$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 15, 2015 Check-out: Jun 17, 2015

Hotel El Convento

4 stars
View map of 100 Calle Cristo, Old San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel El Convento

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
182 out of 182
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pearce Sterling
Business
Orange County, CA
Jul 29, 2011

Quiet Elegance

Just returned from a beautiful week stay at the Hotel el Convento in Old San Juan. I researched several hotels before selecting El Convento and I was not disappointed. El Convento offers beautiful surroundings, a top notched gracious staff and 3 delicious restaurants. The room was large, comfortable and accommodated two very nicely. There were 3 weddings throughout our stay but one would not noticed it in our 1st floor room. Uniquely El Convento offered a wine & cheese cocktail hour which had a vast collection of wine, beer & cheese. The hotel is within walking distance to both forts Cristobal & Felipe. An added bonus is the solo guitarist singing in the courtyard in front of the hotel, adding to the true Puerto Rico experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are in the mood for salsa dancing, check out both Latin Roots and Nuyorican Cafe (open Thursday thru Saturday). Dancing and listening to live salsa music is a pure treat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 20, 2011

Bostonians Recommend Hotel El Convento

We absolutely loved this hotel. The staff is friendly, hospitable and gracious. The room had a small refrigerator, a Bose Wave Radio/CD player, and a safe with programmable combination. Our room was clean and more importantly, cleaned efficiently. Each evening before dusk, they tidied-up our room and left chocolates on our turned down bed. Shortly after dusk the Coqui, tiny frogs and official mascot of Puerto Rico, begin their dueling chirps which we found to be quite charming. Not to worry, they do quiet down by bed time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a colonial-era cemetery named 'Cemeterio Santa Maria Magdalena de Pazzis' outside the old city wall near entrance to Fort San Felipe del Morro that is a must see! Be sure to go during 'visiting hours' and definitely bring your camera!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hund
Business
Houston, TX
Oct 6, 2011

Wonderful Old Style Atmosphere with new Amenities

This is our second visit to the hotel, and it was even better than the first. The location in Old San Juan is incredible. The staff are so friendly and helpful. I really don't think we could have asked for anything more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like Salsa music, the best we found in Old San Juan was at The Latin Roots and the Nuyorican Cafe. Things really get hopping around midnight, so rest up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelmuchGA
Business
Atlanta, ga
Dec 25, 2009

Old San Juan and Hotel El Convento

Excellent hotel in the heart of Old San Juan with a very helpful staff. Wine and cheese reception at 6 pm each evening we were there with very good wines and cheeses. Excellent location and good restaurant in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

many close by restaurants. Carribean food is not Mexican, nor is it Cuban --it is different and good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Epicurian Peregrine
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 25, 2009

Cosy elegance and Chic Sophistication

El Convento offers a rare combination of homey comfort, historical elegance, and modern sophistication. Perched upon on a downward-sloping hill in the Northwest corner of historic old San Juan, the boutique hotel was bordered on all sides by pastel-colored, crisply restored row houses and blue-cobble stone alleys. The 58 guest rooms occupied the 2nd, 3rd and 4th floors of this former Carmelite convent and were accessed and protected by locked iron gates and key-access elevators. Inside, the guest rooms were luxuriously appointed with classical furniture and finishings, advanced sound-proofing (to block out the amplified mambo, bolero, and merengue beats of the wedding bands in the first floor chapel-ballroom), wi-fi and wired Internet hookups, and a sophisticated audio-visual entertainment system from LG and Bose. The guest hallways were outfitted with a symmetry of classical fixtures, potted tropical ferns, and an generous collection of metal patio tables and chairs, one set per two guest rooms. These hallways in turn flanked a multi-level, open-air courtyard which was filled with an abundance of tropical foliage that included a 350-year old, 50-ft tree whose tropical fruit attracted swarms of local fruit bats since the convent opened. These frugivores have been since been reduced to a trickle through ingenious repellent methods. The outdoor guest lounge on the third floor offers an operatic, box-seat view of San Juan Cathedral and the quaint Cathedral plaza to the West. On the adjacent 4th floor sky terrace, we mingled with other hotel guests in the cozy 6-person jacuzzi and 6-stroke swimming pool while enjoying photogenic panoramas of San Juan Bay and its busy cruise liner thoroughfare. Perhaps the most impressive and unforgettable amenity of El Convento was its happy hour: From 6-7 PM every evening, we assembled in the 3rd floor lounge to partake in a gratis, all-you-can-eat and drink sunset bacchanalia. The hotel prepared an exquisite assortment of premium-quality wines, liquors, beers, make-it-yourself mixed drinks, teas, coffees, grapes, cheeses and crackers which might have cost upwards of $30 per head--I myself consumed 3 glasses of wine and two cheese plates on average. This free amenity in addition to its stellar location, historical charm and pampering service added up to an incomparable, fair-priced (but not cheap) vacation package that trumped its more luxurious, name-brand resort rivals up the street in Condado or Isle Verde. I recommend this hotel without reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The cities finest restaurants, which include AquaViva, Marmelade, DragonFly and the hotel's own Picoteca, are only blocks away. Jump aboard a taxi and feast at one of the most extraordinary vegan restaurants in the Caribbean, Pura Vida, in Ocean Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Coquis
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 28, 2010

