
Business
MA
Nov 6, 2010

Best Hotel EVER

Absolutely beautiful hotel. It is an old Convent that has been converted into a hotel. The building is beautiful as are the rooms. The staff was friendly. There is a nice wine & cheese hour in the early evening, free coffee/tea/water all day, 2 free computers with internet, a small pool & hot-tub on the roof deck, roof deck with nice views of city & water, I could go on and on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is a very good location. There are several shops in very short walking distance, including specialty stores, US outlet stores, and tourist shops. There are also several restaurants within walking distance. We also just walked around looking at all the beautiful buildings with their bright colored paint and decorated balconies.

Back to menu Return to top