$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2015 Check-out: Jul 16, 2015

Hotel El Convento

4 stars
View map of 100 Calle Cristo, Old San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel El Convento

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
185 out of 185
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Madre 11215
Business
Park Slope, New York
Jun 13, 2012

Five Stars for El Convento

Perfect setting in Old San Juan--near Morro Castle, Museums. Free internet, great Wine and Cheese Hour. Great for couples, friends hanging out. Roof top poor. Vouchers for two beach hotels. Beautiful Sunday church service across from hotel. Take the free trolley for tour of the Old City. The hotel does not tell you about "free" trolley. The rum factory is a blast, take the ferry to Catano and then $3 van ride to rum factory. This hotel does not give discount vouchers nor does the visitor's center. Go on line before travelling to San Juan for those. Have a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cmwoobie
Business
West Point NY
Aug 14, 2012

Great Location

Hotel is in a great location in Old San Juan. It is within a few blocks of historic sites, restaurants, and shopping. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Wine and cheese reception every evening at 6pm. Plunge Pool is very small but take advantage of the beach privileges at the sister hotel. The only drawback is the $25. taxi fare each way. If you are staying in OSJ for more than 2-3 days, I recommend renting a car to get out and see the island. After you see the historical sites, plazas, and museums, there is not much left to do in the city and the taxis are a fortune to get anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car. Taxis are too expensive to get anywhere outside of Old San Juan.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
janicebr
Business
vancouver, wa
Aug 22, 2012

Perfect way to end our trip!

Hotel El Convecto is beautiful! There are 3 resturants to choose from. It has an open air courtyard where you can sit and enjoy a cool drink. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I definitely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask for directions to the fort before you try to find it yourself.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
celebrating 60
Business
Indiana
Sep 1, 2012

More than expected

Staff was excellent. Couldn't have been more helpful. Hotel is old and quaint. Delightful! Food was fabulous. Had the seafood paella one night. Can't even find words to describe how wonderful it was!! Pool side breakfast was a nice treat. Would definately recommend this hotel! Had a wonderful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Some attractions were further than we thought, but worth the travel time

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JustMi
Business
DC
Sep 11, 2012

Couldn't have chosen any better

Loved this small boutique hotel. Very clean, great architecture, absolutely no complaints. Wine and cheese every day on the terrace. The wedding on Saturday night did not create any issues, as the rooms are perfectly insulated and isolated, even just steps away from the restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ready to go
Business
Clearwater, Fl
Dec 17, 2012

atmosphere and ambiance

Imagine walking back to your room in the evening. lighted only by small lamps on tables for two along the courtyard balcony draped with philodendron and bougainvillea, music wafting up from the patio or second level tapas bar. You've just left the complimentary wine and cheese gathering and gazed over the city from a number of vantage points. This is a lovely, tranquil oasis with every staff member ready to assist with a smile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

La Fortelaza, the governor's palace, has the best guide and what you learn about the island's history sets you up for your entire visit.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bebele
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Jan 28, 2013

The Heart of Old San Juan

El Convento is a beautiful hotel! It is not only in the perfect location to enjoy great restaurants, the rooftop has amazing views of the city and water! The cathedral is also in the same square as the hotel, which makes the location even more dramatic. It is also within walking distance (less than 10 minutes) to El Morro. The staff was superb! We were traveling with our 1 yo daughter and the crib they provided was so cute! The maid for our room was great! We stayed there and attended a wedding reception in their gorgeous ballroom. I felt like I spent a little bit of time in a Spanish hotel in Europe! Cannot say enough good things about our stay! Definitely a splurge but worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

St. Germaine restaurant is a cute cafe/bistro very close by (less than 10 min) that is reasonably priced! El Convento has complementary wine for guests every night on the patio.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
newmusicleesa
Business
Kansas City, MO, USA
Apr 24, 2013

Best in Old San Juan

El Convento is the epitome of Old San Juan. It is old, beautiful and staff is top notch. Stayed there twice now and loved it. Great location for sight seeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid crowds and dine at places near hotel. Avoid harbor where cruise ships drop tons of people off in one spot at once. El Jebarito is very good. Hotel food is good, but pricey.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scooter N
Business
Atlanta, ga
May 7, 2013

Old San Juan- huge yes to stay here

We were looking for a convenient hotel to match the Old San Juan experience with the comforts of today. Let's just say 100% yes, to Hotel El Convento. Two blocks from the original bay entrance to the Fort walls. 5 minute walk to the original Fortress. Great bar and restaurant in the Hotel, and 5 minute walk to all the bars, shopping and restaurants. Room was great and the staff was so helpful and Nice. Pric for the hotel was very fair for the quality. I could not give a higher recommendation. Enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Madre for Tapas/ Mexican food. Very fresh, quality dining at a reasonable price.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PR Diaspora
Business
Austin, Texas
Jul 2, 2013

A Perfect Honeymoon

My fiancé and I recently stayed there for 10 nights on our honeymoon. The most stand out, stellar aspect of staying at Hotel El Convento is that the staff and service truly goes above and beyond to make your stay perfect. The rooms can't be compared to modern, new hotels because they date to before the American revolution. It sits in the capital of Puerto Rico which is the oldest in the Western Hemisphere. They are small, but breathtaking and our view was spectacular (of both La Fortaleza and the harbor). The bathrooms are equally small; but, the hotel staff expertly furnishes and maintains them and there are always fresh towels. Like I said, the best part is the service. Housekeeping comes twice a day: first to prepare the room for the day, and in the afternoon to prepare it for the evening. They are always friendly and cracked jokes with my wife and I everytime we saw them. The front staff were expertly knowledgeable and accommodating. For one reason or another we had difficulty processing some things with our credit union and they were patient giving us a couple days to remedy the situation. The valet parking is also a huge bonus coming in way cheaper than anywhere else we could find in the area aside from street parking. The restaurants and bars in the hotel are also priced much more fairly than the hotels on the beach with a far superior quality of food and service. And finally: how can anyone compete with a free wine service at 6:00 every night for a full hour. Service, service, service. That's what this hotel is all about and we absolutely loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of reviews say its kind of out of the way but my wife and I completely disagree. It's a short 7 minute (max) walk east of the hotel to the best food at the best price in Viejo San Juan: El Jibarito. Local food done right. It was so good we broke our rule and ate there twice. We both ate a meal, shared an appetizer, and drank for $30. An excellent value considering the prices in that area

Back to menu Return to top