Am I still in the USA?

A true gem of a find recommended by some of our friends. The El Convento stands true to its affiliation with the Small Luxury Hotels of the World. Step in and you feel like you have entered into an exclusive institution somewhere in Spain. Very well maintained facility with a quaint and elegant feel. The wine and cheese reception was just icing on the cake and the cafe and tapas bar add style to the facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Must walk through the streets of Old San Juan and visit the local dining establishments. Will recommend Cafe Puerto Rico for truly authentic Puerto Rican food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juan2L[@]
Business
Jacksonville, Florida
Jan 1, 2011

Spanish architecture at its best.

This property is an exceptional historical beauty. It's magnificent verandas overlook a colorful patio; that is filled with tropical plants. The in-house restaurants are outstanding and the prices are comparable to all of the other fine (Gourmet)restaurants in San Juan. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable - ours overlooked the bay. There are not enough words to describe the hotel staff. They were prompt, courteous and friendly; catering to our every need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

1. Everything is within walking distance - depending on how far you care to walk. City trolleys are free if you are not willing to go the distance. 2. If you are not into Gourmet dinning, then ask the locals for suggestions - most (if not all) are bi-lingual. Manolino's is an excellent spot for Puerto Rican food and the prices are "Non-tourist" (Be prepared to stand in line). 3. If you would rather go for "Junk Food", then Burger King, McDonalds, Wendy's and the like are also within walking distance. 4. The Spanish Forts are a "Must do" and the prices are CHEAP!($3.00 per person).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rocky River, OH
Apr 22, 2009

Fantastic!

From the minute we arrived at the valet parking station to the time we left we were treated with exceptional service. One of the hotel porters, James, happened to be talking to the valet when we arrived and he took our names, introduced himself, took our luggage and provided recommendations for shopping and restaurants. The front desk manager provided us with exceptional rooms that were absolutely beautiful. It was our daughter and son-in-law's first visit to Puerto Rico and she made sure they were given top notch accommodations. The hotel also has a complimentary wine and cheese party each evening. The wines were wonderful and the cheese assortment was delicious and beautifully displayed. My husband and I have stayed at the El Convento 4 times and we have loved each experience. We always recommend the hotel to any of our friends or family traveling to the island. It is right in the heart of Old San Juan and within walking distance to great shops, attractions and fabulous restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

On Calle Forteleza there is a shop with authentic Puerto Rican items. Wonderful store with helpful staff and items made in Puerto Rico, not China.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
L&K from NYC
Business
NYC
Jul 27, 2009

Fantastic Hotel in Old San Juan

Elegant hotel within walking distance of everything in Old San Juan. Great service without being stuffy. Quiet rooms. Romantic too as we saw 3 weddings in our 5 day stay! We really enjoyed the wine and cheese reception every night at 6 and our beach privileges at La Concha, a modern resort in Condado.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Resort privilege at La Concha in Condado.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Dec 2, 2009

great hotel

excellent. The only negative surprise was that we were not informed of the parking fee in advance; we only learned about it at checkout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top